Welcome

“I will bow down toward your holy temple and will praise your name for your love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word.”- Psalm 138:2

Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Gold Rush Bride Hannah ~ Linda Shenton Matchett

 

This is book one of the Gold Rush Bride series, a Historical Christian romance book.  This book takes place in the 1800's during the gold rush in Georgia.  When Hannah takes on the job that her husband was working after he was murdered, she never expects to also be in danger.   Jess is a friend of Hannah's late husband and comes to help him, but, he is too late.  He decides to stay on and help Hannah deal with trust, survival and faith during her new trials in life.

This is a very short read and can be read in an afternoon of reading.  It takes you back into time with some surprising events and light romance to keep you cheering for happiness to be found.  What will book two bring???? 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  Gold Rush Bride, Hannah

Author: Linda Shenton Matchett

Genre: Historical Romance

Release date: May 18, 2021

Recently widowed, she’s doesn’t need another man in her life. He’s not looking for a wife. But when danger thrusts them together, will they change their minds…and hearts?

Hannah Lauman’s husband has been murdered, but rather than grief, she feels…relief. She decides to remain in Georgia to work their gold claim, but a series of incidents make it clear someone wants her gone…dead or alive. Is a chance at being a woman of means and independence worth risking her life?

Jess Vogel never breaks a promise, so when he receives a letter from a former platoon mate about being in danger, he drops everything to help his old friend. Unfortunately, he arrives just in time for the funeral. Can he convince the man’s widow he’s there for her protection not for her money?

Gold Rush Bride: Hannah is the first book in the exciting new series Gold Rush Brides. Steeped in romance, intrigue, and history, the story will keep you turning pages long into the night.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Linda Shenton Matchett writes about ordinary people who did extraordinary things in days gone by. A volunteer docent and archivist for the Wright Museum of WWII, Linda is a former trustee for her local public library. She is a native of Baltimore, Maryland and was born a stone’s throw from Fort McHenry. Linda has lived in historic places all her life, and is now located in central New Hampshire where her favorite activities include exploring historic sites and immersing herself in the imaginary worlds created by other authors.

 More from Linda

Dear Readers,

 Have you ever heard the quote about Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers that says, “Sure he was great, but don’t forget that Ginger Rogers did everything he did, backwards…and in high heels?” Originally seen in a 1982 Frank and Ernest comic strip, the line has been used by many people from comedians to politicians.

 A slight twist on the statement can be made about women in the centuries before modern attire allowed them to wear slacks…they did everything men did, but in floor-length skirts (to say nothing of when they had to wear corsets!). A few examples include cooking over an open hearth, hauling water before the invention of pumps and indoor plumbing, farm work such as milking cows or gardening, and riding a horse.

 One of my favorite aspects about writing is developing the characters, especially the female protagonists. Mine are typically…well, untypical. The gals in my books are war correspondents, mechanics, spies, doctors, pilots, and midwives, just to name a few. While thinking about what to write next, I stumbled on an article about female prospectors, and I knew I had my story.

 I continued to dig and was delighted to find journals and diaries of these stalwart women who either followed their husbands, brothers, or fathers to the gold field or actually set out on their own. Instead of setting my novel during the well-known California gold rush of 1849, Gold Rush Bride Hannah takes place two decades earlier in northern Georgia where more than one million dollars of gold was unearthed.

 The few images I found confirmed my suspicion. These women prospected alongside the men,  swirling their pans of silt hour after hour…all while wearing a dress.

 I hope you enjoy Hannah’s story.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Linda is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Visa Gift Card and signed copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

CLICK HERE 

[Insert Giveaway Link Here]

Monday, June 21, 2021

Murder of Madison Square Garden - Linda Shenton Matchett

This is book 2 of the Women of Courage Book series, a Christian Suspense and Historical read.   Teddy is on the path to her dream career when one performance changes everything and someone ends up murdered.  As she is the prime suspect, she is taken into custody and then meets Ric a Private Investigator that is willing to take on the case and help her.   Can they find out who the killer is and save Teddy from going to jail?  What is the attraction, if any does these two have for each other?  

If you like a moving fast suspense, murder, mystery then you will really like this book.  It keeps moving and you guessing who is the person that the police should be arresting.  It did end too fast, I wanted more details at the end, but other than that, it was very good read that could be a Hallmark murder mystery movie. Great for all ages to read. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

 About the Book

Book:  Murder at Madison Square Garden

Author: Linda Shenton Matchett

Genre: Historical Mystery

Release date: July 15, 2020

 

The dream of a lifetime becomes a nightmare.

Photojournalist Theodora “Teddy” Schafer’s career has hit the skids thanks to rumors of plagiarism. With any luck, a photo spread with Charles Lindbergh at the America First Rally will salvage her reputation. After an attempted assassination of Lindbergh leaves another man dead, Teddy is left holding the gun. Literally. Can she prove her innocence before the police lock her up for a murder she didn’t commit?

Private Investigator Ric Bogart wants nothing to do with women after his wife cleaned out their bank account and left him for another man, but he can’t ignore the feeling he’s supposed to help the scrappy, female reporter who is arrested for murder at the America First rally. Can he believe her claims of innocence and find the real killer without letting Teddy steal his heart?
 

 About the Author

Bestselling author of over twenty books, Linda Shenton Matchett writes about ordinary people who did extraordinary things in days gone by. A volunteer docent and archivist for the Wright Museum of WWII, Linda is currently working with the curator to create her first exhibit, Shaped by Conflict that will be on display from May 1 to June 15, 2021. She is a native of Baltimore, Maryland, and was born a stone’s throw from Fort McHenry. Linda has lived in historical places all her life and is now located in central New Hampshire where her favorite activities include exploring historic sites and immersing herself in the imaginary worlds created by other authors.

 More from Linda

Dear readers:

I grew up in New Jersey and often went into New York City for school field trips and family visits. One of my favorite places to go was Madison Square Garden. I have lots of happy memories, so I wondered if I could possibly set a book there. I spent a lovely afternoon digging into the building’s past and learning about the important, historic events that took place there. When I discovered that aviator Charles Lindbergh spoke at the Garden about the controversial topic of U.S. isolationism prior to America’s entry into WWII, I knew I had the beginning of a story.

My protagonist came about during one of my shifts as a volunteer docent at the Wright Museum of WWII. While talking to one of our guests about our wartime print and broadcast journalism display, the conversation turned to the role that women played. Therese Bonney was a one of the photojournalists highlighted in the exhibit. As I studied her picture, I was struck by her determination in the set of her jaw and look in her eyes. My protagonist Theodora “Teddy” Schafer was born.

I enjoyed my trip down Memory Lane at the Garden during my research and had fun subjecting Teddy to uncomfortable situations as she tried to prove her innocence. But most of all, I hope her story honors the men and women who served in countless ways during this difficult time in history.

Enjoy Murder at Madison Square Garden.

Linda

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Linda is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Visa Gift Card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Saturday, June 19, 2021

The Proposal ~ Tanya Eavenson

This is book 2 of the All Roads Lead to Texas series, Christian Western Romance read.  Jessica witnesses the sheriff (which is also her father) being shot and killed, she must run and hide to survive. Soon she finds herself being forced to marry a man she has no intention of marrying, how does she get out of this situation and can she?  Blake is determined to protect and serve her to give her a secure and safe life.  However, both their pasts are getting in the way of their futures.  How can they both forgive and move to a better future?  Can they? and Will they?

If you like a good afternoon western romance then read this book. It is for all ages that want just a simple nice reading to take you away and relax.  It is book 2 of the series, but can be read and enjoyed as a stand alone without any problems understanding what is going on.

 Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  The Proposal

Author: Tanya Eavenson

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Release date: June 15, 2021

 

Oklahoma 1891

When the sheriff’s daughter goes into hiding from her father’s killer, her
life isn’t the only thing in danger.

Jessica Thomson is fleeing the man who killed her father. But her
stagecoach is robbed, and when the stranger who rescues her declares she
will be his wife, she does the only thing she knows to do—shove her revolver
in his back. Never would she have expected he wore a star on his chest. Too
bad she vowed never to love another lawman.

As sheriff, Blake McKenny prides himself on protecting his town’s people
from danger, but his efforts didn’t include a headstrong woman bent on
putting herself in harm’s way. When outlaws threaten his town and put
Jessica’s life in danger, Blake’s failure to save his late wife haunts him.

Can Jessica and Blake forgive themselves for the past and protect each
other—even if that costs them their hearts in the process?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Tanya Eavenson is an award-winning Christian romance novelist. She enjoys spending time with her husband and their three children. Her favorite pastime is grabbing a cup of coffee, eating chocolate, and reading a good book. You can find her at her website http://www.tanyaeavenson.com/

 More from Tanya

Fiction to Reality

Ever had those moments when you’re reading a novel and it’s as if the author wrote the story line, the characters, or included verses just for you? When your world turns from fiction to reality with the flip of a page?

 At the beginning of December in 2014, I took a novel from my bookshelf, snuggled on the couch with a blanket, and began to read. The title of the novel is called The Rancher’s Reunion by Tina Radcliffe. The hero in the story is Will, and he has a hereditary disease that caused him to fear, not only his future, but in trusting God. And that’s when God used this story to speak to me.

 “I’m scared, Annie.”

“I know, Will. I know.” She blinked back the moisture pricking her eyes.

“No, Annie. I don’t think you do. I’m not just scared. I’m terrified.”

 And I understood Will’s fear. Weeks prior to reading this novel, my doctor told me I have cancer. It’s a single word that can change the course of your life, emotionally, physically, but not only yours, others around you. And though I knew God’s presence would be with me no matter what the future held, my desire to write or edit anything had vanished. Honestly, I wasn’t sure I wanted to write anymore with my future so uncertain. I wasn’t just scared, but terrified my time with my family would be shortened.

 But as I continued to read Will’s story, God’s whispered words, Do not be afraid of things you cannot control, pray, and continue your call to write, took hold and draped around my heart.

I knew at that moment this book was meant to be read at this appointed time. That God was leading me to give Him every single fear, open my laptop, and begin to write again.

 During the time I’d stopped writing, I was in the middle of two stories, a contemporary romance, and The Rescue, the first story in the All Roads Lead to Texas series. It took some months before I returned to writing, but I had to give my fears to God the only way I could. Like Will and Annie’s story, day by day. Moment by moment.

 In my new novel, The Proposal, the second story in the All Roads Lead to Texas series, Jessica Thompson understands fear and must learn how to give it to God. She has her father’s killer on her trail and the only means for escape is to run, but she never counted on the sheriff of Graham, Texas, to get in her way.

 Have you ever had a time in your life where fear caught you so unexpectedly that you didn’t know what to do next? Perhaps you didn’t know where to turn? Maybe couldn’t pray?

 I’m here to tell you it’s okay. God knows how you feel, good or bad, it doesn’t change His love for you. Just remember, He’s with you, by your side through it all. He will never leave you.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Tanya is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and eBook copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Friday, June 18, 2021

Stealing the First Mate ~ Tabitha Bouldin

 

This is book 11 of the Independence Island Series that takes place on Elnora Island.  This book takes us to enjoy the lives of more characters on Elnora Island, here we meet Darcy and Nigel two people that should be together, but for some reason they aren't.  Darcy is young, single and has dreams of being in love, marriage, kids and the happy life.  Nigel would love to provide that to Darcy, however, his past is hindering him to pursue Darcy for a relationship.  When Nigel decides to put it all out there and trust his faith, will the truth end up with them not being together?  Can the past really be that bad?

Want a good afternoon summer read and see if these two can come together, this is the book for you to read.  It is a very light and fun read for a summer afternoon or reading and relaxing.  It is book 11 out of the Island series, but each book can be read as a stand alone, as each book is about different people and different story line.  If you do read the series you won't be disappointed because you are taken into a the world of island living and how romance creates island living in a new outlook.  

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

 Book: Stealing the First Mate

Author: Tabitha Bouldin

Genre: Christian Contemporary Romance

Release date: June 29, 2021

 

Sometimes, happily ever after is as elusive as a pirate’s treasure.

Darcy Riggins dove headfirst into the online dating pool and sank. Every time.

Her lifelong dream of becoming a wife and mother becomes more elusive every year. So, taking the lack of a Mr. Right in her life as a decided “No!” from God, Darcy gives up altogether.

Single and happy is not an oxymoron. Right?

Nigel Jones has loved Darcy for ages, but her father (his boss, of course) ordered him to keep his feelings to himself, thanks to a stupid mistake that Darcy (thankfully) doesn’t know about.  Too bad her dad does.

Being single and content turns out to be tougher than Darcy imagined, and when she begins doubting everything she’s ever known, Nigel decides it’s time to admit his mistakes, tell the truth, and trust God for the outcome.

In this “forbidden-love-meets-friends-to-more” novel, Stealing the First Mate continues the Elnora Island romances of the Independence Islands Series featuring five islands, six authors, and a boatload of happily-ever-afters.

The Independence Islands Series: beach reads aren’t just for summer anymore.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Tabitha Bouldin has a bachelor’s degree in creative writing/English from Southern New Hampshire University. She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) and has been writing since 2015. When she’s not homeschooling her kids, you’ll find her curled up with a book. Tabitha’s genre of choice is Contemporary Christian Romance which she describes as: Adventure with heart.

 More from Tabitha

I love the friends-to-something-more trope. There’s something invigorating about the challenges of stepping into a different kind of relationship with someone you already know and trust. The risk of losing the friendship if things go badly comes to the forefront and each character has to decide if they’ll take the risk or keep things as they are.

For Nigel and Darcy, there’s the added difficulty of Nigel’s unrequited love. They’ve been best friends forever, and he’s loved Darcy all that time. And she’s clueless! How does that happen?

I wish I could say this story came from my own experience, but that isn’t the case. While my husband and I knew each other for several years before we started dating, we were hardly friends. High school social circles are brutal things. Plus, he had a crush on my cousin, and I was dating someone else.

But it all worked out.

And we’re best friends now.

When it came time to write Stealing the First Mate, I knew Nigel and Darcy were friends. It wasn’t until I worked my way through the first chapter that the depth of their relationship started to emerge, and I realized they were best friends. Darcy runs to Nigel for advise (even dating advise, which became really awkward for Nigel).

Darcy has been looking for Mr. Right so long she can’t see the truth staring back at her in Nigel’s eyes.

Writing their story is one of the most enjoyable experiences I’ve had in writing.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Tabitha is giving away the grand prize package a $50 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Thursday, June 17, 2021

Every Window Filled with Light ~ Shelia Stovall

This is book one of The Weldon Novels series, a Christian Women's Fiction book.  This is the story of living in the small town of Weldon, KY and how everyday life has it's up and downs.  We meet many different characters in this book that seem like it could be our neighbor.  Emma is struggling with being a widow and how her husband was accidentally killed by a student.  She is doing her day to day work when she takes in a teen girl as a foster child with baggage that comes with her.  Luke is the town pastor and befriends Emma and then she finds out that he is pastoring her husband's killer, can she survive this hurt and give forgiveness?  When the mother of the teen girl she takes in comes into the picture, where will Emma turn then? As the story intertwines with the each other, will God be able to connect all of these people together?

Want a story that you can read and feel like you are living in this small town and can relate to some of the issues going on?  Then this is the book for you... at the end it makes you wonder where book 2 will take you.  

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  Every Window Filled with Light

Author: Shelia Stovall

Genre: Contemporary Women’s Christian Fiction

Release date: April 2, 2021

Welcome to Weldon, Kentucky, where the only things the locals love more than fried pies are gossip and match-making.

Librarian Emma Baker, a young and childless widow, believes her dream to build a family is over. It’s been two years since a student accidentally stabbed Emma’s husband to death, and her grief has stifled any interest in romance—until she meets Pastor Luke Davis. But when Emma learns Luke is counseling her husband’s killer fresh out of jail, her temper gets in the way.

Meanwhile, Emma discovers twelve-year-old Harley, abandoned by her drug-addict mother, hiding in the library, and takes the girl in as her foster mom. Then a young mother is made homeless by an apartment fire, and Emma opens her home again. One person and one prayer at a time, Emma begins to discover hope.

If Emma can yield and offer forgiveness to her husband’s killer, perhaps she’ll be able to piece together the broken parts of her heart…and the broken people who enter her life…to form a new family and maybe even have a second chance at love.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Shelia Stovall is the director of a small-town library in southern Kentucky, where only strangers mention her last name, and the children call her Miss Shelia.

Shelia and her husband Michael live on a farm, and she enjoys taking daily rambles with their three dogs to the creek. Spending time with family, especially her grandchildren, is her all-time favorite thing. The only hobby Shelia loves more than reading uplifting stories of hope is writing them.

 More from Shelia

When I was younger, I daydreamed about becoming an author, but it wasn’t something I pursued. I wrote a few short stories for fun, but I poured my time and energy into my children and career.

In the summer of 2011, I participated in a Bible study called Jonah by Priscilla Shirer. One evening, our facilitator asked us to meditate on the question, What does God want you to do that you don’t want to do.  I sat feeling smug as the others prayed. I’d already signed up for a short-term mission trip to Africa, which I hadn’t wanted to do. But as I sat in the quiet, God spoke to me. Write a book for me. My heartbeat quickened as God gave me the opening and the ending of the story. I envisioned a large two-story yellow Victorian home with every Window filled with light.

God’s request filled me with panic, and the workbook page remained blank. The thought of someone reading God’s request made my face hot. Who was I to think I could be an author? Finally, I made a feeble attempt, but it was too hard.

My Ninevah was Africa. I turned my thoughts and efforts to preparing to go to Niger in December 2011. After the trip, all I could think about was returning to Africa. Our translators were visiting the US. It thrilled me when they accepted my invitation to stay overnight in my home. While preparing for their visit, I discovered my laptop under the bed covered in dust. I gulped as I remembered God asking me to write a book. With trepidation, I opened the computer and read the first few pages of the story I’d started. It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t great. I whined to God. I don’t have the skills or the talent. I don’t know how to write a book.

Then, I received an email in my work email account promoting a Christian writers’ conference. To this day, it is still the only email I’ve received at work advertising a writers’ conference. I could hardly breathe as I read the email promoting the writers’ workshop to be held at East Texas Baptist University in Marshall, TX—a long way from Kentucky. I shared everything with my husband, and he encouraged me to go even though we didn’t have the money. He reminded me we had a travel credit in our airline account because of connection problems during our first trip to Africa, and so, I packed my bags.

When I attended the conference, two instructors, New York Times best-selling author Lisa Wingate and Judy Christie, changed my life when they encouraged me to finish the story. Judy asked me to commit to writing one hour a day, and she predicted I’d finish the first draft by Thanksgiving if I’d stick with it. The conference was held in October, and I thought her expectations impossible. I didn’t meet her goal, but I finished the first draft on 12/12/12. I’ll never forget that morning. It’s a good thing I had no idea of the work ahead of me.

Judy was kind enough to give me the email address of her award-winning editor Jamie Clarke Chavez. I sent the first three chapters to Jamie, and my mouth dropped open when she agreed to work with me. Today, she is someone I consider a dear friend. Writers have asked me, How did you get Jamie Chavez to work with you. She must have taken pity on me. I cringe as I remember those first chapters. I consider Jame a gift from God.

Through the years of hard work, God has been faithful to provide me with encouragement and help along the road to publication. If there is anything good in Every Window Filled with Light, it is from Him and the people he sent to aid me. The best blessings of the writing journey are the friendships I’ve made along the way.

I hope you’ll read Every Window Filled with Light or give it to someone who needs an uplifting story of hope. If there’s a person you know who doesn’t know Christ and doesn’t want to listen to a witness, this is a book you can share. I hope the reader will be so drawn into the story they won’t realize they are being exposed to God’s salvation plan until it’s too late.

Thank you for taking the time to learn about why I wrote Every Window Filled with Light. Has God ever asked you to do something you didn’t want to do?  I’d love to hear your story.

Warm regards,

Shelia

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Shelia is giving away the grand prize package of a themed gift basket from Habegger’s Amish Market!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Wednesday, June 16, 2021

The Songstress - Lori Bates Wright

 

This is book 1 of the A Matter of Intrigue series, this is a Christian Historical read.  The Pinkerton Detective Agency, is filled with the best women spies that the country has and they are fighting crime to get justice served.  When Juliana is on stage at the theater she witnesses President Lincoln being shot.  She finds herself headed to Texas and being partnered up with Cade, the man that she finds is not to keen on a female partner.  When they team up to fight the political crimes, they find themselves in a whirlwind of suspense and drama.  Can they work together and find the criminals? How will the Pinkerton Agency agents get their man or women? Does Cade become intrigued with Juliana or will he stay stern in his belief about women in the agency?

If you want a good fast paced drama, suspenseful and light romance read, then pick up this book.  This book has good history being told along with dealing with forgiveness, faith and love for one another.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

 Book:  The Songstress

Author: Lori Bates Wright

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Release date: April 16, 2021

Rising opera star, Juliana Chamberlain, still has nightmares of the night she witnessed the assassination of the President of the United States from her spot on stage at Ford Theater. Recruited by The Pinkerton Detective Agency, Juliana was instrumental in bringing those responsible to justice.

Now, two years later, the Pinkertons ask her once again to join forces in exposing a corrupt political organization terrorizing her home in Texas.

Texas Ranger, Cade Matlock, has a job to do. He needs no help from a meddlesome diva with big ideas. However, he is a man of his word. He’s committed to partner with the lovely songstress to smoke out the mastermind of a dangerous clan who has proven he will stop at nothing to satisfy his thirst for vengeance.

Cade and Juliana soon discover their greatest strength is in working together until shadows of the past threaten to destroy their future.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Lori Bates Wright is an award winning author with a love for history.

Raised in New Mexico, Lori now lives in Texas with her husband of 38 years. She has two grown kids and four adorable grand boys (who leap tall buildings in a single bound!) When she’s not writing, she’s heading up small group ministries with her husband. She enjoys speaking and interacting with women of all ages.

 More from Lori

Growing up, my family loved to laugh.

 Some of my favorite childhood memories are centered around my grandmother’s dining room table listening in while my parents, grandparents, aunts, and uncles told amazing stories. Sometimes I laughed until I’d lose my breath. Sometimes I sat quietly, taking in the bravery and perseverance shown by those who’d gone before me.

History has been a passion ever since. Couple that with an insatiable love for story and there you have the heart of what inspires me to write.

So, when it came time to brain-storm for this brand new series, I decided to take a known historical event and think about it from every angle. Beyond the recognized players, to the “what if” characters that might have played a role. And, ultimately, how such an event would have changed the course of their lives.

 Thus, a star was born.

 In THE SONGSTRESS, Juliana Chamberlain witnessed the assassination from her place on the stage. Because I love a little mystery and intrigue, I decided that the leading detective agency of the day would have enlisted her help in identifying the accomplices. Allen Pinkerton had been known to hire a lady detective or two, so she would be trained by the best. Her investigative skills proved helpful in bringing a quick resolution to the case.

Fast forward four years and she’s still haunted by what she saw that night. When Pinkerton again approaches her about a case involving her family in Texas, she accepts.

 Being from Texas, I was so happy she did. I’ve wanted to write a story based in the Lone Star State for quite awhile. I loved visiting Georgia and the shores of England in my last series, but I have to say it was good to bring this one home. With all the rugged charm of the post-Civil War era, this book has a little more local flavor than my last three. Al-in-all, I believe my readers are in for a treat. A new cast of fun, quirky characters as we revisit a significant time in our nation.

 So, here’s to new beginnings! Or as we say in Texas, “Hang on, y’all are in for a wild ride!”

Happy reading!
Lori

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Lori is giving away the grand prize package of a Texas Gift basket including a signed copy of THE SONGSTRESS and a $25 Amazon Gift Card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE 

Emeline & My Journal (2 book set) - Kathy J. Perry

 

What a great young readers book, for tweens, but can be read by any age.  This is a young readers Christian Historical read.  Set back in the 1890's Emeline, who is 13 years old, sets out on a journey to go from Montana to Boston on horse back to find family, after her mom and dad have died, leaving her all alone.  During the journey she is faced with having to deal with many people nice and not so nice.  She finds that survival and being alone makes her stay true to her faith and learning to trust people along the way.  Many things happen in this book and makes you go back to a time when we didn't have all the conviences that we do today.  Will she make it on her own to find her family in Boston?  Can her survival lead her to be a stronger woman?  What happens when her journey ends?  



The My journal book is a not part of the story above, but is a companion to how Emeline keeps her story written down and give her hope and comfort when writing down her feelings.  This is a good journal with empty pages, to help guide you on your journaling each day.  It does have bible verses and questions to make you think and write down your thoughts.  It is a good book for anyone that is just starting to journal and wants to be comfortable with writing down their thoughts.  

I would recommend both these books to any young reader and it is a good book to just sit and read to take you back into time.  This book gives you a journey that makes you think and feel.  I think both would be a great gift set to give to any young reader. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

 About the Book

 Book:  Emeline – A Journey with the My Journey companion Journal

Author: Kathy J. Perry

Genre: Christian Historical Fiction Adventure

Release date: November 1, 2020

Emeline:

I can’t ask Pa; I must decide for myself.

What do I really want?

Set in 1890, a period of no phones or refrigerators, thirteen-year-old Emeline has lost both parents and must travel through ten states to reconnect with family in Boston.

On the way, she encounters many people and trials. Some characters are unsavory, ruthless, and violet, wanting only her money and possessions, caring nothing for her life. But all is not bleak: good folks make her trip memorable, giving her help as they are able.

Will she make it, and if she does, will she stay?

Will the events of her journey redefine her life?

This Christian historical fiction adventure will educate, entertain, and inspire young readers.

My Journey:

You Are Unique

What do you believe?

What motivates you?

What are your thoughts, hopes, and dreams?

Find a quiet place and contemplate the questions inside. Journaling is a great way to understand yourself and work through emotions.

Who knows? You might surprise yourself!

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

After the passing of my parents, I evaluated at what I was doing with my life and my contribution to others. I’ve always had a heart for teaching kids. I’ve been a classroom teacher, a homeschool mom, a tutor, and a substitute for many years. I’ve written, illustrated, and published the Bandana Acres series of Early Reader Chapter Books with solid moral lessons that fill a genre gap between picture and chapter books. Fellow teachers say, “Great! Keep it up. We need more of these.”

As a twelve-year-old, I identified with a fictional orphaned girl and was so impressed with her cleverness and honesty that I wanted to be like her. It was this story that inspired me to write Emeline – A Journey — a story that will educate, encourage, and inspire your tween or teen to find their way as a confident young adult.

A companion book, a consumable guided journal entitled My Journey, will challenge your young adult to important questions and give them lots of room to process their thoughts, hopes, and dreams.

 More from Kathy

Research for Emeline’s story gave me such joy. It amazed me how much I learned about life in 1890 from internet searches, YouTube videos, and library books. Some topics, however, were more difficult than others. I purchased a book about 1800s printing for lithography details. I later gifted this beautiful book to my printer brother-in-law.

 With new technology bursting at the seams of the fabric of our lives, could your young adult have an interest in such a time as 1890? Fantasies and futuristic books claim attention and provide an escape from our time and place. But the 1890s was a fascinating time, too, with inventions that would change how we live forever — inventions that we take for granted today. Regardless of the external factors, people then had the same personal issues. People remain people, no matter when or where they live.

 I hope that from reading or listening to this book, your tweens and teens will internalize the important character qualities vital for confident, successful adulthood. The companion book, My Journey, follows the same values shown in Emeline’s book and provides a place for personal evaluation and self-discovery.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Kathy is giving away the grand prize of a hardcover copy of Emeline, a softcover copy of The Journey, and a $25 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE