Welcome

“I will bow down toward your holy temple and will praise your name for your love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word.”- Psalm 138:2

Monday, October 26, 2020

Secret Beach Boyfriend ~ Kari Trumbo

This book is a fun read that is part of the Independence Island Series.  With a little bit of romance, friendship and a past that needs healing, this book keeps you reading to cheer on the main characters.   When Anne and Rafe meet up again after 20 years, can they make up for lost time on the island and have more than a friendship, where they meant for each other?  

Do you enjoy a read that is one of those books that keeps you reading for you to find out if they end up together.... It does contain a little mystery about the past to keep you having feelings for the characters and taking you to the island.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.


About the Book

Book: Secret Beach Boyfriend 
Author: Kari Trumbo 
Genre: Christian Contemporary Romance 
Release Date: September 29 , 2020 

 She met Rafe on the beach when she was just five and it seemed like fate tied them together. When a chance encounter returns him to the islands twenty years later, Annie finds her beach friend has grown up and now needs her help. Damaged and scarred from a past that still hasn’t healed, Annie needs help of her own. True to character, Rafe comes up with a perfect solution, but a temporary island romance does not fit into his agenda at all. Will an offer to be her secret boyfriend give her heart a second chance? How can it turn into something more and prove there’s power in prayer and that love can triumph over a painful past? He was Annie’s hero long ago, but can the man he has become save her now? Secret Beach Boyfriend is the third “Merriweather book” in a new series featuring five islands, six authors, and a boatload of happily-ever-afters. The Independence Island Series: beach reads aren’t just for summer anymore.  
Click here to get your copy!

About the Author

 Kari Trumbo is a bestselling author of Christian historical and contemporary romance novels. Her books are known for characters who feel real, settings you could move to, and faith woven between the pages. She makes her home in central Minnesota with her husband of over twenty years, two daughters, two sons, and never enough time.  

More from Kari

Have you ever hunted for seashells on the beach? This sweet story actually starts twenty years before the moment you open the front cover. Years before, on a solitary beach, a little boy comforts a girl he finds crying by offering to help her find seashells. He doesn’t know why she’s crying, just that he can help. Even though he knows his mother will be angry with him. You see, Rafe (that’s the little boy) has a mother who has minor OCD and doesn’t let him go on the beach. But when Annie (that’s the little girl) is obviously heartbroken, he can’t leave her sitting there and not do anything. At that moment, a hero is born. It’s the little things that make a hero. That moment in time when he made a choice to put Annie above his own discomfort created a past for them both, an anchor they could both look back on. It was pivotal enough for them both that they remembered it years later. Rafe, because he hid the shells and cherished the one time he got to collect them. Annie, because she was going through something no child of five should have to. His kindness was a glimmer of hope. Fast forward twenty years and these two meet again, but don’t realize right away they are the people they’ve been thinking about on-and-off for most of their lives. Interestingly enough, that part of my story is true. I had a friend I met at a local beach when I was too young to recall names or anything else of great significance other than the feeling that it was the best day ever. She made me her best buddy for the day, and that stuck with me. When I think of this story beyond the printed page, where Annie and Rafe live on in my mind, I have to wonder if shells will continue to be a theme in their lives.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Kari is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE


Friday, October 23, 2020

The Refrain Within ~ Liz Tolsma

 

This is book three of the Music of Hope series.  This book takes place in the World War II era and is a Historical fiction read.  Eva is planning her wedding during the World War II and doesn't think the war will effect her plans to marry Patrick.  Both have careers in the music field, Eva plays the clarinet and Patrick is the conductor.  It deals with living in Germany with the Nazi regime and what living in that time was like.

If you enjoy books dealing with the War you will enjoy this one as it takes on the details living during this time and how your faith was part of survival.  This can be read as a stand alone since I didn't read the first two and was fine reading this one.   I sometimes, have a hard time reading about what people have had to go through during these difficult War era, so not sure I would read book one or two in this series as it is too emotional for me to read.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.



About the Book

Book: The Refrain Within

Author: Liz Tolsma

Genre: WWII Fiction

Release Date: September 29, 2020

To save a life, would you betray everyone you love?

Hungary in 1944 is a dark place. The Nazis have invaded and turned the country upside down, their evil making its way into every life.

Clarinetist Eva Bognar is engaged to conductor and composer Patrik Kedves, happily planning her wedding. At first she doesn’t think the war will affect her directly; everyone around her can be trusted to do the right thing. Then her Jewish best friend and sister-in-law Zofia goes missing–and instead of the Gestapo being to blame, a friend says it was Patrik who led Zofia away. Has he betrayed Eva and everything the family stands for?

When the rest of the family’s lives are directly threatened, Patrik’s secrets must come to light. The Bognars flee for the border in hopes of getting out of the country to the safety of Palestine. Eva must put her life and the lives of everyone she loves in the hands of the very man who betrayed her–and they may not all make it out of the war alive . . .

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Passionate might best describe Liz Tolsma. She loves writing, research, and editing. Her passion shone through in her first novel which was a double award finalist. On any given day, you might find her pulling weeds in her perennial garden, walking her hyperactive dog, or curled up with a good book. Nothing means more to her than her family. She’s married her high-school sweetheart twenty-eight years ago. Get her talking about international adoption, and you might never get her to stop. She and her husband adopted three children, including a son who is a U.S. Marine, and two daughters.

 More from Liz

This is the third book in a series all set around music. The first heroine, Anna in The Melody of the Soul, was a violinist. The second heroine, Natia in When the Heart Sings, sang beautifully. So what did I choose for this heroine?

When I was in fifth grade, the band teacher from the middle school came to our class and encouraged us to join. She brought instruments with her for us to try. I really wanted to play the flute. I thought it was very feminine. But all the girls wanted to play that, and I would have to be really good to get a good chair. So I decided on the clarinet. I played all through middle school and high school, making first chair a couple of times. I participated in marching band and in solo and ensemble contests, earning a couple of first places in state competitions. Even after my “career” ended, I continued to play from time to time. I still play in church. I love the rich, full sound of the instrument. When played well, the clarinet is beautiful. It can be playful and happy or dark and sad. It can skip and it can cry. I’m very glad now that I chose the clarinet instead of the flute.

That’s why the heroine of The Refrain Within plays the clarinet. In fact, she comes from a family of clarinet makers, and her family stamp on the barrel of a clarinet means a great deal to her. As God would have it, my editor, Janyre Tromp, is also a clarinet player. Between the two of us, we worked hard bring out the unique aspects of playing clarinet, like the callous that forms on the inside of your bottom lip.

Eva is a special character to me because we share this passion for the clarinet. There have been many times throughout my life that my clarinet has skipped with me and plenty of times when it has cried with me. Music is God’s beautiful gift to us, and I thank Him for the opportunity to share some of that with you in The Refrain Within.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Liz is giving away the grand prize of a $25 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

Click HERE


Ruby Moon ~ Jennifer Knipfer

 

This is book one of the By the Light of the Moon series.  The story takes place in the era of the 1890's and in Ontario, Canada.  It is a Christian Historical Fiction read with suspense, drama and history. The story is of Jenay and her dealing with trying to remember her past and what she has done.  It covers the history of Canada and the difference between the Indians and the French.   

I would recommend this to those that like a suspense history read.  It does go back and forth from past and present that makes you have to pay attention when reading.  This is a book about forgiveness, faith, love and family with many events that make it a page turner until the end.  

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.


About the Book

Book: Ruby Moon

Author: Jennifer Knipfer

Genre: Christian Historical Fiction

Release Date: October 2019

 

Ruby Moon embodies a tale of grief, guilt, and redemption…

On the shores of Lake Superior in Ontario during the mid 1890’s, Jenay, a young woman of mixed French and Ojibwe descent, must survive the trauma of causing a horrific accident.

Amidst this drama, Jenay is caught in a web spun by Renault, a rich, charming man who once threatened ruination of her father’s shipping company but now seeks something even more valuable…

Jenay must find where her strength lies in order to face the challenges life brings her or be washed away like driftwood on the tumultuous shores of Lake Superior. Life’s richest dramas are played out under the banner of two ruby colored moons and become the hidden gems which forge her into a mature strong woman. Jenay realizes God is by her side, using even the harsh events of life to create something precious in her.

Fans of historical fiction, Christian historical fiction, split-timelines, and mystery will enjoy this stimulating read!

 

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Jenny lives in Wisconsin with her husband, Ken and their pet Yorkie, Ruby. She is also a mom and loves being a grandma. She enjoys many creative pursuits but finds writing the most fulfilling.

Jenny’s education background stems from psychology, music, and cultural missions. She spent many years as a librarian in a local public library but recently switched to using her skills as a floral designer in a retail flower shop. She is now retired from work due to disability.

She authored and performed a self-published musical CD entitled, Scrapbook of a Closet Poet.

She holds membership in the: Midwest Independent Booksellers Association, Historical Novel Society, Wisconsin Writers Association, Indie Christian Publishing Association, and Independent Book Publishers Association.

Jenny’s favorite place to relax is by the western shore of Lake Superior, where her novel series, By The Light of the Moon, is set. She has self-published the first two books, Ruby Moon and Blue Moon in her four-part series. Two more novels to complete the series are planned for 2020. She is currently writing a new historical fiction series called, Sheltering Trees.

Keep current with Jenny by visiting her website at https://jennyknipfer.com.

 More from Jenny

The Creation of Ruby

 All things have a beginning, a middle, and an end. Let me share a glimpse of Ruby Moon’s creation with you.

The Beginning: 

Ruby Moon, the first book in my series: By the Light of the Moon, began many years ago—twenty in fact— with a hot, sticky July evening, a red moon, and a premise: what it would be like to recover from the guilt of being involved in an accidental death. Someone I knew had dealt with that same issue not long before.

Yes, I really did see a red moon on that July evening and while doing a mundane task of taking the garbage out. The image of the otherworldly blood-red sphere hanging above the treetops stuck with me, and before I got into bed that night, I wrote the opening scene to what would become Ruby Moon.

The Middle:

Insert life, kids, and a job into the picture. These took up the great portion of what I call my “author in the making” years. For a while I scribbled out Jenay’s story, but my life and family in general took precedence. Her story waited in the depths of our old IBM computer for just the right time.

Jenay is my main character and the crux of the novel revolves around how she handles the horrific accident, which takes someone’s life. Her help comes from several avenues. One being her ability to express her thoughts by journaling, which becomes an important part of Ruby Moon. I split the timeline, in which Jenay relays her own thoughts in a present tense and a third-person multiple perspective picks up the rest until the timelines converge on the fateful night.

When I first started Jenay’s story in Ruby Moon, I didn’t know what it was to grief or how the harsh places of life can gouge you out until hardly anything remains but hope or despair. Eventually, that’s where I found myself.

During that time, I expressed myself through writing songs, poems, and endless diary entries. I’d also started several blogs, back when blogging first started to be the cool thing to do. However, it wasn’t until a serious health crisis arrived on the scene that Ruby Moon emerged from her hiding place.

The Ending or Fruition:

In 2015 I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. My life since has been a series of ups and downs, but through it all I’ve tried to keep my eyes focused on God and the bigger picture. I drew from my past trials, knowing that He wouldn’t allow anything to come to me that wouldn’t bring Him glory and help me to grow.

On the day I had to quit my job as a floral designer because of my disability, I thought of Ruby Moon (I didn’t know the title then) and picked up where I left off at chapter 5. Over several months the rest of the book poured out of me, like water expressed from a sponge, as if I’d held Jenay’s story within me the whole time.

After months of revisions and with a hope and a prayer, I started down the publishing path. In hindsight I wish I’d been more patient and tried the querying path for a longer time before striking out on the indie road, but such is life. We can only move forward not back.

Now:

Here I am, with you. Thank you for reading about my writing journey. I hope that you’ll be able to pick up one or all of my books. If you read and like them, please tell a friend or family member about them.

It’s my mission to not only entertain my readers with a well-written story but to leave them encouraged and inspired afterward, which I hope you will be.

Please visit my website at jennyknipfer.com to learn more about me, my books, and how you can connect with me.

Blessings, Jenny

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Jennifer is giving away the grand prize of a $25 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

Click HERE


Thursday, October 22, 2020

A Christmas Tale for Little Women ~ Linda Brooks Davis

 


This book is a very quick and short read for the Christmas season.  If you are a fan of Little Women you will enjoy this prequel to The Awakening of Miss Adelaide.  It is a very small book with lots of intriguing and heartfelt characters that will touch your heart.  The story takes place during the 1912 era at Christmas time and shares the lessons of how the Christmas season is all about faith, family, friends and kindness.... lots of kindness and love.  Reading this during the holiday season would be such an added delight... though any time of year is a good time to read it.  This would be a great Hallmark Christmas movie.  

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.



About the Book

Book: A Christmas Tale for Little Women

Author: Linda Brooks Davis

Genre: Christian Historical Fiction

Release Date: September 15, 2020

Broadview is attired for Christmas. Oklahoma heiress, Adelaide Fitzgerald, is hosting two young girls who have chosen to celebrate Christmas with Auntie Addie rather than their family in Colorado.

Adelaide must give these girls a Christmas like no other. Has she thought of everything? What would top off this holiday in an extraordinary way?

The answer lies just the other side of Rock Creek. But what will it take for her to realize it is the Christmas topper she’s been seeking?

It’s 1912, and Adelaide Fitzgerald’s view of Christmas is about to emerge as a tale for a lifetime.

 Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Linda Brooks Davis is a lifelong Texan who devoted 40 years to special education as a therapist, teacher, and administrator. She retired in 2008 and now writes full time.

Linda’s debut novel, Amazon best-selling The Calling of Ella McFarland, Book One in the Women of Rock Creek series, is set in 1905 Indian Territory prior to Oklahoma statehood. It won Jerry Jenkins Operation First Novel in 2014 and subsequently, ACFW’s Carol award for debut novel 2016. The sequel novella, A Christmas to Remember, is set in 1908 Oklahoma. A second novella, A Christmas Measure of Love, is set in 1910 and is the prequel to Linda’s second full-length novel, which is set in 1914, Amazon best-selling The Mending of Lillian Cathleen, Book Two. The third novella, A Christmas Tale for Little Women, releases in 2020 and is set in 1912. It is a prequel to Book 3 in The Women of Rock Creek series, The Awakening of Miss Adelaide, which is set in 1918.

Linda and her beloved husband Al worship and minister at Oak Hills Church in San Antonio and dote on six grandchildren. Readers may contact Linda through her website, www.lindabrooksdavis.com.

 More from Linda

Everyone worked at my home on a South Texas farm near the U.S. border with Mexico.

 My playmates were children of Hispanic laborers. Language never hindered playing la casa, making mud pies, or rocking los bebés. Frijoles and tamales served from stewpots over open fires tasted delicioso in either language. I learned outside their homes a broom works great on hardened soil.

 Daddy paid workers on Saturdays, some by the hour, others by production. Lining up, they extended their hands, and he laid cash across their open palms. They checked the figures they had scribbled on paper scraps, trusting el patrón to correct discrepancies. Humble, grateful people, they showed respect.

[Insert Kitchen Dishes Picture Here]

 

My father verified immigration paperwork for those whom he housed. Others lived in the shadows, arriving around sunup and disappearing before sundown. Each evening a car or truck would rattle alongside the field, and the shadow worker would slip inside. Then the vehicle would clatter toward the horizon. And returned another day.

 

Occasionally, however, an alarm shouted in Spanish would sound across the field. Dropping his cotton sack, a worker would dash toward the cotton trailer in the turn row. Like hounds burrowing under a house, he and a compadre would leap over the trailer’s sides and dig a hole in the freshly picked cotton. The first crawled in, and the other covered him.

 The immigration officer making his rounds would walk into the field and occasionally stomp around inside the trailer, searching for man-sized lumps. I never witnessed the discovery of a shadow worker, but I heard about them on other farms. Worst of all, I heard about tragedies. With very little oxygen between tightly packed fluffs of cotton, a man could suffocate and occasionally would. I wondered what would lead a man to take such chances and how my law-abiding, God-loving father justified his complicity. So, I asked, and he answered, “Desperation, sugar. All they want is work. A man wants to provide for his family wherever or however he can. I can’t turn them away.”

 Sounded like work was a gift. Huh? my ten-year-old brain asked itself.

 Years later, I understood this principle. The second chapter of Genesis shows us that God created man not to laze around all day, but to work.

 The Lord God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to work it and take care of it. Genesis 2:15

 Therefore, not only in “the beginning,” but on our farm in 1956, a man’s strength to work was God’s gift. The opportunity to work was Daddy’s gift to the men. The fruit of each man’s labor was the gift he sent home each week and the fulfillment of his need to provide for his family.

 At Christmas we enjoyed preparing bushel baskets of meats, fruits and vegetables, candy and nuts, and toys for each family. I wondered about those who stayed around for a single day. Would their children find fruits, nuts, or even a piece of candy on Christmas morning?

 

Answers evaded me then—-as they do now—-but as a writer in my eighth decade of life, one truth I hold onto is that the strength for each day of writing and less pain in my arthritic hands and back are gifts from God. Each opportunity to write is an opportunity not only to entertain but to inspire readers to seek God in their everyday lives. Each word, unique turn of a phrase, or plot idea . . . is my gift to Him.

 Protecting our safety is a far more complicated endeavor in 2020 than it was in 1956. Threats arise like none presented five decades ago, but work is still a gift. God wired it into our DNA. Come to think of it, the ideas for A Christmas Tale for Little Women and the subsequent novel—one set in the southern tip of Texas, a story about a loving, destitute man who wants only to provide for his family—are gifts.

 Those diligent workers of 1956 and other years deserve a story that honors them. My gift to them and to Him is A Christmas Tale for Little Women.

 Thank you, Lord.

 Note: Photos from Pixabay

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Linda is giving away the grand prize package of all 6 eBooks in the The Women of Rock Creek Series!! (The Calling of Ella McFarland, A Christmas to Remember, A Christmas Measure of Love, The Mending of Lillian Cathleen, A Christmas Tale for Little Women, and The Awakening of Miss Adelaide)

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

CLICK HERE


Certain Threat ~ Kimberly Rose Johnson

 

This is book 3 of the Protection Inc. series.  This is a book with lots of suspense and drama with a little bit of romance.  When Katrina has her garage blown up, she can't help but wonder if it is done because of previous comments she has made. Her neighbor, Frank, owner of a private investigation office, can't allow himself not to assist Katrina and help her solve who is after her.  Can Frank and his team be able to find who is trying to hurt Katrina?  Does Frank have more feelings for Katrina then just a friend and neighbor?

I would recommend this to anyone that enjoys a good clean mystery with twist and turns to keep you wondering.  This is book 3 of the series but can be read as a stand alone, the samething for book 2 also.  The series does all tie in but you don't have to read them in order to truly follow and understand the story line.  However, to get the full effect of all that is going on, if you do read the series, read them in order of publishing.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.


About the Book

Book: Certain Threat

Author: Kimberly Rose Johnson

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Release Date: October 6, 2020

Katrina White’s garage explodes and she fears someone is out to get her.

Not long after Katrina overhears two people talking about robbing the bank where she works, her attached garage explodes. With the help of her neighbor, Frank Davis, she escapes the burning home after a storage shelf falls over, trapping her beneath it.

The co-owner of Protection Inc. has one thing on his mind for the week of Christmas—rest and relaxation, but when his favorite neighbor needs his help he calls in his team. Unable to turn their backs on someone Frank clearly has feelings for, the co-owners agree to help out Katrina.

When things escalate, Frank is certain of two things—he cares a lot for Katrina and he can’t let anything happen to her.

Join the team of Protection Inc. this Christmas where love is in the air even in the midst of danger.

 

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Award winning author Kimberly Rose Johnson married her college sweetheart and lives in the Pacific Northwest. From a young child Kimberly has been an avid reader. That love of reading fostered a creative mind and led to her passion for writing. She especially loves romance and writes contemporary romance that warms the heart and feeds the soul.

Kimberly holds a degree in Behavioral Science from Northwest University in Kirkland, Washington, and is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers.

 More from Kimberly

Certain Threat was one of my favorite books to write. There are three point of view characters. Two have been in the series from book one and the third is a new addition in this book.

I adore Frank, the hero of this book. The man is tough, honest, and always does his best to do the right thing. He’s a good example for his younger business partners who like to do things their own way, especially Carissa.

For me the most fun part about writing this book was getting inside Frank’s head. He comes across as tough and sometime gruff, but he is a marshmallow on the inside when it comes to Katrina, his neighbor. Katrina brings out a side in Frank we haven’t yet witnessed and it was a blast to write—no pun intended. LOL you’ll understand when you read the book.

I look forward to writing future books in this series and going deeper with the rest of the Protection Inc. team and their friends.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Kimberly is giving away the grand prize of a $25 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

Click HERE

Wednesday, October 21, 2020

Taming the Dragons ~ Brenda Wilbee


 This book deals with the problems that women face in today's world.  Brenda takes 6 characters from well known stories that we are all familiar with and compares their problems with 6 women of the bible.  She also takes other people from history and other stories and adds them into the mix of the book.  The conflicts and pains that women go through are addressed in this book to find comfort and strength.  Each chapter handles a different situation, has space for journaling and prayers to keep your faith into perspective.  All of this book wants the end results to make women comfortable when they are facing conflicts and fighting with their inner self to stay on track and stand strong with their faith.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.



About the Book

Book: Taming the Dragons
Author: Brenda Wilbee
Genre: Christian Living / Women’s Interests
Release Date: May 12, 2020

 Are you overwhelmed, in despair, heartsick, or in danger? Not sure which way to turn? Whom to trust? Once upon a time . . . the raging dragon . . . a damsel in distress. It worked out well in our fairy tales, but what about real life?

In this highly creative approach to problems all women face today and in varying degrees throughout their lives, Wilbee identifies six choices women have when beleaguered by conflict and challenge. She partners six biblical women with characters from The Wizard of Oz, naming choices for Innocent, Orphan, Pilgrim, Martyr, Warrior, and Wizard. She then skillfully weaves in characters from other stories and tales, accounts of women from history and today, and experiences from her own life to illustrate how these choices empower women in difficult times, moving them from want to abundance—for themselves and others.

Beginning with Eve the Innocent, Wilbee asserts that while some of us might want to go back to the garden of Eden, where innocence dwells, no one can. It’s only by making choices to tame our dragons—and by walking the metaphorical yellow brick road of our inner journeys—that we can, and do, find the happily ever after of our fairy tales and the abundant life Jesus promises us all.

Each chapter concludes with a motivational section that includes journaling pages, “Something to Ponder,” and prayers for courage and hope.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Brenda Wilbee is passionate about helping women in their everyday lives. The author of over 10 books with more than 700,000 copies sold, Brenda is a long-time contributor to Guidepost’s Daily Devotionals. Her work appears in Zondervan’s Women’s Devotional Bible, Inside Religious Publishing, and Guidepost’s Best Loved Stories. She holds an MA in professional writing, with an emphasis on myth, fairy tale, and folklore. She divides her time between the Pacific Northwest, Alaska, and the Canadian Yukon.

 More from Brenda

Author Brenda Wilbee wrote Taming the Dragons to help Christian women understand that they have choices when up against conflict and challenge. In this highly creative approach, she partners six biblical women with the characters from Wizard of Oz, naming choices for Innocent, Orphan, Pilgrim, Martyr, Warrior, and Wizard. She then skillfully weaves in characters from other fairy tales and stories, accounts of women from history and today, and experiences from her own life to illustrate how choice empowers women to tame the many dragons they face. She contends that by walking the metaphorical yellow brick road of learning choice, women find inner healing and restoration.

 She begins with Eve the Innocent, asserting that even though we might like to go back to a garden of Eden, where innocence dwells, we can’t. But by making choices to tame the dragons we encounter as either Orphan, Pilgrim, Martyr, Warrior, or Wizard, we can, and we do, return to the happily ever after of our fairy tales and the abundant life Jesus, in John 10:10, tells us is ours.

Each chapter begins and ends with narrative to first explain a choice and to then offer the caveat. An Orphan asks for help, but by doing so she learns self-reliance. A Warrior fights to save herself and those she loves but has to be careful lest she become like her enemy. Each chapter concludes with journaling pages for personal thought, a study guide with Scripture to consider, and questions to ponder.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Brenda is giving away the grand prize package of a signed copy of the book and a $25 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

CLICK HERE!

Monday, October 19, 2020

Courage to Thrive ~ Robert D. Flanagan

 

This book is for those that are struggling with depression, anxiety and dealing with everyday life.  Robert provides a journal of darkness and stress that provides ways of getting to a better place in life.  He tells of his own past and what he struggled with.  His story will help others to get over their own struggles with faith and certain things they can do to accomplish happiness in their own lives.  This is a quick read that is easy to understand and helpful to victims, survivors and their loved ones.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Courage to Thrive
Author: Robert D. Flanagan
Genre: Christian Living, Depression & Anxiety
Release Date: June 30, 2020

When wrestling with depression and anxiety, getting out of bed is a courageous move. When panic attacks and suicidal thoughts strike, finding victories in the small things of life and reframing feelings can help a person flourish even in the midst of mental health struggles. Rev. Dr. Bob Flanagan knows all about that—he’s spent two decades combatting mental illness head on.

In his first-person spiritual journal Courage to Thrive, Flanagan takes the reader with him as he traverses the dark and scary landscape of his mind and then the paths of faith that lead him to the Source of light and hope. Through a vulnerable look at the realities of a priest battling mental illness and still thriving, readers—whether dealing with similar mental health challenges or the stressors of everyday life—are left with a quiet confidence that assures them they too can thrive and enjoy the gifts God has given them.

Each of the forty reflections concludes with a heartfelt prayer that revels in God’s healing mercies. Join Flanagan on a journey to joy, peace, and hope.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Rev. Dr. Bob Flanagan has struggled with mental illness and managed to thrive for over twenty years. He holds a doctorate of ministry degree in Christian Spirituality and is an adjunct faculty member at General Theological Seminary in New York City, teaching on Christian spirituality. He has served for over ten years as a state and federal advocate for and board member of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention. His previous book, Growing a Sustainable Soul, won a bronze medal in the Reader’s Favorite International Book Contest. Bob lives with his wife, Lanie, in Bridgewater, Connecticut. They have two grown children.

 More from Robert

Courage to Thrive: Finding Joy and Hope in the Midst of Mental Health Struggles is a pioneering and beautiful book that will help people feel better about themselves and their mental health struggles. I smile knowing that readers will feel the love of God and God’s healing mercies by spending time journaling about their own challenges.

As a priest who struggled with suicidal ideation during seminary and anxiety and depression at various times in my live, I feel this book is a way to change the conversation about mental health within the Christian community.

 

Trivia

I was a top athlete during college.

My favorite type of dog is the Newfoundland. While that is the best dog in the world. I only have a cat right now.

I became a Christian when I was five and remember my baptism.

My wife and I are avid gardeners. We have a big garden that includes sunflowers, potatoes, and many herbs that can be used as medicines. Its based on the English physic gardens that pastors grew in the 1700s.

Giveaway

To celebrate his tour, Robert is giving away the grand prize of a $25 Amazon Gift Card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE!