Welcome

“I will bow down toward your holy temple and will praise your name for your love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word.”- Psalm 138:2

Wednesday, April 14, 2021

Bitter Betrayal ~ Rebecca Hemlock

 

This is book one of the Arctic Mysteries Novella series.  It starts out with a plane crash and with the survivors wondering what has happened, just in the first few pages....  Luke is being held captive and the mystery is the ring that everyone wants.  It is a very short read and leaves the reader to imagine many things going on with the story.  I was a bit lost and trying to figure out what was really going on. Because it is a very short read, it can be finished in a few hours.  I would have liked it to have more of a background at the beginning or have flash backs to what the purpose was and of what the ring is all about. 

If you like a sci-fy, dramatic adventure from different worlds, then you will get this book.  I didn't like the cliffhanger at the end, continuing the story book 2 for an ending.  Because it is so short, maybe put both books together as one full read.  It is good for teens that don't like to read long books and if you want a quick read and don't care that you will have to wait to find out the end of the story...... Overall it was ok for my type of reading, liked the drama and adventure, just needed more of the details.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  Bitter Betrayal

Author: Rebecca Hemlock

Genre: Adventure Suspense

Release date: November 2020

 Escape. Murder. Secrets.

Scientist Luke Wilkins has always been one step ahead of Lee, his longtime rival. Luke and his best friend Josh start off on an expedition to Nunavut’s territory for an environmental study. All seems well until their plane crashes in the middle of nowhere. As Luke regains consciousness, he discovers that he’s being held prisoner by Lee and his men.

Luke has something that Lee wants. A ring that has been shrouded in mystery for centuries and Lee will do whatever it takes to get it. Luke fears that he will never see his family or friends again unless he hands it over.

Lee will stop at nothing until the ring is his, but would he go as far as murder?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

 Rebecca Hemlock has written stories her entire life. She always knew she wanted to be a writer. That dream became a reality for her in 2016 when she landed her first job writing for her local newspaper. That same year, she was able to publish a children’s book under the pen name R.C. Burch.  With a little help from some wonderful people, Rebecca  was able to move forward in her writing career.

Rebecca published two more children’s books the following year, but children’s fiction was only the beginning. She self-published a novella in 2019, titled Bitter Betrayal, Arctic mysteries,  and completed her first novel in 2020. When she is not writing, Rebecca enjoys traveling, reading, and spending time with family.

Aside from being a member of American Christian Fiction Writers, she is also a member of Sister in Crime. Rebecca has a degree in English and a certificate in Creative Writing and is also pursuing a degree in Creative Writing.

 More from Rebecca

This book was so much fun to write. There are so many places in this world that have been barely touched by man. I took an interest in Northern Canadian culture after watching a documentary about how the Vikings first settled there.

After reading through the different artifacts that have been found there, Bitter Betrayal was born. I knew this would make a tremendous mystery-suspense story. Whenever I start a Mystery Suspense book, I usually like to add a dash of romance with a historical twist.

Luke Wilkins is someone that most single dads can relate to. He has a difficult time trusting other people. Especially when it comes to his son, Adam. He must trust those around him if he’s going to stay alive.

Bitter Betrayal teeters on the concept of how far someone would go for what they want. If you love Clive Cussler as much as I do, then this Novella is for you.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Rebecca is giving away the grand prize of a $25 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Tuesday, April 13, 2021

Cooking Up A Mystery ~ Gail Pallotta

 

This is a cozy mystery, that is fun to read!   When Laney takes over her families business of a tea house, she doesn't expect to be able to get the business in the black.  But she is willing to try and finds that her cooking is very much needed in the community.  She is hired by Eric, has an injury that leaves him unable to walk, leaving him to need Laney to cook and deliver food to him.  They strike up a friendship that leads to Eric interested in more than just Laney's good cooking.  When a mysterious noise that keeps happening at the tea house at night, this leads Laney to think there is a ghost in town... Is is really a ghost or more going on along with the mysterious painting that shows up?  Does Eric's feelings generate more then Laney can handle? 

I would recommend this read for a relaxing afternoon or evening.  It is such a good and moving book, it leaves you wondering until the very end.  It has a mysterious side along with the romance of it, not sure which one was supposed to be the priority story, both are so good and tie in together very nicely..... I loved this cozy read!!!!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

 About the Book

 Book:  Cooking Up A Mystery

Author: Gail Pallotta

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Release date: April 24, 2020

Laney Eskridge worked to put her husband through dental school. Then he left with another woman. She’s on edge from the emotional scars and her parents’ deaths. Then she hears unexplained noises in her new tea house, and her anxiety is tripled. Add a budding romance with Eric—a guy with a fear of commitment—and it’s all too much to handle. She cuts ties with Eric and plunges into making her business pay off.

When Eric discovers that Laney’s in danger, he vows to protect her. But can he make a lasting promise? Will she trust him? . . .and when they overhear a threat that could cause national turmoil, will anyone believe them? There’s more brewing than herbal tea in Cooking up a Mystery.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Award-winning author Gail Pallotta’s a wife, Mom, swimmer and bargain shopper who loves God, beach sunsets and getting together with friends and family. A 2013 Grace Awards finalist, she’s a Reader’s Favorite 2017 Book Award winner and a TopShelf 2020 Book Awards Finalist. She’s published six books, poems, short stories and several hundred articles. Some of her articles appear in anthologies while two are in museums.

 More from Gail

In Cooking up a Mystery running a business with no background or formal training in accounting or management overwhelms Laney, the heroine. George, her assistant, tells her she has him and God, who knows her needs. Then he adds, “You … have your mom’s wonderful recipes and you whip them up like a pro.”

 I chose the food industry for Laney, a woman entrepreneur succeeding against the odds, because I have lots of cooking experience. I learned the skill at age ten. The reason, according to my father—I’d know how when I got married. I didn’t marry until I was thirty. By then, I’d received lots of instruction, so I knew how to prepare some pretty good dinners. My husband said, “You could start a restaurant.” I wanted to do other things instead, such as write, but I started one in this book.

 Mt first woman entrepreneur appears in Hair Calamities and Hot Cash, a romantic comedy about a hairstylist. It’s set in Eve’s Clips, a salon in Triville, a fictitious town in the North Carolina Mountains where Laney opens Laney’s Delectable Delights.

 A section in the back of Cooking up a Mystery, Laney’s Chefs in the Making, features over two dozen recipes. Only Laney’s Pineapple Rice is mine. The rest are from a book, Heavenly Delights, authored by my friend, Pam Nichols Griffin, as a fundraiser for Mission Love Seeds, a charity that helps children throughout the world and responds locally after disasters to demonstrate God’s love.

Laney’s Pineapple Rice

Ingredients:
 Rice (can be instant, but not boil-in-the-bag)
Cooking oil or spray
One small onion (chopped thin)
Five cloves garlic (or minced gloves equaling five cloves)
One tablespoon fresh grated ginger
One cup fresh pineapple
Small amount of pineapple juice
One teaspoon sugar
One lime
 Cook rice according to directions on the box, but substitute a couple of tablespoons to 1/4 cup pineapple juice (depending on taste) for part of the water.

 Chill rice

 Coat a heavy bottom skillet with oil. Add the onion, garlic, ginger, pineapple and sugar and stir. Add cold rice, break up, squirt with the juice of one lime and stir until heated and blended.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Gail is giving away  the grand prize of a $40 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

CLICK HERE

Sunday, April 11, 2021

Texas Trails ~ Caryl McAdoo

 

This is book 6 of the Cross Timbers Romance Family Series and a Christian Historical Romance read. This is the saga of Enoch and his friend Gus taking cattle across the plains from Texas to Kansas for good profit.  Enoch's mother is not happy about his trek across dangerous land and his age of only 17 he needs more supervision.  The boys decide they can handle it and carry on with the journey.  Along the way they meet a few young ladies with a baby and bring them along with them.  Can they keep the girls safe?  Will they be able to get the cattle to the destination, collect their money and back home in time for college?  Will they be able to keep the faith and the promises they made to family?

If you like a good family values read with light adventure, this is a good book for you to read.  It is part of the series but can be read as a stand alone.  Each book in the series is about a different family member and they all tie in together, but also can be read a stand alone.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Texas Trails

Author: Caryl McAdoo

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Release date: March 6, 2021

 The steps of a righteous man are guided by the Lord.

Rife with adventure, this rights-of-passage story comes to life as Enoch Lowell and his best friend Gus strike out to Kansas with their herd of beeves, hoping to earn a profit and cut the apron strings. What they find on the prairie changes their lives forever. Promises made, promises kept, but nowhere is it written there can’t be a happy ending for all. A true Texas trail tale to warm your heart!   

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Award-winning author Caryl McAdoo prays her story brings God glory, and her best-selling stories—over fifty-five published—delight Christian readers around the world. The prolific writer also enjoys singing the new songs the Lord gives her; you may listen at YouTube. Sharing four children and nineteen grandsugars (three greats), Caryl and Ron (her high-school-sweetheart-husband of over fifty years) live in the woods south of Clarksville, seat of Red River County in far Northeast Texas. The McAdoos wait expectantly for God to open the next door.

 More from Caryl

Get along little doggie!

TEXAS TRAILS is the sixth novel in the Cross Timbers Family Saga series. I’d never written much about being on a cattle drive and thought it would be great fun. Back in the Texas Romance Family Saga series, Charley Nightingale made several trips to Kansas with a herd and took his son Nathaniel, but I skipped over the actual drive part.

 Readers first met co-hero Enoch Lowell in QUINCY & PRISCILLA then got to know him better in DUPLICITY At The Lowell House when his best friend Gus Hale (TEXAS TRAIL’s other co-hero) is introduced. Both those stories are set in 1866. For TEXAS TRAILS, it’s three years later, and Enoch is ready to declare himself a man and start earning his own way. Driving a bunch of cows up to Kansas sounds like the ticket to cut his mother’s apron strings and earn some dollars in the process.

 The son of Morgan and Charity O’Neal Lowell (LEAVING TEXAS, book four) and grandson of Liberty O’Neal Harrell (GONE TO TEXAS, book one) talks Gus into going with him, and as partners, they start building a herd. All the while, Charity is pitching a fit as her plan for her firstborn includes Harvard University.

 One thing I loved about this story is that Morgan sets it up—behind the scenes of course—for trusted men to take in his son and Gus on their trail drive. Enters the infamous Texas Ranger Levi Baylor (Texas Romance Family Saga book two HEARTS STOLEN) and the boy he reared as his own (grown now), Charley Nightingale!

 I already love those two men from my earlier Texas Romance Family Saga series—just as my readers do—and totally relished their appearance in this story! Revisiting old beloved friends brings great joy to this author, in real life and my fictitious world!! I adore crossing these characters over the two series!

 So many things are apt to happen out on the prairie that cowboys never expect. There are rivers to cross and the natives to deal with, some who pose real danger to life and limbs! Cows birth calves, storms descend, and herds stampede, but that’s not all that can make a cowboy’s days rough. Enoch’s and Gus’s lives are definitely changed forever on the out there on the trail.

 I’m thinking if I were a younger woman, I would totally enjoy going along on their cattle drive! How about you?

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Caryl is giving away the grand prize of a $25 Amazon Gift Card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Saturday, April 10, 2021

Operation Grendel ~ Daniel Shwabauer

 

This book is a Science Fiction Christian Fantasy read.  It is set in a world of the future of fantasy of five colonizing worlds that are under attack from a very ruthless enemy.  The commanding officer of the mission is hurt and in danger but must carry on the mission to save the people.  With the help of an IA, the officer carries out the mission the best way possible, along with finding out there is more to the mission then he thought. Can he save the worlds and the people?

This is a good read for those that read Sci-fy, fantasy or space age stories.  This is not my type of book and so I had a hard time getting through the storyline.  It is nothing wrong with the story, just my not my type of book, if you are into suspense mystery cozy reads, this is not the book to read.  If you like drama, suspense and reading to use a deep imagination, then you will enjoy this book.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

 About the Book

 Book:  Operation Grendel

Author: Daniel Shwabauer

Genre: Christian Fiction, Futuristic Action & Adventure

It’s the war story he’s dreamed of. But the battle may cost him his mind.

Military journalist Raymin Dahl thinks he’s finally getting the story of a lifetime. Secret peace talks on a remote tropical moon are about to surrender five colonized worlds—and six hundred million civilians—to a ruthless enemy.

 But when his commanding officer, Captain Ansell Sterling, is fatally wounded before the negotiations can begin, Dahl can no longer just report on the mission. He’s ordered to complete it. With help from the AI embedded in Sterling’s comms bracelet, Dahl must impersonate his commander—a Marine Corps hero and psychological operations expert.

 However, Sterling’s AI may be luring him to surrender more than he realizes. And the mission Corporal Dahl thinks he’s running isn’t the only operation underway.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Daniel Schwabauer, M.A., is a lifelong reader of speculative fiction. He studied the genre under science fiction great James Gunn before graduating with honors from Kansas University’s Masters program in Creative Writing in 1995. Winner of the Eric Hoffer and Ben Franklin awards for his middle grade fantasy series, The Legends of Tira-Nor, Daniel enjoys riding his motorcycle on country roads and pondering other worlds. He lives in Kansas City with his wife and dog.

 More from Daniel

The Operation Grendel Origin Story
 
I’ve always been fascinated by the power of storytelling, especially as a lever for moving culture.  For several years I studied the development of modern propaganda, the rise and fall of yellow journalism, and the relationship of these to psychological warfare. This culminated in 2017 with a brief investigation into quantum computing and the rising popularity of trans-humanism. Sometimes the best story ideas are combinations of things that have rattled around in the back of your mind for years.
 
Operation Grendel is a keyhole glimpse of a future in which every person in the galaxy is bonded to an artificial intelligence. Some AIs are embedded in the brain, and some are snapped onto the wrist as a wearable device. I didn’t realize when I started writing the book that Elon Musk had already launched Neuralink to create this technology in real life. I discovered the corporation after finishing my fourth draft.
 
The use of this technology probably means a lack of autonomy. How can you think for yourself, or even know what you think, if your thoughts are constantly being shaped and influenced by a quantum computer wirelessly connected to your brain?
 
Then again, is that all we really are as humans—biological computers? I don’t think so. But if not, then there will surely be resistance to the trans-humanist movement. Which means, in a work of fiction, clearly opposing sides. One empire supports this integration of man and machine; the other places limits on AI technology.
 
But “warring empires” was not a story I felt capable of telling. I wanted something closer to home, something smaller and more accessible, something more human. I wanted to show what a life spent entirely under the influence of an inner nanny—a substitute Holy Spirit—might look like.
 
Well, who better to tell that story than a man who has, in his own way, been manipulating others through storytelling? In other words, a journalist.
 
This fit my desire to write the story as military science fiction. Since I never had the honor of serving in the armed forces, I needed a way to give my narrator a believable voice. Corporal Raymin Dahl, a military reporter who barely scraped his way through reservist boot camp, fit the bill.
 
Before long the story seemed to take on a life of its own.
 

Giveaway

To celebrate his tour, Daniel is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon card, a signed copy of the hardcover first edition, and 2 laptop stickers!! (photo attached)

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Friday, April 9, 2021

Courage in the Mountain Wilderness ~ Misty M. Beller

 

This is book 4 in the Call of the Rockies Series a Christian Historical Romance book.  When Otskai becomes a widower she must provide for her and her 2 year old son.  She has always lived in a village that took care of each others needs.  Now that she is determined to make it on her own, she succeeds in harvesting camas root for trade.  Caleb is a small town minister that is wondering what God is calling him to do?  When he makes the decision to go on a journey to save the Chief's daughter, little did he expect what he was getting himself into.  He meets Otskai and her son and soon befriends them and realizes that maybe God is leading him to the purpose of his life.  

This is a book that can be read by any age and goes well with the series theme.  This can be read as a stand alone, as each book in the series is a seperate story, with a few of the characters appear in the each book, which if you read the previous then you are familiar with them.  It is a feel good relaxing read with some suspense and love.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

 About the Book

Book:  Courage in the Mountain Wilderness

Author: Misty M. Beller

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Release date: April 6, 2021

Keeping her son safe on this epic journey may be harder than she imagined.

Caleb Jackson is on a journey. And not just the mission he and his friends have embarked on to fetch the Nez Perce chief’s runaway daughter. Maybe someday, he could also find God’s plan for his life. He’d once thought being a small town minister was the Lord’s will for him, but he’d proved a failure at living under the scrutiny of his congregation. Yet the chief’s niece and her feisty toddler accompanying them on this expedition make him feel like he might be able to make a difference yet.

Otskai is eager to take on a challenge. She’s lived under the shelter of other’s choices her entire life, especially when she was betrothed to one of the village braves at the tender age of eight. Now with her husband dead, she’s finally found the freedom she always craved—even with a two-year-old to raise. She’s built her camas root harvest into a thriving trade to provide all she and her son need and more, yet she can’t seem to keep her active child safe. When she agrees to accompany her new friends on a trip to bring back her wayward cousin, she knows she’ll have her hands full managing her boy.

The journey turns out nothing like Otskai expects, and for the first time in her life, she’s thankful to have others around to help. Especially Caleb, whose gentle attentions captivate her son and occupy him for hours at a time. But as the danger escalates and her worst fears come to light, she must find the courage to choose between freedom and a love more liberating than she imagined possible.

From a USA Today bestselling author comes another epic journey through breathless landscapes and adventure so intense, lives will never be the same.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Misty M. Beller is a USA Today bestselling author of romantic mountain stories, set on the 1800s frontier and woven with the truth of God’s love.

She was raised on a farm in South Carolina, so her Southern roots run deep. Growing up, her family was close, and they continue to keep that priority today. Her husband and children now add another dimension to her life, keeping her both grounded and crazy.

God has placed a desire in Misty’s heart to combine her love for Christian fiction and the simpler ranch life, writing historical novels that display God’s abundant love through the twists and turns in the lives of her characters.

 More from Misty

 Mom Guilt—it’s real, no matter what your race or tribe.

One of the things I love about writing the Call of the Rockies series is the cast of characters that covers almost more races than I can count on all my fingers! From Spaniards, to Frenchman, to Southern Americans, to Blackfoot, to Nez Perce, to Salish, to Shoshone. And let’s not talk about the various sectors within some of the tribes (Peigan Blackfoot, Blood Blackfoot, Pikunin of the Nez Perce…oops, we weren’t going to talk about those!).

But what I love the most about so many people groups represented is learning how much we really are alike, down deep in our cores! Sure, some are introverts, some are extroverts. Some like to swim, some hate to swim. Some like to cook, some like to play with the kids (okay, maybe most like to play with the kids!).

Yet there are common threads that connect us all. As I was writing Courage in the Mountain Wilderness, I discovered a new thread that I have in common with Otskai, the Nez Perce hero of the story.

Mom guilt.

Yep. Our situations are a little different—I’m married with four kiddos, and she’s widowed with one very energetic two-year-old son. But we both struggle with that same push and pull. That same set of conflicting longings. When I’m with my kiddos, sometimes I just desperately want time alone. Time to actually get things done. But then at night when they snuggle close at bedtime, wrapping their sweet arms around my neck and not just saying, but showing, how much they love me, I can’t imagine how I could ever want to do anything but spend time with these sweet little ones God has trusted me with.

Thus, the guilt.

Maybe Otskai and I are the only ones who’ve ever experienced that particular strain of Mom Guilt. But I’ll bet there are other ways you can relate—both to these very real fictional characters who may or may not be the same race as you. And also to the very real real-life characters you meet every day.

The great news is that God loves each and every one of us, Mom Guilt and all.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Misty is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Friday, April 2, 2021

Your Home in Heaven ~ Donna Wyland and Lynn Marie Davis

This is a Christian children's book about Jesus and his promise of Heaven.  It has colorful illustrations and tells about how Jesus has prepared a place in Heaven for all those that believe in Him.  It also covers the fruits of the spirits that God provides to us: joy, patience, kindness, peace, faithfulness are just a few gifts covered.   

The illustrations are geared towards very young children and the story provides about how God builds heaven, with explanations.  It would be good to use with children that have lost loved ones and wonder where you go when you die.  The grammar in the book needs to be fixed in places, and I wish it had more rhymes to flow when reading.  The book is 64 pages long, which may be too long  for a child to sit through.  But a great moral to the story.  Suggestion to the author, maybe make this a 2 chapter book to keep the attention of the little ones. Reading a chapter at a time and providing for a stopping point would break in the length.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  Your Home in Heaven

Author: Donna Wyland and Lynn Marie Davis

Genre: Children’s Picture Book

Release date: October 2020

 Children will delight in God’s promise of heaven as Jesus build their imaginary home

In this colorful book that reminds them of his great love. Your Home in Heaven…

  • Teaches about God’s promise of heaven.
  • Comforts through the truth of eternal life in heaven with Jesus.
  • Encourages godly living as children learn the fruit of the Spirit.
  • Draws children closer to God through eight Discussion Page questions.
  • Inspires children’s creativity as they imagine their own home in heaven.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

 Donna Wyland is an award-winning author, editor and coach whose personal essays and poetry have appeared in numerous publications. She is also an Associate Certified Coach (ACC) through the International Coaching Federation who specializes in coaching writers toward completion and publication of their own books.

As the author of two picture books, Your Home in Heaven (released October 2020) and If I Could Ask Jesus, and a gift book titled Surrender, Donna’s work encourages readers to draw near to God to experience His peace, love and hope.

Her first novel, Autumn’s Harmony, was also released in October 2020 and is a poignant and witty tale about the healing power of forgiveness, reconciliation, and new beginnings. It is the first in a series of three written for every woman who has ever desired to make sense of her past, find joy in the present, and discover God’s purpose for her future.

To learn more and to view coaching packages, visit www.freetobe.faith, or connect with Donna on LinkedIn, Instagram (@freetobe_writer_coach) and Pinterest.

 More from Donna

Having lost three best friends at 16 and a younger brother at 18, God gave me a heart for heaven at an early age. He also filled me with a heart of joy. Your Home in Heaven reflects both.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Donna is giving away the grand prize package of a hardcover copy of the book, stuffed puppy and cardboard house to color and fold, and a $25 Target gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

CLICK HERE

A Tapestry of Light ~ Kimberly Duffy

 

This is a Christian Historical Romance read, that takes you back into the 1885's era.  The story takes you to England and deals with the heritage of being British and Indian.  Ottilie has a passion for beetle wing embroidery that she has learned from her family generations, she uses this skill to provide for her brother and grandmother.  When she gets word that her brother is in trouble she heads to England to find out how she can help and save her brother from death.  What she finds awaiting in England is more than she expected.  Can she save her brother?  Will she be able to overcome the diversity of family heritage?  What will be the outcome of her decisions she makes?

If you want a story that deals with heavy issues and decisions, this is a read you won't want to miss.  This is a book that is not a fluffy read and at times is very touching and heartfelt.  It will take you back into the days when needlework was an art and skill.  It is a  read to make you think and wonder what decision you would make?.....

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  A Tapestry of Light

Author: Kimberly Duffy

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Release date: March 16, 2021

Calcutta, 1886.

Ottilie Russell is adrift between two cultures, British and Indian, belonging to both and neither. In order to support her little brother, Thaddeus, and her grandmother, she relies upon her skills in beetle-wing embroidery that have been passed down to her through generations of Indian women.

When a stranger appears with the news that Thaddeus is now Baron Sunderson and must travel to England to take his place as a nobleman, Ottilie is shattered by the secrets that come to light. Despite her growing friendship with Everett Scott, friend to Ottilie’s English grandmother and aunt, she refuses to give up her brother. Then tragedy strikes, and she is forced to make a decision that will take Thaddeus far from death and herself far from home.

But betrayal and loss lurk in England, too, and soon Ottilie must fight to ensure Thaddeus doesn’t forget who he is, as well as find a way to stitch a place for herself in this foreign land.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Kimberly Duffy is a Long Island native currently living in Southwest Ohio, via six months in India. When she’s not homeschooling her four kids, she writes historical fiction that takes her readers back in time and across oceans. She loves trips that require a passport, recipe books, and practicing kissing scenes with her husband of twenty years. He doesn’t mind.

 More from Kimberly

When I set out to write a new novel, I plan the entire thing from start to finish. I write down each scene on an index card and know exactly what’s going to happen when I sit down for the day’s work. I’m meticulous that way.

But I never plan my characters’ spiritual arcs. Because I want their faith journey to be organic to the story. I want it to feel authentic. It’s such an important part of each of my books and I recognize that some things just refuse plotting and need to develop in a more natural way.

My debut novel, A Mosaic of Wings, features a heroine steeped in science. Nora loves the natural world and so her faith was encouraged by studying the wings of a butterfly or examining an interesting plant. She’s not particularly sentimental or emotive so the faith element of that story had to be presented in a way that made sense for her. Nora’s faith arc is subtle.

Not so for A Tapestry of Light. I had no intention of writing a book that delved into my own struggle with doubt. But that’s what Ottilie required. And it wrung me dry.

Then built me back up.

My faith story is a twisted kind of one. Raised a Christian, I went into ministry, firmly attached myself to the faith of my childhood, and thought it would never waver.

I was wrong.

Oh, how it wavered. For whatever reason, when I hit about 30, it seemed everything I had always believed no longer made sense. It was devastating. Terrifying. And it broke me.

But brokenness is its own sort of beauty and when you recognize there is no way for you to pick up the pieces yourself, God can come in and fill those cracks and shattered places.

Those five years of doubt and questioning and facing the reality that even though I’d always loved Christ, I didn’t really know Him (and didn’t really know why I believed in Him), were some of the most painful I’ve experienced. But I believe with every bit of my being that God is in the business of redemption. Of restoration. Of filling up so that we can pour out.

And he took my own very personal struggle and helped me turn it into a story that, I hope and pray, might encourage others. I gave Ottilie my questions. I gave her my doubt. I gave her my fear and desperation and, in the end, I gave her my hope.

There’s a little piece of me in each of my books, but this one contains my heart.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Kimberly is giving away the grand prize $25 Amazon gift card along with a signed copy of either A Mosaic of Wings or A Tapestry of Light!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

CLICK HERE