Welcome

“I will bow down toward your holy temple and will praise your name for your love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word.”- Psalm 138:2

Thursday, December 27, 2018

Feel Better Fast and Make it Last~ Daniel G. Amen, MD

Dr. Amen's new book is about how to change your brains thinking to overcome negativity, anxiety,
anger, stress and trauma.  This book has so much detail in it, you will need to read it slow and take your time to digest the contents.  There are 7 parts in the book that will teach you how to take a negative and hurtful situation into a positive and controlled emotion.  Dr. Amen teaches by explaining and examples of easy to read material and little quick sayings to help you remember.  He also goes into depth of the affect of your moods have to how you will behave in situations.  Diagrams and charts give you that added explanation of what he is trying to teach.   He gives you a list of negative circumstances and how you can turn them into a list of positive, example:  See problems as permanent.... instead..... see problems as temporary, thinking this way will give your brain the attitude and mood to stay in the happy mood, not sad and angry mood.   

I would recommend this book to any one that wants to become a better person or would like to be able to positive for any situation.  This book is so easy to understand with tons of information that it will take time to read it all.  I found that you can pick this book up, open it and where ever you opened to if you start reading it will effect you.  This is a book that will be kept on my shelf and read for years.   

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Tyndale.  I was not required to write a positive review.  The opinions I have express are my own.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16CFR Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising. days 13

Simple Joys ~ Candace Payne

This is a small book with alot of spunk.  Candace tells us of simple situations that are upsetting, emotional, or not planned but, have a reason for happening.  She makes you realize that everything happens for a reason and that there are blessings to every situation.  You just need to stop and take a moment to see the situation as a learning experience and what is GOD trying to tell us.

I recommend this book to anyone that just wants to smile and feel that, "hey this has happend to me" and know that you can smile at the situation because it was meant to be.  This is a small, hardcover book that is an easy read and can be enjoyed by any age.  It can be read all in one sitting or picked up and read whenever you feel like smiling.  I really enjoyed the positive and happiness the book provides to the reader.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Booklook. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Sunday, October 21, 2018

Jesus Always ~ Sarah Young (small deluxe version)

Love the version of this book!!!  The cover is a soft imitation leather, small enough to fit in your purse, pocket or desk, any place to be able to read at all times needed.  This is easy to read, daily devotions, silk ribbon bookmark, provides daily bible verse after each devotion - everything is provided right at your fingertips.   Covers 365 daily devotions that can be read in 5-10 minutes daily.

I would recommend this if you are fan of Sarah Young, she will not let you down.  I would also recommend this to anyone of all ages.  This devotion is easy to understand and is very uplifting and inspirational for daily living with GOD.  If you want a small gift book or  want to be able to carry this with you, this is the size just for you.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Booklook. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Monday, October 15, 2018

The Missionary Call ~ M. David Sills

This is a great book for anyone that is thinking about or wants to research the mission field and if you feel God is calling you.  This book covers everything and is not a fast read, you need to take your time and really meditate on the context in this book.  It covers the good and bad of going into the mission field.  It gets deep into all the issues you can face of going to another country and how it is not an easy task to take on if God has not called you. This is great research book for anyone thinking about mission work, either out of the country or in your own back yard.... This book does not sugar coat anything, it is real and makes you think.  So much information in one book.

I was very impressed with this book and anyone that is thinking or going into mission work, read this book.  Beware, this book is not one you can just pick up and read cover to cover.  It will take time and thoughts to get through this book and then you will still need to re-read.   I would definitely recommend this to all churches and any age groups.  Sills put alot of research and thoughts into this book, I felt he didn't leave a stone unturned in the what he wrote.  This book was way more than I was expecting and very enjoyable.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Moody Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Sunday, October 14, 2018

It's Okay, Not to Be Okay ~ Shelia Walsh

I am a big fan of Sheila Walsh and have been for years.  I have read most of her books and was so happy when this one came out to add to my collection.  Usually Shelia tells her life story in her books and mixes it with bible teaching.  This one is different than her normal writing and it is a great book.
Shelia teaches us that it is okay to be normal and not the normal, by knowing that God loves us and we only need to be ourselves for him.  Each chapter she teaches us about how to let go and not feel like we have to be living for everyone else.  She takes on the learning journey step by step in each chapter: you will start out by a verse, Shelia's story, what the bible tells us, steps/notes, and at the end questions for you to review and renew your new goal of loving God and yourself.

I would recommend this to anyone and any age, this book is exactly what society needs in today's world.  I read this from cover to cover because I couldn't put it down, now I am going back and reading each chapter, answering questions and taking time to really learn.  This is a great ladies bible study, teen group study, a book to read with friends or just do on your own.  I loved this book and will recommend everyone to read and give as a gift.  (great for the Holiday season coming up)

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Baker Book Bloggers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

You've got this! (because God's got you) ~ KariAnne Wood

This is a small, hardcover, hand held book with 52 Devotions to encourage and uplift your day.  Each devotional is read in less than 5 minutes.  The subjects of each devotional covers everyday situations that seems so real, that it makes you feel good just knowing someone else goes through the same things.  The pages are colorful and sturdy with a title and a bible verse at every beginning page.  KariAnne then gives us a page or more of a quick daily situation and ends with a quick prayer. 

I loved this little devotional because it had daily situations that seem to really happen and you can relate to them.  I would recommend to women over 20 but could be reach teenagers also, it really depends on where they are in life.  It is a great encouraging, quick read to make you smile and think that your day really isn't bad because God has got you!!   Love this book, it is a great gift and fits perfectly in a purse, desk draw, car console or any place you can reach it when needed..... Buy this book to get smiles.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Tyndale.  I was not required to write a positive review.  The opinions I have express are my own.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16CFR Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising. days 13
  

Jesus Revolution ~ Greg Laurie & Ellen Vaughn

Greg Laurie takes us back into time during the 60's and the history of the generation and how the church changed minds towards faith.   If you lived in the 60's this will take you back into time and memory lane.  If you are too young to know what was going on back then, it will be a history lesson that you might find interesting for that time period.  Greg and Ellen tell of their own stories of the Jesus movement with humor and faith.  This is the great story of revival in the great time of need for our nation.

I would recommend this to anyone that wants to get people back into the church, this book will give you ideas of how to repeat that history.  If you are a fan of Greg, this is a must read for you.  If you are a history buff, then you must read this book.  I am usually do not read history books, but found this one interesting.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Bakers Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Once We were Strangers ~ Shawn Smucker

When Shawn Smucker wants to write a book about the journey that a Syrian refugee family has had to go through, he is matched with Mohamad and his family.  Shawn is not sure that he really should be writing the book but goes through interviewing Mohamad.  Mohamad is very positive and honest about having to flee his homeland, knowing he will never be able to go back to his home.  We learn about what it is like for a refugee to leave everything behind and start all over with the only thing you own is in a backpack.  Shawn is a not into having friends, his life consists of work and spending time at home with his family.  As the two come together, a friendship develops that will change both their lives.

I would recommend this book to everyone to read and learn about what it is like to leave your country and know you can never go back.  You will also learn how we all have the same concerns in life for family, faith, jobs and understanding busy life isn't always the way of life.  This book shows a different side of life that tells you to slow down and enjoy friends.   I couldn't stop reading this book and finished in one afternoon.  This is a great read!!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Revell Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

The Chicken Runs at Midnight ~ Tom Friend

This is true the story of Rich Donnelly and how God uses his daughter Amy to get Rich's attention.  We learn about Rich's childhood trials, cheating on his wife, and how his daughter Amy stops talking to him.  Rich is the coach of a major league baseball team and just wants to win a World Series.  When Amy is found to have a brain tumor, God steps in and brings her dad and her together for a story of love, forgiveness, faith and the meaning of family. 

I would recommend this book if you enjoy baseball, because this is a true story for baseball fans that will enjoy the reading of behind the scenes of the game.  It is also a book that will leave you laughing, crying and feeling the love of God.  It is a great message of faith and forgiveness.  It is amazing for the way a young teenage girl can use her illness to bring love and GOD to everyone. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Booklook Bloggers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Thursday, October 4, 2018

Jesus Calling for Christmas ~ Sarah Young


This is a beautiful and colorful devotional book.  In the Sarah Young style of all her other Jesus Calling devotions, she steps up on this one and gives us a wonderful book.  This is a devotional for the Christmas Season, but can be read all year through.  You get the bible verses for the season, devotional and a very delightful color photo.  Each day you can read within 5-10 minutes and it will change your outlook for the whole day.

I loved this little hardcover book as much as her others, and the color photos are magnificent.  I like how this one is centered around Christmas, the season and the real meaning.  This is a great holiday gift for anyone and any ages. You can pick this up and read each day, read as much as you want or just skip around.... very wonderful book that you will want and be proud to give as a gift any time of the year.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Booklook Bloggers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Thursday, September 27, 2018

Catching Crhristmas ~ Terri Blackstock


GREAT BOOK!  This is about taking the time for others, no matter what.  When Finn, a cab driver gets a call from Callie an elderly lady that is need to have him drive her to her appointments, little does he know how much his life will change.  Callie has her heart set on something that no one but Jesus knows about, finding someone for her granddaughter to spend the rest of her life with.  However, her granddaughter is more occupied with being a lawyer and her career.  As Callie intervenes and intertwines with both lives, you will laugh, cry, smile and realize life is all about memories not stuff.

This is a great book, that everyone should take a few hours and read.  I want this to be a Hallmark movie that we can watch over and over.  It is such a wonderful book that you can't put down and you don't want to end.  I was sad that it was such a short read.  I am an avid fan of Terri Blackstock and this is story is so out of the box for her, but she did an excellent job and as always a great read!!!


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Booklook Bloggers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

A Christmas by the Sea ~ Melody Carlson

This is a short story that will melt your heart about kindness and taking a chance on love.  When Wendy, a single mom, has to go from Ohio to her inherited family sea cottage in Maine to clean it out and put it on the market, little does she expects what happens.  Wendy and her son, only plan to drive to Maine spend the holiday and vacation time and go back to Ohio.  Her son has a different plan and through his kindness and love for his mom, he plans to change her mind and stay living in Maine.  When they meet the local Caleb will this change plans or just make things worse?

I enjoyed this book, it is a quick story that can be a great Hallmark movie.  This is a great Christmas story that can be read at any time of the year.  Once you start reading you won't be able to put it down.  This is a fun afternoon read that won't disappoint and will put a smile on your face.

 Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Sunday, September 16, 2018

I'd Rather Be Reading ~ Anne Bogel

This is a cool reading book.  Anne is a an avid reader and goes through many different scenario's of the books we read.  She describes situations of type of books, how she becomes a reader, books that she recommends, etc.  Each chapter she tells of a situation and how reading effects your life, I like how she describes and tells how a book picks you.  She tells of how she has purchased books and not read them for many years later, realizing that the books you read come in your life when you need them.

This book is very small but very different and entertaining.  I read this in a few hours and when i started was so intrigued i couldn't put it down.  I want to share this with all my friends that read, it is such a unique and interesting book.. One of a kind read,  you won't wan to miss.... Love this book.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Bakers Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Second Chance Dogs ~ Callie Smith Grant

This is an excellent book for anyone that loves dogs.  The book is of short stories of dogs that were rescued and how they also saved their owners on their own journeys in life.  Each story is a quick read and very touching, some even bring tears to your eyes (joyful tears).  I enjoyed each story, such a variety of stories in each one. 

I would recommend this for anyone to read, if you are a dog lover, animal lover or animal rescue person, this book is a must read.  Any age can read this.  You can pick up and read at anytime for a much time as you want. You don't need to read cover to cover (even though I did), you can just read one or two at a time.  Having a bad day?  this is the book to pick up and read, guaranteed you will have a smile on your face when you put down.   I received this in the mail and sat down and read from cover to cover, I couldn't put it down.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising


The Hundred Story Home ~ Kathy Izard

This is a wonderful story of how Kathy Izard followed God's whisper and made Homeless Homes for people in need.  She tells her life story and journey of how she took an idea and made it a reality.  Her story covers the lives of homeless people, the how, why and what they need to get out.  After all her studies, fundraising and people she has touched (and those that have touched her along the way) this story is all about GOD's Grace and how your journey is never done. 

I loved this story, it started for Kathy when her mom had her read "Same kind of  Different" and then her journey began.  When you start reading this you will not stop until the end. This is a read for everyone, if you have read "Same kind of Different" you must read this one, it is a continuation of how God works.  The end is not what you will think, but is touching and makes you want more.... BUY THIS BOOK!!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through BookLook.  I was not required to write a positive review.  The opinions I have express are my own.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16CFR Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Tuesday, September 4, 2018

Hidden Among the Stars ~ Melanie Dobson

This is the story of the history in Hitler's day's of survival and today's world in Ohio and the day of technology connecting the past with the present.  The story takes us into the world of the Jewish people and how they lived their everyday lives, just to survive another day by hiding and keeping only a few treasures with them.  We also go along with the present and have the story of two people looking into the past, can this be what brings them together?  The story intertwines back into time and present to combine a twisting and surprising ending, you will have to read to find out.....

I would recommend this to anyone that likes a good suspense, drama and hope for the characters to be together.  I am not a history reading person, but I was totally into this story and the way this book gives hope and the descriptions put you in a world that you feel you are there.  I couldn't put this book down and hope everyone will buy this and read it, this can be for any age group.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Tyndale.  I was not required to write a positive review.  The opinions I have express are my own.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16CFR Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising. days 13

Sunday, August 5, 2018

13 Days in Ferguson ~ Captain Ronald Johnson

This is the true story of how Captain Ronald Johnson trusted his faith and stood up with the people who where protesting the death of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri.  He tells the story of the 13 days the town was in turmoil of looting, violence, protest and hate.  But he makes the decision to take a leap of faith and walk with his faith.  He shares the pain and heartache he had to endure to stay with his trust in GOD and keep with the word of GOD, no matter what the media or people said about him.  He was the leader and someone that was to serve and protect and that was what he tells us how he did it.  He shows that leadership is the way you have your faith and trust in GOD's word.

I would recommend this to everyone, this is a great read that will keep yo
u reading from the beginning to the end.  This book shows such an inspirational man that went through so much pain that you will feel for him.  If you remember this in the media, you will need to read this and get the story the media didn't tell...... this is a must read for everyone.  One of the most inspirational stories I have read in awhile.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Tyndale.  I was not required to write a positive review.  The opinions I have express are my own.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16CFR Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising. days 13

The faith of Dolly Parton ~ Dudley Delffs

Dudley is an avid lifetime fan of Dolly and tells her story through his eyes.  Each chapter is about how her faith touches Dolly's life story, with every chapter having a bible verse, a Dolly song that ties into the chapter subject and questions that you can reflect about in your own life.  This is a book that is all about faith and a country legend that has GOD be in control of her life.

I would recommend this read to those that want to know more about Dolly, want a good read about what following GOD is all about.  This read is for all ages and will keep you reading from beginning to the end.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through BookLook.  I was not required to write a positive review.  The opinions I have express are my own.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16CFR Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.


Sunday, June 24, 2018

Decluttering at the Speed of Light~ Dana K. White

Dana teaches about how to get rid of the clutter in your home, not by organizing  but learning how to get rid of the clutter and keep it out of your home.  This is a new way of teaching makes you think differently about de-cluttering your life.  She gives step by step instructions that make sense and she gives chapters on easy ways to get rid of the stuff you don't need room by room.  Her theory is to be able to cherish things and not hold on to the things that hold you back from enjoying your home.  "So the point of decluttering isn't to get rid of things you want to keep; it's to identify those things and then to make space to enjoy those things" (page 50)

I recommend this book to all of us that have tried and tried to declutter, only to quit from being overwhelmed, taking too much time, trying to organize and just can't get rid of things.  This gives a new outlook and way of thinking that will change your mind totally and give you encouragement to try again..... I found this book easy, fast read and so helpful.  I have been one of those that have tried several times to declutter and always failed, but now after reading this book, I have been able to attempt with a new outlook and finding it easy to declutter my home.... if you want to get rid of clutter by this book......

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through  BookLook. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Sunday, May 20, 2018

Joey ~ Jennifer Marshall Bleakley

This is the story of Joey a blind horse that became blind due to being neglected, Kim is willing and must get Joey to her Rescue Ranch, Hope Reigns, for abused horses that need a second chance.  The horses work with therapist to be used for working for therapy to children.  This story gives a detailed background of faith and hope that Kim has for the horses and children.  Joey needs to be given hope again and Kim takes a leap of faith and is willing to try.  The story keeps you moving from beginning to end.

This is for any horse and animal lover and rescue person.  This book is very encouraging and a very tearful story.  It is a read that will stay with you to the end and more.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Tyndale. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

GOD in the Dark ~ Sarah An Diest (Devotional)

This is a 31 daily devotional book that goes along with Psalm 119.  Sarah wrote this as a friend was going through a very dark time and she wanted to help him out with prayer and faith of GOD.  She gives a few verses of Psalm 119 and then shares the letter that she wrote to her friend each day.  The letters are short and very easy to read, with great understanding of how the verse can bring you out of the darkness and into the light if you believe. 

This is a great book for anyone going through a difficult and/or dark time.  Each daily devotional is a quick and easy read.  You can read from the beginning to the end or read where ever you open the book up to.  You can read and put down or read and take time to study it, it is all up to you.  This is a great book for anyone that needs that encouragement.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Tyndale. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising


I can only Imagine a memoir by Bart Millard ~

This is the story of how Bart Millard wrote the hit song, "I can only Imagine" and now a major motion picture.  It is about forgiveness and how GOD gives us the grace to accept everyone.  Bart tells of his childhood or abuse and poverty.  He gives us a deep look into how he wrote "I can only Imagine" about him, his dad and how GOD worked in their lives.  I love the comment of when Bart says how long it took him to write the song and hears back, "Bart, this song took you your whole life to write"

This book is for everyone to read and enjoy how the grace of GOD knows the work HE is doing and how we have to keep the faith and trust in GOD to get us through it all... Buy this book and see the movie, you will not regret it.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through  BookLook. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Thursday, March 15, 2018

Vegan Comfort Classics ~ Lauren Toyota

This is a great book for anyone that wants to have easy vegan dishes.  The photos are wonderful color and recipes are very easy to follow with "normal ingredients".  The recipes are for dishes that are used as comfort food and so called American dishes.  It has main dishes, brunch, deserts and sauces to use for many different types of foods.   

I would definitely recommend this to anyone that loves to cook good food, on a time schedule and wants comfort, this book is for you.  Any age can use this book and the skill level is very easy.  This is a great gift book for all your friends and family that love to cook, want to go vegan, love to entertain, looking for something new to cook and just plain want to have fun.  I was very impressed with this book, more than i had expected... GREAT JOB DONE!!!!  VERY IMPRESSIVE!!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Blogging for Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 cfr, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Sunday, March 4, 2018

How to Window Box ~ Gordon & Benoit

They say all good things come in small packages and this small book does just that.  It is hardcover, small hand held, colorful and educational book. Each page has a colorful photo and easy to read how to do instructions.  It covers, making the boxes, where to place them and types of boxes.  It is sectioned out to many different types of plants for what need you have.  It describes and shows how to do Herb Garden, Tiny Island plants, Edible plants, Flower Stand plants, Rain Forest plants, Detox plants, Ice Box and many, many more.

I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys gardening or anyone that wants to garden, this is a great way to get started because it describes and shows photos of everything.  I was amazed that this book was much more than I expected and can't wait to start planting.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Blogging for Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

The Masterpiece ~ Francine Rivers

EXCELLENT BOOK!  A MUST READ!  This is the story of Grace, single mother trying to get her life together and support her child.... Roman is an artist and a ladies man that hires Grace as his assistant.  As the story goes, we learn the present and the past of each of their lives and why they both have certain attitudes and ways about them.  Grace is a believer and Roman is not, which brings questions about why Grace is always on the defense of Roman's comments and life style.  

If you are a fan of Redeeming Love you will love this book, if haven't read it... go get it now.  This is a book that will leave you turning the pages and wishing you didn't have to sleep.  The story is over 500 pages and is not a book you can read in an afternoon, you will need to spend time reading this book as you will want to take it all in.  This is my new favorite of Francine Rivers!!!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Tyndale. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising


If I Live! ~ Terri Blackstock

This is book #3 of the series and an excellent ending.  This book gives us the conclusion to Casey being on the run and how Dylan is trying to save her.  The story picks up where book #2 ends, with  little bit of background from the previous books.  Filled with suspense and a definite page turner, this book will keep you reading from beginning to end and as usual has the twists and turns to keep you guessing.

I would recommend anyone that like reading a good suspenseful, drama and page turner, this book is for you.  I would also recommend you to read all 3 books that will give you more of a background and understanding of all the characters.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Booklook. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Monday, February 26, 2018

Daisy Cakes Bakes ~ Kim Nelson

This is an excellent book for those that love to bake!  This book is hardcover, lots of color photos, the pages are heavy coated paper and the binding is very sturdy to allow the cookbook to lay flat.  It has a great index in the back and the first few pages give a description of each tool you should have in the kitchen when baking. The recipes are easy to understand with ingredients that are in your cupboard.  I like that each cake, cupcake and pie can be made with any variation and the recipes include several different ways and sauces to make with the cakes.

I would recommend this for anyone that likes to bake and enjoys and excellent dessert cookbook.  This book is great quality and quantity.  Great gift for those that love to make cakes and cupcakes with some special surprises....

 Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Blogging for Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Zen Camera ~ David Ulrich

This book is meant to teach us through 6 lessons that we need to appreciate the photos that we take and how we can learn to take extraordinary photos with a professional camera or our cell phones.  This book has wonderful photos and lots of information that is easy to read and allows you to take it all in at your own speed.  This is a hard cover book and the pages are heavy gloss paper providing an excellent quality that can be read many times.

I would recommend this to those that want a new look at taking photos.  If you want a book that is filled with information and a great learning tool, this would be a good purchase for you.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Blogging for Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Monday, February 12, 2018

NIV The Woman's Study Bible, Hardcover, Full-Color

This bible is for Women that want a study bible for everyday use and includes many extras.  In the beginning you have articles that relate to Women and balancing their faith with life.  Throughout the bible contains colorful maps, charts, graphs, articles about women's issues, and so much more.

I would recommend this to any women of any age that is looking for a great bible for study or just to read.  The color theme is presented throughout the bible and is really appealing to your eyes.  It is very hard not to open this just read the bible verses, so many interesting charts and articles, which all blend in with the book of the bible it is featured in.  I am very impressed with this bible and encourage everyone to purchase this for your mom, sister, friend or just a women you know, they will be amazed and excited to pick this bible up and read it.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Booklook. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Death at Thorburn Hall ~ Julianna Deering

As another mystery in the Drew Farthering Mystery series regulars in the series, Drew, Madeline, Carrie, and Nick.  This book takes place in Scotland and has just as much drama, mystery,  and enjoyment reading as usual.  I enjoyed this one, as we go back into time and are lead to a story that has many twist and turns until the end.

I would recommend this to those that want a great read that is a page turner until the end.  It is a book from a series, but can be read as a stand alone.  This can be read for any age as it is a lighthearted mystery that will keep you wondering until the end.  I really like going to another country and going back into time with this family.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Probing ~ Myers/Peretti/Hunt/Gansky

This is book #3 of the Harbinger Series.  I was excited to read this book because it is written by my favorite authors, however, I was disappointed because you really need to read book #1 & #2 to understand what #3 is talking about.  The format of the stories are each book written by one of the authors and involves the team with a sci-fi / mystery type story line. These stories are for those that are into a story with using your imagination and being able to go outside of the box. 

I would recommend only reading this book if you have read the others first.  I was totally confused reading these stories by some of the side stories, however, I am sure if I do read the others, it will all tie into this book.  This book was a fast read and is the format of 4 so called episodes in the book, with all 4 different adventures.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Deadly Proof ~ Rachel Dylan

When Kate Sullivan takes on a case against the big pharmaceutical company in regards to a cover up of a drug they produce, the drama begins.  Kate hires private detective Landon James, former Army Ranger to help investigate the case, leading to more of a target towards Kate.  The plot has a few twist and turns, however, if you read alot of suspense and mystery you might be able to figure out what is going to happen.....

This is book one of the series and is a good subject to cover in today's world.  I enjoyed the read as I like drama and mystery reads.  It does keep you reading, however, not as suspenseful if you are used to a John Grisham read, but still a good read.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Judah's Wife ~ Angela Hunt (Book 2)

This is book #2 in the silent year series.  Angela Hunt is one of my favorite authors and never lets me down.  In this book she takes us back into time with many descriptions and details that make you feel you are there.  She tells the story of Leah, her marriage to Judah and how she  becomes the woman to save the Maccabees people.  The book takes us on a journey of heartbreak, difficult situations and the strength of Leah to make sure she is doing GOD's work.

I enjoyed the book as I always enjoy the way Angela writes, one chapter is of Leah and the next is of Judah.  I always liked the way you get the opinion of the main characters.  When I received this book, I started reading it and couldn't put it down.  If you enjoy history, drama, suspense, love and respect then this book is for you.  This book can be read as a stand alone as I have not read book #1 of this series (yet) and didn't feel that I was missing something.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Faithful Finance ~ Emily G. Stroud MBA, CFA

Emily does a great job of providing ideas and background of becoming financially stable for your future.  Each chapter is on a certain subject: budget, giving, managing debt, planning, insurance and so much more.  This is an easy read and provides a bible verse as back up to each chapter subject.  This book has many ideas and references for the way you live your life.  Emily provides ideas for you to work her financial ways around what you want out of life and be ready for the future.

I would recommend this book to anyone that wants to get some ideas of their money needs in the future.  It is a very easy read and provides alot of information in a very small book.  Emily doesn't overload with big words and the need of a college education to understand.  I really enjoyed reading this and having some of the references that she listed and would hope everyone reads this book.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Handlebars. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising




The Secret Life of Sarah Hollenbeck ~ Bethany Turner

This is the story of Sarah, a divorcee wanted more out of life.  She is a writer and wants more out of her life.  Through the book Sarah, becomes involved in a book club, finds out this is not her interest.  She becomes a Christian and falls for the pastor who is widowed and has a daughter, will he have the same interest in her?   The book has some humor and is a light read, with some questionable sayings.

This book is not for all readers, it will take a person that is open minded and the ability to realize that Sarah is a new christian and will have many new findings in GOD's way...... not sure if this is a book for the people that want strict Christian reads. (some touchy subject here......)

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

All Saints ~ Michael Spurlock & Jeanette Windle

This book is based on a true story that was made into a motion picture. It is the story of Michael Spurlock a new pastor that is assigned to a church that is having troubles paying the bills.  Michael has to decide on how to get this church to survive by making difficult decisions of what is best for the community and this church.  By coming up with the idea of combining the refugees from Burma and the members of the church to become one, can this be the solution that GOD wants?

I enjoyed reading this book, as it shares that GOD has plans for all of us and when we follow HIM and his work we all learn and become what GOD wants us to do.  This is a great read for any ages and will leave you inspired by the way this church followed GOD.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Sunday, January 7, 2018

I'd Like You More IF You Were More Like Me ~ John Ortberg

This book tells of how you can become more intimate with God and those around you.  John gives his examples of his own personal stories and back up with bible references.  He reaches out for you to learn about how reaching out to those you encounter in your everyday life is a way to connect with those different than you. 

I would recommend this book to any age group that enjoys a great read of getting closer to GOD.  This is easy to read and understand by the format John gives of his stories and bible verses to help explain.  This is a book that you can read at your own pace and take the time to get the most out of context by thinking of each chapter.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Tyndale. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising