Welcome

“I will bow down toward your holy temple and will praise your name for your love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word.”- Psalm 138:2

Saturday, July 31, 2021

A Dream of Family ~ Jill Weatherholt

This book is part of the  a Love Inspired, Inspirational Romance book  reads.  Molly is the owner of her own bookstore and business is struggling to survive, she needs to somehow save her store.  Then we have Derek who is an entrepreneur and is the owner of a puppy that just melts Molly's heart.  Through the love for the puppy, Molly and Derek realize that working together they might be able to save the bookstore, however, Molly also wants to adopt Grace a child that also melts her heart.  Can Molly make all the twist and turns in her life come together as one?  Will Derek find that there is more to Molly then just the business?  How does this all tie in together? 

If you want a book that is a fast read and pulls at your heartstrings, pick up this book.  It is good read about faith, love and how somethings are meant to work for the good.  

 Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  A Dream of Family

Author: Jill Weatherholt

Genre: Inspirational Romance

Release date: June 29, 2021

To give a little girl a home…

she must take a chance on forgiveness.

From the minute Molly Morgan saw sad-eyed little Grace, she longed to give her a happy home. But Molly’s struggling bookstore is endangering her adoption chances. Outgoing entrepreneur Derek McKinney has a puppy Grace adores—and a plan to save Molly’s business. But can he and Molly put their troubled past behind them in time to make a family for a lifetime?

Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

By day, Jill Weatherholt works for the City of Charlotte. At night, and on the weekend, she writes contemporary stories about love, faith and forgiveness for Harlequin Love Inspired.

Raised in the suburbs of Washington, D.C., she now resides in Charlotte, North Carolina, but her heart belongs to Virginia.

She holds a degree in Psychology from George Mason University and Paralegal Studies Certification from Duke University.

She shares her life with her real-life hero and number one supporter. Their relationship grew on the golf course, and now they have one in their backyard.

Jill believes in enjoying every moment of this journey because God has everything under control.

 More from Jill

Working in a library or a bookstore has always been a dream job of mine. As book bloggers and readers, you may have had that same dream.

Sadly, I’ve never made that dream come true. So instead, I created a fictitious character, Molly Morgan.  In A Dream of Family, Molly Morgan owns and operates a bookstore, so by writing her story, I was able to somewhat fulfill my dream of working in a job where I’m surrounded by books all day.

As a child growing up in the suburbs of Washington, D.C., I loved the bookmobile. Twice a month a small library on wheels rolled into the neighborhood and parked in front of our house. There was nothing better than to feel the wallop of arctic air the moment I climbed aboard. It was the perfect escape from the hot and sticky summer months. Like a time machine, the endless rows of books transported me to distant places. It was there I was introduced to The Box Car Children and Nancy Drew Mysteries. One stamp of black ink,and it was mine to devour for two weeks.

 

I haven’t seen a bookmobile since my childhood, but they still exist today. Thankfully, libraries and bookstores are still in our communities, offering wonderful programs to inspire young readers. But as I watch public libraries reduce their hours and bookstores close their doors, I’m grateful to have grown up in a time where bookmobiles traveled the streets of my neighborhood. Those days, my biggest decision during summer vacation was what book to take to the pool.

 Blessings,

Jill Weatherholt

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Jill is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Aftermath ~ Terri Blackstock

 


This is my favorite author and I couldn't wait to read this book!! This is a page turner, suspense thriller that you won't put down until you finish the last page. It is a short read (I say that mostly because you will open the book and then not put it down until you finish. When reading this time flies because you are so into the story.) I recommend this book to anyone that want to have a great afternoon read, ages 16 and up.

When Taylor and her friends go to an event and an explosion happens there, only she makes it out. Are her friends alive? are they trapped? What happened? Taylor is determined to find out and also filled with guilt of why she survived but her friends didn't. When an arrest is made and Dustin is charged for the crime, he has only one person to call, Jamie..... Jamie is dealing with his only life problems and will he sacrifice is family issues to help Dustin? How does Taylor tie into Dustin and Jamie? Can Dustin prove his innocents? Will Jamie be able to help? Will Taylor find out the who, what, where and why? READ THIS BOOK!!! It is amazing and makes you want more!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.




Friday, July 30, 2021

Mysteries of the Messiah ~ Rabbi Jason Sobel

 

This book is not a light read or for those that want a very easy understanding to read book.  It goes into great detail and many deep explanations.  It looks at the Jewishness of Jesus, how numbers are significant in the way the bible is read and meaning, and how Hebrew and Greek language compares to English versions of bible verses.  It is about how you study the bible by using numbers and the significance of using these number patterns. This is a way of looking at the Jewish faith and their way of interpreting the bible the Hebrew way. 

This is not an easy read, it gives a great perception of the Jewish belief and makes you understand their faith.  It is a good way of looking at why and how they come to what the bible means to the Jewish people.  You will be able to read about another's religion and a tool to have of how the bible is interpreted.  You may not believe the Jewish faith however,  take a look at your faith vs. the Jewish faith. This is a book to understand another way of looking at the bible to learn of how some relate to the bible.  

About the Book

Are you settling for half the story? Highlighting connections that have been hidden from non-Jewish eyes, Rabbi Jason Sobel will connect the dots between the Old and New Testament, helping you see the Bible with clarity as God intended.

Most people—even people of faith—do not understand how the Bible fits together. Too many Christians accept half an inheritance, content to embrace merely the New Testament, while Jewish people may often experience the same by embracing only the Old Testament. But God has an intricate plan and purpose for both the Old and the New.

In Mysteries of the Messiah, Rabbi Jason Sobel reveals the many connections in Scripture hidden in plain sight. Known for his emphatic declaration “but there’s more!” he guides us in seeing the passion and purpose of the Messiah. Mysteries of the Messiah:

  • Uncovers connections between the Old and New Testaments
  • Connects the dots for readers with details about Jesus, the Torah, and biblical characters
  • Written with the unique perspective of a rabbi with an evangelical theological degree

No matter how many times you have read the Bible, Mysteries of the Messiah will bring fresh perspective and insight. God’s Word, written by many people over thousands of years, is not a random selection of people and stories. Rabbi Jason Sobel connects the dots and helps us see with clarity what God intended.


About the Author

Raised in a Jewish home in New Jersey, Rabbi Jason Sobel dedicated much of his life in pursuit of a spiritual connection with God. After years of seeking and studying, he encountered God and found his true destiny as a Jewish follower of Yeshua (Jesus). Suddenly, all the traditions Rabbi Jason grew up with took on new depth and meaning as God connected the ancient wisdom of the Torah with the teachings of the Messiah.

Rabbi Jason received his rabbinic ordination from the UMJC (Union of Messianic Jewish Congregations) in 2005. He has a B.A. in Jewish Studies (Moody) and an M.A. in Intercultural Studies (Southeastern Seminary). He is a sought-after speaker and has made multiple appearances on national television, including the Trinity Broadcasting Network, the Daystar Network, and the Dr. Oz Show. Rabbi Jason is the author of Breakthrough: Living a Life That OverflowsAligning with God's Appointed Times, and Mysteries of the Messiah and he is also the coauthor of New York Times bestseller The Rock, the Road, and the Rabbi with Kathie Lee Gifford.

You can learn more at www.rabbisobel.com.

Read an Excerpt
As a young Jewish boy growing up on the streets of New Jersey, I encountered many things that influenced me. My parents and their faith were my heritage, but my friends and their ways were different. It was a little challenging to reconcile everything. But while I became fluent in the culture, even learning how to “rap with my homies,” I remained faithful to our Jewish tradition. Not just because I had to but because I wanted to. Yet I often felt there was something more.
 
At the age of sixteen I found myself one day in a state of meditation. This was something I did regularly as I attempted to figure out things in the midst of a world that was constantly pulling me away from spiritual things. It was an ordinary day but a truly extraordinary experience in that I had a personal encounter with Yeshua. This was the first time I’d ever felt as though the Lord was speaking directly to me. It was so unbelievable and yet so real, and I will never forget His words. He said, “Many are called, but few are chosen.”
 
In my innermost being I knew exactly what he was saying, but I needed to ask, “Lord, am I chosen?”
 
He sweetly smiled and replied, “Yes.”
 
I was overcome by the peace and presence of God— energized and in awe of the experience. I felt as if I were in a state of euphoria. This filling, which was much like an indwelling, kept me in a state of deep contentment. I ran down the steps and into my front yard. Not caring who was watching, I jumped up and down, screaming at the top of my lungs, “I am called to serve Him! I am called to serve Him!”
 
At this same moment my mom pulled into the driveway and saw her good little Jewish son running around in circles like a crazy man for all the neighbors to gawk at. Surely she thought I was mashugana (a Yiddish term describing a person who is nonsensical or silly). I didn’t care; I was so elated by the fact that God, the God who created the universe, wanted to use me.
 
Although she did not understand what was happening to me, my mother did not want to rain on my parade. There was only one problem. I wondered, What does it look like for a nice Jewish boy to begin serving Yeshua? I had no clue.
 
My best friend was John. I met him as part of a wannabe Filipino gang. We became close, practicing martial arts together and discussing spiritual things. By this time, John had become a believer in Yeshua and talked about it with me as often as possible. One day he called and asked, “You went to Hebrew school as a child, right? Do you think you could tell the difference between the Old and New Testaments if I read you some passages?”
 
I said, “Sure.”
 
He read me a passage about this guy dying on a cross and asked if it was from the Old or New Testament.
I said, “Obviously it’s from the New Testament because it’s talking about Jesus.”
 
He read another passage: “He was pierced for our transgressions, He was crushed for our iniquities. . . . He was led like a lamb to the slaughter.” Then he asked, “Is this from the Old or New Testament?”
 
I said, “It must be from the New Testament because it sounds like it’s talking about Jesus.”
 
John paused, then said, “It’s from the Old Testament, from Isaiah 53 (vv. 5, 7 niv). Isaiah was a Jewish prophet who lived seven hundred years before the Messiah was born.”
 
That got my attention.
 
After our conversation I agreed to go with John to the messianic synagogue led by Rabbi Jonathan Cahn, who would later write the highly acclaimed and bestselling book The Harbinger.

During the service, Rabbi Cahn talked about being “born anew,” but I didn’t think a good Jewish boy should ever do that. However, when he gave the invitation, I stood up. Rabbi Cahn led me in a prayer to receive Yeshua. My friend had prayed to lead one Jewish person to faith in Messiah Jesus, but he never thought it would be me.
 
After the service I was given the first New Testament I had ever seen. I took it home, not quite sure what had just happened, and hid it in my room— God forbid my parents should find it. Of course, Mom did find it and confronted me: “What is this? Don’t tell me you’re a Jew thinking about believing in Jesus!”
 
By then, I had read the New Testament and believed that Jesus was the One that Moses and the prophets had foretold. He was the One who spoke the words of eternal life.
 
My mom was concerned and called our rabbi to meet with me. I knew I needed to verify for myself that Yeshua was the Messiah of the Hebrew Bible. As I studied in preparation for my meeting with the rabbi, I made a list of all the messianic promises and prophecies in the Hebrew Scriptures that I could find. I wanted to make sure I clearly understood and could articulate what I believed about the Messiah based on the Hebrew Bible and Jewish sources. The rabbi asked me how I had come to believe in Yeshua as the Messiah, and I read all the passages that had impacted me.
 
I believe that by discovering the connections between the Old Testament and New Testament, your life can be transformed like mine. I liken it to experiencing your faith in high definition. When you “see” Jesus and the Bible in HD, you enjoy greater richness, sharpness, and clarity of details that you would have otherwise missed.
 
Taken from Mysteries of the Messiah: Unveiling Divine Connections from Genesis to Today by Rabbi Jason Sobel. Copyright 2021 by Rabbi Jason Sobel. Used with permission from Thomas Nelson Publishing.


Missing in the desert - Dana Mentink

This is book 2 of the Desert Justice Series a Love Inspired Suspense Inspirational Romance read.  This book takes you on the journey with Mara and how she is looking for her sister that was pronounced dead 5 years ago.  Mara received a one word text that only she knows could be from her sister, leading her to believe her sister is alive and somewhere.  She starts to look for her sister and finds herself in danger and having to live at the ranch with her friend Levi.  She doesn't plan this but due to circumstances out of her control (don't want to be a spoiler).  Is her sister alive? Is Mara in danger?  How does all the characters and situations come together?

Want a quick fast paced, suspense packed and twists and turn plot, then read this one.  This is book 2 of the series, but can be read as a stand alone. Reading book 1 gives alot of the background and personality of some characters in this book.  Book 1 covers alot of the background of the ranch and family togetherness.  Good addition to the series.  If you like book 1 then you will really like book 2.

 Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

 About the Book

Book:  Missing in the Desert

Author: Dana Mentink

Genre: Inspy suspense

Release date: July 27, 2021

 Five years ago, her sister disappeared…

Now someone is coming for her.

Who would believe that Mara Castillo’s sister—missing and presumed dead—suddenly sent a one-word text? Now Mara wants answers, even if it means stepping into a killer’s sights with her brother’s best friend, rancher Levi Duke, as her only protection. But with someone who has everything to lose after her, uncovering a long-buried secret could save her life…or claim it.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Dana Mentink is a two time American Christian Fiction Writers Carol Award winner, a Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice Award and a Holt Medallion winner. She is a nationa and Publisher’s Weekly bestselling author of over forty titles in the suspense and lighthearted romance genres. She is pleased to write for Harlequin’s Love Inspired Suspense, Harlequin Heartwarming and Poisoned Pen Press. You can connect with Dana via her website at danamentink.com, on Facebook, YouTube (Author Dana Mentink) and Instagram (dana_mentink.)

 More from Dana

Hello, readers! Boy am I excited! Since the virus-that-not-shall-be-named is being brought under control, I am cautiously venturing out again and our first vacation spot will be a return to Death Valley. Papa Bear and I love the amazing diversity of Death Valley, from the salt flats, to the sand dunes, mountains, and everything in between. Writing this book allowed me to relive the incredible topography, as well as let my mind run loose imagining a cold case that warms up to fiery levels in this ferocious climate. Part of this story revolves around “Camp Town Days” which was inspired by the Encampment Days, an event held in November by a volunteer group called the Death Valley 49ers that aims to capture the pioneer spirit with their wagon rides, parade, poetry readings, a vendor show, and historical talks. I hope you can feel the desert wind in your face and hear the distant howl of the coyote as you dive into the second book in the Death Valley Justice series.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Dana is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Amazon gift card and a signed copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

CLICK HERE


Thursday, July 29, 2021

Song of Grace ~ The Mosaic Collection

 

This book is part of the Mosaic Collection that consists of 8 short stories that are all wrapped around the words to the song of the hymn Amazing Grace. The Sweetest Sound is a story of how a mother and father must choose what is best for their child and how God's grace will prepare you for what is to come.  I'd Like to Thank the Academy, is about how God will show you where you need to be, not you telling HIM where you want to be.  Spine & Leaves is about how one stranger can help in a situation to make it better, if you stop and let them.  This is a story of how one person can make changes you never see coming and all for the good. That is just a few and the book contains even more variety of stories pertaining to Amazing Grace. You also have the following stories Reconstituted - A Portion of Grace - Paper trail - Jillian's refuge - Forever Mine, that all stories are all different in many ways and only one thing in common that famous Hymn we all know and love. 

This is a good book to pick up and just read a story for the afternoon and feel good when you are done reading.  Each story will make you think and they all have messages of how God will use all of us for His good and grace plays a part in our everyday life, you need to realize how much grace we all get. Great gift book, a book club read and just an anytime reading book.... MARVELOUS COLLECTION!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

 About the Book

 Book: Song of Grace

Author: The Mosaic Collection

Genre: Christian Contemporary

Release date: July 7, 2021

 How amazing is grace? Eight short stories trace the path of grace through the lines of a well-known hymn that was birthed in tragedy.

These characters each desperately seek a variety of prizes: relationships, hope, fame and fortune, security, eternal youth. All of them struggle through trials and troubles to stumble upon the same amazing answer.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Authors

Johnnie Alexander

Johnnie Alexander creates characters you want to meet and imagines stories you won’t forget. Her award-winning debut novel, Where Treasure Hides (Tyndale), is a CBA bestseller. She writes contemporaries, historicals, and cozy mysteries, serves on the executive board of Serious Writer, Inc., co-hosts an online show called Writers Chat, and interviews inspirational authors for Novelists Unwind. She also teaches at writers conferences and for Serious Writer Academy. Johnnie lives in Oklahoma with Griff, her happy-go-lucky collie, and Rugby, her raccoon-treeing papillon.

  Eleanor Bertin

In a fit of optimism at age eleven, ELEANOR BERTIN began her first novel by numbering a stack of 100 pages. Two of them got filled with words. Lifelines, her first completed novel, was published in 2016, followed by Pall of Silence in 2017, a memoir about her late son Paul.

Eleanor grew up on a Manitoba farm, spent 20 years in cities and towns, and in the past 16 years has come full circle to embrace country life again. She lives with her husband and youngest son, Timothy, amidst the ongoing renovation of a century home in central Alberta where she reads, writes, sweeps up construction rubble and blogs about a sometimes elusive contentment at jewelofcontentment.wordpress.com.

Sara Davison

Sara Davison is the author of three romantic suspense series, The Seven Trilogy, The Night Guardians, and The Rose Tattoo Trilogy. She has been a finalist for ten national writing awards, including Best New Canadian Christian author, a Carol, a Selah, and two Daphne du Maurier Awards for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense. She is a Word and Cascade Award winner. She currently resides in Ontario, Canada with her husband Michael and their three children, all of whom she (literally) looks up to. Get to know Sara better at www.saradavison.org and @sarajdavison.

 Deb Elkink

Deb Elkink lives in a cottage beside a babbling creek in rural Alberta, Canada, home base for exotic travels with her husband. She published her first bits of writing after graduating university, then married and spent twenty years as a homeschooling mom and ranch wife—rounding up cattle, earning her private pilot’s license, and cooking for huge branding crews. An MA in Theology led to publication of a literary study on the fiction of G.K. Chesterton (Roots and Branches), prepared her as an academic editor, and jettisoned her into her long-held dream of writing literary fiction with a theological twist. Her publications so far include multiple short stories as well as two award-winning novels (The Third Grace and The Red Journal). 

Chautona Havig

Author of the bestselling Aggie and Past Forward series, Chautona Havig lives in an oxymoron, escapes into imaginary worlds that look startlingly similar to ours and writes the stories that emerge. An irrepressible optimist, Chautona sees everything through a kaleidoscope of It’s a Wonderful Life sprinkled with fairy tales. Find her at chautona.com and say howdy—if you can remember how to spell her name.

Angela D. Meyer

ANGELA D. MEYER writes fiction that showcases God’s ability to redeem and restore the brokenness in our lives. She is the author of This Side of Yesterday, The Jukebox Cafe (a part of Hope is Born: A Mosaic Christmas Anthology) and the Applewood Hill series. Angela is a member of American Christian Fiction Authors and has served on the leadership team of her local writers’ group, Wordsowers. Angela currently lives in NE with her husband. They have two children, both of whom they homeschooled and graduated. Lucy, a green eyed, orange tabby who loves popcorn rounds out their family. Angela enjoys sunrises and sunsets, the ocean when she gets a chance to visit, and hopes to ride in a hot air balloon someday.

Stacy Monson

Stacy Monson is the award-winning author of The Chain of Lakes series, including Shattered Image, Dance of Grace, and The Color of Truth, as well as Open Circle. Her stories reveal an extraordinary God at work in ordinary life. Residing in the Twin Cities, she is the wife of a newly-retired juggling, unicycling physical education teacher, a proud mom, and doting grandma.

Candace West

Candace West was born in the Mississippi delta but grew up in small-town Arkansas. She is a graduate of the University of Arkansas at Monticello. Ever since the age of twelve, she dreamed of writing inspirational fiction. Over the years, she has published short stories as well as poems in various magazines. By weaving entertaining, page-turning stories, she hopes to share the Gospel and encourage her readers.

  More from The Mosaic Authors

It’s Never Too Late for a Heart Transformation… and Great BooksHe stood at the pulpit, chains hanging from his wrists, one fist raised to the heavens, a pottery jug in the other hand.  With his teeth, he uncorked the jug (still don’t know how he did that) and took a swig of the “alcohol” within, allowing it to slosh over his mouth and onto the floor. Watching as he shouted his defiance to Almighty God, my thirteen-year-old self scooted back a little further in the pew, certain. Skit or no skit… Pastor Phillips was about to get struck by lightning.

In his characteristic style, he burst out laughing, wiped his brow, and stowed the jug under the pulpit.  A grin plastered to his face, he wiped that brow again.  “Almost felt the sizzle of lightning or something.”

See, I thought to myself. I’m not so crazy after all.

And from there, our beloved pastor went on to tell the story of John Newton’s conversion and how he eventually, after more years in the slave trade, renounced it for the vile nastiness that it is and worked to end it before he died. But one more beautiful thing came out of all of that ugliness—perhaps the most beloved hymn of all time. “Amazing Grace.”

The Mosaic Collection authors have joined for a summer anthology celebrating the joy and beauty found in God’s “Amazing Grace.” Each story in this collection was inspired by a stanza of that grand old hymn.

As one of the authors in the collection, I found myself humming and singing “my verse,” during the weeks before and during writing my offering.  My verse is,

“When we’ve been there ten thousand years,

Bright shining as the sun,

We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise

Than when we’d first begun.”

All four lines of my stanza play into my story, albeit some ambiguously.  From that ten thousand (dollars, not years) to the (desert) sun, to praising God for His goodness all our days, Spines & Leaves tells the story of God changing the goals and desires of three individuals, just like He changed those of John Newton.

As for how Sara used the stanza in her story, Sara says, “My portion of the hymn is the final two lines of the first stanza: I once was lost, but now I’m found. Was blind but now I see. In my story, I’d Like to Thank the Academy, Lizzy Cross travels to the City of Angels to seek fame and fortune. When she gets lost in L.A. and meets a blind man playing ‘Amazing Grace’ on his guitar, she realizes the song could be about them. Or is it possible that the words mean something else entirely?”

Angela says, “My stanza speaks of the joy and peace we gain in heaven, although we have them in full measure in this life. Jillian’s Refuge is about a young woman discovering these amazing gifts as she journeys through grief and finds healing in an unexpected place.”

Deb says, “In my story, aging expat Dolores, retiring alone in colonial Mexico and agitated over losing her youth, meets up for an afternoon cultural tour with her visiting granddaughter and new baby. Their mother-child vitality forces Dolores to face the fear that drove her from her family and the grace that calls her back to Christian faith.”

Join Stacy Monson, Sara Davison, Deb Elkink, Eleanor Bertin, Johnnie Alexander, Angela Meyer, Candace West Posey, and Chautona Havig as they introduce you to characters and stories that will fill your hearts with God’s grace.

Giveaway

To celebrate their tour, the Mosaic Collection Authors are giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon gift card, a paperback copy of the book, and a $10 coupon to Mosaic’s brand new Etsy shop!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Betrayl of Genius - Robin Patchen

This is book 3 of the Coventry Saga series, a Christian Suspense Romance book.  When Jacqui finds a herself in danger when her career of working as a lab technician may have the cure for Alzheimer's.  She needs to be sure her findings go to the right people that can get this to the patients.  She goes into hiding until she can find who is after her.  When she befriends Reid, he finds their is more feelings for her than he wants.  Reid is under the impression that Jacqui is hiding something and her past may put her in danger.  Can they both survive?  Will they have more than a friendship?  Who is after Jacqui and her lab work?

If you want a good suspense, drama, mystery, with light romance, you will want to read this book.  This book will keep you page turning until the end to find out how this all plays out.  I didn't read book 1, but did read book 2 of the series and found that this book can be read as a stand alone also as book 2 and 3 didn't need to be read together to understand.  However, you will enjoy this series if you like suspense, light romances, and good afternoon reads, then read this series!
 Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  Betrayal of Genius

Author: Robin Patchen

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Release date: July 13, 2021

 From a USA Today bestselling author comes book three in the addictive Coventry Saga.

Her invention could save thousands of lives…if she can survive to long enough to share it.

Jacqui’s research could lead to a cure for Alzheimer’s disease, and she’s determined to ensure the technology goes to the company with the best shot at creating life-saving products, not just the highest bidder. When her lab is broken into, she realizes her partner is desperate to get his hands on her research and the money it’ll bring. Jacqui goes into hiding, planning to lie low until she can find a buyer who lives up to her expectations.

Reid’s life is all about protecting his daughter, but when she leaves for a month to visit her mother, he finds himself at loose ends. The pretty new manager at the ice cream shop seems like a good diversion, but he soon realizes there’s more to Jacqui than doling out scoops of rocky road. When he senses danger, he’s tempted to step away—he won’t allow any threat to come near his daughter—but how can he turn his back on a woman in danger, one he’s coming to care for?

Jacqui’s former partner is closing in and getting more desperate by the day. He’ll stop at nothing to get the payout he feels he deserves.

Join Jacqui and Reid as they navigate this pulse-pounding, faith-filled adventure into the high-stakes world of medical research, innovation, and greed.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Robin Patchen is a USA Today bestselling and award-winning author of Christian romantic suspense. She grew up in a small town in New Hampshire, the setting of her Nutfield Saga books, and then headed to Boston to earn a journalism degree. After college, working in marketing and public relations, she discovered how much she loathed the nine-to-five ball and chain. After relocating to the Southwest, she started writing her first novel while she homeschooled her three children. The novel was dreadful, but her passion for storytelling didn’t wane. Thankfully, as her children grew, so did her writing ability. Now that her kids are adults, she has more time to play with the lives of fictional heroes and heroines, wreaking havoc and working magic to give her characters happy endings. When she’s not writing, she’s editing or reading, proving that most of her life revolves around the twenty-six letters of the alphabet. Visit https://robinpatchen.com/subscribe to receive a free book and stay informed about Robin’s latest projects.

 More from Robin

It’s funny how the themes of my novels often present themselves when I’m in the thick of writing them. I thought Betrayal of Genius was going to be about Luke 12:48 and the old idiom, “To whom much is given, much is required.”

And the novel is about that. To a degree.

But as I wrote the manuscript, another theme worked up to the surface, revealing itself a little at a time. It started with the hero.

Reid is a single parent raising his six-year-old daughter, Ella, who was kidnapped and, thankfully, rescued the previous summer. He was protective before. Now he’s downright obsessive about his child’s safety. Sending her to spend a month in California with her mother seems about as natural as his ex’s hair color.

So the story is a little about Reid’s devotion to his daughter.

Jacqui is always, deep down, trying to earn her father’s approval. Oh, sure, she knows he loves her. But she so rarely gets to see it. As a world-renowned surgeon, he was always off saving the world, far too busy, too important, to shower his daughter with love and tenderness.

So the story is a little about Jacqui’s relationship with her dad.

I write about romantic love all the time, but parental love is just as important and just as beautiful. As a daughter, I was blessed to have two wonderful parents. As a mother, I try to be everything my kids need, and I fail all the time. Is there a right way to parent?

I don’t know. I do know that, though not everybody will be blessed to enjoy romance, all of us have parents. All of us know what it is to love a parent and to experience—or crave—a parent’s love in return.

If you’re a parent—or if you’ve got parents—you know it’s no easy thing to raise kids. As my children grow further into adulthood, I can look back and see everything I did wrong. I did a lot right, but for some reason, the wrong sticks out.

But you know what? I love them. I’ve loved them since the moment they were placed in my arms, maybe since that first flutter of movement in my belly.

Reid is trying to be the perfect father, and he’s always falling short. Jacqui’s dad did his very best, but he wasn’t perfect. But both of those daddies love their little girls. And, like it says in 1 Peter 4:8, “Love covers a multitude of sins.”

Betrayal of Genius is about working hard to accomplish the good works God gave us to do. It’s about doing the very best we can with what we’ve been given. But it’s also about good old human love. Imperfect but pure love, the kind that can wrap itself around a little child and make her feel safe. The kind that can encourage a grown woman to push through the hard times, even when it’s scary and dangerous.

I hope you experience that kind of love. Even if you didn’t receive it from your earthly parents, you have a perfect Father who wants to shower you with it, One whose very nature is Love. May His love wrap around you and carry you forward.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Robin is giving away a virtual trip to Boston with a signed paperback copy of Betrayal of Genius and a complete Lobster Dinner for Two, a $120 value. (Winner can choose among many seafood options—or trade it for a good ol’ fashioned Amazon gift card.)

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE


Monday, July 26, 2021

Shattered Guilt - Kathleen J. Robison

This is book one of the Bay Town Series, a Christian Suspense read.  Melanie has alot going on in her life and needs to turn to her faith, but can she?  Starting her new business and having to ask her ex-husband for help is far from what she wants to do.  Her daughter then gets attacked and to top it off, now a friend is missing?  What is going on?  Melanie is determined to find the friend and figure out who attacked her daughter.  Can she stay true to her faith and get it all together?  

If you enjoy a fast pasted, alot going on suspense read, you will enjoy this book.  It is a page turner that you won't put down and you will be wrapped up in the story to see if Melanie can handle all this and keep her faith.

 Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

 

About the Book

 Book:  Shattered Guilt

Author: Kathleen J. Robison

Genre: Christian Romantic Suspense

Release date: June 15, 2021

When they told her about Southern hospitality, no one mentioned human trafficking.

The move to Bay Town, Mississippi was supposed to be a fresh start for single-mom Melanie and her daughter, Lacy. The quiet Southern town offers a nice relief after the frenetic-paced life of Los Angeles, but something sinister lurks beneath the surface.

Her bridal business struggles to take off, and instead of turning to the Lord, Melanie makes a desperate plea for help–from her ex-husband. Lacey is attacked, and while she is hospitalized, her friend goes missing—a victim of human trafficking out of New Orleans.

With her ex-husband showing true signs of repentance, the pastor she’d begun to fall for is taking a step back, and her daughter’s friend lost to the animals who stole her, Melanie goes on a desperate, dangerous mission to rescue the girl and get their lives back.

And she’ll do it with or without the Lord’s help.

How can Melanie find the girls and rescue them without getting caught herself?  Why can’t she trust the Lord to keep them all safe, and which man in her life is the right one–if either?

Read this heart-gripping, pulse-racing novel and see how the Lord’s hand is on us, even when He seems so very far away.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Kathleen J. Robison is an Okinawan-American. Born in Okinawa, raised in California, Florida, Mississippi, and Singapore. Her travels are the inspirational settings for her stories. She and her Pastor husband have eight adult children. Seven are married, blessing them with fourteen grandchildren and counting. The diversity of their 31 family members provide the inspiration for more lively characters than can be imagined. Her husband grew up in the streets of Los Angeles raised by a single working mom, and that life provides fodder for many of the conflicts of her characters.

Tackling difficult life’s trials with God’s strength are the central theme of Kathleen’s stories. She hopes to inspire her readers to trust God and with His strength, weather through and rise above trials and tragedies. If you like suspenseful stories with a thread of romance, you will enjoy Kathleen’s Bay Town Series!

 More from Kathleen

Guilt comes from within. Shame comes from without ~ Voddie Bouchman

 I homeschooled my eight children, and they all attended a conservative Christian university. My husband is a pastor. So, when I started writing Shattered Guilt, the running joke in the family was, “Mom wrote a book, and it has no bad language, no sex, and no graphic violence, but it’s about human trafficking.” And they were right, but God gave me the words to depict a passionate stance against sin, a pure romance, and horrific tragedy…hopefully, all without offending my readers.

The story begins with Melanie. A delightful single mom and her teenage daughter living in a charming little town on the gulf coast of Mississippi. I love their relationship and their faith, but Melanie’s past mistakes linger in the back of her mind, and she somehow thinks herself not worthy. The theme of guilt runs throughout this book in both the lives of those trafficked and those not. When young girls are targeted for human trafficking, Melanie lays aside the self-imposed shame of her past and fights to save those who will suffer far worse feelings of guilt and shame, for which they had no control.

My heart breaks for those whose lives are paralyzed by their pasts. While writing Shattered Guilt, I didn’t realize the connection between Melanie’s shame and the victims of trafficking. The latter suffer guilt and shame through no fault of their own. Yet, all of us carry baggage; if it’s something that needs forgiveness and confession, and we’ve done that, it’s a done deal. We shouldn’t let the past paralyze us from living a life of fullness in Christ. Melanie and even Pastor Desmond come to realize this in their lives. We need to be the best that God desires for us to be, and to be effective in His work, we must experience his love and forgiveness.

Years ago, when I was first writing the rough draft of this novel, human trafficking was finally getting recognition in the world, and the horrors of who was being trafficked were shocking. That’s what gripped my heart, and I was embarrassed that I didn’t have a clue about the scope of this morally reprehensible practice.  Enslavement of human beings by another has been on this earth forever, and that’s why awareness and action are so important today. In addition, there are so many facets as to how one becomes a victim in this tragedy. I now try never to assume how someone’s life takes the path it does, but I only care that they find a way to hear God’s voice calling them. Every Christian story is about God’s love.

Although I love writing a suspense story, I love creating my characters too. I hope you’ll enjoy getting to know the people of Bay Town as much as I enjoyed writing about them. I look forward to sharing more about these endearing characters and the trials they face. Please come back and visit the charming community of Bay Town in the continuing series.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Kathleen is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE