Welcome

“I will bow down toward your holy temple and will praise your name for your love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word.”- Psalm 138:2

Monday, October 18, 2021

Your Marriage God's Way ~ Scott LaPierre

 This is a Christian Marriage study for husband and wives to become as one in God's word.  In this book you will find an 8 part bible based chapter's to make your marriage based and on God's word and what God intended us to do in order to have a marriage of the bible's way.  You will find scripture through out this whole book and a very easily read examples and explanation of what couples should be aware of.  Scott goes from recognizing, understanding love, respect, submission, intimacy's, and a strong foundation in parts of the book and backs everything up with bible verses.

If you want to build a better relationship with your husband or wife, then this book is great to explore.  A workbook accompanies the book and is very easy to read and journal in.  It is good to go over the questions as a couple and realize where you can strengthen your marriage.  This study can be done per couple, a small couples group and a couples Sunday school class.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising About the Book

About the Book

Book: Your Marriage God’s Way

Author: Scott LaPierre

Genre: RELIGION / Christian non-fiction

Release date: September 21, 2021

Your most important earthly connection is with your spouse, and when you honor the person you married, you’re also honoring God. He created marriage to be one of life’s greatest gifts, and the instruction manual you need for a joyful, lasting union is found in His Word.

In Your Marriage God’s Way, author and pastor, Scott LaPierre, takes a close look at the principles for building a biblical marriage—one in which your relationship with Christ brings guidance and blessing into your relationship with your spouse. You’ll gain the tools to…

  • understand the unique roles and responsibilities of husbands and wives
  • recognize and resolve the conflicts you face with a heart of hope and compassion
  • follow God’s worthy command to love and cherish your spouse unconditionally

Whether you’re at the beginning of your journey or you’ve been on the road together for years, Your Marriage God’s Way will provide the helpful and encouraging insights you need to experience marriage as God intends it.

For the workbook…

“Scripture allows us to enjoy marriage as God intended it to be—a vibrantthrillingfulfilling relationship. Let’s journey together, with the Bible as our guide, to experience the blessings of a Christ-centered marriage.” —Scott LaPierre
By God’s design, your relationship with your spouse is your most important earthly connection. Your heavenly Father wants you to witness the fullness of His love in your marriage, and He invites you to apply His instructions for building a satisfying, enduring union.

This companion workbook to Your Marriage God’s Way encourages you to dive deeper into your study of this sacred contract between man, woman, and God. You’ll lay the foundation of a marriage that lasts as you…

  • understand the unique roles God has given you and your spouse
  • identify ways you can better help, encourage, and support each other
  • make serving God the focal point of your marriage

As you and your spouse work through this book together, you’ll grow closer to God and to each other, harvesting the delicious fruits of a biblical marriage that brings joy and blessing to you and everyone around you.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Scott LaPierre is a senior pastor, author, and conference speaker. He holds an MA in Biblical Studies from Liberty University. Scott and his wife, Katie, have been married for more than fifteen years. A former schoolteacher and Army officer, Scott currently leads a church in Washington State and supports his family on his pastor’s salary, allowing Katie to stay home with their nine children. Both are passionate advocates of homeschooling. Learn more about Pastor Scott at his website: www.scottlapierre.org.

 More from Scott

Your Marriage Reflects Your Relationship with Christ

A few years ago, Katie and I faced the biggest crisis of our marriage. I started pastoring Woodland Christian Church when it was small, but within three years the congregation tripled in size. I admit that before I became a pastor, I was unaware of how much work is involved in shepherding a church of even a few hundred people. I had been an Army officer, a supervisor at a distribution center for a major retail chain, and an elementary school teacher. But none of those occupations approached the amount of mental and emotional energy and sheer hard work pastoring entails!

Almost all my waking hours were packed with studying, teaching, counseling, making phone calls, sending emails, attending meetings, addressing administrative responsibilities, and tending to benevolence issues. When I was at home, where I should have been an engaged father and husband, I did not have much left for my family mentally, emotionally, or physically.

Although I was failing as a husband and father, I was able to convince myself I was still pleasing the Lord. I compartmentalized my life by saying, “I am a Christian first. I am a spouse second. I am a parent third. I am an employee fourth.” Instead, I should have said, “I am a Christian spouse. I am a Christian parent. I am a Christian employee.” The danger of seeing ourselves as Christian servants first and spouses second is we can find ourselves believing the lie I bought into at the time: “If I can be a good pastor, I can please God even though I am not the best husband.”

The truth is that I was a poor husband, and I should have recognized that meant I was not pleasing the Lord.

Giveaway

To celebrate his tour, Scott is giving away the grand prize of a $100 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Sunday, October 17, 2021

Spouse in the house ~ Synthia Ruchti & Becky Melby

 

This book is a self help read for those that are in the house 24/7 (or very close to it) with their spouse.  This is a new era when almost everyone is working from home and no longer are able to escape the spouse for awhile.  When you are unable to escape and find yourself frustrated and need a break, this book teaches you ideas and ways to find the "new normal"  in your daily schedule.  This book gives you many ideas and perspectives to make you realize both sides of the problems.  

If you want an easy read that gives you new perspective and a way to learn how to deal with your spouse being home all the time, this is the book to get.  I have read some of the book and really enjoy the "new" way to look at things, taking my time to really read this.  You can read this book fast, but take time and really take it all in.  I can't wait to use this over and over again for reference and a need to escape.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Audra Jennings PR. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising About the Book

The Postman’s Lantern ~ J.C. Comerford

 

This book is a very short read (60 pages) about Christmas Eve and all the miracles that happen on that evening.  When a terrible snowstorm hits the town, only one person seems to be able to assist those in need, the postman and his very special lantern.  The story is how the postman is delivering a very special letter on Christmas Eve.  Why is he out in this weather?  How can the lantern he carries shine so bright?  How can anyone survive with a snowstorm like this?  Can everyone survive??

If you want a very short read, Christmas story with miracles then this is the book to read.  It is a very relaxing read and will only take one sitting to finish.  A good Christmas read with the moral of the story being what Christmas means.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising About the Book

About the Book

Book:  The Postman’s Lantern

Author: J.C. Comerford

Genre: Christian Children’s Fiction, Christmas

Release date: January 8, 2020

During a devastating Christmas Eve snowstorm, John the postman arrives at his last stop, at the steps of the Frost family. Here, he rediscovers a stowaway letter in his mailbag, not for his route. It’s a letter from a hospitalized grandfather, to a very special grandson. John feels obligated to make the delivery. His unselfish act of kindness leads him, and then the Frost family, on an unforgettable journey across a seemingly endless track of farmland. Little does John know what he’s actually carrying. The lantern he carries becomes a mystery that guides their way through astonishing events. They finally arrive at the Evans house, where they find themselves before an extremely sick boy, a mother’s pain, and the mystical workings of God.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

John Charles Comerford grew up playing hard, on the streets and fields of Washington Township, New Jersey. He attended Our Lady of Good Counsel Grammar School through 8th grade. He then jumped across the street to attend Westwood High School, where he soon began playing guitar and composing songs at the age of sixteen. Writing short musical stories would soon turn into a more involved field of composition, as he later attended Bergen Community College in Paramus, NJ. Here, he developed a desire to become a paperback writer. While attending college, he took a job with the US Postal Service as a mail carrier and is still delivering, thirty years later. He is still a performing musician and a recording artist on itunes. He now resides in Pawling, New York with his wife Bridget and his son Jack.

 More from John Charles

I was just a little kid at the time. The temperature outside was 93 degrees.  I had awakened earlier that day, because it was a Saturday. I wanted to catch some early morning cartoons, instead of lying in bed, waiting for my dad to give out chores for the day. I knew it was going to be a hot one, and I dreaded going outside.

Before long, there I was slapping paint on the side of my house. Soon after, I was weeding and watering the front lawn before it reached into the 90’s. At about 12:00, I went inside to cool off. I ate some lunch and relaxed a bit, listening to the “Boston Pops” my dad had put on.

From a calm and collective state of mind, I was suddenly burdened by the noise of my barking dog, at the front window. I went to the front door and opened it wide. As I looked up, the mailman was looking down. His face was dripping sweat, and his uniform was soaked. He had a big smile and said, “Too hot to play today.” He laughed a bit and handed me the mail. I heard my mom and dad yell out “Thank you, do you need a cold drink at all?” He said “I’m all set but thank you.” He moved on, while adjusting that full bag of mail that he was carrying around his shoulders.

It was then that I decided I would never become a mailman. God, no, not this kid. That was no easy job.

14 years later, I was working for the post office, with a packed satchel around my neck, and a can of pepper spray, to boot. I was now walking that mile, in my old mailman’s boots. Many times I’ve prayed to God for help and to keep me from dozing off in trucks that reached 120 degrees inside. I prayed for help from dog attacks that would occur five times a day at least. I prayed for help from the pain you feel when it’s 30 degrees to 20 below and you’re soaked from rain. Your fingers are ready to fall off after being soaked from the rain or as they burn to the bone.

So I wrote my book, seeking the world’s attention to the mail carrier’s integrity, and a forever caring attitude to those who patiently await their arrival.

Giveaway

To celebrate his tour, John Charles is giving away the grand prize package for a $50 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

The Weather Girls: Sunny ~ Jennifer Lynn Cary

 

This is book one of  The Weather Girls series, a Christian Cozy read.  When Sunny finds herself fired from her job due to an unworthy relationship, she must start over, but doing what?  She finds herself making the decision to take a historical home and turn it into a wedding center.  She then talks her sisters into helping her, however, everything seems good to go when Pat walks in and turns her life upside down.  What is Pat's real intention?  Will Sunny and her sister's be able to create a place of wonderful weddings?  Does Sunny find happiness?

I would recommend this book to those that like a cozy read with drama and twists. I started reading and couldn't put the book down as I needed to see what would happen to Sunny and if she is able to get out of the bad relationship and heartache that it caused.  Can't wait to read book two of the series, which is about her sister Windy. 


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising About the Book

About the Book

Book: The Weather Girls: Sunny

Author: Jennifer Lynn Cary

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Release date: September 6, 2021

She got stood up on Valentine’s Day…

…Then she lost her job

Could the legend of the cardinal change her luck?

With a disposition as bright as her name, Sunny shakes it off the worst day of her life and makes a new start. She’s got the brains that it takes, but she’s more than a little scared. It’s not just her reputation on the line.

Would this cockeyed adventure be the thing her siblings need too?

Pat only wants peace in the family and never dreamed doing a favor for his sister could drop him into so much hot water. Torn between what he’s always wanted and what is staring him in the face, someone is bound to get hurt.

Odds are it will be him.

But then, only the cardinal knows for sure.

Return to 1970 Indiana with Sunny, the first book in The Weather Girls series—get into the miniskirts, bell-bottoms, and Christian family values.

You’ll love Sunny for the music, the fashions, and the hilarious antics, because who can resist a romantic trip down memory lane?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Jennifer Lynn Cary likes to say you can take the girl out of Indiana, but you can’t take the Hoosier out of the girl. Now transplanted to the Arizona desert, this direct descendant of Davy Crockett and her husband of forty years enjoy time with family where she shares tales of her small town heritage and family legacies with their grandchildren. She is the author of The Crockett Chronicles series and The Relentless series as well as the stand-alone novella Tales of the Hob Nob Annex Café and her recent split-time novel The Traveling Prayer Shawl.

 More from Jennifer Lynn

I was born in the 50’s, grew up in the 60’s and 70’s, and married in 1980. I relate to K.T. Oslin’s song “80’s Ladies” a little too well. 😉

Though we moved from Kokomo, Indiana in 1972, it always will be my hometown.

A few years ago my sister headed up a plan to have an annual Cousin’s Reunion in Kokomo. Two cousins came from Ohio and my sister and I came from the west to converge on our family who still call Kokomo home. Each trip back reminded me of how much I loved growing up there.

One day Bobby Hebb’s “Sunny” came on the Oldies station and caught my attention. Then I remembered the songs “Stormy” and “Windy” and wondered what it might be like for girls with that sort of name—especially if their surname was Day. Would their dispositions match their names? Why would their parents give them those names? The questions kept coming and I fell in love with the whole storyline.

The best part was putting the house I grew up in into the book(s). Yep, as you read the story, Hazel Day’s house is set up mostly like the one where I grew up only I added a den and an extra bedroom upstairs.

Ferguson House is based on the Seiberling Mansion—I love that place and tour it every chance I can when I get back to Kokomo. It’s amazing.

I also included favorite landmarks. Scotty’s Drive-In saw a lot of me in my early teen years. Great for grabbing a coke and not that far from either school or home.

The funny thing about memories is that they can blur and morph over time. Thankfully someone from my hometown has put together a Facebook page where I can ask questions and get more than enough answers.

Many locales I remember no longer exist, so writing about them helps them live on.

I hope you will check out Sunny and 1970 Kokomo and come back for the rest of The Weather Girls trilogy.

Abundant blessings!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Jennifer is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon card with signed copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Saturday, October 16, 2021

A Life Redeemed ~ Olivia Rae

 

This is book 2 of the Secrets of the Queens Series, a Christian Historical read that takes place during the medieval times. Audrey is summons by the Queen to go to Scotland and be a spy for her, if she doesn't her family will be harmed.  Audrey  goes where she meets Gavin and his son, they befriend each other and team up together.  When Audrey finds out what she needs, how does she handle the truth?  How do Audrey and Gavin keep friends when they are not sure to trust each other?

If you like reading historical and about the Queen era then you will enjoy this one.  It will take you back into time and has many twist and turns right until the very end.  It is book 2 but can be read as a stand alone and not missing anything.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising About the Book

 About the Book

 Book:  A Life Redeemed

Author: Olivia Rae

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Release date: June 16, 2021

Everyone has a secret, who can a queen trust?

Upon Queen Elizabeth’s order, Audrey Hayes travels to the borderlands of Scotland to learn where the fierce Laird Armstrong’s loyalties lie. Is he aligned with his mother’s English roots in support of the queen, or does he hold with the beliefs of his father, who wishes to see Mary of Scots on the English throne? The fate of Audrey’s family rests on her success in finding the answer.

After losing his lands in a wager and being betrayed by his kin, Gavin Armstrong entered a loveless marriage to obtain the funds to buy back his family home, Warring Tower. Now a widower, struggling against countless border wars, he is on the verge of losing his home and lands again. With few resources, he reluctantly makes another risky wager, one he cannot hope to win without trusting the secretive Audrey Hayes, a woman he suspects is an English spy.

As the two work together to save Warring Tower, their attraction to one another grows. But when Audrey finally gains the information she seeks for Queen Elizabeth, she realizes that the only way she can save her family is to betray the man she loves.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Olivia Rae is an award-winning author of historical and contemporary inspirational romance. She spent her school days dreaming of knights, princesses and far away kingdoms; it made those long, boring days in the classroom go by much faster. Nobody was more shocked than her when she decided to become a teacher. Besides getting her Master’s degree, marrying her own prince, and raising a couple of kids, Olivia decided to breathe a little more life into her childhood stories by adding in what she’s learned as an adult living in a small town on the edge of a big city. When not writing, she loves to travel, dragging her family to old castles and forts all across the world.  

Olivia is the winner of the Angel Award, Book Buyers Best Award, Golden Quill Award, New England Readers’ Choice Award, Southern Magic Contest, and the American Fiction Award. She is an Illumination Award Gold and Bronze medalist. She has also been a finalist in many other contests such as the National Readers’ Choice Awards, and the National Romance Fiction Awards. She is currently hard at work on her next novel.

 More from Olivia

My novel, A Life Redeemed takes place in 16th Century England and Scotland. A very popular dish at the time was the meat pie. Back then making such a dish took a lot of time. My Grandmother made a similar dish with modern day ingredients that you can whip together in no time. Cheesy meat pie is a real family pleaser and a delicious bit of history.

 Medieval Cheesy Meat Pie

 1 pound ground beef
½ cup chopped onion
1 – 8 oz. can of tomato sauce
¼ cup parsley
1 – 3oz. can chopped mushrooms (drained)
1/8 teaspoon pepper
¼ teaspoon dried oregano
2 packages (8 rolls) crescent rolls
3 eggs
Shredded cheese (mixed cheddar and mozzarella)

 In skillet, brown beef, onion (drain). Stir in tomato sauce, parsley, mushrooms, pepper and oregano, then set aside. Unroll one package of crescent rolls, forming 12×6 inch rectangle. Seal edges and perforations together.  Roll to fit in 9-inch pie plate, trim. Separate one egg and set aside the yoke. Beat egg white with remaining two eggs. Spread over half the dough. Spoon meat into shell, arranging cheese on top. Pour remaining egg mixture over cheese. Roll out second package of crescent rolls, sealing on top of pie. Beat remaining egg yoke and a tablespoon of water, brush on top of dough. Bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes. If pastry gets too brown, cover with foil. Let stand for 10 minutes.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Olivia is giving away the grand prize packaged of a $50 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Saving Ebenezer ~ S. Daniel Smith

 

This book is a Christian Historical Fiction that picks up where Charles Dickens, Scrooge story ends.  When Ebenezer has questions about all the changes he has done in his life, is it all worth it?  It is now seven years later since he helped the Cratchit family and things are difficult again.  Ebenezer is questioning why God has put all these trials in his life?  What good does having faith do, when all you still have heartaches and devastation in your life?

This book is a good book to read for the upcoming Christmas season BUT, it is not only for this time of the year, it is a book to read anytime of the year.  This is a short read, but a very big message..... find out when the story continues of just what happened to Scrooge and Tiny Tim, it just might surprise you.......

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising About the Book

About the Book

Book: Saving Ebenezer

Author: S. Daniel Smith

Genre: Christian Historical Fiction

Release date: October 12, 2021

Much had changed in seven years. Scrooge had given all to rid himself of the guilt and shame of his miserly ways. Nearly saved Tiny Tim, too, who was only slightly bigger at his death than Christmas Eve seven years prior. Scrooge had the best doctors working on the boy’s condition, all of them happy to have Scrooge pay for this treatment or that, but never quite figuring out exactly what was wrong. Still, Tim had started the pathway of a bright future.

Until pneumonia struck. In a fortnight, Tim had gone from spry and hopeful to weak and discouraged. And then dead.

As Ebenezer Scrooge watched the simple casket lowered into the near-frozen muck on December 20th, 1850, there could be no mistaking the fact that a piece of him was being buried as well.

And that was why Ebenezer Scrooge was angry.

The old Scrooge was back. Joy had given away to sorrow in the meanest of ways, for it sprung upon the old man with such ferocity that he had no defense. Powerless, and angry, that was Ebenezer Scrooge, all right. Joy had given way quickly to pain and sorrow, the likes of which Ebenezer Scrooge had never experienced before.

Ebenezer Scrooge, heartbroken and frustrated, begins to ask questions about faith. Much like the original story, he is given a guide to help him find the answers. As he struggles to understand death, sorrow, and poverty in terms of faith, he finds one answer to all his questions: Jesus Christ. The book ends with Ebenezer finding faith, health, and love.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Dan Smith is a Christian, a husband, a father, a career US Navy sailor, and freelance writer living in Virginia Beach, VA with his wife and three children. His publishing history goes back 21 years, when he was first published in the magazine Pentecostal Messenger.

Dan specializes in writing about life in the military, especially as it affects Christians in service. He has also tackled the issue of cystic fibrosis, the autism spectrum, and a host of other topics.

 More from Dan

“I have always loved the Dickens classic, A Christmas Carol. From the original novella to The Muppets, I’ve been fascinated by the story. Only one thing was truly missing, and that was the real hope Christians find in Jesus Christ. In that way, Saving Ebenezer: The Continuing Saga of a man named Scrooge is my offering to my Lord. I did my best to retain the style and language of the original, as well as to stay true to the original story and characters, while offering a glimpse at the hope we have in Jesus.

The biggest reason I wrote the book is to show the need for Christ. I do my best to keep from being preachy, and I believe you’ll find the book entertaining with a point. I can’t wait to hear what you think!”

Giveaway

To celebrate his tour, S. Daniel is the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and a signed copy of the book!!

To celebrate his tour, Bradley is giving away the grand prize package of a $20 Starbucks card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Penelope’s Pursuit ~ Chautona Havig

 

This book is part of the Westward series (book 19), a Christian Historical Romance read.  When Penelope has lost all her family, she comes to terms to find the only one she has left, a sister.  Her sister left home a mail order bride many, many years ago. Now Penelope is determined to find her sister and finds that things are not what they seemed.  Thinking her sister has been happy and life is good, can things be so different?  Will Penelope find her sister and find happiness at the same time?  Why did her sister never contact the family all these years.

If you like the series, then you will love this book as it has many twist and turns.  It is a surprising story that I didn't see coming.  This is book 19 in the series, but can be read as a stand alone.  All the books in the series can be read as stand alones.  Like a good read that makes you want to read till the end?  Then read this one.... 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  Penelope’s Pursuit

Author: Chautona Havig

Genre: Historical Romantic Suspense

Release date: June 29, 2021

 Are mail-order-brides changing their minds or is something sinister going on in Kansas?

Ten years ago, Penelope’s sister ran away as a mail-order bride, and it was the last their family ever heard from her.  Now, with their parents dead and Penelope all alone, the young woman has one goal. Find her sister.

It took enough grit for Henry to write to Miss Mildred Crenshaw about finding him a wife in the first place, but when the stage arrives and no bride steps off, the whole thing feels like a confidence scheme. Investigation, however, sends chills down his spine as he realizes women are leaving the east for the west but many never arrive at their destinations.

Is it any wonder that Penelope doesn’t trust the man who abducts her from the clutches of her new friends and rides off into the sunset? Is his explanation reasonable?  Can she convince him to help her find her sister?

And is she about to fall in love with a homesteader on the untamed prairies of Kansas?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Chautona Havig lives in an oxymoron, escapes into imaginary worlds that look startlingly similar to ours and writes the stories that emerge. An irrepressible optimist, Chautona sees everything through a kaleidoscope of It’s a Wonderful Life sprinkled with fairy tales. Find her at chautona.com and say howdy—if you can remember how to spell her name.

 More from Chautona

Mail Order Brides: Do We Romanticize the Past?

Although I recall reading about mail-order brides in school… somewhere… Patricia MacLachlan’s Sarah, Plain and Tall was my first introduction to the idea of advertising for or requesting the services of a matchmaker to find a wife. The book and the subsequent movie showed the difficulties of such a marriage and left us all with a satisfactory ending.

Some years later, while doing a bit of research, I discovered another side of the coin—a horrifying picture of what happened to some gullible young women and the unscrupulous people who used such matchmaking schemes as a means for human trafficking. It sickened me, as it should anyone.

All my ideas for mail order bride novels ended up as wadded up balls of mental paper and in the wastepaper basket of my mind. A few years passed, and I came up with a twist on mail order brides, one that will see the light of day if I ever have time to write it. A few more years passed, and a series of books featuring a matchmaking service for mail-order brides and the Homestead Act resurrected those ideas. I smoothed a couple out, reconsidered, and decided against writing them.

I’d have to miss the opportunity to join the series.

My mind never does follow orders well. Within minutes of that decision, I had a story. What would happen if there was some funny business going on with girls going west? How could I combine a satisfactory ending where two people came to a meeting of the minds and hearts in the midst of fighting something that ugly?

Penelope’s Pursuit was born.

Is my story idealized? Probably. I’ll be frank with you. I’m okay with that, too. See, sometimes all we need is a reminder that mankind is sinful and in need of a Savior before the story turns into how things should have been. After all, fiction mirrors reality, but it is also an escape.

I hope Penelope’s escape to the west and her pursuit of her sister encourages you to turn to the Lord for every decision, in every trouble, and with every praise possible in between.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Chautona is giving away the grand prize package of $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

CLICK HERE