Welcome

“I will bow down toward your holy temple and will praise your name for your love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word.”- Psalm 138:2

Thursday, January 20, 2022

Both Sides of the Border ~ Terry Overton

 

This is a Christian Fiction book about keeping faith no matter what the situation is.  When Dolores and her 2 brothers, head to America from Honduras due to their family needing to get a better life and survival.  Then we meet Eva, she needs a change in life and decides to go to Mexico, study up on her Spanish, start a new job and get out of a bad relationship. Will this be a good change for her? How does Dolores come into her life?  Can both women keep their faith and survive?

If you like a read about real life situations, this book will not let you down.  It is a book that will tug at your heartstrings and keep you cheering for the women.  It has drama, suspense, love, family and most of all faith.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Both Sides of the Border

Author: Terry Overton

Genre: Christian Fiction

Release date: March 30, 2021

Inspired by True Current Events.

Dolores, Ernesto, and Emilio Sanchez are on a quest to America to find work and to save their family, who has been devastated by their father’s accident and the drought in their home country of Honduras. But making their way to America would be too expensive for a family stricken by poverty. With only their faith in God to see them through, the teenaged siblings set off for their new home, despite the threat from the cartel, corrupt police officers, starvation, and death.

Meanwhile, Eva Jordan is determined to start a new life on the American side of the Mexican border, hoping to shake off the scars from a horrible marriage. Despite her mother’s concern for her daughter living so close to the border, Eva decides to take a vacation to the other side to sharpen up her Spanish and relax before her new job begins. She is struck by the beautiful towns of Mexico, but slowly, her eyes are opened to the dangers that are knocking at her front door.

When a hurricane washes away the border walls, will the two sides collide in hatred or unite in perfect harmony?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Terry Overton is a retired university professor of educational and school psychology. She has an Ed.D. in Special Education and a Ph.D. in Psychology. Her professional experience includes teaching public school, teaching at the university level, and being a college dean. She has two children and six grandchildren. Her writing and publication experiences include textbook and journal articles in the fields of special education and school psychology. She seeks to answer God’s call to share the good news and grow the church by writing Christian books and devotionals. She recently penned her first poetry book in honor of servicemen and women. Her book “Both Sides of the Border” is a Firebird Book Award winner in the categories of Cross-Genre, Socio-Political Fiction, and Women’s Fiction. She and her husband live in the southern tip of Texas where they enjoy semi-tropical weather and spending time with their friends and family.

 More from Terry

As a Christian author, my goals in writing “Both Sides of the Border,” were to have the reader question their own understanding of the people and events of U.S.-Mexico border, analyze these world events through a Christian worldview, and enjoy the plot’s twists and turns. During their travels, the main characters of the story display different levels of their own faith. In the end, both women have increased their faith and understanding of God.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Terry is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon gift card & copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Wednesday, January 19, 2022

God the Father, Jesus the Big Brother, Holy Spirit the Best Friend ~ Sunshine Rodgers

This is a Christian book that deals with the Trinity; the Father, the Big Brother and the Holy Spirit. This book deals with a subject that many people have problems understanding ( I believe the Trinity is the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit), so the title of the book was hard for me pick up.  As I started to read, I realized that it is exactly as I believe, only with a twist to help you understand.  Sunshine uses real people and their stories to explain the Trinity in easy reading ways.  She backs up the real life stories with scripture.  This book is very easy to read and explains this subject very well for anyone to understand.  It can be read by any age. (that is how well it is written.) I love how the scripture provides truth to what the author is teaching in this book.  It is a great book for anyone trying, searching or wants knowledge of the Trinity.  I enjoyed reading this, the trinity is hard to understand and this book makes it easier to understand.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: God the Father, Jesus the Big Brother, Holy Spirit the Best Friend

Author: Sunshine Rodgers

Genre: Christian Nonfiction

Release date: February 25, 2015

Ever confused about the Trinity? Are there three Gods or One? And how is the Trinity important to my life? Take a deep look inside this book for the answers. There is so much more to your life when you allow God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit to be inseparable parts of your existence. With your Heavenly Father, Big Brother and Best Friend by your side, you can reach the impossible and do the unthinkable. Learn about Heaven’s family and the Divine resources offered to you to succeed in life. Learn from the real testimonies from people who have been touched by this glorious revelation. Take one step closer to the three greatest loves of your life and have an experience of your own with this great Fellowship.

 Click here to get your copy!

About the Author 

Sunshine Rodgers is an International Best-Selling Author on Amazon and she has attended 31 book signings and 4 Book Tours. Her books have landed on 21 different Amazon Best Seller lists in the United States, United Kingdom and Canada including #1 in the U.K. for Bible Study and #2 in the U.S. for Bible Commentaries. She has been promoted in various newspapers, newsletters and magazines and she has been a guest on podcasts and radio. Check out all 10 of Sunshine’s books and feel the love and passion for life on her pages! Sunshine is married to her best friend, Travis and they live in sunny Florida. SunshineRodgers.com

 Excerpt from the Book

I pray Colossians 1:9-11 over you as the reader. I pray that you will not cease to make your requests known to God, and that you may be filled with the deep and clear knowledge of God’s will operating in spiritual wisdom. I pray that you will have comprehensive insight into the ways and purposes of God, and that you will be able to understand and discern spiritual things during the day and during your life (vs. 9). I pray that you will live and conduct yourself in a way that pleases the Lord, and that you will desire to make Him smile in everything that you do. I pray that you will bear much fruit walking with God and continue to do good works as well as growing and increasing in your knowledge (vs. 10). I pray that you will be invigorated and strengthened with His power to bring out His glory in your life. I pray that when life gets too tough, you will always choose to get closer to God, and exercise endurance and patience with joy. Know that throughout it all, you are surrounded by your Father, your Big Brother and your Best Friend every step of
the way. excerpt from page 202-203 (Book: God the Father, Jesus the Big Brother, Holy Spirit the Best Friend)

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Sunshine is giving away the grand prize of a $40 Visa card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Monday, January 17, 2022

Crown of the Warrior King ~ Henry O. Arnold

This is book two of The Song of Prophets and Kings series, a Christian Historical read. Read about Saul and how he was anointed as King by the prophet Samuel.  Saul has taken on the job of leader and protecting the people of Israel from evil.  When the people of Israel start worshiping him instead of God, Saul's pride takes over and he could find consequences that are deadly.  Can Israel survive evil?  Is Saul worshipping the wrong ones?  Is he saying the course of his faith?

If you read book one of the series, this one will not let you down.  If you didn't read it, that is ok, because this can be read as a stand alone.  It has drama, suspense, and is biblical fiction.  If you like fictional bible reads and book of faith then you will enjoy this one.  Please note, this book does not take the place of the bible and this story is one that you should read and then compare it to reading about Saul in the bible. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Crown of the Warrior King

Author: Henry O. Arnold

Genre: Biblical Fiction

Release date: December 1, 2021

The desire of Israel…

the first to wear the crown is the warrior king

For decades the nation of Israel had no rest from her enemies. The people cried out, “Give us a king to lead us, to go out before us, to fight our battles.” And Yahweh hears the cries of the chosen. He plucks a king out of the tribe of Benjamin, the smallest of the tribes—Saul, son of a herdsman. The prophet Samuel anoints him as Israel’s first warrior king.

Under the banner of the wolf, the symbol of his tribe, Saul rises to prominence, winning the hearts and minds of the people of Israel with his success on the battlefield and benevolent leadership.

But when the nation of Israel cries out, “For the love of Israel. For the glory of Yahweh. For the honor of the king,” the praises of the people turn the humble heart of the warrior king into one filled with pride—a pride that has fatal consequences.

In this tale of triumph and tribulation, deepest love and burning rivalries, the new epoch is given a voice…and it is a Song of Prophets and Kings.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Henry O. Arnold has co-authored a work of fiction, Hometown Favorite, with Bill Barton, and nonfiction, KABUL24, with Ben Pearson. He also co-wrote and produced with Steve Taylor (director) and Ben Pearson the film The Second Chance starring Michael W. Smith, the screenplay for the authorized film documentary on evangelist Billy Graham, God’s Ambassador, and the documentary film KABUL24, based on the book which is the story of western and Afghani hostages held captive by the Taliban for 105 days. He lives on a farm in Tennessee with his lovely wife Kay. They have two beautiful daughters married to two handsome men with three above-average grandchildren. For more information please visit: www.henryoarnold.com

 More from Henry

After the golden age of theatre in the Greek and Roman times, the theatre went dark, very dark as in Dark Ages, and for centuries it was thus. But it was the church that brought the theatre back to life by staging passion plays on biblical subjects. Since most people could not read at the time, it was a great way to tell the folks some Bible stories. The world has certainly improved its literacy skills since then. The delight I have in reading and writing stories from the Bible or on biblical themes has been with me for a long time.

When I formulated the concept of retelling the stories of the first three kings of Israel and matching them with the leading prophets of that age, the title of the series, The Song of Prophets and Kings, was a perfect match for the biblical/historical fiction genre. The first volume in this series, A Voice Within the Flame, was released last year and features the life of the prophet Samuel up to and including the anointing and coronation of Saul as the first king of Israel. Now it is time for the second volume, Crown of the Warrior King. This second novel picks up where the last one left off.

Whether the reader or listener is familiar with the biblical stories or not, I have written these novels in such a way that makes these ancient stories come to life in the modern world. When the reader/listener dives into stories that are 3,000 years old, it will be surprising how we all can see ourselves in these characters.

These are biblical stories that I grew up with and have read and studied all my life. It is a joy to get to share them with you in this series, The Song of Prophets and Kings.

Giveaway

To celebrate his tour, Henry is giving away the grand prize package of a signed copy of the book and a $50 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Sunday, January 16, 2022

Now that I know you ~ Olivia Newport

 

This is book 5 of the Tree of Life series, a Christian Historical Fiction read.  In this book Jillian a genealogist, looks up her distant cousin from the family tree, Cate.  Jillian wanted to have the family she never knew and contacts Cate, only to find that Cate turns into the person she didn't think she was.   When Cate gets into trouble and needs help, Jillian asks her dad Nolan to help.  Jillian is stumped when she is unable to find information about Cate and the past, how will she handle it?  Does the past have any consequences that effect Jillian and her family?  How will this end?

If you like a book with twist and turns until the last pages, this is the book for you.  This is book 5 but can be read as a stand alone, if you have read any of the other books in the series you will be reading about a few of the characters you met previously.  This series is great!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

 Book: Now That I Know You

Author: Olivia Newport

Genre: Split-Time Contemporary/Historical

Release date: Fall, 2021

Cate Butler is the distant cousin genealogist Jillian was so certain she wanted to find—and the only connection she has to her deceased mother’s Parisi family tree. So why does she wish Cate would stop pestering her? And why can’t Jillian find a paper trail proving Cate is who she says she is?

Cate wants something for her own career that Jillian can’t give, but she also holds the key to family history Jillian can’t bring herself to walk away from. Nolan, Jillian’s father, steps in when Cate’s chronic career chaos requires legal rescue. Drew, the man who holds Jillian’s heart, has a surprising past with Cate. The truths Jillian, Cate, and Drew find while untangling these knotted threads tie them back together in remarkable ways none of them ever would have imagined.

Now That I Know You is Book 5 in the Tree of Life series, exploring and celebrating unforgettable family stories in Canyon Mines, the mountain town that invites you back again and again.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Olivia Newport’s novels blend the truth of how our pasts carry us into where we find ourselves now. Curiosity about history seems to creep into everything she does. Her books include Amish, historical, and contemporary stories that span the centuries from before the Revolutionary War right up to the present moment.

She chases joy in stunning Colorado at the foot of Pikes Peak. Visit www.olivianewport.com.

 More from Olivia

I’ve wanted to write Now That I Know You for nearly 20 years—at least the historical story part of this split-time novel.

 When my son was a freshman in high school, he joined the mock trial team, and my husband and I entered the league of parents who watched versions of the same competition over and over. The state bar association selects a case and provides every team with the same documents to study as the basis of preparing both prosecution and defense. Team members play roles of attorneys and witnesses.

 That first year, the case was trying a particular individual in connection with his role in events that culminated in the 1914 “Ludlow Massacre,” which is featured in Now That I Know You. My son played a witness for the prosecution. My proudest moment was when one of the scoring judges—who are actual court judges—singled him out for his skill in recognizing and dodging the opposing counsel’s interrogation strategy. Somebody hold me in my chair, because you really are not supposed to jump and cheer at mock trial!

 Since I heard the case several times, the history wormed its way into my heart and mind. The injustice and tragedy of the story weighed heavy, but so did the legacy of the events and their eventual impact on history that affects us even today. People often ask where book ideas come from. Sometimes they germinate inside me for a long time before the moment is ripe to put them on the page in the lives of characters who have grown around them. This is one of those stories.

 —Olivia Newport

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Olivia is giving away the grand prize package of a signed set of all 5 books in the Tree of Life series!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Saturday, January 15, 2022

Marriage Conversations ~ Cathy Krafve

 

This book is a self help Christian book about Marriage.   Marriage is complicated and not like the fairy tales we all think about marriage or want in a marriage.  Every relationship has it's ups and downs, and each couple must work hard to keep their marriage strong.  Cathy gives real-life stories about her marriage and her parents marriage of troubles, happiness, love and all the hard decisions you have to make in life.  Each chapter is a story about a topic and then at the end she gives questions for you to journal and think about your answers.  Also, after the questions she provides a prayer and God's words.  This is a book all about how God looks at marriage along with proof of verses that say God's word.  This is a good book for couples, engaged couples and defiantly married couples that want to have their relationship stronger.  You can do this alone or as a couple, I suggest doing as a couple to really get the effect of the book.  Great gift book to give for any couple you know. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Marriage Conversations

Author: Cathy Krafve

Genre: Nonfiction

Release date: February 7, 2021

Are you cherishing a marriage that’s off the charts? Or co-existing in a fragile one?

What we all really want is intimacy and tingling excitement. Is true love just a fairy tale? Or can life-long companionship be a reality? You bet it can!   Author Cathy Krafve shares the personal stories and conversations she first created to help inspire success for her own kids’ marriages.

Marriage entails serious communication. So, we turn to the Master Communicator for strategies to soften hearts and strengthen resolve. Cathy will help you…

- Initiate practical, foundational truths.

- Replace magical thinking with rock solid miraculous biblical truths.

- Understand why we get married in the first place.

- Invigorate your closest relationship.

For instance, learn the no-fail trick for changing an argument back into a conversation.

Inspire the delightful results your heart is craving.

Go from blah to breathtaking!

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Queen of Fun and Coffee Cup Philosopher, Cathy Primer Krafve delivers creativity and encouragement on every page.

She understands companionship begins with authentic conversation. With journalistic fervor and a knack for laughter and story-telling, Cathy puts a snappy spin on deeply spiritual truths.

Host of Fireside Talk Radio, her weekly blogs and podcasts reach over 2 million listeners and readers annually. Her audiences learn to leverage compassion and courage in order to engage in two-way conversational adventures.

Join the Fireside Tribe as we create life so beautiful in its imperfection generations after us will be retelling our stories with joy and laughter.

Truth with a Texas twang spoken here!

 More from Cathy

From Blah to Breathtaking!

Why does conversation at home have to be so hard? What makes it hard? How do you keep hanging in there when it’s tough?

 “So, Dave and I slogged ahead. Yuck. Like trudging through a chilly winter night in clumsy snow boots, we were determined to survive,” reports Author Cathy Krafve.

 Then, they began to talk a little more openly to their closest friends. Yep, they were desperate. Interestingly, they discovered marriage conversations were a problem for a bunch of their friends, too.

Lo and behold, communicating turned out to pretty much be a universal challenge!

 “We picked up tons of new communication skills,” she adds, laughing, “Good thing, too, since we really NEEDED new skills!”

 What can we change at home to train ourselves and our kiddos to have terrific conversations? Each chapter of Marriage Conversations offers great ideas you can try out at your house. Here are a few chapters:

  • Negotiating like an Oil Tycoon
  • Creating a Personal Etiquette
  • Only Keeping What We Give Away
  • Asking Power Questions
  • Understanding Fellowship as the Best Foreplay

 Queen of Fun and Coffee Cup Philosopher, Cathy delivers creativity and encouragement on every page of Marriage Conversations: from co-existing to cherished.

 While it’s the perfect book for your book club, Bible Study, or Sunday school class, Cathy has a more, ahem, intimate suggestion. Read it out loud with your spouse.

 “What’s really great is the number of men who tell me they read it with their wife! Passing it back and forth. Wow! That’s genius,” she reports. “Truthfully, though, when guys tell me it’s the funniest book they’ve ever read, I assume it’s the only marriage book they’ve ever read!”

 Each chapter ends with thought-provoking questions, personal applications, and prayer.

 So, how things are with Dave and Cathy now? Fair question.

“We still have arguments occasionally, maybe once a year. In some ways maybe it’s worse because it doesn’t happen very often. I get real panicky, like, Oh no! We’re falling back into our bad habits,” she confesses.

But she adds they now know how to get into a better conversation place quickly. Also, they intentionally cherish each other. So that’s really made a difference.

“But one thing I want people to know; this book is not about how to do it yourself. This book is about how I messed up. And here’s what I learned from my mistakes. If you want some good ideas, here are the things that worked for us,” says Cathy

Tons and tons of good ideas. Anything she could get her hands on.

“Because I was originally writing for my children,” she explains. “So, I didn’t hold anything back. I don’t think anyone will feel preached at. I’m pretty sure reading friends will think, Okay this woman has been in the trenches. She gets it.”

Cathy is known for putting a snappy spin on deeply spiritual truths. She writes with journalistic fervor and a knack for laughter and story-telling.

Host of Fireside Talk Radio, her weekly blogs and podcasts reach over 3 million people annually.  She is also author of The Well: The Art of Drawing Out Authentic Conversations.

 Companionship begins with authentic conversations. How do we go from co-existing to cherished? Cathy understands good communication tools can change everything!  Order two copies today; one for yourself and one to share with a friend!

 Truth with a Texas twang spoken here!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Cathy is giving away the grand prize package of a $100 Amazon gift card and a copy of both The Well and Marriage Conversations!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Friday, January 14, 2022

The Kidron Valley ~ Caryl McAdoo

 

This is book 3 of the Days of Dread Trilogy series, a young readers, sci/fy book.    As the story continues, evil has taken over and Jackson and the all the characters from the previous books are determined to fight for the good.  They must have faith and believe that God's word is all you need to survive and kill off the darkness.  Will Jackson finally come to know God is in control and you must have faith to survive.  Will he finally believe in God?

This is a short read for adults, and heared towards the young readers. If you like to read sci-fy, drama, and about faith then read this book. You should read book one and two before book 3 (as this is the end of trilogy series)  Note: that if you read this as a stand alone you will have a big chance of being confused at certain points of the book.  

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: The Kidron Valley

Author: Caryl McAdoo

Genre: Young Adult and Mid-Grade Readers

Release date: November 11, 2021

For I will gather all nations against Jerusalem to battle.
As evil heightens all over the world, Jackson, his best friend Al, and his girlfriend Aria learn to live in their new world, fighting off those who would kill, steal, and destroy family and neighbors in Red River County. The story is one of survival under the guidance of Uncle Roy and his brother and God’s Words of Knowledge and angel unaware. No one discounts the Great Pyrenees Boggs’ part either. Though Jackson still holds fast to his agnostic beliefs, God keeps making it harder for him to deny His existence and the sacrifice of His Son. Will he finally believe?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Award-winning author Caryl McAdoo prays her story brings God glory, and her best-selling stories—over sixty published—delight Christian readers around the world. The prolific writer also enjoys singing the new songs the Lord gives her; you may listen at YouTube. Sharing four children and nineteen grandsugars (three greats), Caryl and Ron, her high-school-sweetheart-husband of fifty-three years, live in the woods south of Clarksville, seat of Red River County in far Northeast Texas. The McAdoos wait expectantly for God to open the next door.

 More from Caryl

Back in the day (2012), after my agent Mary Sue McAdoo Seymour had my first historical romance VOW UNBROKEN under contract with Simon and Schuster, but before its publication, she received a request for a mid-grade dystopian and asked if we—my husband and cowriter—wanted to write one.

 We kicked it around and came up with an idea for THE KING’S HIGHWAY. Her client rejected the idea of an end times story for so young an age, but the ZonderKidz editor I pitched to at ACFW loved it! She updated me later it was going to committee.

 Next thing I knew, doctors diagnosed her with a terrible disease, and she left the company before it was approved. Time marched on until I decided to publish it myself after we went Indie in 2015. By then it would be the Days of Dread Trilogy: THE KING’S HIGHWAY, THE SIXTH TRUMPET, and THE KIDRON VALLEY!

Those who read book one loved it! New to Indie publishing, I bit off almost more than I could chew that first year—eleven new titles! Between getting all those to market and writing sequels to my historical romance family saga, I never got around to write books two and three!

 Fast forward to 2021. It appears the dominoes are falling; signs of the Apocalypse are coming more frequently, so we decided to get to THE SIXTH TRUMPET which debuted in June, followed with the release of THE KIDRON VALLEY in November!

 I never planned to include all the Bible’s graphic descriptions of the Battle of Armageddon—it is mentioned, but I downplayed but it. While some soft-pedal the tribulation, I believe many of His children will live through it. I hope to bolster my young readers’ faith to be able to trust God for their protection and provision.

 In the Days of Dread stories, I used dreams and visions to put my hero and some of his friends in that final battle without predicting any specific time—only Father knows the day and the hour! I believe, as Jackson discovers, there will be places of refuge where those who follow God ban together for mutual protection and benefit.

it’s so pleased me that many grandparents love these books as well. One read it twice, back-to-back because she loved it so much and didn’t want it to end! Though rampant evil throws the world into chaos, I believe His Chosen will walk in power and peace, spreading His Good News to the lost until the end!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Caryl is giving away the grand prize of a $25 Amazon gift card!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

CLICK HERE

Thursday, January 13, 2022

Broken Together ~ Brenda S. Anderson & Sarah S Anderson

 

This book is part of The Mosaic Collection, a Women's Christian Contemporary read.  Jennifer and Chad had it all, marriage, dreams, hopes, and a goal of opening a coffee shop.  Then one day, everything changes when Chad is convicted of a crime he didn't do and put in jail.  Jennifer fights for Chad to be free, however, after years she has to make the tough decision to move on.  She decides to go ahead with the coffee shop for both of them.  Then things change again, Chad may get released due to a new lawyer that might prove his innocents.  Will Chad get out of prison?  How does this effect Jennifer?  Will they both be able to move forward with all they have been through?  Will they pick up where things were left off?

Want to read a heartfelt book about forgiveness, family and love?  This book has it all..... it will pull at your feelings and makes you think about how you would feel.  It will keep you thinking days after you read it and one of those books you will want to read again.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Broken Together
Authors: Brenda S. Anderson & Sarah S Anderson
Genre: Christian Women’s Fiction
Release date: December 1, 2021

How do you persevere when you have no more will to fight?

Jennifer and Chad Taylor had dreamed of opening a coffee and cocoa shop since before they said, “I do.” When Chad is sent to prison for murder despite claiming innocence, that dream—along with their family—is shattered.

After years of fighting for Chad’s release, Jennifer finally breaks free from her shame, anger, and hopelessness, and forges ahead with the dream the two of them once shared. With the help of their college-aged twins, she begins to move forward.

Without Chad.

When their lawyer arrives with news of evidence that may prove Chad’s innocence, a strange mixture of emotions overtakes her. Does she want Chad to return home? He isn’t the same man he once was, and she certainly isn’t the same woman. She’s worked hard to piece the remnants of their family back together, and his coming home could fracture the family once again.

It all comes down to one question. She loves her husband enough to fight for his release from prison, but does she love him enough to fight for their marriage?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Authors

Brenda S. Anderson writes authentic, gritty, life-affirming fiction that shows God at work in people’s messy lives. She enjoys live music and theater, walking the shores of Lake Superior, and sharing hot cocoa with friends and family. She lives near Minneapolis with her newly retired husband. Together, they plan to travel across the United States, checking items off their bucket list, beginning with a bus trip to Niagara Falls.

Readers can learn more about Brenda S. Anderson at www.brendaandersonbooks.com

A former barista, Sarah S. Anderson loves all things coffee, so when her mother asked her to help with a book set in a coffee shop, the answer was an enthusiastic “Yes!” When not creating imaginary coffee shops, Sarah spends much of her time at the theater, either on stage acting, singing, and dancing, or offstage as musical director. She lives near the heart of Minneapolis with her two cuddly kitties.

 More from Brenda

Why I Wrote Broken Together

Years ago, I watched a late-night interview with a woman who’d fought to free her husband from prison, and she finally won that fight. Near the end of the show, when the interviewer asked how she and her husband were doing now, she replied that they were divorced. It shocked me that she’d fought so hard for him, but then couldn’t hold their marriage together. I knew then that I needed to explore, through fiction, how that could happen.

I’d put off the idea for years, fearing the topic was larger than I could handle, but the story kept pushing its way through.

My daughter, Sarah, and I had often talked about writing a story together, one that would be set in a coffee and cocoa shop, and Broken Together seemed to be the perfect match. As a former barista, Sarah brought the coffee expertise to the story. As a non-coffee drinker, I insisted equal billing for non-coffee beverages.

Then the legal director for the Great Northern Innocence Project graciously offered to walk me through the many the legal hoops someone has to go through to be released once evidence is found.

With her help, I could no longer avoid writing Jenn and Chad’s story. It was a difficult one to write, but it’s also a story filled with hope.

 Chad’s Choco-Latte Recipe
Ingredients
2 shots of espresso
3/4 cup whole milk
3 tablespoons of milk chocolate (chips or sauce)
2 tablespoons English toffee sauce (Chad’s secret recipe)
Whipped cream
 
Instructions:
  1. Steam milk with chocolate chips or sauce to 150°F
  2. Pull 2 espresso shots (Make sure your shots don’t sit longer than 20 seconds or they will expire!)
  3. Add English toffee sauce to the bottom of your cup or mug
  4. Add espresso shots to your toffee sauce
  5. Pour steamed milk into your cup or mug, making sure the milk hits the far side of your mug to help incorporate the ingredients
  6. Stir if needed
  7. Top with whipped cream and extra English toffee sauce if desired

Giveaway

To celebrate their tour, Brenda and Sarah are giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon gift card and a paperback book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Wednesday, January 12, 2022

Buried Cold Case Secrets ~ Sami A. Abrams

This book is part of the Love Inspired Suspense Inspirational Romance books.  This is the story of Melanie determined to solve a crime that happened many years ago that involved her.  Melanie and her best friend was kidnapped, only her best friend didn't survive.  Now that she is an forensic anthropologist and remembering things from that night, she wants to solve this cold case.  She and Jason, the Detective that was on the case, team up to see if they can find who committed the crime.  Will they be able to find the person before they are killed?  Will they find that the past can be solved?

This book is a great read if you like mystery, suspense and light romance.  I enjoy these books for a good afternoon read that keeps your attention to the end.  Lots of drama and moves fast.  Great read for those that like the story to be fast paced and a quick read.  Each book in the series can be read as stand alone, as each one is a separate story. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Buried Cold Case Secrets

Author: Sami A. Abrams

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Release date: December 28, 2021

Recovering her missing memories…

Could be the key to solving a murder…

Searching for her best friend’s remains could help forensic anthropologist Melanie Hutton regain her memories of when they were both kidnapped—unless the killer gets to Melanie first. For her safety, Melanie must rely on Detective Jason Cooper, who still blames her for his sister’s death. Can Jason set the past aside to solve the cold-case murder…and shield Melanie from the same fate?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Two-time Genesis winner Sami A. Abrams and her husband live in Northern California, but she’ll always be a Kansas girl at heart. She enjoys visiting her two grown children and spoiling their sweet fur babies. Most evenings, if Sami’s not watching sports, you’ll find her engrossed in a romantic suspense novel. She thinks a crime plus a little romance is the recipe for a great story.

 More from Sami

What writer doesn’t grow up reading every chance they get? That would be me.

Until my thirties, I hated to read. Then someone told me about Terri Blackstock, and I decided to give her books a try. I was hooked. I guess there’s something to finding the right genre. Romantic Suspense is it for me. Of course, that makes sense. I love CSI, NCIS, and Criminal Minds. Over the years, I have expanded my taste, but there’s just something about suspense that keeps me coming back.

A little over five years ago, I decided to start checking off some of the items on my bucket list. I learned how to rock climb and got my scuba certification, among other things. When I got to the item, writing a novel, I sat down and pounded it out. Check the box; I was done. Wrong. God had other plans and placed some amazing people in my life.

One of those plans was attending MurderCon, a conference for writers where they learn from experts about, you guessed it…murder. Actually, it’s about police procedures, crime scene analysis…the list goes on and on. One of the workshops I attended was with a forensic anthropologist, and the idea for Melanie Hutton and Buried Cold Case Secrets was born.

I loved writing Melanie’s story. She’s a fighter and refuses to let anything stand in her way, including the man, Jason Cooper, who blames her for her best friend’s death. Jason holds on to the past and his hatred toward Melanie, but he soon learns that if he puts aside his assumptions and listens, he’ll discover the truth about the day his sister died. Letting go of his anger and blame is tough for Jason, but when he does, he finds the life he’s always wanted.

I hope you enjoy reading Melanie and Jason’s story as much as I did writing it.

I’d love to hear from you. Please visit my website at samiaabrams.com and sign up for my newsletter.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Sami is giving away the grand prize package of a book, a coffee mug, a notebook, a pen!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Tuesday, January 11, 2022

Harmony on the Horizon ~ Kathleen Denly

 

This is book 3 of the Chaparral Hearts series, a Western Christian book.  This book takes place in the 1860's in San Diego when Margaret moves to teach in this place and finds more then teaching.  She meets Everett and they become smitten with each other.  Everything is going well for both of them, when an unforeseen circumstance threatens both of them, they both must make difficult choices.    Will they survive as a couple?  Will they be able to overcome the choices that they both have to make?

I would recommend this book to those that enjoy a light romance, with drama and having to make difficult choices.  It is a good afternoon or evening read when you want to escape life and go to another place.  This is book 3 of the series, but can be read as a stand alone as each book in the series is about a different character and situation. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

 Book: Harmony on the Horizon

Author: Kathleen Denly

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Release date: January 4, 2022

Her calling to change the world may be his downfall.

On the heels of the Great Rebellion, Margaret Foster, an abolitionist northerner, takes a teaching position in 1865 San Diego—a town dominated by Southern sympathizers. At thirty-seven years of age, Margaret has accepted spinsterhood and embraced her role as teacher. So, when Everett Thompson, the handsomest member of the School Board, reveals his interest in her, it’s a dream come true. Until her passionate ideals drive a wedge between them.

After two decades of hard work, Everett Thompson is on the verge of having everything he’s dreamed of. Even the beautiful new teacher has agreed to his courtship. Then two investments go south and a blackmailer threatens everything Everett has and dreams of.

As Everett scrambles to shore up the crumbling pieces of his life, Margaret unwittingly sets off a scandal that divides the small community and threatens her position as teacher. With the blackmailer still whispering threats, Everett must decide if he’s willing to risk everything for the woman still keeping him at arm’s length.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Kathleen Denly lives in sunny California with her loving husband, four young children, and two cats. As a member of the adoption and foster community, children in need are a cause dear to her heart and she finds they make frequent appearances in her stories. When she isn’t writing, researching, or caring for children, Kathleen spends her time reading, visiting historical sites, hiking, and crafting.

 More from Kathleen

Who Invented Romance?

 I don’t know if you’ve heard, but romance novels are sometimes viewed as the black sheep of the fiction industry. For various reasons, some people view romance stories with a disdainful eye. Knowing this, I still choose to write romance stories and some may wonder why.

 First and foremost, I’ve had a passion for romance for as long as I can remember. I was absolutely one of those typical little girls who played dress-up in her mother’s clothes (or in my case, her lingerie. Eek! I had no idea. LOL) and planned my future wedding day. For reasons I can’t explain, the idea of a man and woman falling in love and pledging their life to one another has always enthralled me.

 Or perhaps I can explain.

 You see, I was raised in a Christian family and have always been exposed to the Bible. Have you ever looked at your Bible from a romantic perspective? When you stop to consider it, there is more than enough romance in God’s Word to justify placing it on the Romance Novel shelf in a bookstore. At least there would be if novels weren’t inherently fiction and the Bible wasn’t entirely true. (And aren’t we grateful that the Bible is completely true?)

 So, in a way, one could say that God is the first romance author. After all, what is more romantic than a groom sacrificing his life for his bride? It even has the requisite happy ending, because He rose from the dead and will return for His bride.

 The thing is, God isn’t just a romance author, He’s the inventor of romance. He was the first to demonstrate what love truly is. He is the one who defines it and describes its fruits so that we can recognize it when we see it. It’s His love that gives us life.

 And the thing about romantic love is that it has a unique power to change people, to break down their emotional walls in ways that might not happen otherwise. There is a reason God designed man and woman to be together. Many reasons, in fact. But I am convinced that one of them is His ability to use that beautiful relationship to draw His children closer to His own heart.

 So yes, some may look down on romance novels and those who read or write them, but I stand tall and proud, because I know that true romance–the kind God authors–is something to cherish and honor. I am blessed to be able to share God’s truths through the wondrous stories of two hearts joining together as one.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Kathleen is giving away the grand prize package of a Kindle Fire HD8 Plus, a custom Harmony on the Horizon Kindle case, a Harmony on the Horizon altered notebook, a Chaparral Hearts pen, a pair of earrings, a pin, and a scripture keychain!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Monday, January 10, 2022

Hollywood is Not Home ~ Annmarie M. Roberts

 This book is a Christian Contemporary romance read.  Maggie is a movie star that has it all, money, success, everything she needs along with anxiety, sadness and no hope.  She decides to make a change and get some well needed and deserved time to herself.  She has been given the opportunity to get away from it all by a stranger that she just meets one day.  Will she take them up on the offer and go away without telling anyone and trusting the stranger to give her the peace and quiet she needs?  If she goes, where is this place and will it be safe?  Does the stranger want more from her then she was told?

I would recommend this book if you want a relaxing afternoon read, that will take you to a place of finding your own peace and content with this story.  It is a story about how everyone always has a story and it always looks better than your story.  It is a great read with a great meaning of what is like to have it all, but not being what you expected.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Hollywood is Not Home

Author: Annmarie M. Roberts

Genre: Contemporary Christian Fiction – Romance

Release date: July 13, 2021

Would you trade fame for privacy?

Movie star Maggie Malone has a glamorous lifestyle with everything money can buy—except privacy. Hounded by the paparazzi and ridiculed for her faith, Maggie secretly struggles with severe anxiety and loneliness. All she desires is to be herself—southern girl by birth, ranch lover by heart.

When an anonymous benefactor invites Maggie to participate in a secret project, will her hopelessness find a new direction? Or will she become another celebrity travesty? What if she discovers Hollywood is not Home? Her faith, family, love, and future hang in the balance.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Annmarie M. Roberts is an author, copywriter, and scriptwriter. She is a wife and mother of two. Her soul grew to love writing at a young age. In grade school, she could hardly wait to receive her first writing assignment, “What I did over summer break.” She just loved to impress her teacher with a detailed descriptive read of a summer filled with wonder and fascinating adventures, some of which were true. Writing has been her passion in one form or another ever since. “There is nothing like the power of expression through words to create a moment in time or an imaginative place to magically transport your reader,” Annmarie mused when asked about why she loves to write. When she is not working on commercial script writing, she spends time with her family and volunteers with her church in the community.

 More from Annmarie

Fall in love with a faithfully blessed story and characters that grew from my heart and surely bound to find a place in yours!

This has been a long-time coming friend. It all started about fifteen years ago from a very old desktop computer and a rickety put-together desk that you buy in a box. In the beginning, it had highlights of Hollywood but no traces of the southern influence yet. We hadn’t moved to the south when I started my novel, so the blessings that were about to bestow upon me were still in store. Maybe it came from the handwritten letter from my new pastor in my mailbox the first day I arrived, or the first time I heard a shopping cart called “a buggy”, either way, I knew I was home when I landed in South Carolina. So much of my story is influenced by good Christian women I met in church, delicious southern food that will knock your socks off, and the abundance of faith that runs here like the rivers.

 If you are reading this, know I appreciate you. If you read my book, I know you will feel the love, friendship, family, laughs, and tears that I belted out as I wrote it.

Find a special place like I have on the covered deck near my kitchen whereas I write now I hear the inviting sound of wind chimes tickling in the soft Southern hot-humid breeze accompanied by a greyed over cloud pending the usual afternoon downpour. Southern afternoon rains are fast and furious, but they kiss the grass and the trees and delight our eyes with forever green tapestry.

Sit in this place soon with a cool glass of fresh-made lemonade and some homemade lemon butter cookies, just like Maggie Malone would.

Alternate cookie and lemonade in one hand and my new novel, Hollywood is Not Home, in the other.

Fall in love with my characters and get to know me as a writer through them.  Share your thoughts with me about my book but never share those homemade lemon butter cookies…those are for you. You deserve them! Enjoy!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Annmarie is giving away the grand prize package of a themed gift basket with various items that have inspirational sayings on them like a mug, bookmark, an autographed copy of the book, and a copy of The Ultimate Gift by Jim Stovall!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Sunday, January 9, 2022

Elinor ~ Shannon McNear

 

This is a true Historical read part of the Daughters of the Lost Colony books.   This book takes place in the 1500's era, when Elinor makes the journey to the new world.  When she and her family find themselves not in the glorious land they had envisioned, little did they know they are in trouble and forced to survive on their own, they are running out of hope and time.  As they struggle to find food, shelter and the land they were promised, can they make it?  Who will survive this terrible time?  Will Elinor keep the faith that God will provide?

If you like a suspense historical read, this will be a book you will enjoy.  It is of history and great details of just how people had to survive during this era.  It is the history of the lost colony of Roanoke and will give you insight of the new settlers coming from England had to endure.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Elinor

Author: Shannon McNear

Genre: Christian/Historical/Romance

Release date: December 1, 2021

A Journey Full of Hope…
Escape into a riveting story based on the mystery of the Lost Colony of Roanoke.

Author Shannon McNear portrays history with vivid authenticity.

In 1587, Elinor White Dare sailed from England heavy with her first child but full of hopes. Her father, a renowned artist and experienced traveler, has convinced her and her bricklayer husband Ananias to make the journey to the New World. Land, they are promised, more goodly and beautiful than they can ever imagine. But nothing goes as planned from landing at the wrong location, to facing starvation, to the endless wait for help to arrive. And, beyond her comprehension, Elinor finds herself utterly alone. . .
The colony at Roanoke disappeared into the shadows of history. But, what if one survived to leave a lasting legacy?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Transplanted to North Dakota after more than two decades in Charleston, South Carolina, Shannon McNear loves losing herself in local history. She’s a military wife, mom of eight, mother-in-law of three, grammie of two, and a member of ACFW and RWA. Her first novella, Defending Truth in A Pioneer Christmas Collection, was a 2014 RITA® finalist. When she’s not sewing, researching, or leaking story from her fingertips, she enjoys being outdoors, basking in the beauty of the northern prairies. Connect with her at www.shannonmcnear.com, or on Facebook and Goodreads.

 More from Shannon

Why did I write this story? Well, God shoved the opportunity under my nose, and I didn’t want to be guilty of taking the easy way out, by saying no. 😊

 Really, while the concept was fascinating, the execution was daunting, and sometimes terrifying. The Elizabethan Era—before the King James Bible and even before Shakespeare was popular! As a student of the Revolutionary War and surrounding times, I felt very much out of my depth.

 Though the research sucked me in, it was also daunting. Sifting through various interpretations of the primary accounts and their own speculations on why they felt things must have gone a certain way. Trying to “find” my story amongst all the theories and opinions. Above all, getting to know my characters and letting them come alive in my own imagination.

 And come alive, they did—in full color, with a vividness I did not expect. I hope I was able to translate even a portion of what I envisioned to the page, so that you also can see them!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Shannon is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Sunday, January 2, 2022

Saving Mrs. Roosevelt ~ Candice Sue Patterson

 

This is book 3 of the Heroines of WWII series, a Christian Historical read.  When Shirley and her friend, Joan make the decision to help during the War.  They join the organization named SPARS ( Semper Parus Always Ready) and are enlisted into the service.  After training they are sent to separate jobs, apart from each other.  Shirley is taken to Lubec, Maine and become a spy to guard the First Lady.  She can not tell anyone what her job is.  Can she keep the secret?  Will she be able to survive without her friend by her side?  What is this big secret all about? 

This is book 3 of the series but can be read as a stand alone as all of the books in the series are about different women of the war.  It is a page turner and gets you wondering what will Shirley do?  Can she survive?  Makes you think if this was you, what would you do?

  Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.


About the Book

Book: Saving Mrs. Roosevelt

Author: Candice Sue Patterson

Genre: Christian Fiction/Historical/Adventure

Release date: December, 2021

Shirley Davenport is as much a patriot as her four brothers. She, too, wants to aid her country in the war efforts, but opportunities for women are limited. When her best friend Joan informs her that the Coast Guard has opened a new branch for single women, they both enlist in the SPARs, ready to help protect the home front.

Training is rigorous, and Shirley is disappointed that she and Joan are sent to separate training camps. At the end of basic training, Captain Webber commends her efforts and commissions her home to Maine under the ruse of a dishonorable discharge to help uncover a plot against the First Lady.

Shirley soon discovers nothing is as it seems. Who can she trust? Why do the people she loves want to harm the First Lady? With the help of Captain Webber, it’s a race against time to save Mrs. Roosevelt and remain alive.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Candice Sue Patterson studied at the Institute of Children’s Literature and is an active member of American Christian Fiction Writers. She lives in Indiana with her husband and three sons in a restored farmhouse overtaken by books. When she’s not tending to her chickens, splitting wood, or decorating cakes, she’s working on a new story. Candice writes Modern Vintage Romance—where the past and present collide with faith. Her debut novel How to Charm a Beekeeper’s Heart was a 2012 ACFW First Impressions finalist and made INSPYs Longlist for 2016.

 More from Candice

The idea for Saving Mrs. Roosevelt literally came overnight. I had just finished writing a contemporary romance set in Maine, centered around a harbor town where lobstering is prevalent. My agent called me and told me about the Heroines of WWII series and asked if I’d be interested in writing a WWII novel. If so, I needed to come up with a story and proposal fast because spots were limited and filling quickly. My mind was so consumed with research of the lobster industry that I felt I couldn’t clear my brain fast enough to come up with another story on such short notice. That’s when I started wondering how I could take the knowledge I already had and make it work for a WWII novel. I googled Maine during WWII, came across an article that mentioned the SPARs, and the idea for Saving Mrs. Roosevelt was born.

I don’t want to give too much away, but the Nancy Drew deep inside me figured out a unique way to merge lobstering with espionage.

Though the plot is purely fiction, there are some characters and events that are historically accurate that were fun to include as well. I love Maine, but I’m Hoosier born and raised, and in my SPAR research, I discovered that Dorothy C. Stratton–the woman the Coast Guard asked to direct the SPARs–was the Dean of Women at Purdue University in Indiana. She was a woman of true character, grace, and strength. I knew right away she needed a cameo in my story.

Within twenty-four hours of receiving my agent’s call, I had plotted the entire story and sent a proposal. Weeks went by, and as fall ushered in its beautiful colors, my husband surprised me with a trip to Monhegan Island, Maine. We walked the trails, ate amazing seafood, and took in the gorgeous view. While on the island, my agent called again, this time to let me know that Barbour had contracted Saving Mrs. Roosevelt. What a special moment it was to be standing on the very shoreline where the book is set when I received the good news.

Since the book is set in Maine where the heroine works on a lobster boat with her father, I wanted to share my favorite recipe for Maine blueberry pie.

 Maine Blueberry Pie

Ingredients:

2 Pie crusts

1 quart of fresh Maine blueberries

1 ½ tbsp lemon juice

Freshly grated nutmeg

¼ c light brown sugar

¼ c white sugar

¼ c flour

2 tbsp tapioca for thickening (if the berries are juicy)

 Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Place the berries into a large bowl, add lemon juice, and toss. Add the remaining ingredients and toss until the berries are well coated with the flour and sugars mixture. Line the pie plate with one crust. Put the berries into the pie plate and top with a solid or lattice-top crust. Bake for 35-40 minutes until the berries are bubbly and the crust is golden brown.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Candace is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Wish Upon a Star ~ Jennifer Sienes

 

This is part of the Apple Hill Series, a short Contemporary Christian read.  This is a very quick and fast read.  Elaina is a single mom that is dealing with life and protecting her daughters.  Ryan is very interested in Elaina, her daughters and all the baggage that comes with them.  However, Elaina can't forget the past nor trust anyone with her heart or the girls.  Can she find faith, forgiveness and start to trust again? Can Ryan deal with all that is going on with this family?  

If you want a true feelings read that will only take you a few hours to read, this is one for you.  It is one of those books that leaves you thinking days after you are done.  

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.



 About the Book

 Book: Wish Upon a Star

Author: Jennifer Sienes

Genre: Christmas Christian Women’s Fiction

Release date: November 9, 2021

Fairy tales and wishing upon stars are for those who still believe in romance.

Sometimes misplaced trust injures more than ourselves, and doesn’t Elaina Hensley know it. When her oldest daughter is left suffering the consequences, Elaina vows to protect her girls at any cost. Nothing, not even her own happiness, will sway her again.

Or will it?

She’s got this protective self-denial down pat–right up to the moment her best friend’s brother arrives on the scene like a fairytale knight, vowing to slay all her dragons. She must—she will resist.

However, when her worst nightmare comes back to haunt her, Elaina has to admit she needs that white knight on her side.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Jennifer Sienes holds a bachelor’s in psychology and a master’s in education, but discovered life-experience is the best teacher. She loves Jesus, romance and writing–and puts it altogether in inspirational contemporary fiction. Her daughter’s TBI and brother’s suicide inspired two of her three novels. Although fiction writing is her real love, she’s had several non-fiction pieces published in anthologies–two in Chicken Soup for the Soul. She has two grown children and one very spoiled Maltese. California born and raised, she recently took a step of faith with her real-life hero and relocated to Tennessee.

 More from Jennifer

Do you remember what Christmas was like as a child? I do. Some of my fondest memories come that holiday when I was growing up. There was a deep sense of family and tradition that I desperately wanted to instill in my own children. No small part of that was the innocence that came from being protected by the harsh realities of life. I envisioned growing old with the grands and great-grands gathered around a Christmas tree bursting with ornaments and sharing the customary Christmas dinner.

 My future didn’t quite pan out the way I’d envisioned it. What was it John Lennon said? “Life is what happens when you’re busy making plans.” Or if you want to keep with the Biblical viewpoint: In his heart a man plans his course, but the LORD determines his steps (Proverbs 16:9)

 Although my innocence went by the wayside as I became an adult, I held onto that dream until the Christmas morning my first husband announced he was leaving me. It was then I surrendered my life to Jesus Christ. He anchored me in the following months along with my full-time teaching job, two teenage children, and a mother who was dying of leukemia. It wasn’t until October rolled around when my then seventeen-year-old son burst into my bedroom early one morning and said, “I just realized, Christmas will never be the same” that it hit me. I wasn’t the only one affected. For him, the dream died much too early. He was right—when splitting time between divorced parents, things get rather disjointed and complicated. Christmas was never the same for any of us.

 But our God is a God of redemption. He takes our brokenness and disappointments and uses them for our good and His glory. Wish Upon A Star isn’t the traditional Christmas story you might find on the Hallmark channel. It’s about a broken family in need of a merciful Savior, and one woman in need of a white knight.

 Just like Elaina Hensley, the main character, God had a more perfect plan for my life, too. Without the brokenness we cannot be made whole through Him to be who He calls us to be. In the years since that fateful Christmas morning, He’s given me my own white knight, a godly husband who loves to serve, and the opportunity to follow another childhood dream—to write the stories He’s laid on my heart.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Jennifer is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card & a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE