Welcome

“I will bow down toward your holy temple and will praise your name for your love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word.”- Psalm 138:2

Thursday, January 20, 2022

Both Sides of the Border ~ Terry Overton

 

This is a Christian Fiction book about keeping faith no matter what the situation is.  When Dolores and her 2 brothers, head to America from Honduras due to their family needing to get a better life and survival.  Then we meet Eva, she needs a change in life and decides to go to Mexico, study up on her Spanish, start a new job and get out of a bad relationship. Will this be a good change for her? How does Dolores come into her life?  Can both women keep their faith and survive?

If you like a read about real life situations, this book will not let you down.  It is a book that will tug at your heartstrings and keep you cheering for the women.  It has drama, suspense, love, family and most of all faith.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Both Sides of the Border

Author: Terry Overton

Genre: Christian Fiction

Release date: March 30, 2021

Inspired by True Current Events.

Dolores, Ernesto, and Emilio Sanchez are on a quest to America to find work and to save their family, who has been devastated by their father’s accident and the drought in their home country of Honduras. But making their way to America would be too expensive for a family stricken by poverty. With only their faith in God to see them through, the teenaged siblings set off for their new home, despite the threat from the cartel, corrupt police officers, starvation, and death.

Meanwhile, Eva Jordan is determined to start a new life on the American side of the Mexican border, hoping to shake off the scars from a horrible marriage. Despite her mother’s concern for her daughter living so close to the border, Eva decides to take a vacation to the other side to sharpen up her Spanish and relax before her new job begins. She is struck by the beautiful towns of Mexico, but slowly, her eyes are opened to the dangers that are knocking at her front door.

When a hurricane washes away the border walls, will the two sides collide in hatred or unite in perfect harmony?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Terry Overton is a retired university professor of educational and school psychology. She has an Ed.D. in Special Education and a Ph.D. in Psychology. Her professional experience includes teaching public school, teaching at the university level, and being a college dean. She has two children and six grandchildren. Her writing and publication experiences include textbook and journal articles in the fields of special education and school psychology. She seeks to answer God’s call to share the good news and grow the church by writing Christian books and devotionals. She recently penned her first poetry book in honor of servicemen and women. Her book “Both Sides of the Border” is a Firebird Book Award winner in the categories of Cross-Genre, Socio-Political Fiction, and Women’s Fiction. She and her husband live in the southern tip of Texas where they enjoy semi-tropical weather and spending time with their friends and family.

 More from Terry

As a Christian author, my goals in writing “Both Sides of the Border,” were to have the reader question their own understanding of the people and events of U.S.-Mexico border, analyze these world events through a Christian worldview, and enjoy the plot’s twists and turns. During their travels, the main characters of the story display different levels of their own faith. In the end, both women have increased their faith and understanding of God.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Terry is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon gift card & copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Wednesday, January 19, 2022

God the Father, Jesus the Big Brother, Holy Spirit the Best Friend ~ Sunshine Rodgers

This is a Christian book that deals with the Trinity; the Father, the Big Brother and the Holy Spirit. This book deals with a subject that many people have problems understanding ( I believe the Trinity is the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit), so the title of the book was hard for me pick up.  As I started to read, I realized that it is exactly as I believe, only with a twist to help you understand.  Sunshine uses real people and their stories to explain the Trinity in easy reading ways.  She backs up the real life stories with scripture.  This book is very easy to read and explains this subject very well for anyone to understand.  It can be read by any age. (that is how well it is written.) I love how the scripture provides truth to what the author is teaching in this book.  It is a great book for anyone trying, searching or wants knowledge of the Trinity.  I enjoyed reading this, the trinity is hard to understand and this book makes it easier to understand.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: God the Father, Jesus the Big Brother, Holy Spirit the Best Friend

Author: Sunshine Rodgers

Genre: Christian Nonfiction

Release date: February 25, 2015

Ever confused about the Trinity? Are there three Gods or One? And how is the Trinity important to my life? Take a deep look inside this book for the answers. There is so much more to your life when you allow God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit to be inseparable parts of your existence. With your Heavenly Father, Big Brother and Best Friend by your side, you can reach the impossible and do the unthinkable. Learn about Heaven’s family and the Divine resources offered to you to succeed in life. Learn from the real testimonies from people who have been touched by this glorious revelation. Take one step closer to the three greatest loves of your life and have an experience of your own with this great Fellowship.

 Click here to get your copy!

About the Author 

Sunshine Rodgers is an International Best-Selling Author on Amazon and she has attended 31 book signings and 4 Book Tours. Her books have landed on 21 different Amazon Best Seller lists in the United States, United Kingdom and Canada including #1 in the U.K. for Bible Study and #2 in the U.S. for Bible Commentaries. She has been promoted in various newspapers, newsletters and magazines and she has been a guest on podcasts and radio. Check out all 10 of Sunshine’s books and feel the love and passion for life on her pages! Sunshine is married to her best friend, Travis and they live in sunny Florida. SunshineRodgers.com

 Excerpt from the Book

I pray Colossians 1:9-11 over you as the reader. I pray that you will not cease to make your requests known to God, and that you may be filled with the deep and clear knowledge of God’s will operating in spiritual wisdom. I pray that you will have comprehensive insight into the ways and purposes of God, and that you will be able to understand and discern spiritual things during the day and during your life (vs. 9). I pray that you will live and conduct yourself in a way that pleases the Lord, and that you will desire to make Him smile in everything that you do. I pray that you will bear much fruit walking with God and continue to do good works as well as growing and increasing in your knowledge (vs. 10). I pray that you will be invigorated and strengthened with His power to bring out His glory in your life. I pray that when life gets too tough, you will always choose to get closer to God, and exercise endurance and patience with joy. Know that throughout it all, you are surrounded by your Father, your Big Brother and your Best Friend every step of
the way. excerpt from page 202-203 (Book: God the Father, Jesus the Big Brother, Holy Spirit the Best Friend)

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Sunshine is giving away the grand prize of a $40 Visa card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Monday, January 17, 2022

Crown of the Warrior King ~ Henry O. Arnold

This is book two of The Song of Prophets and Kings series, a Christian Historical read. Read about Saul and how he was anointed as King by the prophet Samuel.  Saul has taken on the job of leader and protecting the people of Israel from evil.  When the people of Israel start worshiping him instead of God, Saul's pride takes over and he could find consequences that are deadly.  Can Israel survive evil?  Is Saul worshipping the wrong ones?  Is he saying the course of his faith?

If you read book one of the series, this one will not let you down.  If you didn't read it, that is ok, because this can be read as a stand alone.  It has drama, suspense, and is biblical fiction.  If you like fictional bible reads and book of faith then you will enjoy this one.  Please note, this book does not take the place of the bible and this story is one that you should read and then compare it to reading about Saul in the bible. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Crown of the Warrior King

Author: Henry O. Arnold

Genre: Biblical Fiction

Release date: December 1, 2021

The desire of Israel…

the first to wear the crown is the warrior king

For decades the nation of Israel had no rest from her enemies. The people cried out, “Give us a king to lead us, to go out before us, to fight our battles.” And Yahweh hears the cries of the chosen. He plucks a king out of the tribe of Benjamin, the smallest of the tribes—Saul, son of a herdsman. The prophet Samuel anoints him as Israel’s first warrior king.

Under the banner of the wolf, the symbol of his tribe, Saul rises to prominence, winning the hearts and minds of the people of Israel with his success on the battlefield and benevolent leadership.

But when the nation of Israel cries out, “For the love of Israel. For the glory of Yahweh. For the honor of the king,” the praises of the people turn the humble heart of the warrior king into one filled with pride—a pride that has fatal consequences.

In this tale of triumph and tribulation, deepest love and burning rivalries, the new epoch is given a voice…and it is a Song of Prophets and Kings.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Henry O. Arnold has co-authored a work of fiction, Hometown Favorite, with Bill Barton, and nonfiction, KABUL24, with Ben Pearson. He also co-wrote and produced with Steve Taylor (director) and Ben Pearson the film The Second Chance starring Michael W. Smith, the screenplay for the authorized film documentary on evangelist Billy Graham, God’s Ambassador, and the documentary film KABUL24, based on the book which is the story of western and Afghani hostages held captive by the Taliban for 105 days. He lives on a farm in Tennessee with his lovely wife Kay. They have two beautiful daughters married to two handsome men with three above-average grandchildren. For more information please visit: www.henryoarnold.com

 More from Henry

After the golden age of theatre in the Greek and Roman times, the theatre went dark, very dark as in Dark Ages, and for centuries it was thus. But it was the church that brought the theatre back to life by staging passion plays on biblical subjects. Since most people could not read at the time, it was a great way to tell the folks some Bible stories. The world has certainly improved its literacy skills since then. The delight I have in reading and writing stories from the Bible or on biblical themes has been with me for a long time.

When I formulated the concept of retelling the stories of the first three kings of Israel and matching them with the leading prophets of that age, the title of the series, The Song of Prophets and Kings, was a perfect match for the biblical/historical fiction genre. The first volume in this series, A Voice Within the Flame, was released last year and features the life of the prophet Samuel up to and including the anointing and coronation of Saul as the first king of Israel. Now it is time for the second volume, Crown of the Warrior King. This second novel picks up where the last one left off.

Whether the reader or listener is familiar with the biblical stories or not, I have written these novels in such a way that makes these ancient stories come to life in the modern world. When the reader/listener dives into stories that are 3,000 years old, it will be surprising how we all can see ourselves in these characters.

These are biblical stories that I grew up with and have read and studied all my life. It is a joy to get to share them with you in this series, The Song of Prophets and Kings.

Giveaway

To celebrate his tour, Henry is giving away the grand prize package of a signed copy of the book and a $50 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Sunday, January 16, 2022

Now that I know you ~ Olivia Newport

 

This is book 5 of the Tree of Life series, a Christian Historical Fiction read.  In this book Jillian a genealogist, looks up her distant cousin from the family tree, Cate.  Jillian wanted to have the family she never knew and contacts Cate, only to find that Cate turns into the person she didn't think she was.   When Cate gets into trouble and needs help, Jillian asks her dad Nolan to help.  Jillian is stumped when she is unable to find information about Cate and the past, how will she handle it?  Does the past have any consequences that effect Jillian and her family?  How will this end?

If you like a book with twist and turns until the last pages, this is the book for you.  This is book 5 but can be read as a stand alone, if you have read any of the other books in the series you will be reading about a few of the characters you met previously.  This series is great!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

 Book: Now That I Know You

Author: Olivia Newport

Genre: Split-Time Contemporary/Historical

Release date: Fall, 2021

Cate Butler is the distant cousin genealogist Jillian was so certain she wanted to find—and the only connection she has to her deceased mother’s Parisi family tree. So why does she wish Cate would stop pestering her? And why can’t Jillian find a paper trail proving Cate is who she says she is?

Cate wants something for her own career that Jillian can’t give, but she also holds the key to family history Jillian can’t bring herself to walk away from. Nolan, Jillian’s father, steps in when Cate’s chronic career chaos requires legal rescue. Drew, the man who holds Jillian’s heart, has a surprising past with Cate. The truths Jillian, Cate, and Drew find while untangling these knotted threads tie them back together in remarkable ways none of them ever would have imagined.

Now That I Know You is Book 5 in the Tree of Life series, exploring and celebrating unforgettable family stories in Canyon Mines, the mountain town that invites you back again and again.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Olivia Newport’s novels blend the truth of how our pasts carry us into where we find ourselves now. Curiosity about history seems to creep into everything she does. Her books include Amish, historical, and contemporary stories that span the centuries from before the Revolutionary War right up to the present moment.

She chases joy in stunning Colorado at the foot of Pikes Peak. Visit www.olivianewport.com.

 More from Olivia

I’ve wanted to write Now That I Know You for nearly 20 years—at least the historical story part of this split-time novel.

 When my son was a freshman in high school, he joined the mock trial team, and my husband and I entered the league of parents who watched versions of the same competition over and over. The state bar association selects a case and provides every team with the same documents to study as the basis of preparing both prosecution and defense. Team members play roles of attorneys and witnesses.

 That first year, the case was trying a particular individual in connection with his role in events that culminated in the 1914 “Ludlow Massacre,” which is featured in Now That I Know You. My son played a witness for the prosecution. My proudest moment was when one of the scoring judges—who are actual court judges—singled him out for his skill in recognizing and dodging the opposing counsel’s interrogation strategy. Somebody hold me in my chair, because you really are not supposed to jump and cheer at mock trial!

 Since I heard the case several times, the history wormed its way into my heart and mind. The injustice and tragedy of the story weighed heavy, but so did the legacy of the events and their eventual impact on history that affects us even today. People often ask where book ideas come from. Sometimes they germinate inside me for a long time before the moment is ripe to put them on the page in the lives of characters who have grown around them. This is one of those stories.

 —Olivia Newport

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Olivia is giving away the grand prize package of a signed set of all 5 books in the Tree of Life series!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Saturday, January 15, 2022

Marriage Conversations ~ Cathy Krafve

 

This book is a self help Christian book about Marriage.   Marriage is complicated and not like the fairy tales we all think about marriage or want in a marriage.  Every relationship has it's ups and downs, and each couple must work hard to keep their marriage strong.  Cathy gives real-life stories about her marriage and her parents marriage of troubles, happiness, love and all the hard decisions you have to make in life.  Each chapter is a story about a topic and then at the end she gives questions for you to journal and think about your answers.  Also, after the questions she provides a prayer and God's words.  This is a book all about how God looks at marriage along with proof of verses that say God's word.  This is a good book for couples, engaged couples and defiantly married couples that want to have their relationship stronger.  You can do this alone or as a couple, I suggest doing as a couple to really get the effect of the book.  Great gift book to give for any couple you know. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Marriage Conversations

Author: Cathy Krafve

Genre: Nonfiction

Release date: February 7, 2021

Are you cherishing a marriage that’s off the charts? Or co-existing in a fragile one?

What we all really want is intimacy and tingling excitement. Is true love just a fairy tale? Or can life-long companionship be a reality? You bet it can!   Author Cathy Krafve shares the personal stories and conversations she first created to help inspire success for her own kids’ marriages.

Marriage entails serious communication. So, we turn to the Master Communicator for strategies to soften hearts and strengthen resolve. Cathy will help you…

- Initiate practical, foundational truths.

- Replace magical thinking with rock solid miraculous biblical truths.

- Understand why we get married in the first place.

- Invigorate your closest relationship.

For instance, learn the no-fail trick for changing an argument back into a conversation.

Inspire the delightful results your heart is craving.

Go from blah to breathtaking!

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Queen of Fun and Coffee Cup Philosopher, Cathy Primer Krafve delivers creativity and encouragement on every page.

She understands companionship begins with authentic conversation. With journalistic fervor and a knack for laughter and story-telling, Cathy puts a snappy spin on deeply spiritual truths.

Host of Fireside Talk Radio, her weekly blogs and podcasts reach over 2 million listeners and readers annually. Her audiences learn to leverage compassion and courage in order to engage in two-way conversational adventures.

Join the Fireside Tribe as we create life so beautiful in its imperfection generations after us will be retelling our stories with joy and laughter.

Truth with a Texas twang spoken here!

 More from Cathy

From Blah to Breathtaking!

Why does conversation at home have to be so hard? What makes it hard? How do you keep hanging in there when it’s tough?

 “So, Dave and I slogged ahead. Yuck. Like trudging through a chilly winter night in clumsy snow boots, we were determined to survive,” reports Author Cathy Krafve.

 Then, they began to talk a little more openly to their closest friends. Yep, they were desperate. Interestingly, they discovered marriage conversations were a problem for a bunch of their friends, too.

Lo and behold, communicating turned out to pretty much be a universal challenge!

 “We picked up tons of new communication skills,” she adds, laughing, “Good thing, too, since we really NEEDED new skills!”

 What can we change at home to train ourselves and our kiddos to have terrific conversations? Each chapter of Marriage Conversations offers great ideas you can try out at your house. Here are a few chapters:

  • Negotiating like an Oil Tycoon
  • Creating a Personal Etiquette
  • Only Keeping What We Give Away
  • Asking Power Questions
  • Understanding Fellowship as the Best Foreplay

 Queen of Fun and Coffee Cup Philosopher, Cathy delivers creativity and encouragement on every page of Marriage Conversations: from co-existing to cherished.

 While it’s the perfect book for your book club, Bible Study, or Sunday school class, Cathy has a more, ahem, intimate suggestion. Read it out loud with your spouse.

 “What’s really great is the number of men who tell me they read it with their wife! Passing it back and forth. Wow! That’s genius,” she reports. “Truthfully, though, when guys tell me it’s the funniest book they’ve ever read, I assume it’s the only marriage book they’ve ever read!”

 Each chapter ends with thought-provoking questions, personal applications, and prayer.

 So, how things are with Dave and Cathy now? Fair question.

“We still have arguments occasionally, maybe once a year. In some ways maybe it’s worse because it doesn’t happen very often. I get real panicky, like, Oh no! We’re falling back into our bad habits,” she confesses.

But she adds they now know how to get into a better conversation place quickly. Also, they intentionally cherish each other. So that’s really made a difference.

“But one thing I want people to know; this book is not about how to do it yourself. This book is about how I messed up. And here’s what I learned from my mistakes. If you want some good ideas, here are the things that worked for us,” says Cathy

Tons and tons of good ideas. Anything she could get her hands on.

“Because I was originally writing for my children,” she explains. “So, I didn’t hold anything back. I don’t think anyone will feel preached at. I’m pretty sure reading friends will think, Okay this woman has been in the trenches. She gets it.”

Cathy is known for putting a snappy spin on deeply spiritual truths. She writes with journalistic fervor and a knack for laughter and story-telling.

Host of Fireside Talk Radio, her weekly blogs and podcasts reach over 3 million people annually.  She is also author of The Well: The Art of Drawing Out Authentic Conversations.

 Companionship begins with authentic conversations. How do we go from co-existing to cherished? Cathy understands good communication tools can change everything!  Order two copies today; one for yourself and one to share with a friend!

 Truth with a Texas twang spoken here!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Cathy is giving away the grand prize package of a $100 Amazon gift card and a copy of both The Well and Marriage Conversations!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Friday, January 14, 2022

The Kidron Valley ~ Caryl McAdoo

 

This is book 3 of the Days of Dread Trilogy series, a young readers, sci/fy book.    As the story continues, evil has taken over and Jackson and the all the characters from the previous books are determined to fight for the good.  They must have faith and believe that God's word is all you need to survive and kill off the darkness.  Will Jackson finally come to know God is in control and you must have faith to survive.  Will he finally believe in God?

This is a short read for adults, and heared towards the young readers. If you like to read sci-fy, drama, and about faith then read this book. You should read book one and two before book 3 (as this is the end of trilogy series)  Note: that if you read this as a stand alone you will have a big chance of being confused at certain points of the book.  

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: The Kidron Valley

Author: Caryl McAdoo

Genre: Young Adult and Mid-Grade Readers

Release date: November 11, 2021

For I will gather all nations against Jerusalem to battle.
As evil heightens all over the world, Jackson, his best friend Al, and his girlfriend Aria learn to live in their new world, fighting off those who would kill, steal, and destroy family and neighbors in Red River County. The story is one of survival under the guidance of Uncle Roy and his brother and God’s Words of Knowledge and angel unaware. No one discounts the Great Pyrenees Boggs’ part either. Though Jackson still holds fast to his agnostic beliefs, God keeps making it harder for him to deny His existence and the sacrifice of His Son. Will he finally believe?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Award-winning author Caryl McAdoo prays her story brings God glory, and her best-selling stories—over sixty published—delight Christian readers around the world. The prolific writer also enjoys singing the new songs the Lord gives her; you may listen at YouTube. Sharing four children and nineteen grandsugars (three greats), Caryl and Ron, her high-school-sweetheart-husband of fifty-three years, live in the woods south of Clarksville, seat of Red River County in far Northeast Texas. The McAdoos wait expectantly for God to open the next door.

 More from Caryl

Back in the day (2012), after my agent Mary Sue McAdoo Seymour had my first historical romance VOW UNBROKEN under contract with Simon and Schuster, but before its publication, she received a request for a mid-grade dystopian and asked if we—my husband and cowriter—wanted to write one.

 We kicked it around and came up with an idea for THE KING’S HIGHWAY. Her client rejected the idea of an end times story for so young an age, but the ZonderKidz editor I pitched to at ACFW loved it! She updated me later it was going to committee.

 Next thing I knew, doctors diagnosed her with a terrible disease, and she left the company before it was approved. Time marched on until I decided to publish it myself after we went Indie in 2015. By then it would be the Days of Dread Trilogy: THE KING’S HIGHWAY, THE SIXTH TRUMPET, and THE KIDRON VALLEY!

Those who read book one loved it! New to Indie publishing, I bit off almost more than I could chew that first year—eleven new titles! Between getting all those to market and writing sequels to my historical romance family saga, I never got around to write books two and three!

 Fast forward to 2021. It appears the dominoes are falling; signs of the Apocalypse are coming more frequently, so we decided to get to THE SIXTH TRUMPET which debuted in June, followed with the release of THE KIDRON VALLEY in November!

 I never planned to include all the Bible’s graphic descriptions of the Battle of Armageddon—it is mentioned, but I downplayed but it. While some soft-pedal the tribulation, I believe many of His children will live through it. I hope to bolster my young readers’ faith to be able to trust God for their protection and provision.

 In the Days of Dread stories, I used dreams and visions to put my hero and some of his friends in that final battle without predicting any specific time—only Father knows the day and the hour! I believe, as Jackson discovers, there will be places of refuge where those who follow God ban together for mutual protection and benefit.

it’s so pleased me that many grandparents love these books as well. One read it twice, back-to-back because she loved it so much and didn’t want it to end! Though rampant evil throws the world into chaos, I believe His Chosen will walk in power and peace, spreading His Good News to the lost until the end!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Caryl is giving away the grand prize of a $25 Amazon gift card!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

CLICK HERE

Thursday, January 13, 2022

Broken Together ~ Brenda S. Anderson & Sarah S Anderson

 

This book is part of The Mosaic Collection, a Women's Christian Contemporary read.  Jennifer and Chad had it all, marriage, dreams, hopes, and a goal of opening a coffee shop.  Then one day, everything changes when Chad is convicted of a crime he didn't do and put in jail.  Jennifer fights for Chad to be free, however, after years she has to make the tough decision to move on.  She decides to go ahead with the coffee shop for both of them.  Then things change again, Chad may get released due to a new lawyer that might prove his innocents.  Will Chad get out of prison?  How does this effect Jennifer?  Will they both be able to move forward with all they have been through?  Will they pick up where things were left off?

Want to read a heartfelt book about forgiveness, family and love?  This book has it all..... it will pull at your feelings and makes you think about how you would feel.  It will keep you thinking days after you read it and one of those books you will want to read again.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book: Broken Together
Authors: Brenda S. Anderson & Sarah S Anderson
Genre: Christian Women’s Fiction
Release date: December 1, 2021

How do you persevere when you have no more will to fight?

Jennifer and Chad Taylor had dreamed of opening a coffee and cocoa shop since before they said, “I do.” When Chad is sent to prison for murder despite claiming innocence, that dream—along with their family—is shattered.

After years of fighting for Chad’s release, Jennifer finally breaks free from her shame, anger, and hopelessness, and forges ahead with the dream the two of them once shared. With the help of their college-aged twins, she begins to move forward.

Without Chad.

When their lawyer arrives with news of evidence that may prove Chad’s innocence, a strange mixture of emotions overtakes her. Does she want Chad to return home? He isn’t the same man he once was, and she certainly isn’t the same woman. She’s worked hard to piece the remnants of their family back together, and his coming home could fracture the family once again.

It all comes down to one question. She loves her husband enough to fight for his release from prison, but does she love him enough to fight for their marriage?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Authors

Brenda S. Anderson writes authentic, gritty, life-affirming fiction that shows God at work in people’s messy lives. She enjoys live music and theater, walking the shores of Lake Superior, and sharing hot cocoa with friends and family. She lives near Minneapolis with her newly retired husband. Together, they plan to travel across the United States, checking items off their bucket list, beginning with a bus trip to Niagara Falls.

Readers can learn more about Brenda S. Anderson at www.brendaandersonbooks.com

A former barista, Sarah S. Anderson loves all things coffee, so when her mother asked her to help with a book set in a coffee shop, the answer was an enthusiastic “Yes!” When not creating imaginary coffee shops, Sarah spends much of her time at the theater, either on stage acting, singing, and dancing, or offstage as musical director. She lives near the heart of Minneapolis with her two cuddly kitties.

 More from Brenda

Why I Wrote Broken Together

Years ago, I watched a late-night interview with a woman who’d fought to free her husband from prison, and she finally won that fight. Near the end of the show, when the interviewer asked how she and her husband were doing now, she replied that they were divorced. It shocked me that she’d fought so hard for him, but then couldn’t hold their marriage together. I knew then that I needed to explore, through fiction, how that could happen.

I’d put off the idea for years, fearing the topic was larger than I could handle, but the story kept pushing its way through.

My daughter, Sarah, and I had often talked about writing a story together, one that would be set in a coffee and cocoa shop, and Broken Together seemed to be the perfect match. As a former barista, Sarah brought the coffee expertise to the story. As a non-coffee drinker, I insisted equal billing for non-coffee beverages.

Then the legal director for the Great Northern Innocence Project graciously offered to walk me through the many the legal hoops someone has to go through to be released once evidence is found.

With her help, I could no longer avoid writing Jenn and Chad’s story. It was a difficult one to write, but it’s also a story filled with hope.

 Chad’s Choco-Latte Recipe
Ingredients
2 shots of espresso
3/4 cup whole milk
3 tablespoons of milk chocolate (chips or sauce)
2 tablespoons English toffee sauce (Chad’s secret recipe)
Whipped cream
 
Instructions:
  1. Steam milk with chocolate chips or sauce to 150°F
  2. Pull 2 espresso shots (Make sure your shots don’t sit longer than 20 seconds or they will expire!)
  3. Add English toffee sauce to the bottom of your cup or mug
  4. Add espresso shots to your toffee sauce
  5. Pour steamed milk into your cup or mug, making sure the milk hits the far side of your mug to help incorporate the ingredients
  6. Stir if needed
  7. Top with whipped cream and extra English toffee sauce if desired

Giveaway

To celebrate their tour, Brenda and Sarah are giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon gift card and a paperback book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE