Welcome

“I will bow down toward your holy temple and will praise your name for your love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word.”- Psalm 138:2

Friday, September 23, 2022

The Vermilion Riddle ~ Dana Li

This book is a Religious Science Fiction read.  This book takes you into another world of fantasy and the futuristic era.  This takes place in the town of Carmel, where women are only expected to marry.  Leah is challenged to find a husband when her father gamble's away the families future.  She meets August who is not what the family will want for her.  With everyone trying to keep peace with mortals, faerie, the guardians, and oath breakers what does the future hold and look like? 

If you like fantasy and sci-fi reads this book will be for you.  I am not a fan of this type of read, I was lost in the book and unable to finish.  I tried several times to finish, however, with all the fantasy story going on, I just wasn't interested nor was I able to understand.  This is only because I am not a fan of this type of book. I wanted to like it, but just couldn't.  If you like imaginary and different world reads, then pick up this book.  

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

 About the Book

Book: The Vermilion Riddle

Author: Dana Li

Genre: Fantasy

Release date: March 1, 2022

“To enter Faerie’s blessed demesne
four secrets must be found:
the land unbound by time and space
opens only to the one who knows
the Light, the Song, and Mortal Gate.”

In the sheltered town of Carmel, women do not have a future outside of a good marriage. That future is threatened when Leah Edwards’ father gambles away the family’s livelihood and estate. She and her sisters must hurry to find husbands. Then August Fox, a Guardian from Cariath, comes to town and purchases a supposedly haunted manor. Charged to keep the peace between mortals and Faerie, the Guardians are the stuff of legend. After he stuns her with a marriage proposal, Leah reluctantly journeys to Cariath, discovering there is more to August and the legends than she guessed.

Nimrod and his Oath-breakers betrayed the Guardians, seeking to solve an ancient riddle that would unlock the Faerie realm. Not all his followers share his desire for conquest. Benedict Fox, his second-in-command, has different motives. But as he continues fulfilling Nimrod’s plan, Benedict hurtles towards a choice between saving his family and settling a personal vendetta.

For Leah, August, and their allies, it is a race against time to solve the ancient riddle before the Oath-breakers, and reunite the Guardians to save the mortal realm. The war is never really over, and this time, the battle lines cut through blood ties and brotherhood.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Dana Li is a software product manager by day, and a novelist by night. She holds an MS in management science and engineering from Stanford University and a BS in computer science from USC, but she’s always been better at writing stories than code. Her writing misadventures began with a dozen now-deleted Star Wars fanfiction tales. She loves good fantasy/sci-fi, classy cuisines, and roller coasters (but not all at once). Dana currently lives in the San Francisco Bay Area, and The Vermilion Riddle is her first novel.

 More from Dana

Two of my favorite fiction authors are J.R.R. Tolkien and Jane Austen. Besides both being British, their works are worlds apart, literally – one wrote epic, sprawling stories of the battle between good and evil, while the other wrote of small town families, romance, and culture in the Regency era. If Tolkien’s heroes failed, death and darkness would sweep across the land. If Austen’s heroes failed, a lady would be single at thirty. (The horror!)

As different as they are, I had a desire to blend the best of both genres. I didn’t think it’d be the most marketable book, but then, I also thought no one else would write this. That concept sparked the genesis of The Vermilion Riddle. I wanted an epic fantasy that was also character-driven and intimate. I love how Austen deftly explored familial and romantic relationships in the framework of her society, and I was curious to see how that would unfold in the context of a traditional fantasy. I shamelessly drew influence from the Regency era for parts of my story’s culture, simply because it’s got that quaint, cozy vibe, stored inside a broad, sweeping world.

This is a snippet of what I wrote in my original query letter for The Vermilion Riddle: 

“While the novel evokes elements of classic fantasy—quests, duels, and the battle of good versus evil—it thrives on character exploration. The plot hums to the beat of a cosmic conflict and climax, though the struggles within a family—between fathers and sons, brothers by blood (and not), husband and wife—forms its core melody.”

When it came to the characters and relationships in the story, three questions framed my writing.

What makes a strong, relatable, and feminine heroine?

What happens to brothers who are pitted against each other ideologically?

What does a love story that happens after marriage look like?

I did not know, concretely, the answer to any of these when I began, and Riddle was going to be my way of exploring them. In retrospect, I was in over my head. I’m not sure if I ever found totally satisfactory answers, but as I worked on the novel over the years, I felt the story mature quietly alongside of me. There were nuggets of wisdom I gleaned from life and other people that made their way into the story. There were also surprising insights that emerged from the characters as I was writing.

In the end, I wanted to write characters who, though born into another world, were achingly human. Though they chase ancient secrets and face the fury of the faerie-kind, they aren’t wrapped in an air of mythology that makes them feel far removed from us. They are the sort of people who could be legends – but a legend is usually formed in retrospect. They are like Merry and Pippin, hobbits who felt like useless baggage for much of their journey before they were hailed as heroes.

That’s what I strove for, at least – a story that’s epic yet intimate, that’s far-flung and yet close to home.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Dana is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon gift card and a paperback copy of The Vermilion Riddle (e-book for those outside the US)!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE 

Thursday, September 22, 2022

Ezekiel’s Song ~ Naomi Craig

This is book 2 of the Yahweh's Legacy series, Christian Historical Fiction read.  This is the about Ezekiel's story from the bible. It goes through what God wants His people to do, worship for Him.  When Ezekiel has to determine how to get the people to follow God's word, he is put in a position of having struggles to follow God.  With the sweet sound of  Shiriel and her singing, could this be the way God wants to get the people to worship?  Do Ezekiel and Shiriel follow God's calling?  

I would recommend this to those that love reading historical books and about people in the bible.  This is a book that makes you think and go to the bible to find out what really happened and how much is fictional in the story.  It is book 2 of the series, but can be read as a stand alone.  Each book in the series is about a character in the bible.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Ezekiel’s Song

Author: Naomi Craig

Genre: Biblical Fiction

Release date: August 16, 2022

A prophet’s heart broken, a woman’s joy gone. What does Yahweh have planned for His people?

On the brink of Jerusalem’s demise, devoted priest, Ezekiel, sees the insincerity of Judah’s worship. Despite his efforts to call the people back to true worship of Yahweh, priests, artisans, valiant warriors, and royals are exiled to Babylon. When God gives him messages of continued judgment for the people in his homeland, his heart breaks. How can he minister to the people from so far away?

The presence of the Lord is tangible when Shiriel sings in the temple, and her voice prepares the hearts of many to worship. When she is exiled to Babylon, her faith is shaken. Does the Lord’s presence extend beyond Jerusalem and His holy temple?

Ezekiel is struck mute and paralyzed as he begins his prophetic ministry, and Shiriel devises a plan to get the Lord’s message back to the unfaithful people of Judah. Shiriel struggles with discontentment as serving the Lord looks nothing like she’d imagined. Can she provide for her family and carry out her husband’s ministry when her joy is gone, and her own dreams are placed on hold?

How will Yahweh save His people from themselves? Find out in Ezekiel’s Song!

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Author of Biblical fiction, avid reader, pastor’s wife, Naomi loves reading the Bible and imagining how things were at the time. When she’s not serving in various areas at church, trying to stay on top of mountains of dishes or convincing her rescue dog, Freeway, to be cute on command for Instagram reels, you’ll most likely find her enjoying a good book and a cup of coffee. Naomi co-hosts #BehindTheStory with Naomi and Lisa, an author interview show on YouTube and your podcast platform of choice.

 More from Naomi

What do you recall about Ezekiel?

The wheel within the wheel?

The dry bones living.

Ezekiel 4:9 bread?

Did you know the Lord asked him to prepare his food over human dung? Or that he was paralyzed for about 14 months? What about mute for seven years?

There are so many bizarre prophecies and symbolisms in the book of Ezekiel. So many prophecies that are yet to be fulfilled. Raise your hand if you tend to skim through these parts of God’s word.

I do.

But when I read Ezekiel a couple years back, the story really jumped of the page.

What about the people who lived with the prophecies and symbolisms?

Ezekiel saw the Lord, and the message He gave was one of Jerusalem finally meeting their just reward.

Only problem is Ezekiel is already in Babylon.

Oh and there’s the whole paralyzed and mute thing.

How is a man who is physically and geographically bound able to get this message a world away?

What was it like to live on rations of war (contrary to how today’s scientists have discovered the right combination to make nutrient dense, protein packed super bread?) in a land that wasn’t suffering from famine or scarcity.

How did the prophet respond when the people who heard the message in Babylonia and Jerusalem brushed it aside as inconsequential?

Ezekiel’s Song explores the lives of those affected by the prophecies. You’ll meet Ezekiel–in the priestly service, turned prophet, Shiri—the Bible states Ezekiel had a wife, her name and her backstory is my imagination, and Gilead—a fictional valiant warrior from Jerusalem.

Discover the book of Ezekiel like you’ve never seen it before!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Naomi is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE 

Wednesday, September 21, 2022

Tethered ~ Eleanor Bertin

This is book 5 of the Mosaic Collection books, a Christian Romance Read.   This is the story of Jacqui, a librarian that seems to have a happy life.  When her boyfriend announces that he is gay and is having an affair with a man that she introduced him to.  When Jacqui has the opportunity to go across country and fix up the house she grew up in, she takes on the challenge.  As she learns of the past, she is not to sure she wants to know.  Can she handle so many changes?  What does her future look like?   Will she know this is all God's plan?  How does she handle so many difficult decisions to make? 

I would recommend this to mature readers only, as it deals with alot of situations that could trigger bad memories for some.   It is a book that will keep you wondering how does this all end for Jacqui? You will keep turning the pages until you get to the end.  It is book 5 of the Mosaic Collection, however, it can be read as a stand alone. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.


About the Book

Book: Tethered

Author: Eleanor Bertin

Genre: Christian Contemporary

Release date: July, 2020

Perfectionistic librarian Jacqui Penn is ripped up by the roots when she’s dumped by her longtime boyfriend. She is drawn two thousand miles west across Canada to the last place she ever thought could offer stability—the old homestead where her father grew up.

Renovating the derelict house soon becomes a personal battle as it stubbornly resists her efforts. While Jacqui struggles to renew the home, she spends time with the family Pops bitterly resented. Her hunger for roots grows stronger as she fights to discover the long-buried reasons her father fled the house as a beleaguered teen. But will she ever find the belonging she craves?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Eleanor Bertin loves books, people, and the sweeping skies of the Canadian Prairies where she was raised.

She studied Communications in college and returned to writing after raising and home-educating a family of seven children. The author of Lifelines, Unbound, Tethered, and the memoir, Pall of Silence about her late son, Paul, she lives in central Alberta with her husband and youngest son where, much like Jacqui, they are coaxing to life a century home.

 More from Eleanor

Long before Jacqui came to be, I had the title Tethered, drawn from the first book in the Ties that Bind series, Lifelines. I was taken by the rope imagery that played so well into biblical themes of God drawing people to Himself. The second book, Unbound, deals with the way cables of guilt and fear can keep us in bondage to legalism.

But ropes have positive uses too. Tethered explores how ties of family and home provide the roots and grounding we all crave. Through each of the books, we see Anna, a widow of deep trust in God. She may seem insignificant, but her influence is powerful. Through her Jacqui, who’s been raised by Anna’s bitter brother, finds the foundation on which her family history is built, and makes it her own.

One of my favourite scenes in Tethered is where Anna teaches Jacqui to bake pie. It’s a piece lifted from my own life. My mother, now 94, was renowned for her pies, which she often gave to the bereaved or struggling. Like Anna, she generously taught her techniques and tips to the women of our family who carry on the tradition.

Here’s where Mom’s tips make all the difference. We don’t freeze whole pies. Instead, we freeze pie crusts already rolled out to size, layered between parchment paper, or better still, the plastic liners from cereal packaging cut to size. (Mom was “green” long before it was fashionable.) Making a batch of skins ahead of time saves space in the freezer compared to fully assembled pies, yields a fresher result when baked, and saves so much time. Whenever you want a pie, pull out a couple of the prepared crusts. While they quickly thaw, prepare your pie filling, assemble, and bake! Even our menfolk have been able to proudly say they baked a pie themselves.

Here is the recipe we use:

Pie Skins
 5 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
In mixer, mix dry ingredients together. Then, a half cup at a time, cut in (with wire whips):
1 lb. lard (vegetable shortening will not give the desired flakiness)
Cut into flour mixture until crumbled to the size of peas. Do not overmix!
In a 2-cup measuring cup, beat:
2 eggs until frothy
Add: 2 Tablespoons vinegar
Add enough cold water to the liquid to make 1 cup. Then add to flour/lard mixture.
Using dough hooks, mix gently just until dough forms and will hold together. Again, do not overmix.
Divide dough into six or seven balls.
On each floured piece of cereal box plastic, roll out pastry from the center outward to just over 1/8-inch thickness. Keep flouring the rolling pin to prevent sticking.
Cut the crust to size of pie plate with ½ inch extra all around. Re-roll the scraps into the next ball of dough.
Freeze skins in a plastic pie keeper or even in a zippered plastic bag on a flat surface.
Bake pie on bottom rack of oven, 450F for 15 minutes, then 375F until golden brown (another 10-15 minutes). No pale, anemic pies for us!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Eleanor is giving away the grand prize pakcage of a $50 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE 

Calming in the Mountain Storm ~ Misty M. Beller

 This is book 9 of the Call of the Rockies Series, Christian Historical Romance read.  Elise and her brother are missionaries being sent to help the native tribes in the Rocky Mountains.  When they get to the village, they never expected what they saw or happened.  When a father returns with his son he went to save, he finds that his life is never going to be the same.  He must save his son and daughter from evil and what has happened to the family and friends. He knows that he must trust Elise to help him get his children to safety.  Can he keep them safe? Will Elise agree to help him?  What happened to the family and the town?  Will they ever get over the tragedy? 

I would recommend this to those that enjoy books about the frontier and having grace that life will be ok. It is a story of stepping out and doing what God has called you to do.  This is book 9 of the series, however can be read as a stand alone.  Each book in the series is the story of a different character and situation. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.


ABOUT THE BOOK 

Book: Calm in the Mountain Storm

Author: Misty M. Beller

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Release date: September 13, 2022

This epic journey will test his strength and ability to protect his children—and they’re all he has left.

When Elise Lane and her brother set out as missionaries to the native tribes in the Rocky Mountains, she knew the work would be challenging. But nothing fully prepared her for the hardships, nor the joys of getting to know the people. And even more so when some of them decide to accept God’s grace. When they discover the entire village where they’ve been working has been massacred, the mysterious brave standing at the edge of the devastation appears to be part of the danger. Especially when Elise realizes he’s holding a baby she recognizes as the daughter of one of the women who now lies dead.

Gone far too long on a mission to return his son who’d been taken by an enemy war party, Goes Ahead is relieved to return home with the boy. Until they reach their village, and the death they find there ignites his fury. His wife has been killed, along with all their friends and neighbors. No one is left alive—except their infant daughter. It can’t be coincidence that both his children have survived such evils. Now he must keep them alive and cross the mountains to return to his family, people who can help protect his family from further danger.

Traveling with an infant not yet four moons old—and no mother to feed her—is more than even Goes Ahead can overcome. Allowing the white strangers to accompany him seems the only choice since one in their party is already nursing a babe of her own. As winter closes in and the mountains prove treacherous beyond anything Goes Ahead can control, only a strength and love greater than his own can save his children—and the woman he’s come to love.

From a USA Today bestselling author comes another epic journey through breathless landscapes and adventure so intense, lives will never be the same.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Misty M. Beller is a USA Today bestselling author of romantic mountain stories, set on the 1800s frontier and woven with the truth of God’s love.

Raised on a farm and surrounded by family, Misty developed her love for horses, history, and adventure. These days, her husband and children provide fresh adventure every day, keeping her both grounded and crazy.

Misty’s passion is to create inspiring Christian fiction infused with the grandeur of the mountains, writing historical romance that displays God’s abundant love through the twists and turns in the lives of her characters.

Sharing her stories with readers is a dream come true for Misty. She writes from her country home in South Carolina and escapes to the mountains any chance she gets.

 More from Misty

Early Missionaries to the Rocky Mountain Native American Tribes  

One of the things I love about writing stories set in the 1830s Rocky Mountains is that Eastern civilization hadn’t yet touched the frontier. The only people who lived in or visited the Rockies during that were Native Americans and mountain men (usually trappers, but sometimes just explorers).

From that limited experience with white people, two of the native tribes realized they wanted to learn more about the white man’s God and his “Book of Heaven” (the Bible). In 1831, a delegation of four Native Americans—two Nez Perce and two Flathead—showed up in St. Louis, Missouri, asking for someone to come and teach their people about God.

Over the next several years, a number of people went west as missionaries, and this was the real-life inspiration for the heroine in Calm in the Mountain Storm. Though the characters in this story are fictional, the events certainly could have happened!

When Elise Lane heard that the Indians actually wanted to learn about God and simply needed someone to come tell them, she knew she had to answer that call. Of course, her brother Benjamin couldn’t let her go into that danger alone, so together, they set out on an expedition they knew would likely change them forever. Elise doesn’t have any idea exactly how much!

I pray you enjoy reading the story of Elise and Goes Ahead, the brave she meets who’s desperate for help getting his young children across the mountains. As with our hero and heroine in the story, I pray your faith is inspired!

Blessings!

Misty

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Misty is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE 

Tuesday, September 20, 2022

The Characters Within ~ Sunshine Rodgers

 This is a young reader book, light romance, humor and inspirational read.  Brittany works at a theme park and is very tired of the whole atmosphere there.   She starts to write a book about how all her co-workers and the park of what bugs her.  She puts into writing how each person has made her upset, irritated, and hating her job.  When her friends, family and co-workers start to bring feelings to her attention, she starts to think differently.  Will she change her heart and find happiness again?  Will she see the good in her co-workers?

I would recommend this to young readers that want a book about acceptance and kindness.  It is a very quick read and parents may want to read with their kids and have a discussion.  I liked this afternoon read about finding the good in everyone. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.


About the Book

Book: The Characters Within

Author: Sunshine Rodgers

Genre: Inspirational Fiction / Romance / Humor

Release date: July 30, 2020

Brittany Myers is stuck. She hates her role as a Cheese Crusader to Florida’s popular Cheddar and Such theme park! She is sick of the guests, the heat and working at the Fun at the Parm Attraction which features the animatronics Patty the Pretzel and Peter the Breadstick.

Her only relief from the monotony is writing chapters in her upcoming novel “The Carnival Ride” where she tells stories with theatrical scenes about her co-workers, her fears and the struggles she faces day in and day out.

With the help of her work family, the man of her dreams and her best friend, Brittany discovers that the magic she is looking for was right inside of her the entire time.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Sunshine Rodgers is   an International Best-Selling Author on Amazon. She has written 11 books which have landed on 26 different Best Seller lists, including #1 in the United Kingdom, #2 in the United States and #25 in Canada. Her books have been translated in several languages (Spanish, English and Portuguese). She has participated in 5 book tours and dozens of book signings. When she is not writing, Sunshine is a guest and featured author on radio, podcasts and online magazines. Sunshine is a Brand Ambassador, a Blogger and an Entrepreneur to her 32,000 social media followers. Sunshine is married to the love of her life, Travis, and they reside in sunny Florida.

 More from Sunshine

”This book is about…me. I spent over 5 years working at a theme park, barely surviving the mess, the mayhem and the craziness that often occurred on-stage and backstage. I used that immersive experience to write my novel,  “The Characters Within.” This story is about Brittany Myers, a Cheese Crusader who has to wear this silly costume and repeat these corny sayings and hear the same annoying tunes playing over and over again. But she really wants to be an Author. 
 
And that’s where I found myself. At a backstage break room, writing this book as Brittany was writing hers. I have included 35 real-life people as characters (those who survived the madness with me!) and together we invite you to join us…as I now lift the curtain to “The Characters Within” – a Book-within-a-Book, Part Musical, Part Love Story and 100% pure entertainment!” 

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Sunshine is giving away the grand prize of a $40 Visa card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE 

Saturday, September 17, 2022

As Silent as the Night ~ Danielle Grandinetti

This is a Novella part of the Strike to Heart Series, a short Holiday Fiction read. This book takes place in Chicago during the time of the Prohibition era.  When Lucia knows that  she will do anything to take care of her grandfather, including standing in the food line. She sees part of the mafia that has threatened her grandfather.  Gio, a retired Marine, sets out to find the neighbor's missing granddaughter after going missing.  He has always found what he is looking for and takes pride in this situation being no different.  He chooses to hide out at a farm in Wisconsin.    When Christmas is around the corner, could there be a miracle here?  Does Lucia keep her grandfather safe?  What does Gio have to do to complete what he was hired to do?  Is there more to Gio and Lucia's relationship?

I would recommend this read if you want a short quick afternoon read.  It is a story that takes place during Christmas Holiday.  It is a novella, however, you can read it as a stand alone and not have to read the books in the series.  

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.



About the Book

Book: As Silent as the Night

Author: Danielle Grandinetti

Genre: Historical Romantic Suspense

Release date: September 13, 2022

He can procure anything, except his heart’s deepest wish. She might hold the key, if she’s not discovered first.

Chicago, 1933―Lucia Critelli will do anything for her ailing grandfather, including stand in a breadline to have enough food to make him a St. Nicholas Day meal. When she catches the eye of a goon who threatens her grandfather, she discovers the end of Prohibition doesn’t mean the end of the mafia’s criminal activity.

Retired Marine Scout Giosue “Gio” Vella can find anything, especially if it helps a fellow Italian immigrant, so he has no doubt he can locate his neighbor’s granddaughter, who has gone missing from a local church. Keeping her safe is another matter. Especially when he chooses to hide out with his Marine buddy in Eagle, Wisconsin, the site of a barely-held truce among striking dairy farmers.

Will Christmas bring the miracle they all need or will Gio discover there are some things even he can’t find, particularly when he stumbles upon the most elusive gift of all: love.

As Silent as the Night is the Christmas novella to To Stand in the Breach and A Strike to the Heart.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Danielle Grandinetti is author of A Strike to the Heart and To Stand in the Breach. She is also a book blogger at DaniellesWritingSpot.com. Her short stories have appeared in several publications and her writing has won the University of Northwestern Distinguished Faith in Writing Award. Originally from the Chicagoland area, she now lives along Lake Michigan’s Wisconsin shoreline with her husband and their two young sons. Danielle especially loves quiet mornings served with the perfect cup of tea.

 More from Danielle

I have this memory, from when I was a little girl, of Christmas at my grandma’s house. The table was expanded to hold a dozen people. The little Christmas tree stood on a table before the window, the Nativity beneath it. A gingerbread house sat on the radio cabinet, which played my grandpa’s old Christmas records.

 In the kitchen, my Italian grandma, now a widow, had on a ruffled apron as she cooked the Christmas meal. She had short, graying black hair, perfectly curled, and large, round glasses. And, was still taller than me, though she was under 5 foot in height.

 Through the haze of childhood memory, I can’t recall everything she cooked that Christmas, I just know it filled the table to overflowing. I can guess who celebrated with us, but I know the large table was completely surrounded by people I loved. And, I’m sure I received gifts, but that’s not what I remember from that day.

 What fills my memory is the feeling of family and the love my grandma showed us, through food. My full belly. My contentment. The wonder of the holidays. All through the eyes of my young self.

 In As Silent as the Night, I attempt to capture some of this nostalgia, lace it with suspense, and wrap it in romance. I show about some of the traditional holidays celebrated by my characters, from St. Nicholas Day to Christmas Eve. And, while Gio can find anything, love eludes him. However, Lucia may hold the key, but he must first save her.

 Silent as the Night concludes my Strike to the Heart series, which began with prequel novella To Stand in the Breach. As sad as it is to say goodbye to the farmers of Eagle, Wisconsin, I have loved sharing the stories of Katy and Joey, Lily and Miles, and Gio and Lucia with you. I hope you’ll enjoy this last installment and I look forward to sharing more stories from other places with you.

 Buon Natale.

Merry Christmas.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Danielle is giving away the grand prize package of a Bag of Books Bundle, which includes a signed copy of each book: To Stand in the Breach, A Strike to the Heart, and As Silent as the Night, plus a Donkey Tote to carry the books!! (https://www.etsy.com/listing/1130961309/donkey-canvas-tote-bag-heavy-duty)

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE 

Friday, September 16, 2022

Texas Wildflowers ~ Caryl McAdoo

This is book 8 of the Cross Timbers Romance Family Series, Christian Historical read.  This book takes place in Dallas, Texas during the 1875 era.  Being well off Maisie and Rayne are used to having everything they want, whenever they want it.  Their parents have always had plans for their lives, the girls have different plans.  When they find that choosing their own destiny is hard and sometimes against their parents...... will and can they make the right choices? Will their plans to have double weddings work?  What does the future hold for their happiness? 

I would recommend this to anyone that wants a book that keeps you turning pages.  This is a great light romance that just makes you smile and want to know how this ends.  This is book 8 but can be read as a stand alone, however, I encourage you to read the others in the series as they are all very good reads.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Texas Wildflowers

Author: Caryl McAdoo

Genre: Historical Christian Romance

Release date: September 3, 2022

Raise up your children in the way they should go, and when they are old, they will will not depart from it.
Getting them old is the key! Maisie Lowell and Rayne St. Laurent, both as beautiful as a wild Texas prairie rose, were born to privilege, reared in the fanciest hotel west of the Mississippi, and used to having their ways. In 1875 Dallas, Texas, the best friends determine to choose their own life paths to peace, love, and joy regardless of what their parents consider right or wrong. Do their choices and what their parents think have to be so different?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Award-winning author Caryl McAdoo prays her story brings God glory, and her best-selling stories—over sixty published—delight Christian readers around the world. The prolific writer also enjoys singing the new songs the Lord gives her; you may listen to a few on YouTube. Sharing four children and twenty-four grandsugars (six are greats), Caryl and her high-school-sweetheart-husband  of fifty-three years Ron live in the woods south of Clarksville, seat of Red River County in far Northeast Texas. The McAdoos wait expectantly for God to open the next door.

More from Caryl

As I write this, Texas wildflowers adorn hills and pastures and create beautiful ribbons along highways and byways! I love flowers! I love Texas! And I love Texas wildflowers! In my new novel by that name, the dear best friends, Maisie Lowell (Morgan and Charity’s third child and only daughter) and Rayne St. Laurent (daughter of Quincy, and stepdaughter of Priscilla, both of QUINCY & PRISCILLA fame) are growing up and becoming intensely interested in boys—or men as they see it.

It’s so fun when I think of it, because they are seventeen, and Ron and I were sixteen when we met and fell in love. Things are so different today. My oldest grandsugar-daughter married last year at the age of 30, and a grandsugar-son at the age of twenty-six. By then Ron and I had three children and eight years of marriage under our belts!

Isn’t it fun to think that only a hundred years ago, daughters were treasured and when men were ready to find a wife, they came courting, never spending any unchaperoned time alone with the young woman he wanted to get to know. My how things have changed as the Spirit of Anti-Christ is loosed in our world, and love, romance, and families have certainly suffered for it.

This is one reason why I love writing historical Christian Romance, telling tales of sweet and modest young girls with parents who watched and ruled over them until they married. At twenty-four or five, a young lady loomed close to being a spinster! I had so much fun with Maisie and Rayne in TEXAS WILDFLOWERS!

I think you will love them, too! TEXAS WILDFLOWERS is book eight in the Cross Timbers Romance Family Saga, and I believe you’ll enjoy books one through seven just as much! In all my books God is highly praised and ways for us to live abundant lives as He promises are included for readers.

My author’s motto is “Praying my story gives God glory!” If that doesn’t happen, I’ve failed my Father, but do I worry about that? I do not! God is on the throne and in control. He’s the one who gives me such wonderful, fun stories to share with you all! Enjoy TEXAS WILDFLOWERS and be blessed!

Anyway, we have been talking about writing this book for years, coming across little clues for the story in Scripture studies now and again over that time. At last, God released us to write THEN JUDGEMENT based on the twenty-seventh verse of Hebrews, nineth chapter: “And as it is appointed unto men once to die, but after this the judgment.”

I love searching the scriptures and telling a story that strictly adheres to God’s Book, His Living Word, the Holy Bible. I love His stories and so understand that His Word is bread to our souls, feeding us wisdom and knowledge of our Creator and His everlasting, never-ending love for us!

Creating Biblical fiction tales carries a lot of responsibility that I truly enjoy taking on, being a guardian of the Truth. I love to bring characters from those days gone by so long ago to life on the pages of my books! I do feel a bit like John when he said this, writing of our Savior.

“And there are also many other things which Jesus did, the which, if they should be written every one, I suppose that even the world itself could not contain the books that should be written. Amen.” John 21:27

Biblical fiction could easily become my favorite genre—if it isn’t already. I do write more historical romance stories set in the 1800s (a favorite time period) in Texas (my favorite state)! And as much as I love that research . . . nothing compares to digging into the Word!

I pray you will enjoy living through the three days that Jesus did not spend in the tomb! May my story cause you to dig a little yourself, checking out our theory! I know this to be Truth: “So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.” Isaiah 55:11

Hallelujah! Glory be to His Holy Name! The righteous run into it and are saved! There is no one like unto Him! He alone it the Great King over all the earth! Worthy to receive glory and praise!

As always, I’m ‘Praying my story gives God glory!’ 

Blessings, y’all!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Caryl is giving away the prize of a $50 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE