Welcome

“I will bow down toward your holy temple and will praise your name for your love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word.”- Psalm 138:2

Sunday, June 26, 2022

Legacy of Love ~ Renae Brumbaugh Green

This is book 2 of the Stratton Legacy series, Historical Christian Romance read.    This the story of Skye Stratton a teacher for the local school.  She struggles with her heritage of being considered a half breed.  When half of the students she is teaching protest and don't show up for class, she must stand strong in her faith.  Alan moves back to his hometown to be an Indian Agent.  When they both meet, Alan becomes smitten to Skye.  Will they become more than friends? Does Alan know more about Skye's teaching job then he tells her?  What does the future hold?

If you like a story that takes you back in time, when life seemed a little simpler and content, this book will show you a different way to see how life was at this time period.  It is book 2 of the series, however, can be read as a stand alone. 

 Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.


About the Book

Book: Legacy of Love

Author: Renae Brumbaugh Green

Genre: Historical Romance

Release date: June 14, 2022

She’s struggled her entire life to overcome her parentage.

Skye Stratton is nearly perfect. Or at least, she tries to be. She carries the Stratton name, but everyone knows her true half-breed heritage. When she completes her education and is hired as a teacher at the local school, she hopes to finally find acceptance in the town. But when most of her class elects to stay home rather than be taught by an Indian, she knows things will never change.

Alan McNaughten went to Washington, D.C. to make a difference. Instead, he finds himself entrenched in political lies, manipulation, and deceit. When he finds a way to return home to Texas as an Indian Agent, he leaps at the chance. Even if he must hurt an innocent woman to secure his position.

But when the lovely Miss Stratton agrees to teach for the Alabama-Coushatta Reservation, Alan knows he’s gone too far. He’ll do anything to protect her from further heartache and harm. But what will happen when she learns the truth about her position…and the truth about him?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Renae Brumbaugh Green is an ECPA Bestselling Author, award-winning humor columnist, and wannabe superhero. She lives in Texas with her handsome, country-boy husband, four nearly-perfect children and one nearly-perfect son-in-law, and far too many animals. When she’s not writing, Renae teaches online classes and tries to be rugged without chipping her nail polish.

 More from Renae

Enough

All my life, since I can remember, I’ve been told I’m part Native American. My great-great grandmother on my mother’s side, they said, was full-blooded Comanche. So even though I am blonde and fair (I have glow-in-the-dark skin) I believed them. I told people, and laughed at their sideways looks. I was proud of my heritage.

Then I took one of those Ancestry DNA tests. Nope. Not one drop of Native American in me. According to the test, I’m English, Scottish, Irish, and Swedish. And yes, I am the biological child of my father (very blonde and fair) and my mother (brunette, with high cheekbones). So I guess it’s just the way the genetic dominoes fell. When I got my mom’s half, I apparently didn’t get the Native American part.

I’m not sure how the science of DNA works, but I will tell you I feel extremely connected to Skye, the heroine of Legacy of Love. She’s a perfectionist. I’m a perfectionist. She thinks she has to perform to be accepted. I do, too. Though she’s always been loved, she struggles to fit in, to feel like she’s really a part of things. Ditto.

Skye’s journey is both difficult and beautiful. It helps that there’s a dreamy beaux (or three!) along the way. But in all the hardship and heartache, she finds herself. And she finds that she’s enough, exactly as she is. Most importantly, she finds a relationship with the One who created her and loved her before time began.

I hope you enjoy Skye’s journey in book two of The Stratton Legacy series. If you haven’t read book one, I encourage you to do so—you’ll meet Skye as a child. More than anything, I hope you’ll glean some beautiful truths along the way.

You are precious.

You are loved.

You are enough.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Renae is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Saturday, June 25, 2022

The Fragrance of Violets ~ Susan K. Beatty

 This is book 2 of the Faces of Courage series, Women's Christian Fiction.  Fiona was abandoned as a child and has had to deal with it all her life.  When her career of managing weddings, brings this man back into her life, she feel the pain all over again.  Nason, the dad that left, realizes that Fiona is not forgiving him for leaving and doesn't understand why.  Can they deal with the past?  Will Fiona be able to get her job done?  Does Nason understand forgiveness?  Will Fiona be able to forgive?

I would recommend this book to anyone that has had to deal with forgiving someone in there life, no matter how hard it is.  It is a story that could really happen in someone's life and forgiving is a big thing.  this is book 2 of the series, however, can be read as a stand alone. 

 Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.


About the Book

Book: The Fragrance of Violets

Author: Susan K. Beatty

Genre: Christian Women’s Fiction

Release date: May 17, 2022

Life crushes us with its weight sometimes.

Fiona’s father abandoned her when she was twelve. So when she learns that he’s the groom’s father in the wedding she’s been assigned to manage, all the old hurts resurface. Maybe if he’d just explain himself and ask forgiveness, she’d get over the pain he left her with—pain she obviously hadn’t left behind after all.

When Nason discovered he wasn’t Fiona’s biological father, and when her mother tried to sabotage his marriage, he felt like he had no other option but to leave and never look back. Running into her again—awkward to say the least. And he can’t understand why she feels betrayed—why she expects him to seek forgiveness.

As if life weren’t complicated enough, Fiona meets Trevor, which sparks a possible romance. New faith, an overdose, and revelations combine with Trevor’s discipleship and shows her how forgiveness really works.

What will it take for Nason to swallow his pride and see how his actions hurt an innocent child?

The Fragrance of Violets—as Mark Twain once said, “Forgiveness is the fragrance that the violet sheds on the heel that has crushed it.”

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Who says you can’t begin a new career after middle age? Certainly not Susan K. Beatty. She is passionate about writing about finding courage through faith and grit, particularly through the trials of breast cancer and other life trials. Her daughter is a metastatic breast cancer “thriver” and has been an inspiration for her writing. Susan’s first novel, Faces of Courage, debuted May 2021, as part of the Faces of Courage series, including several novelettes. She is also the author of An Introduction to Home Education (AKA California Homeschool Manual). Susan is a professional writer/journalist and is active in the writer community. She is proof you can begin a fiction writing career at any age.

 More from Susan

The Fragrance of Violets’ story has yearned to be told for many years nowbefore I created my tagline, Courage: The Intersection of faith and grit. But it fits perfectly. A similar situation existed a long time ago in the life of an acquaintance. I thought all parties handled it badly, and I longed to make it right. Of course, being an outsider, the only way I could make it right was by creating a novel.

Fiona and Nason, the main characters, are total figments of my imagination, and the details of the story are substantially different. But the core, abandonment, the need to ask for and grant forgiveness, and the courage to meet them, is real and universal.

I desired to show that even when we think we’ve done nothing wrong, we need to seek the Lord and ask Him to reveal where we need to own up to our mistakes and seek forgiveness. Also, I wanted to show that although it is difficult to forgive when we’ve been horribly wronged (and how horrible to have the person you thought of as your father abandon you and with no apparent explanation or remorse), it’s possible with courage. The courage that comes from faith and action.

My prayer is that Fiona and Nason (despite his past) will inspire readers to find their own courage through whatever situations in which they find themselves.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Susan is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Friday, June 24, 2022

Undercover Assignment ~ Dana Mentink

 This is book 4 of the Rocky Mountain K-9 Unit series, part of the Love Inspired Suspense Romance books.  Zara will stop at nothing to keep children safe.  Zara is a k-9 and that is his job, to protect children from harm.  When Daniella and Zara are put on the case to protect him, they both go undercover as nanny and dog.  When Sam turns to this duo to help protect his son, can he trust them?   Will the suspect be one of the people at the Inn, Sam is at? How can they solve the case and provide the child undercover security in the end? 

I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a fast pace, mystery read.  I love this author and her books alway provide page turning, twist, turns and non stop reading until the very last page.  I always start reading whenever Dana has a new book, I can't wait, then I am sad when they end... ... Another great book from Dana.  (It is always hard to do a long detailed review on Dana's books without spoiling the plot for others)

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Undercover Assignment

Author: Dana Mentink

Genre: Suspense

Release date: June 28, 2022

This K-9 will stop at nothing to keep a child safe.

When a little boy is threatened, Officer Daniella Vargas and K-9 partner, Zara, are assigned to pose as his nanny to uncover the culprit’s identity. Suspecting one of the guests in his inn, widower Sam Kavanaugh’s only option is to begrudgingly trust Daniella and Zara to help. But can they solve the case and its mysterious connection to Sam’s late wife before it’s too late?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Dana Mentink is a USA TODAY and Publisher’s Weekly bestselling author. She’s written more than forty mystery and suspense novels for Love Inspired Suspense, Harvest House, and Poisoned Pen Press. She is honored to have received two ACFW Carol Awards, a Holt Medallion Award, and a Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice Award. Please visit her on the web at www.danamentink.com to sign up for her newsletter, or find her on Twitter, Facebook and Bookbub.

 More from Dana

What a joy to participate in a series with seven other talented authors! A continuity series is a set of books, each written by a different author, and each with its own suspense plot along with an overarching series plot and characters. It’s a very complicated project to complete, but the fantastic part is chatting, collaborating, and sometimes commiserating with other writers. What a rare treat, since most of our work is done alone in dark rooms with computer screens and bottomless cups of coffee! This series was especially fun to write because of the whole wilderness lodge setting which is my favorite type of story. Picture it! Ancient cliff dwellings, a freak electrical storm, twenty-four hours with no power and a killer on the loose! That’s my kind of suspense novel. I hope you will enjoy this multi author series as much as we enjoyed creating it!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Dana is giving away the grand prize package of a $75 Amazon gift card and a signed book!!

(If the winner is outside the U.S., then he or she will receive an eBook.)

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Thursday, June 23, 2022

Much Ado About Persuasion ~ Barbara Cornthwaite

 This is a  Christian Historical Read that is a mix of Jane Austen's Persuasion and Shakespeare's A Much Ado about Nothing stories.   The author has taken both of these books and mix mashed them together to make one story.   Navy officers are invited to visit the estate of Sir Walter Elliot.  The two daughter that are  unwed and looking for husbands, soon feel hopeful they will find their husbands.  When some of the cousins step in, the jealousy begins.  Will the girls find mates?  Are the gentlemen found attracted to any of the women?  Will their be turmoil?  

I would recommend this book to any Jane Austen fans... the author did a good job of combining the two book and authors together.   The story is good, however, I wish the cover was a little more inviting.  (but I understand that the author was trying to make it look like covers from both authors)

 Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Much Ado About Persuasion

Author: Barbara Cornthwaite

Genre: Historical/Jane Austen Retelling

Release date: May 3, 2022

Some duel with swords, others with ships. In love, however, they duel with hearts.

When Sir Walter Elliot, secret admirer of the Navy, invites officers to visit his estate, what could be more natural than for his two daughters to find themselves in love?

Elizabeth Elliot’s legendary, bitter pride clashes with Admiral Baldwin’s stubborn conceit until any hope of a match seems impossible. They say love conquers all, but does it?

All looks hopeful for Anne Elliot and the dashing Captain Wentworth, but when a cousin steps in and sets evil plans into motion, is their love enough to withstand the storm, or is it best to let the captain sail that ship… alone?

Shakespeare’s Much Ado about Nothing meets Jane Austen’s Persuasion in this story about trust, disappointment, and disguises.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Barbara Cornthwaite lives in the middle of Ireland with her husband and children. She taught college English before “retiring” to do something she loves far more; her days are now filled with homeschooling, trying to keep the house tidy (a losing battle), and trying to stay warm in the damp Irish climate (also a losing battle). She is surrounded by medieval castles, picturesque flocks of sheep, and ancient stone monuments. These things are unappreciated by her six children, who are more impressed by traffic jams, skyscrapers, and hot weather.

 More from Barbara

I discovered Jane Austen in college when I was required to read Pride and Prejudice. This was in the dark ages before the famous adaptations, and I knew nothing about the storyline. In fact, I expected it to be depressing, probably because the title sounded similar to War and Peace. It was a delightful surprise to be charmed by the novel, and I went on to read all Austen’s other books on my own. Each of them have a special place in my heart. I love Emma so much that I wrote a two-book parallel novel for it (the George Knightley, Esquire series). I also have novellas based on Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park and Emma in the A Very Austen anthologies. This book, however, is the first thing I’ve written based on Persuasion.

Shakespeare I met in high school, and furthered my acquaintance with him in college. Much Ado About Nothing is, I think, my favorite of his plays (although there are several close contenders for the top spot). His grasp of character is unmatched, and his language, even after five hundred years, is striking.

Mixing the stories of these two authors has been great fun, and redeeming a couple of characters who didn’t learn anything from their mistakes in the original stories gives my version a spiritual twist. I hope you enjoy it!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Barbara is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Wednesday, June 22, 2022

Midnights Budding Morrow ~ Carolyn Miller

This is a Historical Christian read book.  When Sarah goes to Northumberland, to visit her friend for the holiday.  Never did she expect to end up married.  When her husband is sent off to war and returns, she finds that he is a changed man.   She is dealing with his changes along with helping him keep the his heir to the family standards.  Can she trust her husband when he returns from the war? When tragedy strikes, will the marriage survive?  Will Sarah ever be happy again?

If you like to go back into time and read about keeping family values, you will enjoy this read.  It is a book that makes you feel for Sarah and makes you think back when mail order brides were common.  It was a story that has some twist and turns and kept you turning the pages. 

 Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Audra Jennings.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

Tuesday, June 21, 2022

Flame of the Rockies ~ Angela Breidenbach

This is book 6 of the Queen of the Rockies series, Inspirational, Historical, Christian read.   Juliana is stuck in a railroad camp, cooking for survivors.  She is trying to avoid dealing with the pain of losing her husband.   She keeps busy daily to forget the pain, however, when Lukas appears, life just might change for her.  Lukas is a railroad ruffian and vows to keep her safe, she can't refuse the help, at least until she can get out of there.  Lukas has a secret, can he keep it quiet or will it ruin his chance with Julianna?  Will Julianna be able to move on in life?  Will the two find they are attracted?  Will they both use their faith to find happiness?

I would recommend this book to anyone that wants to read a light fun romance.  It is book 6 of the series, however, each book in the series can be read as a stand alone.  Every book in this series is a good read, so if you haven't read others, you should, they can be read out of order. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Flame of the Rockies

Author: Angela Breidenbach

Genre: Historical Fiction

Release date: February 1, 2022

The fiery pain at her new husband’s murder might equal the disaster blazing across the Pacific Northwest. Stranded in the treacherous railroad camp, baking bread for survival to avoid the life of a bordello canary, Juliana Hayes has no desire to marry a railroad ruffian like Lukas Filips, or anyone else. Her scrimping and saving will pay off soon. She’ll be free of the camps, the rails, and the men who destroyed her life. But she can’t earn her living constantly besieged by desperate bachelors where few women cause chaos in the male ranks.

Juliana reluctantly accepts his protection, but when Lukas reveals the secret of his Montenegrin nobility, the old fears flare as hot as the fire storm eating up the forest at their heels. Can she release her prejudice to love again? Or will either one of them survive The Big Blowup to find out?

Flame of the Rockies, Book 6 in the Queen of the Rockies series, is based on true history when three million acres burned out of control on the border of Montana and Idaho darkening the skies all the way to the East Coast during August of 1910. It’s a wonder anyone survived! Read this heart-pounding romance full of adventure, honoring true history and the heroes that made it. Be sure to follow this 6-book historical romance adventure series, Queen of the Rockies, set in the Gilded Age through the turn-of-the-century. Written by bestselling author and professional genealogist, Angela Breidenbach.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Angela Breidenbach is a professional genealogist, the director and president of The National Institute for Genealogical Studies (GenealogicalStudies.com), conference speaker, bestselling author of eighteen books. Angela lives in Montana with her hubby and Muse, a trained fe-lion, who shakes hands, rolls over, and jumps through a hoop. Surprisingly, Angela can also. Catch her show and podcast, Genealogy Publishing Coach!

https://AngelaBreidenbach.com

 More from Angela

Research is both a joy and a nemesis for an author and/or genealogist. We’re easily distracted with one more fascinating discovery! The entire series, Queen of the Rockies, came from research rabbit trails when I thought there’d be one book. Now there are six ending with Flame of the Rockies!

 Flame of the Rockies happens on the factual Trail of the Hiawatha. At first, this trail was a mining area deep in the mountains on the Idaho-Montana border. So deep that fourteen feet of snow blocking the railroad was common during the winter. Quite the contrast to the hot, dry summers with countless lightning strikes and regular forest fires.

 After the Big BlowUp that occurred in August of 1910 burning over 3,000,000 acres, the area gradually became a gorgeous upscale train ride through the mountains. People rode the Hiawatha for leisure, upscale dining, and tourism. Then rails died out. The Trail of the Hiawatha rose from the ashes of forgotten history to become the incredible 16.5 mile bike path it is today. The trail winds down the valley from on top of the Continental Divide with incredible views for miles as you ride and experience the awe of God’s creative grandeur.

 Understanding the history and evolution of this special trail isn’t hard. So much work in historical preservation has been done, and continues to be done, for those who come. Be sure to read the travel article in the back of this book so you can be one of those holding your breath as mountain after mountain after mountain roll outward from the trestles. You’ll see mountain tops go on for miles and miles. Those vistas truly feel as if you’re standing on the clouds with the Heavenly Hosts. Then you’ll understand why Montana is called the Big Sky Country!

 I hope you enjoy Flame of the Rockies and meeting many of the real people who lived and worked in those extreme conditions. Yes, a few of the characters are fictitious. But remember you’re also going to meet a true hero whose heroism and name still rings through the Hiawatha and the world today!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Angela is giving away the prize a free genealogy course to three winners!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Fatal Code ~ Natalie Waters

This is book 2 of the Snap Agency series, a Christian Mystery Suspense read.   Kekoa Young, a SNAP Agency agent, is assigned to protect Elinor Mitchell.  Elinor, has information on a nuclear energy project formed in 1964 and never finished the job.  She is being targeted by someone or a group and must be protected.  She has the information that her grandfather left for the project and is determined to keep the all the information and secure.  Kekoa is happy to do the job to protect her, however, he has more feelings for her than just a an assignment.  Will Elinor be able to keep the information safe?  Does she and Kekoa find a common ground and more?  

I would recommend this to anyone that wants to read a page turner, with a few twists.  It is book 2 in the series, however can be read as a stand alone.  I did read book 1 and was happy to read book 2, they are both good books of the series.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.