Welcome

“I will bow down toward your holy temple and will praise your name for your love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word.”- Psalm 138:2

Monday, June 14, 2021

Faith in the Mountain Valley ~ Misty M. Beller

 


This is book 5 in the Call of the Rockies series, Western/Historical Christian read.  Colette is in hiding and pretending to be a man, while fooling her Indian companions of who she really is.  French is a long lost friend of Colette and one day finds her and realizes who she is.  Why is she telling the lies of who she is, he wonders?  This is his first love and wished she had never left, can he keep her now? Colette knows that her past is not something she wants to share, not now, maybe ever.  When she realizes French is on to her and the past, should she run again?  Will she face the past and have hope for a future?  Where does this leave French and his feelings?

This is book 5 in the series and can be read as a stand alone.  It has mystery, drama, suspense and light romance for a reading pleasure.  It is a story that makes you wonder, will they be together?  What is in the past that is so bad?  Another good read from this series.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  Faith in the Mountain Valley

Author: Misty M. Beller

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Release date: June 15, 2021

This epic journey is the only way to leave her secrets behind.

After eleven years spent looking for the girl who stole his heart, Jean-Jacques Baptiste—better known as French to his friends—is tempted to give up. Until the day he spotted the flaxen-haired stranger traveling the wooded path with Blackfoot Indians. He never imagined he’d find his childhood friend masquerading as a man in this Rocky Mountain wilderness, hundreds of miles from the Canadian town where he last saw her. No matter her reasons, he can’t let her go this time.

Colette Mignon’s life has become a cacophony of lies, including the fact that her Blackfoot Indian companions believe she’s a man. She’s willing to live the taxing life of a trapper in these desolate mountains as long as it keeps her secrets hidden. When her childhood friend and first love discovers her, his determination to help might put everything at risk.

As the worst of her past threatens to catch up with her, the hope for Colette’s new life shatters. But no matter what, she must protect the one good thing that came from all her mistakes. Though French is determined to stay at her side, she can’t let him become entangled in the perilous consequences of her actions. If only it wasn’t so painful to push him away. The danger pressing in may leave her only one choice—leave everything behind…again.

From a USA Today bestselling author comes another epic journey through breathless landscapes and adventure so intense, lives will never be the same.

 Click here to get your copy!

  About the Author

Misty M. Beller is a USA Today bestselling author of romantic mountain stories, set on the 1800s frontier and woven with the truth of God’s love.

She was raised on a farm in South Carolina, so her Southern roots run deep. Growing up, her family was close, and they continue to keep that priority today. Her husband and children now add another dimension to her life, keeping her both grounded and crazy.

God has placed a desire in Misty’s heart to combine her love for Christian fiction and the simpler ranch life, writing historical novels that display God’s abundant love through the twists and turns in the lives of her characters.

  More from Misty

Ever Played Dress-up?

I’ll bet most of us played “Let’s Pretend” when we were kids. Maybe you dressed up as a princess, or a knight, or a soldier. When we were little, my grandmother had a secondhand wedding dress she let us play with. It had the long train and veil that dragged several feet behind a grown woman. We spent so many fun hours dressing up and pretending. And of course, there were all the times my older brother and I played cowboys as we rode our horses.

With so much experience playing dress-up and “let’s pretend,” I thoroughly enjoyed writing the story of a heroine who pretended to be a man! And not just a fellow around town. She joined up with a group of five Blackfoot braves and attempted to pass herself off as a man for weeks while she lived in their camp, trapping alongside them!

She had a good reason for attempting the ruse, and you can find out if she pulls it off in Faith in the Mountain Valley. This might be my favorite of all the books in the Call of the Rockies series. I pray you enjoy it too!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Misty is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE 

Sunday, June 13, 2021

Ruth ~ Caryl McAdoo

 

This is book 8 of the Prairie Roses Collection, a Christian Historical Romance book.  This is the story of Ruth, that takes place in 1842 along the wagon trail of going west.  She decides to take on the job of taking care of a baby, Logan's orphaned son as they head to Oregon.  As Logan would rather have her as his bride and mother to the baby, Ruth makes it clear that she has no intention of a marriage from convenience, she wants love and romance. As they go along the trail, she is faced with many situations of a teenager and other children.  With all this going on, will Ruth and Logan be able to be more then just friends and workers?   How with the long trail, show them faith, hope and love?

This is a good story that will keep you feeling that you want these people as a couple and why is Ruth not just marrying him?  But God has a plan and will that plan be.  Each book of the series is a stand alone read as each book is about a different lady.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

 About the Book

Book:  Ruth

Author: Caryl McAdoo

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Release date: May 3, 2021

 The Lord works in mysterious ways.

Fleeing heartache, shame, and betrayal, Ruth finds all her plans are thwarted until the untimely death of a goat that gives her hope! Hired as a wet-nurse for Logan’s orphaned son, she rejects his marriage-of-convenience proposal, hoping to find true love at the trail’s end. Going West (in what was later called the Great Migration of 1842) satisfies the widower’s wanderlust, and even though she turns him down, he determines to prove his love is true. Come along on this infamous journey of love and adventure.

Click Here to get the book.

 About the Author

Award-winning author Caryl McAdoo prays her story brings God glory, and her best-selling stories—fifty-nine published—delight Christian readers around the world. The prolific writer also enjoys singing the new songs the Lord gives her; you may listen at YouTube. Sharing four children and twenty-one grandsugars (three greats), Caryl and Ron (her high-school-sweetheart-husband of over fifty years) live in the woods south of Clarksville, seat of Red River County in far Northeast Texas. The McAdoos wait expectantly for God to open the next door.

 More from Caryl

I’ve loved the premise of RUTH for seven years now, that’s when the beginning of this story was first written, way before its time! Its title was Evelyn’s Redemption back then, but I’ve since had a favorite character named Evelyn in COVERING LOVE and MIGHTY TO SAVE (books eight and nine in the Texas Romance Family Saga series), so my heroine needed a new name.

 Ruth was my maternal grandmother’s name and Mama’s middle name  (Naomi Ruth), and though Ron doesn’t like me to name characters after family members, he let me have my way . . . as my heroes usually let my heroines. 😊 So, she became Ruth.

 I pulled up the ten thousand words already written back in 2014, caught up-to-date to refresh the story in my mind, then took off writing! In a month and a day, I finished this story that I just love! Never knowing where it’s going—or exactly how it will end when I start—I so enjoy the tale as I write it just as you do when you read it! God gives me the most awesome stories I’m so thankful for!

 My hero’s thirteen-year-old daughter Hannah is one of my favorites in this story. Her great character created such an example of taking up an offense that is hard to put down. I think we’ve all been there, and to me, it’s especially hard to forgive and get over it when the offense is taken up on behalf of someone we love. The loved one like gets extra grace to forgive, but not so for the offended-on-their-behalf!

 I love that God helps me weave scriptural lessons into my stories, lessons that I’ve learned in walking with Him for more than sixty years—and I’ve learned a lot! Besides praying my stories give Him glory, I also pray they help those who read them draw closer to Him—or learn ways to live more purely for Him.

We serve a mighty God indeed, and it’s my honor to help advance His Kingdom here on earth through writing these stories! Also, I enjoy singing the new songs He gives me! Check out ‘Caryl McAdoo’ on YouTube! I have a few songs up there and need to video more.

So, have a blessed day, y’all, and may God’s joy and peace encompass you everywhere you go!

Blessings!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Caryl is giving away the grand prize of a $25 Amazon Gift Card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

Click HERE

Saturday, June 12, 2021

Written Off ~ Barbara Cornthwaite

This is book 3 of the Wilkester Mysteries, a cozy mystery read.  This is the continued story of Katrina and Todd going from engaged to planning a wedding along with crime and death wrapped into it along the way.  Katrina is now teaching writing classes at the University until her an Todd are married, Todd is still a detective.  When the stories/papers Katrina is having the class write becomes real incidents, what can this mean? Is there a killer in her class?  Is her class teaching someone how to kill?  Todd is trying to figure this out, along with helping Katrina with planning their wedding... but things keep happening that put a little drama in the planning... will they survive their first fight?  Will they be able to handle careers with life and still get married as planned? 

If you have read the first 2, you will want to read book 3 as the story continues.  This book wasn't as in depth of the mystery being the center of the story.  This book was more about the relationship between Todd and Katrina with the mystery/drama on the side, but it does all tie in at the end.   It was a read, however, if you are looking for a suspenseful page turner, not this book, but if you want a cozy read with drama, mystery and romance then pick up this one.  You don't need to read 1 or 2 to read this, but it will definitely help to read in order - if read out of order, you will have many spoiler alerts..... Good afternoon read.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  Written Off

Author: Barbara Cornthwaite

Genre: Christian Cozy Mystery

Release date: May 2021

 ”Break a leg?”  They’ll be lucky if they don’t all break their necks!

After years of waiting, Katrina finally has her happily ever after. All is right with her world . . . until hate crimes begin happening in the charming college town of Wilkester. Even more disturbing is the fact that the perpetrator seems to be connected with the writing class Katrina teaches. How can she prevent her rosy visions of the future from turning into broken dreams?

Find out in this third book of the Wilkester Mysteries.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Barbara Cornthwaite lives in the middle of Ireland with her husband and children. She taught college English before “retiring” to do something she loves far more; her days are now filled with homeschooling her six children, trying to keep the house tidy (a losing battle), and trying to stay warm in the damp Irish climate (also a losing battle). She is surrounded by medieval castles, picturesque flocks of sheep, and ancient stone monuments. These things are unappreciated by her children, who are more impressed by traffic jams, skyscrapers, and hot weather.

 More from Barbara

What Kind of Lessons Could a Mystery Possibly Teach Me?

It’s been a couple decades since I taught a college English class, and writing the Wilkester Mysteries with Professor Katrina Peters as the main character brought back happy memories of teaching. Not enough to want to go back to it—homeschooling my own kids is much more rewarding—but enough that I had to stop myself from writing much longer lectures into the stories! These are my first contemporary novels, and it was nice to write a story without the hours and hours of historical research I usually have to do. But whatever time period stories are set in, people feel the same emotions and have to learn the same spiritual lessons.

Katrina loves literature and can’t help seeing her own life as a story. The only problem is that she keeps thinking she knows what the Author is doing, and she has definite ideas about what the plot should be. She is not unlike myself: over and over I’ve thought I knew what God was doing in my life. And if He was short on ideas, I had quite a few that He was free to use! But He has rarely been doing what I thought He was, and for some reason He never seems to use my ideas about what could happen in my story.  Both Katrina and I need to learn the lesson that God’s wisdom is beyond ours, His storytelling is much deeper and richer than ours, and His plots are never predictable!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Barbara is giving away  the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and a paperback of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Friday, June 11, 2021

The Rabbi's Touch ~ Annetta Lammers


 This is a very small, hand held book that describes 10 encounters with Jesus that will change everything.  All the stories in this book are of Jesus and His love for us.  It can be read from cover to cover or each story (a few pages) a day or you can pick up at your leisure to read.  The stories are inspirational and could be use as a devotional on a daily basis, depends on what you want to get out of it.  It covers many miracles that Jesus performed and how He reacted to his people.  Each chapter has a title, a verse and then a few pages of the story.  A great read for those that need encouragement, a Sunday School could use each chapter as a lesson, or just read with a friend and discuss.  A very little book with so many possibilities and a very attractive cover.  This would be a great gift to give at anytime of the year. 


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  The Rabbi’s Touch

Author: Annetta Lammers

Genre: Biblical Historical Fiction

Release date: Sept, 2020

Ten Gospel Encounters

What if you could live in the story? What if you could meet Jesus and have His eyes meet yours and know His great love for you?  What if you could feel his healing touch and know your body was well?   Author Annetta Lammers explores ten encounters with Jesus found in the gospels and tells their stories. Through reflection, study of the Greek and living each story she retells the encounters of Jesus touch, voice and power.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Annetta Lammers is a wife, mother, homemaker, and educator. She savours quiet walks in the woods, the texture and colour of pottery and reading Biblical fiction with a cup of coffee. Her fascination and love of God’s word has motivated her to study over the years. You will find more of Annetta’s reflections at annettalammers.com.

 More from Annetta

I counted my journals, wondering. A drawer filled with thirty-three journals. The years of words held in those pages cover countless seasons of living and following Jesus. Even the gaps of silence speak volumes in the journey.

This passion for writing, evident in that drawer of journals, has had the dream of a book tucked within it.  And, quite by surprise, a book has formed and grown these past years. The Rabbi’s Touch began innocently with the study of Blind Bartimaeus. His miracle took shape in my imagination, taking on sounds, images and emotions.  Notes and reflections about his healing found their way in the current journal. Hidden Greek meanings fed my imagination until I was Bartimaeus meeting Jesus. That encounter took on words that needed to be put down on paper as his story.  Bartimaeus’ story led to another short story, which led to another.  Each story was driven by the desire to enter the lives of those who met Jesus and were healed. Each story was written with the longing to encounter Jesus for myself, as if I had never met Him before. Perhaps I would grow in knowing Him.  And I did.

As the stories grew, so did a quiet desire for others to meet Him as I had. Perhaps others could meet Jesus on their dusty road, make eye contact with Him, hear His voice and feel His healing touch?  Perhaps a conviction of what He can do will grow, and they, too, could be determined to press in to receive what is His to give?  Perhaps they also will cast aside the veil they have been hiding behind and walk free? Perhaps you can meet Him, too?  So, here it is, a collection of first-hand stories, ready for you to encounter Jesus.

Annetta Lammers – Author

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Annetta is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon gift card and copy of the book (fulfilled through Amazon)!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Thursday, June 10, 2021

Ablaze ~ M. Liz Boyle


This is book 3 of the Off the Itinerary series.  This is book takes summer after the Avalanche from book 1, Chased from book 2, book 3 starts off on a summer hike in the Montana woods. The Miles and Stanley kids in this adventure explore the mountains in Montana along with having to deal with teen issues and growing up.  What choices will they make?  Can they all still be friends while making life choices and making sure they are the right choices?  Do they all realize that faith and hope are the key to success in life? 

This is a young readers series that has suspense, drama, faith and trust in friendship.  This is a great read for any age of teens and up, if you like a fast pace moving book, then you will enjoy this one.  This will teach about how keeping your eyes of God will always protect you.  This is book 3 but can be read as a stand alone.  Another great addition to this series.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  Ablaze

Author: M. Liz Boyle

Genre: Christian YA

Release date: February 25, 2021

 This summer the Stanley sisters and the Miles boys are excited to hike together again, and now they have the unique opportunity to help two of their ranger friends with an outdoor program in the beautiful Montana mountains.

Marlee has always considered herself a willing follower. Give her a direction and she’s happy to help. Her older sister Ellie is a natural leader, and Marlee is content in her role as assistant.

Marlee and her sisters have been assigned to help with Ranger Rose’s team, and they are savoring the adventure. But in a heartbeat while the group is divided by a few hundred feet, fire breaks out between Ranger Rose and Marlee’s group. In this enthralling finale to the Off the Itinerary series, Marlee must face her fears with courage that only God can provide.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Liz is the author of the Off the Itinerary series, the wife of a professional tree climber, and the homeschooling mom of three energetic and laundry-producing children. Liz once spent a summer in Colorado teaching rock climbing, which she believes was a fantastic way to make money and memories. She resides with her family in Wisconsin, where they enjoy hiking and rock climbing. Liz and her husband have also backpacked in Colorado and the Grand Canyon, which have provided inspiration for her writing. She makes adventurous stories to encourage others to find adventures and expand their comfort zones (though admittedly, she still needs lots of practice expanding her own comfort zone).

 More from Liz

After sending my five teenage characters through an avalanche and subjecting them to a lunatic with handcuffs (during a flash flood), I decided that a wildfire was the next disaster they should endure. From a plot perspective, a wildfire allows for much excitement; but I especially love the character refinement that takes place as my cast faces this natural disaster in the finale to my Off the Itinerary series. I hope your family will find encouraging entertainment in Ablaze.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, M. Liz is giving away the grand prize of a signed copy of Ablaze and a $25 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

CLICK HERE

Wednesday, June 9, 2021

Summertime Lillies ~ LM Karen

This is book one of the Oak Street Series a Christian Fiction read.  Brittany is a single mom, to a little boy, a nurse at a cancer center and just loves her fudgsicles.  She plans to have a very relaxing and quiet summer, until Matt, her new neighbor comes into her life.  She finds that her plans of a slow summer are soon changing and she is left on a journey she never expected.  Will she find her quiet summer?  How does Matt find room in her life?  

If you want a cute summer read about life and how you just can't control the way you expect things to happen, this is the book for you to read.  It is a book that you can connect to and feel like this could really happen.  Fun lazy afternoon read in a lawn chair or at the beach.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

 

About the Book

Book:  Summertime Lilies

Author: LM Karen

Genre: Contemporary Christian Fiction

Release date: Jan 30, 2021

A sweet and sentimental contemporary romance with a uniquely witty voice.

There are three things you should know about Brittany Masters:

  1. She’s a single mom and a nurse manager at the local cancer clinic
  2. She has big plans for a quiet summer
  3. She’s convinced that fudge pops are the answer to almost all of life’s most important questions

A new neighbor, Matt, making friends with her son while simultaneously pursuing her blow plans for a predictable summer right out of the water. A chance meeting at the cancer clinic where she works renews a connection with an old friend and gives her the perspective she’s been missing. From quiet nights on her front porch swing in Matt’s company to long talks in the clinic with her old/new friend, Brittany’s summer is anything but routine.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

LM Karen writes contemporary Christian fiction romance. As a longtime lover of words, she can generally be found behind her laptop or with a book in her hand. A graduate of Toccoa Falls College, her heart is in the mountains. She eventually made use of the voices in her head by putting them on the page.

 More from LM Karen

I am not artistic. I’m not someone who can look at a space, or an item and see it’s potential. If you give me white space, I will have no idea what to fill it with. Even if I had an idea of what I wanted it to look like, there is no way I could make it look like the picture in my head. My stick figures have always been lop-sided.

What I am pretty good at is making up stories in my head. At restaurants I enjoy observing other customers and giving them stories. In the grocery store I consider what a post-apocalyptic shopping experience might look like. On my drive home I might imagine the lives of the occupants in any given house I pass.

It became a hobby when I slowly began to write these stories down. If I considered a particularly interesting character the natural progression was to wonder what their story was. What started as a hobby quickly evolved into an obsession. Often times I consider myself a citizen of the world in my head more than reality (which has it’s pros and cons). I spent a lot of time quietly working on my stories, trying to become a better writer and honing my craft.

As an avid reader from a young age, I can’t count the characters that have influenced my life and the stories that have touched my heart. My deepest hope is to use my predilection for make believe to touch someone else’s life. That maybe a young girl would be positively influenced by one of my characters.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, L.M. is giving away the grand prize package of a signed paperback copy of the book and $25 Amazon Gift Card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

CLICK HERE

Tuesday, June 8, 2021

Day of Reckoning - Valerie Massey Goree

 

This is book 2 of the Stolen Lives series a Christian Romance series with suspense and drama.  When Agent Lela takes on a case of the kidnapping she has Jay the brother in law of the victim helping her find Chuck.  They work together by finding the clues and evidence that will help find the businessman and bring him back to his family.  Lela finds herself uncomfortable with Jay and his faith.  Can they find Chuck before it is too late?  Will their be more to the partnership?  Will Jay keep the faith and hope without Lela changing his mind? 

I would recommend this book if you would like to read a fast pace moving story with light romance.  It is book 2, but can be read as a stand alone in the series.  It has drama, suspense and romance to make an afternoon of reading take you away from the world.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.


 About the Book

 Book:  Day of Reckoning

Author: Valerie Massey Goree

Genre: Christian Romantic Suspense

Release date: August, 2019

International Retrieval Organization Agent Lela Ortiz is assigned the kidnapping case of businessman, Chuck Davenport. When her boss allows Chuck’s brother-in-law to assist, Lela accepts the help with reservations, especially when Jay Vashon prays to God at the most inopportune times.

Jay would do anything to help bring his brother-in-law home, even work with hesitant Agent Ortiz. As Jay helps Lela decipher the clues sent to Chuck’s special-needs son, Jay begins to fall for the feisty IRO agent.

Can Jay break through the barrier Lela has constructed around her heart? Will Lela be able to overcome her distrust of men and God? And what of Chuck? Can the pair locate him before the ransom deadline?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

 American Christian Fiction Writers Genesis Award winner Valerie Massey Goree resides with her husband on the beautiful Olympic Peninsula of Washington State.

 After serving as missionaries in her home country of Zimbabwe and raising two children, Glenn and Valerie moved to Texas. She worked in the public school system for many years, focusing on students with special needs. Now retired in Washington, Valerie spends her time writing, and spoiling her grandchildren.

 Novels include: Deceive Me Once; Colors of Deceit; The Stolen Lives Trilogy, Weep in the Night; Day of Reckoning; and Justice at Dawn, to be released July, 2021. Valerie’s latest novel Forever Under Blue Skies, is now available from Amazon.

 Valerie loves to hear from her readers.

 Check Valerie’s website to learn more about her books: www.valeriegoreeauthor.com

 More from Valerie

“Dressed in black, Lela stretched out of the chair like a panther on the hunt.” Would that sentence entice you to know more about Lela?

 It worked for me, and I wrote the sentence!

Here’s how it all came about. When I outlined the plots for my Stolen Lives Trilogy, I knew that an International Retrieval Organization (IRO) agent mentioned in Book One would became the star in Book Two, and an agent highlighted in Book Two would take the lead in Book Three.

 I first ‘met’ Lela Ortiz two-thirds of the way into writing Weep in the Night, Book One in the trilogy. She was a minor character, a proficient agent, but serious and quiet. Up until that point, I still hadn’t decided which agent would go on to fame in the next book. However, when I wrote the sentence already quoted, I knew Lela was my gal.

 Ooh. I fell in love with that description of her and had to delve into her backstory. Why was she so serious? What happened in her past to make her such a good agent? At first, I decided she was an orphan, but she ‘informed’ me she had a loving family. Scratch that idea. If her troubles didn’t stem from her immediate family, where did they originate?

 Quite often a character will ‘give’ me details during a conversation with another member of the cast. My plan might be for the plot to veer left, then lo and behold, the character will say something that takes the story in a completely different direction. This may sound strange to some readers, but believe me, many authors will agree that if your character isn’t ‘talking’ to you, maybe it’s because you’re taking them in the wrong direction. Lela certainly did that with me. And I think her story is so much richer and deeper than the one I’d originally planned.

 After you read about her life before becoming an agent, you’ll understand her desire to help people, and why her boss holds her in high regard.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Valerie is giving away the grand prize package of a copy of the book, wall plaque saying ‘Wait on the Lord’, a writing journal, and Aromatherapy Lavender Foam Bath crystals!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

Click HERE