Welcome

“I will bow down toward your holy temple and will praise your name for your love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word.”- Psalm 138:2

Thursday, June 1, 2023

Forever Yours ~ Annee Jones


 This is a Christian romance book that is part of the clean slate series.  When Callie decides to go to Florida and help her aunt with a matchmaking conference being held at her bed and breakfast.   Callie gets the chance to be a part of the convention and isn't quite sure what to expect. Jackson was not looking to date, nor expecting to be a part of this event, however, his brother signed him up.  He decides to be a good sport about it and see what this is all about.  Will Callie and Jackson meet and be a match?  What does Callie want from life?  Is Jackson ready for a relationship?  Could they have a future as a couple?

If you like a sweet heartfelt read, then this is the book for you.  It is a fun read that has alot of page turning events.  It is part of a collection but can be read as a stand alone.  This was the first book I read from this author and was glad that I did.  


About the Book

Book: Forever Yours

Author: Annee Jones

Genre: Christian Contemporary Romance

Release date: January 13, 2023

He’s there on a whim. She’s there to help her aunt. They’re both missing something. Can it be each other?

“Find your Perfect Match this summer at the seaside…” The Forever Yours matchmaking agency is hosting a vacation package week in Seaview, Florida. Taking a break from her busy but unrewarding life in Chicago, Callie Winthrop has come to town to find respite at her beloved Aunt Fran’s bed and breakfast.

When the CEO of Forever Yours – who just happens to be staying at the inn for the event – offers Callie the opportunity to attend the activities and meet the most eligible bachelors in the country, how can she say no?

Jackson Thorne, a successful Tampa contractor, can’t believe the nerve of his brother, who actually thought it was a good idea to sign him up for a matchmaking vacation this summer. Jackson acknowledges, however, that he has been avoiding commitment ever since his last relationship ended in tragedy. Hence it may actually be good for him to start dating again – much as he would hate to admit it. Maybe there’s even a chance he could meet the woman of his dreams this summer?

Warm your heart by reading this sweet clean romance about starting over today! Bonus section with recipes included!

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Annee Jones is an international bestselling author of romance, fantasy, and mystery. She is passionate about writing stories where dreams come true and love wins!

Professionally, Annee works as a disability counselor where she is honored to help her clients navigate through complex medical and legal systems while rediscovering their wholeness in Spirit.

Subscribe to Annee’s newsletter to stay up to date on new releases, sneak peeks, author parties, and exclusive giveaways: https://www.anneejones.com/newsletter

 More from Annee

Bonus recipes are included!

This book features a rescue puppy named Peanut Butter!

You will find both recipes and pets in nearly all of my books!  ­čśŐ

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Annee is giving away the grand prize package of an opportunity to name a character in a future book and a copy of the eBook!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! CLICK HERE 

Tuesday, May 23, 2023

Super Doople ~ k.a. cummins

 This is a children's picture book about learning to listen and how it can benefit you when you do listen. The story is based on the children rhyme, humpty dumpty, only this has a twist.  Doople wants to fly, he would climb and walls and trees to be able to fly.  But when he is told not to do that because he will get hurt, he doesn't listen...... he ends up cracked and having to go to the doctor and scientist to put him back together.... when something strange happens, he ends up listening to what is being told to him and then he gets more than he thought he could...... could listening be a virtue in life that will get you what you need and want?

I would recommend this book to those that have little children and want a picture book that has a lesson to be learned when reading.  It is a cute story and is based on humpty dumpty.   It was fun and had story questions at the end of the book to discuss with the readers.  

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Super Doople

Author:K.A. Cummins

Genre:Picture Book

Release date: May 4, 2023

You’ve heard the legend of Humpty Dumpty, but do you know the legend of Super Doople? He’s faster than a chicken. He flies higher than an ostrich. No fall can break his shell! And he was once Little Doople, a small and fragile egg like all the other dooples, until his bad habit of not listening caught up to him.

Engaging text with expressive illustrations, Super Doople is a lighthearted tale about resilience and learning to listen. This funny picture book for ages 3-8 is perfect for reading aloud in the classroom or at home.

Click here to get your copy!

About the Author

K.A. Cummins is an author and an artist. She explores storytelling in a variety of mediums, blending the wonders of science with the possibilities of what if. When not crafting stories, Cummins loves spending time with her family, collecting fun socks, and venturing outside her comfort zone to try new things—at least once!

Connect with her through her website at https://authorkacummins.com, where you can sign up for emails about upcoming releases.

 More from K.A. Cummins

“Super Doople” started with a comic sketch and the idea of what if a scientist put Humpty Dumpty back together again? At first, it was more for fun and to explore creating comics. In fact, in the first version, he bounced like a ball when he hit the ground.

 But the idea stuck! I continued to gravitate back to it, enjoying the exploration of telling a story with words and drawings. Many sketches and several versions later, the character became Little Doople, a hopeful and determined boy with a dream of flying who, through a series of events, transforms into Super Doople.

 It’s been so much fun working with Little Doople, especially having our youngest son engaged with the story. Our youngest is sixteen now and has a talented eye for design. He’s one of the first people I ask for art critiques (the other being my husband). He even helped me come up with the name doople, for both the character and the egg-people in the story. We brainstormed in the car on a two-hour drive home.

 The joy of creating this story, and from the story itself, has become its own source of inspiration. I haven’t stopped brainstorming more story ideas for Little Doople. I’ve even started plotting some of them, but those are under wraps for now.

 However, being a homeschool mom and former educator in other forms, I wanted to share a free educational resource to go along with “Super Doople.” So I’ve put together a few science egg-periments, activities, and coloring pages suitable for younger children that’s available for FREE on my TpT store: https://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Doople-Science-Hands-on-Learning-Activities-9145443.

 Hope you and your children enjoy reading “Super Doople.”

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, K.A. is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE 

Sunday, May 14, 2023

Lilac Cottage ~ Carrie Fancett Pagels

This is book 2 of the Mackinac Cottages Series, a light romance historical read.  When  Rachel decides to go to visit her passed on grandmothers cottage on Mackinac Island after losing her job and needs a new start.  Jack is remodeling the cottage and also not a fan of Rachel's.  When they find come together, they find mysteries in the house.  What does the cottage hold?  Will they be able to work together, is their more to the relationship?  Who holds the information to solve the past?

I would recommend this book to anyone that likes a good mystery that keeps you turning the pages.  Many characters in this fast pace read that makes you wonder how it will end and what the mystery is all about.  It is book 2 of the series, but can be read as a stand alone. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising


 About the Book

Book: Lilac Cottage

Author: Carrie Fancett Pagels

Genre: Historical Romance, Christian Fiction

Release date: April 12, 2023

Inspirational Contemporary Women’s Fiction from Award-winning Bestselling Author Carrie Fancett Pagels

Lilac Cottage – set on Mackinac Island, Book 2 Mackinac Cottages Series

Out of options, after losing her job and apartment, Rachel Dunmara “camps out” at her deceased Grandmother’s cottage on Mackinac Island. Next door, her childhood nemesis, Jack Welling, is overseeing his family’s remodeling of their home on the West Bluff. When Rachel’s new boss, at a local coffee shop, pushes her to work as Jack’s assistant, for her second job, can they mend their rift?

Kareen Parker, widowed in the past year, returns to the island to share long-held information with her son and to transition ownership of her resort to her son. Her grandson befriends Rachel, who was banned by her family from associating with the Parkers.

After a summer full of secrets that are finally revealed, can three families be healed?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Carrie Fancett Pagels is the award-winning author and bestselling author of over twenty Christian fiction books. Twenty-five years as a psychologist didn’t “cure” her overactive imagination! Raised in Michigan’s beautiful Upper Peninsula, you’ll find her most summers at the Straits of Mackinac—where many of her stories are set.

 More from Carrie

Why I Wrote Lilac Cottage

I had felt the Lord nudging me to write a sequel to my first-ever Women’s Fiction, Butterfly Cottage (after writing 20+ Historical Romances in Christian Fiction). I travel up to the Straits of Mackinac each summer to do book signings, library visits, and to see family and friends. At several of my book signings at the Island Bookstore, on Mackinac Island, I had readers ask if I had a sequel planned for Butterfly Cottage. I met a lovely young reader at one of the signings, who worked at Lucky Bean, my fave coffee shop in the world and it is on the island. Rachel asked me about plans for the next book and I thought – what if I had a young heroine who worked at Lucky Bean for the summer? Ya know, most authors stories start with the what if. So, I also tossed around the notion of what if Rachel was actually camping out in one of the mansions, called “cottages”, up on West Bluff? That spawned my plot thoughts.

 When I work, I percolate an idea. I also will not pursue writing a story unless God’s hand is on it. So, I first submitted my will to His. I got the go ahead. I also got a lot of other stuff: Norovirus, Covid, a root canal and crown, a bleed on an optic nerve, and also what I thought might be a heart attack but thankfully it was only my Rheumatoid Arthritis, oh and did I mention recurrent shingles? Yup—all that. So, I figure there must be a reason this book needs to be written for me to have confronted such opposition from the enemy.

 This is my very first novel where the main characters are all saved and are all newbies as far as being refreshed in their faith. At my church, one of the pastors preached about how new Christians are so on fire for the Lord and how they are often different from those of us who have been saved for a long time. I wanted to have that reflected in this novel.

 I know people have strong feelings about the pandemic. I wanted to make sure I had written something that included some reality of what the winding down was like in 2022, which is when the story is set. My father was born in 1918 during the Spanish Flu pandemic and I always felt that authors from that time didn’t include enough references to how this affected people. I didn’t dwell on Covid in this novel, but I did touch on it in I hope realistic ways, such as shortages of workers.

 Whew! One other reason I wrote some of the characters in this book was to give one of my continuing characters, Mrs. Hampy Parker, some redemption. She’s been a Co-dependent in two of my books (Butterfly Cottage and Behind Love’s Wall) and it was time, since she’s now in her early 80’s, for her to get free from that. I enjoyed the new start her character got and it was inspired by one of my friend’s real life stories.

 Thank you for being part of the tour!!! And may God bless and keep you!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Carrie is giving away the grand prize package of $70 Amazon Gift Card, a copy of Lilac Cottage, and a copy of Butterfly Cottage!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE 

Sunday, May 7, 2023

The Bark of Zorro ~ Kathleen Y’Barbo

This is book 4 of the Gone to Dogs series, Christian Mystery read.  This is the story of Cassidy that works at the Lone Star veterinarian clinic.  When she finds dogs that have been spray painted "Z" on them, she wants to know who and why this is being done.  She meets new game warden, Jason and they team up to find out the mystery.  As they find themselves attracted to each other during their search, will they find love?   Can they solve the real reason this is happening? What is the meaning behind the mystery?

If you enjoy a cozy mystery, this is a book for you.  It is book 4 of the series and should be read in order they were written, however, it can be read as a stand alone if you don't plan to read the series.  It is a good series and great for dog lovers.  

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.


About the Book

Book: The Bark of Zorro

Author: Kathleen Y’Barbo

Genre: Christian/Cozy Mystery/Romance Fiction

Release date: April, 2023

Who Is Spray Painting the Dogs in Brenham, Texas?

Strange happenings are afoot in Brenham, Texas, as dogs start showing up at the Lone Star Veterinary Clinic with a Z spray painted on them. The cops blame pranksters, while pet owners are blaming each other. Receptionist Cassidy Carter uses her social media expertise to try to get the culprit caught on camera, but Texas game warden, Jason Cameron, thinks online media attention is the last thing this case needs. When Cassidy’s post goes viral, more dogs are found painted and the clinic gets marked with a big Z too. How could her good intentions have backfired so badly?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Kathleen Y’Barbo is a multiple Carol Award and RITA nominee and bestselling author of more than one hundred books with over two million copies of her books in print in the US and abroad. A tenth-generation Texan and certified paralegal, she is a member of the Texas Bar Association Paralegal Division, Texas A&M Association of Former Students and the Texas A&M Women Former Students (Aggie Women), Texas Historical Society, Novelists Inc., and American Christian Fiction Writers. She would also be a member of the Daughters of the American Republic, Daughters of the Republic of Texas and a few others if she would just remember to fill out the paperwork that Great Aunt Mary Beth has sent her more than once.

When she’s not spinning modern day tales about her wacky Southern relatives, Kathleen inserts an ancestor or two into her historical and mystery novels as well. Recent book releases include bestselling The Pirate Bride set in 1700s New Orleans and Galveston, its sequel The Alamo Bride set in 1836 Texas, which feature a few well-placed folks from history and a family tale of adventure on the high seas and on the coast of Texas. She also writes (mostly) relative-free cozy mystery novels for Guideposts Books.

Kathleen and her hero in combat boots husband have their own surprise love story that unfolded on social media a few years back. They make their home just north of Houston, Texas and are the parents and in-laws of a blended family of Texans, Okies, and one very adorable Londoner.

 More from Kathleen

MEET BAXTER: LIFE THROUGH THE EYES OF A SCHNAUZER

Recently I’ve been working on a series of cozy mystery novels set in a veterinary clinic in Brenham, Texas. I love Brenham. It’s one of my favorite cities and I’m thankful that it’s very near to me. Without Brenham, there would be no Blue Bell ice cream.

But I digress.

While preparing for the release of the fourth book in the series, The Bark of Zorro, I thought about what drew me to writing this series, other than ice cream, of course. It didn’t take me long to realize it was the dogs. During the course of the series there are fancy pets and sassy strays, but they all have one thing in common: they steal our hearts.

Let me tell you about a pup that stole my heart.

Meet Baxter.

Baxter has very little stress beyond whether his water bowl stays full, his food bowl is consistently replenished, and his trips outside are not withheld. In short–which he is–Baxter is a low maintenance guy, er dog.

He makes our house a home and gives us ears to scratch and a built-in vacuum cleaner to handle any kitchen messes that reach the floor.

Unfortunately, this fellow has one rather annoying habit. He likes to walk a half-step ahead of me while looking back to be sure I am following. Not the best way to make progress of any kind. In fact, life would be much less complicated if Baxter would just let me do the leading while he does the following.

I said this recently. Aloud. Yes, to a Miniature Schnauzer. And as the words left my mouth, I was struck with the thought that maybe I am guilty of the same thing.

How many times have I gotten ahead of God only to realize He wasn’t having any of it? How many more times did I think I knew exactly where God was going–or what He was going to do–only to realize I was nowhere near close in my guess? Just as Baxter –who has appointed himself guardian of our home– sometimes barks when there’s nothing there, I too, let nothing (in the form of fear, worry, angst, or just plain imagination) grab my attention and hold it.

Here’s something else about Baxter: he’s small. Eleven pounds soaking wet small, to be precise. So small, my husband has to be careful where he steps lest he accidentally squash the poor pup with his size 13 shoes.

Though we’re physical much larger than my Baxter, I cam certainly relate to that feeling of being easily overlooked. Have you ever felt small? Really, really small? The kind of small where someone could walk right past and not even notice you?

Maybe it’s the people in your world who just don’t seem to know you’re there. Or it’s a goal you’ve long since given up accomplishing because it seems there are so many others doing it already.

Life can be that way. It’s all enough to make a person want to fade into the wallpaper or hide behind a potted plant. To make us feel as though we’re not at home, even when we are home.

I know that feeling. As a writer of Christian fiction for twenty years, I have been blessed to have sold more than two million copies of my more than one hundred novels, novellas, and nonfiction books. That’s anything but small. And yet when I look at all the amazing things that others have done, compare myself to others, well…small is exactly how I sometimes feel.

There’s just one remedy for that. Stop comparing! I’m a work in progress on this issue, but Baxter has this skill mastered. There are no comparisons in the Miniature Schnauzer world—something I could definitely learn.

Baxter has another side to him, a loyal and faithful side that I adore. Where I am, Baxter wants to be. My return from a brief trip away sends him into a crazy dance of joy that requires several rooms of the house to adequately perform. My presence is his source of joy and comfort.

So, the thought struck me: what if I looked at my relationship with God like that? What if I found contentment and joy merely in resting in his presence? What if I followed Him rather than leading?  What if my home was filled with the evidence that God was not just welcome here but adored. What if…

I learned something years ago about this journey called the Christian life. The more I learn about the Lord, the more I realize how much I do not know and how very far away from any sort of perfection I am. That knowledge is sobering. Humbling.

And yet it is encouraging.

I wish you could all meet Baxter. But since you can’t check out The Bark of Zorro and the other books in the Gone to the Dogs series to meet our cast of fancy pets and sassy strays. I think you’ll like them and their humans. But then what’s not to like about a handsome game warden, a red-haired office manager with a penchant for her word-of-the-day calendar and the rest of the Lone Star Vet Clinic crew? Check them out and you’ll see!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Kathleen is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon e-gift card and a print copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE 

Tuesday, May 2, 2023

The Underground Book Readers: United Forces ~ Terry Overton

This is book two of the Underground Book Readers Series, a young readers Action Adventure read.  The story continues with our group of teens, still reading the bible and unforbidden books in their underground cavern.  They are still pursuing the remaining children of the Blue Ridge mountains to get them to safety. Can they get the children to safety?  Can they get others to join their group and help with their mission?  Will they be able to find free land area?

If you like a mystery, drama, page turner, fast pace read, this is for you.   This book deals with technology of today's world, drones, and increase of bad authority.  This series is geared toward young readers, however, can be read by any ages. I enjoyed this book very much, it is a short read, so you can read in an afternoon.  Looking forward to book 3, and seeing what the next adventure will be.  This author has become one of my favorites, she gives a great message in all her books. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising


About the Book

Book: The Underground Book Readers: United Forces

Author: Terry Overton

Genre: Middle grade, pre-teen, teen dystopian

Release date: March 1, 2023

In the second book of The Underground Book Readers, Leena, Kahn, Casey, Jairus, Asher, and Conroy face unpredicted challenges. The World Force tightens its grip on the remaining teens and children of the Blue Ridge Mountains area. Increased patrols and drones are seen nearly every day as they visit their underground cavern to read forbidden books and study the Bible. The Underground Book Readers attempt to find out the identity and purpose of a new threatening group seen on a nearby mountain while they continue to work on an escape tunnel. But they soon discover there is more under Leena’s house than a cellar. The underground group design a spy mission to the other mountain. Questions remain about possible escapees who left to find a free territory in what used to be called the United States in the world before.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Terry Overton obtained her Ph.D. in Psychology and her Ed. D. in special education. She taught in public schools and was a school psychologist and a professor before retiring in 2016. She began her second “career” after retirement writing Christian fiction books and devotionals. She hopes to share the Christian worldview through her writing and touch the lives of her readers. Her novels, middle grade readers, and picture books seek to entertain readers through the travel experiences and characters included in her books. Her books have earned Bookfest Awards, Firebird Award Winner, American Writing Award Gold, International Finalist Book Award, Reader Views Awards, Reader’s Favorite Awards and the Mom’s Choice Award. She currently resides in Laguna Vista, Texas, near the Texas-Mexico border. She enjoys Biblical history and general Bible studies, writing, and enjoying family and friends. She has seven grandchildren and one great granddaughter.

 More from Terry

The series was motivated by discussions with local community and school librarians who expressed frustration with their inability to order and display classic books, and newer conservative or Christian based books, in their own libraries. The series reflects what is currently seen in many news stories where parents are outraged by the books their own children are being shown in schools. This Christian dystopian book series, written for middle grade readers and up, is an attempt to remind children of the blessings of books and of the Bible. In addition, several historic documents and time periods are discussed. It is my hope that introducing these topics in this way will pique curiosity of young readers who may not have had the opportunity to study these documents and events.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Terry is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon gift card and copy of the book!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE 

Monday, May 1, 2023

The Long March Home ~ Marcus Brotherton and Tosca Lee

 This book is inspired by true stories of World War II of the Pacific, Historical read.  When three friends, Jimmy, Hank, and Billy, join the Army to get out of Alabama, they never dreamed what would happen to them.  Billy wanted to get out of Alabama and forget about the love of his life, Claire.   When Japan bombs Pearl Harbor, the friends being on Bataan Peninsula make a pack to all return home together.  They are in a war that one of the worst atrocities in history.  Will they be able to survive this 4 year fight?  Can they keep their faith and stay strong, for everything going on around them?  Will Billy find Claire back in his heart and life?  

I would recommend this to those that love to read history books.  If you want a story that will bring tears and tug at your heart, read this one.  This is not my usual read, however, I found myself not able to put this book down.  It is a very real and heart wrenching story that all need to know about.  This is about what Americans sacrificed during this time in our history.  Men and women should read this book, a great tribute to all those people that fought for our country. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

Tuesday, April 25, 2023

The Secret to Happiness ~ Suzanne Wood Fisher

 This is book two of the Cape Cod Creamery Series, Contemporary Christian read.  Callie has her dream job of being and Executive Chef and then one day is fired.  She is shocked to say the least and needs to get away.  She goes to her aunt's home in Cape Cod with an ice cream shop to escape.  When her cousin Dawn finds Callie in depression and staying in her room all the time, she decides to step in to help.  Dawn takes Callie to a class called Secret to Happiness at the community college.  They befriend the instructor, Bruno and he insist that Callie must hit rock bottom in order to go forward.  Will the class make Callie realize who she is?  Can Dawn make Callie get out of the depression and live life to the fullest?  What part does Bruno have in Callie's future? 

If you like an afternoon sitting and relaxing with a good book, this may be the one for you.  It is a heartfelt fun story about when you have a career and then it is gone the next day.  I enjoyed this book for it's characters, little town feel, and a meaning of how friends play a part in your life.   It is book two of the series but can be read as a stand alone.  I would suggest reading book one as it is as fun as this book and you will get the background of how Dawn came to the ice cream shop.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

Monday, April 24, 2023

Second Time Around ~ Melody Carlson

 This book is a Christian Contemporary Read.   Mallory is going to Portside, Oregon to take care of her grandmother's shop that she inherits.  When she gets there and sees that the place is run down and needs work, she is not sure what she should do.  Grayson, a childhood friend offers to buy the place and take it off her hands.  Mallory thinks about it, however she learns his plan is to buy it, tear it down and make it an outdoor mall.  Mallory is heartbroken and will not let her childhood memories be torn down.  She decides to live in the upstairs of the shop and restore it all.  Then when she learns that the person she hired to help her is no help at all.  Can she save the shop and her memories?  Will Grayson and her be able to stay friends or more?  What does the future hold for them and the town of Portside?

I love this book and would recommend it to all Melody fans and anyone that love a good Hallmark movie.  This book will keep you interested from page one until the end.  I really didn't want to see it end. Loved the storyline, the characters and the town setting.  But then again, I love this author, when you read Melody Carlson books you are never disappointed.  Great light romance read!!!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

Under Fire ~ Lynn H. Blackburn

This is book 3 of the Defend and Protect Series a Christian Suspense and Mystery read.  This is the story of USSS Special Agent Zane Thacker and Special Agent Tessa Reed.  When they both are assigned to detail the President of the Untied States during a fundraiser, they never expected their past to come back to haunt them.  Zane is determined to stay by Tessa's side, no matter what happens.  Can they keep the President safe?  Will the past be the problem for both of them?  Will they keep the faith?

I would recommend this book to those that like a  fast moving, suspense/thriller read, that has many twist and turns that you can't put down.    I was intrigued and interested to finding out the way this book ends, and I couldn't put it down until I found out who really was the killer and if everyone survived to the end. I really enjoyed reading this book. This is book 3 of the series, however, can be read as a stand alone. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

The Maid of Ballymacool ~ Jennifer Deibel

This book is a Christian Historical Read, taking place in Ireland.  Brianna works at the Ballymacool House and boarding school all her life and plans to stay for the rest of her life.  She likes to explore the school grounds and comes across a silver platter.  What is this for and why is out in the woods?  When Michael is sent to Ballymacool to handle his cousin, he didn't expect to find a friend.  Michael and Brianna become friends and soon find that they have alot in common.  What holds the key to the past and this silver platter?  Can they find the truth?  Do they want to know the truth?  Do they have a future? 

I would recommend this book to those that want a romance, mystery and enjoy reading of Ireland.  It is a page turner with twist and turns until the very end.  Great read to keep you wondering what is going to happen. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

After the Shadows ~ Amanda Cabot

 This is book one of the Secrets of the Sweetwater Crossing series, Historical Christian Fiction.  Emily is a widow and has decided to move back to her home in Sweetwater Crossings.  She has found that her father dies a suspicious death and wonders what happened.  When she has to decide how she can survive now that her father is gone, she decides to turn the house into a boarding home.  Craig is left homeless after his home is burnt down, they find Emily's home to rent.  Craig and his son move in with Emily and find themselves working to find what happened to Emily's father.   Can they prove what happend?  Will they find something in common with each other?  How does Emily see her future?

I would recommend this book to anyone that would like to read a book that keeps you in suspense.  It is a page turner of mystery from her father's death to how will her and Craig end up.  This is book one of the series and I can't wait to read book 2.  


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

Wednesday, April 19, 2023

A Country of Their Own ~ Hope Bolinger

This is a young readers book, but can be read by anyone to enjoy this wonderful story.  Priscilla and Carter are doing community service at a Florida retirement home and not happy about it.  They find that the residence are not what they expected.  When they try to put two residents at that home together, little did they plan what the outcome would be.  Will they be able to handle the emotions of what they learn?  Are they doing the right thing?

I would recommend this book to anyone that wants a heartfelt story.  It is a book that will touch your emotions as you turn the pages.  I was so intrigued by this group of teenagers and elders that I didn't want it to end.  The story could be a true story of teens in todays world.  I really enjoyed this book it says for young adult, but pick this book up and read it, you will be amazed and touched by it. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: A Country of Their Own

Author: Hope Bolinger

Genre: YA Contemporary Romance

Release date: April 4, 2023

THE NOTEBOOK meets SEVENTEEN AGAIN

Priscilla is an old soul. Carter can’t wait to leave Florida, a haven for the elderly.

Together they’re forced to do community service at a retirement home. But all the residents look like teenagers. Are they meant to bring together the lovable residents Scarlett and Paul—who are actually 80 years old? Or is it too late for them to find love?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Hope Bolinger is a Managing & Acquisitions Editor at End Game Press and the Founder of Generation Hope Books.

More than 1400 of her works have been featured in various publications ranging from Writer’s Digest to Keys for Kids to HOOKED to Crosswalk.com.

She has worked for various publishing companies, magazines, newspapers, and literary agencies and has edited the work of authors such as Jerry B. Jenkins and Michelle Medlock Adams.

Twenty-one of her books are under contract or out now with traditional publishers, and she hopes more of her stories will find a home soon. She has also contributed to twelve other books.

 More from Hope

Can you write a book based on a photo series.

 I did. I stumbled across this photo series in my college days and it never let me go: https://digitalsynopsis.com/design/reflections-of-the-past-tom-hussey/

 It made me think about how all people, young and old, are young at heart and wise beyond their years. In the publishing industry, I have experienced a great deal of ageism. You can seldom go to a conference without someone telling you something along the lines of, “Wow. I had no idea that you were so wise. I assumed because you are young that you know nothing.”

 And I know that many of my fellow writers who are older have experienced ageism to the same degrees.

 So I wanted to write a book that would level the playing field.

 I wanted to have two teen main characters who end up good friends with two characters who are well into their 80s—who simply look like teens thanks to the funhouse mirror effects of Country Acres (a retirement home in which the 80-year-old characters are residents).

 What made the book hit even closer to home was that I wrote it right after my grandma passed away—and right as the COVID shutdown took effect in 2020.

 Grandma had played a huge role in my writing. She and I read my first book together. She owned a bookstore in which, when I was eight, I helped her to run the cash register. And she always supported me in my publishing dreams.

 I am sad that she and Grandpa passed long before they could read this. But this book also encapsulates them. That my grandma tap danced well into her eighties, and that my grandpa would ride the waves on a boogie board.

 We’re all young, we’re all wise … let’s listen to one another.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Hope is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

click here

Tuesday, April 11, 2023

Sylvia’s Mother ~ Jennifer Lynn Cary

This is book 2 of the Weather Girls Wedding Shoppe and Venue series,  Christian Romance read.  This book takes you back to 1970's in Kokomo, Indiana.  The story of Sylvia and her mother Eileen, based on the song from Dr. Hook. Sylvia is determined to have control of her life and have her mother stop being so strict.  As it is her senior year, she finds getting along with her mother is going to be with God's help.  When they both realize that her mother's past is the reason she is today, will it bring them together or make them further apart?  Will Sylvia have a plan to have the future she wants?

I would recommend this book to anyone that has been reading the series and those that want a great fun read.  It deals with the 70's era, carefree people and forgiveness all wrapped into one. I loved this book, it is another great addition to the series.  It is book 2, but can be read as a stand alone. If you choose to read this book, read the Weather Girls series also, you will be glad you did. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

 About the Book

Book: Sylvia’s Mother

Author: Jennifer Lynn Cary

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Release date: February 26, 2023

She’s an overprotective single mother…

…He’s a former protector who can’t give up the role.

But who will guard their hearts from scheming high school matchmakers?

Eileen Avery is determined her daughter Sylvia won’t experience the heartaches she did. Even if it means taking parenting lessons from her mother, the dragon lady. But she is not like her mother. Not even remotely.

If only Sylvia could see that.

But she wants independence. How much is a good thing? And how much is too risky?

Besides, Sylvia is in love and needing a little freedom. It’s not like she’s about to run away to a commune and become a hippy. However, she is willing to try about anything to get her mom to loosen up, even play matchmaker. Maybe if her mother had her own love life, she’d quite trying to put Sylvia’s under a microscope.

But will it all blow up in her face?

Seth Matthews thought he’d said goodbye to Kokomo until an on-the-job injury with the FBI changed his plans. This town holds more than his family, and those memories had better stay buried for all concerned. But how was he to put his honed instincts on the back burner and stop safeguarding the ones closest to him?

He was willing to help his family with almost anything. But pretending interest in some woman to help with his nephew’s romantic endeavors? That was one thing he couldn’t see himself doing.

Until he realizes there was more than coincidence at play.

Forget about Women’s Lib. Return to 1972 Kokomo, Indiana for the second installment of The Weather Girls Wedding Shoppe and Venue series—Sylvia’s Mother—and the fight for personal independence. Join Sylvia, her mother, Eileen, and the kooky mix ups that all point to romance in this small town romp. If you enjoyed the Weather Girls and Judy in Disguise, then this book is a must read.

You will love Sylvia’s Mother, inspired by the pop 1960s song by Dr. Hook and the Medicine Show, because everyone dreams of a second chance with a first love.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Historical Christian Romance author, Jennifer Lynn Cary, likes to say you can take the girl out of Indiana, but you can’t take the Hoosier out of the girl. Now transplanted to the Arizona desert, this direct descendant of Davy Crockett and her husband of forty plus years enjoy time with family where she shares tales of her small-town heritage and family legacies with their grandchildren. She is the author of The Crockett Chronicles series, The Relentless series, and The Weather Girls trilogy as well as the stand-alone novel, Cheryl’s Going Home, her novella Tales of the Hob Nob Annex Caf├ę, and her split-time novels The Traveling Prayer Shawl and The Forgotten Gratitude Journal. Sylvia’s Mother is the second book of her spin-off series The Weather Girls Wedding Shoppe and Venue.

 More from Jennifer

Do you remember your high school prom? The one in Sylvia’s Mother is based on an actual prom—the Stardust Ball at Kokomo High School. I didn’t attend it—I’d gone to the Autumn Prom, but not the Stardust Ball in 1972, so I had to contact fellow classmates to get the scoop.

The date in the book is actually when it really occurred. And there are a couple other real events and personalities added to this otherwise fictional dance. It was fun to have friends tell me of their memories and to find out what some of the nominees were doing now.

Something else I learned that made me want to write this story. I had been researching and found an old interview by Chuck Buell who used to be a disc jockey for WLS in Chicago. I’d always liked him so when I ran across the interview, I wasn’t too worried about getting anything specific—it was pretty much a stroll down memory lane.

And then he told a story about meeting up with Dr. Hook. They were hanging out in Monterey, California on the good doctor’s houseboat when he offered to introduce Chuck to the guy who wrote the lyrics for “Cover of the Rolling Stone.” Turns out the guy lived a couple boats down the marina, so they walked over and Chuck Buell met Shel Silverstein for the first time.

Yep, the man who wrote The Giving Tree and those childhood collections of poetry—Light in the Attic, Falling Up, and Runny Babbit—got his start writing rock and roll lyrics. Among them are “Cover of the Rolling Stone,” “A Boy Named Sue,” and “Sylvia’s Mother.” And once I learned that, I couldn’t help hearing his style (“voice”) in the songs since I had taught from his books in my elementary classrooms for many years. The thought made me smile and I had to write a story from one of those. “Sylvia’s Mother” fit the plan for my new series, so I borrowed the title.

I hope you will enjoy the story, even if you’ve never heard the song. But if you do know that old pop hit, I think you will enjoy a couple Easter egg surprises I hid along the way.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Jennifer is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon card and an eBook copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click Here to enter

Wednesday, April 5, 2023

The Escape Game ~ Marilyn Turk

 This is book six of the Heroines of WWII series, Historical Christian reads.  This book takes you back to WWII times when Berly is in Leeds, England taking care of her mother and working as a secretary for Waddington Game Company.  When the Nazis start bombing, she must keep her mother safe.  Her brother, James is fighting the war as a pilot and is shot down and taken to a prison camp.  There he meets Kenneth a POW from America and they become friends.  When the Red Cross sets out to help them escape, it is all about a board game.  Both men are wondering what this board game is all about, when Berly knows the game well.  Can she get the secrets to her brother and save him and his friend?  Do they win the game?  

I would recommend this if you like reading history or have been reading the series.  This book is a page turner and another great story in this series of women during WWII.  It will keep you reading from page one until the end, and you will be wondering how it all ends.  It will touch your heart and make you feel for the characters.  

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: The Escape Game 
Author: Marilyn Turk
Genre: Historical Christian Fiction 
  Release date: March, 2023 

A Board Game Holds Keys to Prisoners’ Escape Full of intrigue, adventure, and romance, this series celebrates the unsung heroes—the heroines of WWII. After the Nazis started the bombing blitz of England, Beryl Clarke puts her college on hold to return to Leeds, care for her mother, and work as a secretary at the Waddington game company. While she endures the war at home, her brother James fights the enemy in the air. When he is shot down, injured, and captured, James meets American POW Kenneth Anderson, and they plan to escape the Nazi prison camp. Beryl knows there is a board game with escape plans being delivered to POWs by the Red Cross. But how will the men discover the game’s secret?  
Click here to get your copy!
  About the Author
Award-winning author Marilyn Turk writes historical fiction flavored with suspense and romance. Marilyn also writes devotions for Daily Guideposts. She and her husband are lighthouse enthusiasts, have visited over one hundred lighthouses, and also served as volunteer lighthouse caretakers at Little River Light off the coast of Maine. When not writing or visiting lighthouses, Marilyn enjoys boating, fishing, gardening, tennis, playing with grandkids, and her golden retriever Dolly. She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers; Faith, Hope and Love; Advanced Writers and Speakers Association; and Word Weavers International.   

More from Marilyn
The Story behind The Escape Game

In the process of writing my books, I’ve become fascinated by the real stories that happened during World War II. I’ve discovered information I didn’t know before and am finding out that many people I know, even those older than myself, didn’t know either. Every time I come across an interesting tidbit, I want to write about it. Since my husband knows I look for such things, when he came across a story about how the Monopoly game was used during the war, he shared it with me. The true story was kept top-secret for over fifty years after the war, so few had heard about it, especially outside the United Kingdom. Of course, my writer’s mind set off asking “What If?” So the story developed about a woman who works for the company that makes the game and what happened after she found out about the secret. What if she had a close relative who had been captured before the British informed their soldiers about the game and he needed to know the information? How could she convey that to him? I wish I could have gone to the UK for research, but that was not a possibility. Maybe someday. However, the people I contacted there were very helpful, and I was thrilled to make contact with the great granddaughter of the president of Waddintons, the company which manufactured the game. She was able to fill in a few details about the company, although when she was a child, her grandfather ran the company. One thing many people find hard to believe, based on the horrible treatment the Nazi army inflicted on people they thought inferior, is that the treatment of POW’s was somewhat better, especially for pilots. Thanks to the rules of the Geneva Convention after WWI, the Germans abided by them for the most part. That involved treatment of prisoners who escaped. Most of them were caught and returned to the camp from which they escaped. And normally, the punishment was solitary confinement. The biggest hardship of the POWs besides lack of freedom was the meager food they were given, especially as the war continued, since the Germans themselves were facing food shortages. The challenge for me as a writer was to accurately describe life in both England and the POW camp. The other big challenge was writing a love story when the two characters were apart for so long. But it’s true that many soldiers fell in love with women they corresponded with back home. That fact is verified in the many letters on record, including the ones my father-in-law wrote to a fellow soldier’s fianc├ę after the soldier was killed in action. Their relationship grew into love, and after the war, the two met in person at the train station for the first time and married the same day.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Marilyn is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon eGift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

 Click to enter.


Do Your Best, Tess! ~ Janet Morris Grimes

This is a young children's book about just doing your best you can do.  When Tess has a hard time keeping her room clean, doing what her parents tell her to do and just paying attention to school, she learns that trying means more than you know.  Tess wants to sing in the play, however, she does other things and then doesn't go to the try outs.  She gets a second chance to audition again.  Will she be able to do the audition?  Will she make it to be in the play. What can Tess do?

I would recommend this to all the little ones as a read out loud book with adults.  It shows how to do your best you can in any situation.  It is a great story to teach kids about just trying, not having to be perfect, just be themselves.  

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Do Your Best, Tess!

Author: Janet Morris Grimes

Genre: Children’s picture book – ages 4 – 8

Release date: June 28, 2022

Tess is as scattered as the toys and clothes all over her floor. She flits from one activity to another and forms the habit of never finishing anything.

But when her dream is on the line, she discovers the importance of not getting distracted so she can finish what she starts.

Do Your Best, Tess! is a read-aloud participation book. The reader will encourage and cheer for Tess as she learns to truly do her best.

The first in the Character is a Choice! series.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Janet Morris Grimes may not have realized she was a writer at the time, but her earliest childhood memories were spent creating fairy-tale stories of the father she never knew. That desire to connect with the mysterious man in a treasured photograph gave her a deep love for the endless possibilities of a healing and everlasting story.

A wife of one, mother of three, and Tootsie to four, Janet currently writes from her quiet two-acre corner of the world near Elizabethtown, KY.

Her debut novel, Solomon’s Porch, was a 2022 American Christian Fiction Writers Carol Awards Finalist.

 More from Janet

The idea for this series started over twenty-five years ago, when it was my turn to write a skit for our children’s worship service at church. I came up with a rhyming, read-aloud, interactive story where the kids could help the main character make better choices. They loved it, and they remembered the fun catch phrase long after that night. We created some great memories through the story, and that’s what I hope to offer to children of today.

Do Your Best, Tess! is about a little girl who’s learning to finish what she starts, and why that’s so important. Tess gets distracted easily, and I think we can all relate, especially with today’s culture.

I so enjoy reading this story to my own grandchildren. They love helping Tess remember to put forth her best effort, even when she doesn’t feel like doing so.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Janet is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon gift card and a signed hard-cover copy of Do Your Best, Tess!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

Click the link to enter.


Forged in Love ~ Mary Connealy

This is book one of the Wyoming Sunrise series,  Christian Historical Romance.  This book takes you back into time to the western days of when stagecoach was the way of travel.  When Mariah is found after her stagecoach is robbed and her father and brother dead, she has also lost her memory.  When she starts to wonder what happened that day of the killings, she wonders if she is safe.  Clint is new in town and just wants to start a fresh new life for himself.  When he meets Mariah they are drawn together, but will the past be a problem?  Will they find that trouble in town may be more than they can handle?  Will they realize that feelings and faith outweigh the trouble times?

I would recommend this book to those that want to go back to the western times with a light romance.  This is a good book that will keep you turning pages and routing for their relationship to grow.  Enjoyed this book from beginning to end.  Looking forward to reading the next book in this series.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Forged in Love

Author: Mary Connealy

Genre: Historical Romance

Release date: February 28, 2023

When sparks begin to fly, can a friendship cast in iron be shaped into something more?

Mariah Stover is left for dead and with no memory when the Deadeye Gang robs the stagecoach she’s riding in, killing both her father and brother. As she takes over her father’s blacksmith shop and tries to move forward, she soon finds herself in jeopardy and wondering–does someone know she witnessed the robbery and is still alive?

Handsome and polished Clint Roberts escaped to western Wyoming, leaving his painful memories behind. Hoping for a fresh start, he opens a diner where he creates fine dishes, but is met with harsh resistance from the townsfolk, who prefer to stick to their old ways.

Clint and Mariah are drawn together by the trials they face in town, and Clint is determined to protect Mariah at all costs when danger descends upon her home. As threats pursue them from every side, will they survive to build a life forged in love?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Mary Connealy (www.maryconnealy.com) writes “romantic comedies with cowboys” and is celebrated for her fun, zany, action-packed style. She has sold more than one and a half million books. She is the author of the popular series Brothers in Arms, Brides of Hope Mountain, High Sierra Sweethearts, The Kincaid Brides, Trouble in Texas, Lassoed in Texas, Sophie’s Daughters, and many other books. Mary lives on a ranch in eastern Nebraska with her very own romantic cowboy hero.

 More from Mary

The Inspiration

I started plotting this novel when I found out that Wyoming was the first state (then a territory) in the Union to grant women the right to vote. Then I discovered it wasn’t just the right to vote; all sorts of other rights were given to women as well, like the right to run for elected office or be appointed to office. In fact, the first woman justice of the peace in the U.S. was from Wyoming. This inspired me to have one of my heroines be the second justice of the peace in the country.

As I continued my research, reading about all that went on in Wyoming was fascinating. They became a territory in 1868—with women voting—and yet they weren’t allowed statehood for another thirty years. With other states being granted statehood in only a few years, why was this? Because the U.S. government refused to let Wyoming in unless they took the vote away from women.

Because Wyoming adamantly refused to strip the vote from women, year after year they were denied statehood. When they finally did get it, the state’s women maintained their right to vote because Wyoming would not budge on the issue. The whole history of this was great reading.

So I wrote a three-book series called Wyoming Sunrise in which all my heroines play against the normal, conventional female roles of the day.

Now, what job could I possibly think of that wasn’t traditionally for women? How about Mariah who happens to be a blacksmith? And while I’m writing against stereotypes, I created a man named Clint who runs a diner. That wasn’t too unusual, for lots of diners were run by men back in the day. Yet not many of them were talented chefs trained in high-class restaurants in New York City. Clint is an excellent chef. Of course, an excellent chef in a small Wyoming town is kind of wasted on folks who prefer fried chicken and beef stew.

Clint makes chicken and beef, but he calls his dishes weird names and makes them unusually delicious. Meanwhile, Mariah is working over a hot forge for long hours every day. When her father and brother are killed in a stagecoach holdup, she becomes the only blacksmith in town.

There’s some resistance to her doing such a masculine job, but even among those who disapprove, well, they’ve got a broken wagon wheel or a hole in their kettle and it’s either let Mariah fix it or go without. Mariah is allowed to be a blacksmith out of pure necessity.

My second book, The Laws of Attraction, has a female justice of the peace, while the third, Marshaling Her Heart, features a tough lady rancher. I write westerns, and honestly, writing about tough, feisty lady ranchers like Becky the Rancher comes naturally to me. Writing about a blacksmith and a judge, however, presents more of a challenge.

Mariah, who survived the stagecoach holdup, learns that the robbers believe she might know something that will reveal their identity, and she needs to be silenced. Clint tries to protect her and finds himself stepping between her and a murderous gang of outlaws.

Through it all, love finds them, and they begin to forge a life together.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Mary is giving away the grand prize package of a $15 Amazon gift card and a paperback copy of the book Forged in Love!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Wednesday, March 29, 2023

Every Flower of the Field ~ Sara Davison

This is book 2 of the Two Sparrows for a Penny series, Christian Mystery Suspense read.  This is the story of Rose, a young girl being held against her will in a trafficking situation.  When Laken a detective finds her being captive, he needs to save her, but also keep her safe.  Both are praying to God for the answers.  Rose wants freedom, safety and out of the control of the man holding her.  Laken wants to find Rose, bring her to a safe place, and stop the people that dislike others.  Will he find Rose?  Will Rose go with him to safety? What does the future of their faith hold? 

I would recommend to anyone that wants a suspenseful read that will keep you up at night to finish reading.  This story is a deep read about trafficking and loving God no matter what.  It may be too much for those sensitive to the issue of trafficking.  It can be a stand alone read, however, read book one to really get the whole story of Rose and her sisters.  This is a great page turning book.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Every Flower of the Field

Author: Sara Davison

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Release date: February 15, 2023

Safe is the most dangerous feeling of all.

For as long as she can remember, Rose Galway has been a captive, controlled by one man or another. To her, though, God is the one holding the keys, refusing to set her free despite the desperate pleas she has sent heavenward.

Detective Laken Jones has known hardship too, including the daily trauma of racism. Still, nothing he has gone through compares to what Rose has endured. He wants nothing more than for her to experience hope and healing and maybe even happiness in her life.

But first he has to find her.

Laken is willing to risk everything to set Rose free. And to help her find her way to God. Even if that means letting go of her—and the future he envisions for the two of them—forever.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Sara Davison is the author of four romantic suspense series—The Seven Trilogy, The Night Guardians, The Rose Tattoo Trilogy, and two sparrows for a penny, as well as the standalone, The Watcher. A finalist for more than a dozen national writing awards, she is a Word, Cascade, and two-time Carol Award winner. She currently resides in Ontario with her husband, Michael, and their three mostly grown kids. Like every good Canadian, she loves coffee, hockey, poutine, and apologizing for no particular reason. Get to know Sara better at www.saradavison.org and @sarajdavison.

 More from Sara

Neil Gaiman once said, “Fiction gives us empathy. It puts us inside the minds of other people, gives us the gift of seeing the world through their eyes…” To me, that is one of the primary reasons to read and to write fiction. Every time I write a scene with a character, it’s my job as the author to put myself inside that character, to think what they are thinking and feel what they are feeling, and to draw readers inside that character too.

When what that character is experiencing is deeply painful or traumatic, that job can be extremely difficult. In my series, two sparrows for a penny, the main characters of the first two books, Every Star in the Sky and Every Flower of the Field, have has been caught up in sex trafficking for several years. What they experienced wasn’t easy to write about, especially since, although Tala’s and Rose’s stories are fictional, I am painfully aware that so many women have been or are currently in the same horrific situation.

It may be difficult to read about too, although the stories also contain humor and love and family and, ultimately, hope. Still, it is so important that stories like these are told. If Neil Gaiman is right, reading about what others are going through increases our empathy, our compassion, for their plight. And empathy and compassion are catalysts for action. If we turn away from suffering, pretend it doesn’t exist, we do nothing to help alleviate it. But if we face it, acknowledge it, we might find in ourselves the courage to take a stand against it, to do what we can to help, to let these women know that they are not alone. That they are precious to God and they are precious to us.

The title of this series is two sparrows for a penny, which comes from Matthew 10:29: “Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground outside your Father’s care.” Every human being caught up in the unspeakably heinous world of trafficking is loved by God. He sees them and knows what they are going through and, one day, he will mete out perfect justice to all who perpetuate this evil. My hope and prayer for these stories is that readers will be compelled to pray for the women and some men who are victims of this practice and maybe even become involved, through a reputable agency, in working to help free those in captivity.

And I also hope and pray readers will be reminded that, whatever they are going through in life, they are never alone either. As God knows the name of every star and takes care even of the flowers of the field, He knows every one of our names and watches over us as well. Tala and Rose finally come to realize that, even in the midst of horrific circumstances, they were never alone. God saw them, remembered them, brought them out of captivity, and will continue to walk alongside them as they begin their long journeys of healing and hope.

And He promises over and over in His Word that He will do the same for every one of us.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Sara is giving away the grand prize package of a book-related stained glass window hanging and a paperback copy of Every Flower of the Field!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Tuesday, March 14, 2023

The Finding of Miss Fairfield ~ Grace Hitchcock

This is book one of the Aprons and Veils Series, Christian Historical Read.  When Sophia finds herself being watched by her stepson Carver while her husband is away.  She starts to have feelings for Carver and knows this is wrong, she decides to run off the Mexico and becomes a waitress.  Carver is devistated that she is missing and also has feelings for her.  He sets out to find her and protect her.  Can he find her?  Will they have a future together?  Where do they end up?

I would recommend this to anyone that enjoys a historical, mysterious read.  It is a book that keeps you wondering how it is going to end.  Will they be together?  Fun read that will keep you turning the pages. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: The Finding of Miss Fairfield

Author: Grace Hitchcock

Genre: Historical Romance

Release date: August 29, 2022

When an engagement of convenience becomes anything but convenient . . .

Forced into a betrothal with a widower twice her age, Charleston socialite, Sophia Fairfield is desperate for an escape. But, while her fianc├ę is away on business, he assigns his handsome stepson, Carver, the task of looking after his bride-to-be. Much to her dismay, Sophia finds herself falling in love with the wrong gentleman—a man society would never allow her to marry, given Sophia was supposed to be his new stepmother. The only way to save Carver from scandal and financial ruin is to run away, leaving him and all else behind to become a Harvey Girl waitress at the Casta├▒eda Hotel in New Mexico.

Carver Ashton has had his life planned out for him since birth, but when he encounters Sophia Fairfield, he glimpses a new life—apart from his overbearing stepfather’s business. But, when the woman he loves disappears before he can express his devotion, Carver abandons all to find her. However, his stepfather has other intentions for Sophia and will stop at nothing until she is his bride . . . even if it is against her will.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Grace Hitchcock is the award-winning author of multiple historical novels and novellas. She holds a Masters in Creative Writing and a Bachelor of Arts in English with a minor in History. Grace lives in the New Orleans area with her husband, Dakota, sons, and daughter. Connect with her online at GraceHitchcock.com.

 More from Grace

Q: What type of fiction do you write? What is it about this type that appeals to you? 

Grace Hitchcock: I write historical romance with a dash of suspense, unless it was for my true crime books which have a bit more than a dash of suspense  For my American setting novels, The Gilded Age speaks to me as it was a time of change for women. While still having that epic romance feel with balls and dancing and courtships with a sweet romance, women were breaking ground and making history and pairing that with the fact that it was a time of emerging inventions, it is an all-around exciting era to research, read, and write.

Q: Who were the Harvey Girls?

Grace Hitchcock: Whenever I tell people I am writing about a Victorian Harvey Girl romance, they usually assume the Harvey Girls are associated with an old-time saloon, but nothing could be further from the truth. In the 1890s, there were not many respectable jobs for women, so when Englishman Fred Harvey created his chain of fine dining restaurants along the Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe railroads, single women without an education, or in need of earning their own way, were given a chance to earn an honest wage without the speculation that they offered anything else but food as a service. With Mr. Harvey’s strict rules about the waitress’s code of conduct, the women were given their independence while still maintaining their good name and place in society under the protective, fatherly arm of Fred Harvey. These extraordinary, brave women became known as the Harvey Girls, the ladies who tamed the Wild West with fine china, good pie, and exceptional service with complete propriety.

While Harvey Houses were built to serve the needs of the passengers on the rail to encourage tourism in the west, the railroad workers and local townsmen also dined at the restaurant, but usually at the lunch counter. At a time when men filled towns and women were scarce, inevitably, a railroad worker or townsman would express interest in marrying a Harvey Girl. In order to marry, she would need to fulfill her work contract or risk paying a fine of a month of salary. The fine was set in place to ensure that Fred Harvey would have enough workers and that he wouldn’t simply train a girl to have her shipped to a town of bachelors and leave him without a waitress.

As you can probably tell, such a set up sends an author’s head to spinning with all the romance that could come from a woman venturing out on her own in a land filled with cowboys, bandits, ranchers, and farmers. The possibilities for romance are endless! There is so much more I could write about these fascinating ladies and their contributions to society, but I hope you enjoyed this taste of history on the Harvey Girls!

Q: What are your publications? And what are you currently working on? 

Grace Hitchcock: After signing with The Steve Laube Agency in 2015, I sold three novellas to Barbour Publishing and then, in March 2019, I released my debut novel, The White City, from Barbour Publishing and signed for a second novel, The Gray Chamber.

My latest release, His Delightful Lady Delia, concludes my 3-book American Royalty series for Bethany House Publishers and hit the shelves in November 2022.

This spring, I signed with Kregel Publications for my first ever REGENCY series!!!! I am thrilled for this dream come true!

While I wait for its release, I’m keeping busy editing and writing book two in my Harvey Girls Aprons & Veils series, The Pursuit of Miss Parish.

The Pursuit of Miss Parish summary:

Love’s gentle promise becomes nothing more than a withered dream.

With dreams of love and a hope for belonging, shy Belle Parish leaves her position as a maid in Charleston to travel to New Mexico with her best friend to become mail-order brides. Colt Lawson’s letters hold great promise and while his devilishly handsome face matches his picture, something does not add up. Discovering his lie only moments before they wed, Belle flees the church and straight into the Casta├▒eda Hotel Harvey House. Giving up the prospect on ever marrying, she dons her nun-like uniform and focuses on her role as a Harvey Girl waitress until a strong, former Texas Ranger rides into her life.

Colt Lawson didn’t want to send that letter to Belle Parish in the first place, but her first response had all but captured his heart. When he is left standing at the altar alone, he is left with two choices—either release his dream of a love marriage, or attempt to win her heart. Wooing her would be a lot easier if that Texas Ranger wasn’t back in town. Who wants a dusty rancher with a past when she could have a shining knight in a Stetson?

While you wait for The Pursuit of Miss Parish to release in Summer 2023, please be sure to check out book one in my brand-new Harvey Girl series set at the historical Hotel Casta├▒eda, The Finding of Miss Fairfield, a tale about Charleston socialite who is on the run from an engagement of convenience.

Happy reading, friends!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Grace is giving away the grand prize package of $50 Amazon gift card, a signed copy of the book, a bookmark, and a book magnet!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE