Welcome

“I will bow down toward your holy temple and will praise your name for your love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word.”- Psalm 138:2

Tuesday, January 19, 2021

Veiled Sun ~ Brett Armstrong

 

This is book 2 of the Tomorrow's Edge Trilogy Series.  It is science fiction that takes you to the future of 2040.  Elliot is a 17 yr old that knows the world is coming to a point where it is deceiving people and evil needs to be stopped.  It is a world of corruption, coding and a new world of technology.  He sets out to protect and save the world with the knowledge of his grandfather's written work.  Can he do the work he needs to do in time to save the world?  How does his faith play a part in his journey?  

I would recommend this to teen readers and reading book 1 first.  I have not read book 1 yet, and was a little confused as to what was really going on.  I could follow it, just feel there was more to the story that I had missed. This is not my type of book to read, and was just ok for me, not a bad story, but remember, I didn't read book 1 and probably would have given it more  credit if I had a better background of what was going on.... spoiler alert, the end leaves you hanging.... you will need to read book 3 to find out the conclusion.   

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  Veiled Sun

Author: Brett Armstrong

Genre: Christian Dystopian, Sci-Fi

 AD 2040: Every day the world slips further into lies. Seventeen-year-old Elliott knows that better than most. Project Alexandria is rewriting history, shaping the world according to sinister goals. To stop it, Elliott must assemble the “Veiled Sun”, a secret program written by his grandfather. The only people he can count on are siegers—outlaws who use their coding skills for purposes almost as nefarious as Project Alexandria. Overcoming the schemes and betrayals all around him, he’s the world’s best hope to save reality, if he doesn’t lose hold of it himself.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Brett Armstrong has been exploring other worlds as a writer since age nine. Years later, he still writes, but now invites others along on his excursions. He’s shown readers hauntingly sorrowful historical fiction (Destitutio Quod Remissio), scary-real dystopian sci-fi (Day Moon and Veiled Sun), and dark, sweeping epic fantasy (Quest of Fire). Where he heads next is as much a discovery for him as readers. Through dark, despair, light, joy, and everything in between, the end is always meant to leave his fellow literary explorers with wonder and hope.

 More from Brett

In the near-future world of Veiled Sun, reality is an endangered species. The erosion of confidence in traditional sources of undisputed truth–media, government, academia and science, religion, family, and friends—forces continual skepticism and self-reliance. At the same time, technology is making it more and more possible to “escape” reality. Virtual reality allows us to trick our minds into thinking we’ve literally stepped into another world and augmented reality brings elements of other worlds into our own. Deep Fake is even offering the ability to change past realities by manipulating audio and video recordings in ways our minds can’t distinguish from the real thing.

1 Corinthians 13 is one of my favorite passages of Scripture and verse twelve is probably one of the clearest places to see a sentiment key to the series:

“For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I will know fully, as I am fully known.”

Veiled Sun follows a teen who knows that reality is being tampered with for nefarious purposes. More important he also sees beyond the physical reality to the spiritual while handling an attack on both. Believers need to be firmly grounded in their faith in a world that increasingly muddles the lines between real and not real, truth and falsehood. There’s research that suggests our brains interpret what we read in the same way as lived experiences. So, in a sense GK Chesterton and others were right when they told us long ago that what we read becomes a part of us. My hope is readers will be better prepared to weather the storms that will come against their faith and hold onto the Truth even as truth is increasingly difficult to discern from fiction.

Giveaway

To celebrate his tour, Brett is giving away the grand prize package of a gift basket consisting of a signed copy of each book, book swag (including specially made bookmarks, story excerpt crafts, and character cards), and a $10 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

CLICK HERE


Monday, January 18, 2021

Our Town Atheist ~ Victoria Buck


This is a great read about faith and how the journey is always in the hands of God.  When Adam admits he is a non-believer it upsets him more than the people of the small town he lives in.  His small town is all Christians and when they learn he is a non believer, they still accept him. Adam is a Jew with a very well known father that is a author of Jewish books.  This brings turmoil to Adam and his father. Adam ends up in the hospital where he meets his "Angel" which changes his world. Can he understand these situations that happen? Is "Angel" a part of this?  Can his father get over his non-beliefs and Christian friends?

If you want a great read that is a fast paced, page turner to the end, then read this book, I could not put it down.  This is all about a mystery of what God really means to people of different backgrounds.  I loved this story!  It made you think and guess until the end, which even then the ending was a BIG surprise, didn't see that coming..... I have to say, I was happy and sad at the ending... The meaning of the book is so true, everyone of all ages should read this book... I would recommend to everyone.  This is one of those books you read and just want to share and talk about with your friends. This would be a great book club read, so that you can discuss with others.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.



About the Book

Book:  Our Town Atheist

Author: Victoria Buck

Genre: Christian Women’s Fiction

Release Date: October 30, 2020

Small-town banker Adam Bender tackles a robber and loses. But that’s not what shakes the foundations of his well-managed life. He awakens in the hospital to the vision of an angel. But that’s not what casts doubt on his reasonable judgment. Turns out the angel is only a beautiful doctor—someone Adam wants to get to know better.

The bank robber is on the loose and out to get Adam. News spreads in the gossipy little town of Adam’s misfortune, his love interest, and his…atheism? He’d thought he could keep that a secret. But Adam Bender can handle it. Or, can he?

What happens one night on a mountain road leaves him questioning his worldview. And his sanity. And soon the whole town is waiting to find out if what Adam saw will alter his unbelief.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Victoria Buck is a native Floridian running a small business with her husband, who teaches her everything she needs to know about both melodrama and comic relief. Wake the Dead is her debut novel. Killswitch is the follow-up to book one. Transfusion is the last book in the trilogy about the world’s first transhuman.

Now, on to other stories! Victoria is currently working on two present-day novels. No transhumans or insurrections. Of course, there has to be a bit of a weird twist!

 More from Victoria

Have you ever heard of a porkpie hat? Maurice is wearing one that terrible night when Adam sees him. The Chief of Police hasn’t seen a porkpie in Crossroads for decades, but old Mrs. Jones can tell you all about it. I wasn’t familiar with the hat until I wrote this story. Now I have one of my own!

I admit unusual characters pop into my head. Not your typical protagonist for someone who writes from a Christian worldview, Adam Bender showed up in my imagination after I wrote some blog posts about atheism. Those posts drew more response than I expected from the atheist community. Some were not so kind, but others wanted only to exchange ideas and explain their views in a non-confrontational manner. That’s when this easy-going, fictitious atheist began speaking to the writer in me. I let him talk for a while, and then I had to tell his story.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Victoria is giving away the grand prize package of an eBook copy of the book and a porkpie hat!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

CLICK HERE


Sunday, January 17, 2021

Unlocking the code of the Supernatural ~ Dr. Kynan T. Bridges

 

This book was not one that I can give a review to as I was only able to read a little of it and realized that this is not something I would promote.  It is a book that is written for the new believer and gives faith a different approach (DNA) then I believe in or how I see the bible as seeing it the way this book is telling it.  As much as I read of it I felt it was more of a sci-fy way of teaching the bible and how God reaches out to his people.  Maybe the author didn't want it to be taken this way, but if you have a new believer that you want to minister to, before you have them read this book make sure your read it and know what you giving them.  This is not a book I would give to anyone seeking the word of God without them having a good faith base to ask questions to.  Maybe the author turned it around in the book, however, in fairness to him please remember I couldn't read the whole book, it was disturbing to me of how I was interpreting the book. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.



About the Book

 Book:  Unlocking the Code of the Supernatural

Author: Dr. Kynan T. Bridges

Genre: RELIGION / Christianity/Pentecostal & Charismatic

Release Date: January 12, 2021

 The Mystery of Being a Christian 

It can be hard for us to admit we are dissatisfied with our spiritual life. That we are in a place where going to church is not yielding the victory we desire. A place where we pray things like, “God, I will never do that again,” yet find ourselves doing it again and again.

If you have accepted Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior, you are in fact a new creation. How would you like to start really experiencing that new life? Once you do, you will discover a world of unlimited spiritual possibilities.

Being a Christian is a mystery in which Christ lives in us through a radical transformation of our spiritual DNA. We have a relationship with the living Jesus that changes every dynamic of our life. And we are given our own access code, which is the Word of God. This is how we enter into the benefits and features of our new life.

What you need in order to overcome sin, sickness, poverty, and defeatism is to become conscious of, and intimate with, the indwelling Christ. Once you do, you will never again be manipulated by fear and insecurity. You won’t be caught in a vicious cycle of striving for God’s love and acceptance. You will be confident in your new identity, which will empower you to live the supernatural life God intends for you. You will operate in revelation knowledge, wisdom, spiritual understanding, and miracles. The bondage of sin, shame, and condemnation will be released by the power of the Holy Spirit. Demons won’t be able to oppress you because you will have an overwhelming consciousness of God’s love.

Whether you are a new Christian or a long-time believer who has never been able to fully apply Christ’s victory to your life, Unlocking the Code of the Supernatural will help you become all God created you to be. You will no longer be a victim, defeated, or broken. God wants to use you for His glory! From this day forward, there are no more limitations on your life.

 Click here to get your copy!

About the Author

Dr. Kynan T. Bridges is the senior pastor of Grace & Peace Global Fellowship in Tampa, Florida. With a profound revelation of the Word of God and a dynamic teaching ministry, Dr. Bridges has revolutionized the lives of many in the body of Christ. Through his practical approach to applying the deep truths of the Word of God, he reveals the authority and identity of the new covenant believer. A highly sought speaker and published author of several books, including School of the Miraculous, The Power of Prophetic Prayer, Invading the Heavens, Unmasking the Accuser, and Kingdom Authority. Dr. Bridges is also a committed husband to Gloria and father of five beautiful children: Ella, Naomi, Isaac, Israel, and Anna.

 Read an Excerpt

From the Preface

God wants us to live a supernatural lifestyle, full of His grace and power! He wants us to be free of problems that hinder us from moving forward in life, such as fear, guilt, and depression. He desires that we move in miracles, signs, and wonders as we expand His kingdom on earth.

However, many believers never enter into a supernatural lifestyle because they are held back by false ideas of what it means to be a Christian, how they should relate to their heavenly Father, and how to be led by the Spirit—misconceptions that have been entrenched in their minds for years.

What will unlock the code of the supernatural in our lives, enabling us to live a dynamic, Spirit-filled life?

Through my study of God’s Word, personal experiences, and ministry to thousands of Christians, I have found that when we don’t have a clear understanding of what it means to be brand-new in Christ, we block the flow of God’s Spirit within us. Unless we truly know who we are in Jesus, we will lack confidence in His ability to work miracles through us. If we rely on our own efforts rather than the power of the Holy Spirit within us, we will constantly be frustrated. If we feel trapped and condemned by our past, believing God would never be able to use us because of our bad choices or failures—or what others have done to us—we will be hindered from walking in the supernatural.

I have designed this book to unveil the various facets of what it means to be a new creation in Christ and live according to the Spirit. We will look at a number of key Scriptures, especially from the Gospels and the Epistles, that relate to this theme. These Scriptures, reviewed in sequence, will strengthen our understanding of our life in Christ, reinforcing vital biblical truths until we gain a full picture of our spiritual newness. In this way, with each chapter, we will progressively renew our minds to unlock the code of the supernatural and find the secret to God’s power in us.

Giveaway

To celebrate his tour, Kynan is giving away the grand prize package of a $20 Starbucks gift card and copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE


Being West is Best ~ Monique Bucheger

 


This is book 4 of the A Ginnie West Adventure Series.  In this adventure Ginnie and Tillie are dealing with Jasper, Tillie's abusive dad coming back into their lives.  Tillie learns of his return after her hopes that her mom has agreed to marry Todd and he is to become her dad.  Will Jasper's return turn everything upside down?  Can Tillie face her abusive dad?  Has her dad changed and able to be a dad to her?

This is a young readers book and is a continuation of Ginnie and Tillie's adventures to get their parents married.  This is book 4 but can be read as a stand alone as the first part of the book is alot of review mixed in what is happening.  It also continues exactly where book 3 ends.  I found this book to be a little bit slower of a read then the first 3.  I  had a hard time getting through this book as it seemed to drag on and not move very fast, but it does cover a very sensitive subject, once you get into the story.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  Being West is Best

Author: Monique Bucheger

Genre: Contemporary Middle Grade

 Twelve-year-old BFFs, Ginnie West and Tillie Taylor, are matchmaking geniuses. Together, they maneuvered Ginnie’s widower-dad into proposing to Tillie’s divorcee-mom. Sweet! Certain they are well on their way to sisterhood, each girl is floored when Tillie’s lousy-excuse-for-a-father puts in an appearance after a six year absence. Too bad “lousy dad repellant” doesn’t come in a can.

Even though Tillie’s dad has sobered up and is determined to make amends, Tillie would rather he just disappear again. If he stays, “Operation: Secret Sisters” may need to be renamed “Operation: Not Gonna Happen.” I

If that’s not bad enough, the biggest bully in seventh grade comes over often and wishes he could call the West’s farmhouse “home.” When the bully’s abusive dad shows up as well, Ginnie thinks it’s time to change her family’s motto from “When you’re here, you’re family” to “There’s no more room at the West’s.”

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

When Monique isn’t writing, you can find her playing taxi driver to one or more of her 12 children, plotting her next novel, scrapbooking, or being the “Mamarazzi” at any number of child-oriented events.

Even though she realizes there will never be enough hours in any given day, Monique tries very hard to enjoy the journey that is her life. She shares it with a terrific husband, her dozen children, twelve grand-darlings, too many cats, and many real and imaginary friends. She is the author of several books in three series and hopes to write many more.

 More from Monique

Hello Everybody,

 Welcome to the fourth book in my published series: BEING WEST IS BEST: A Ginnie West Adventure. This book is the 4th installment of the Ginnie West Adventures, but NOT the last book in the series. Book 5 will be ready to publish in 2021, followed quickly by Book 6.

 BEING WEST IS BEST is a redemption story and while it has the same family flavor of the preceding books, it does have an intensity that younger readers may benefit from reading this along with trusted adult teachers or family members as a catalyst for discussing some hard issues—though still in an age appropriate way.

 As a former foster mom to over 100 foster kids, one of my goals as I write the GINNIE WEST series is to give a voice to kids who feel voiceless and invisible. There are some intense scenes in this book as Tillie, a formerly abused and abandoned child (by her birth dad—NOT her birth mom—who is a rock in Tillie’s world) She meets with her birth dad for the first time in 6 years.

 I allow Tillie to say things to him that he needs to hear so that other kids, who will only have such a meeting vicariously thru Tillie and her dad, Jasper, can heal—and possibly form a bridge from a broken past to a happier future.

 However, reuniting every formerly abused child with their abuser is NOT always a good idea.

 In Tillie’s case, her birth dad left to fight his demons safely away from her. He returns after making some powerful changes so that both of their lives are better. Even so, Tillie is resistant to allow him back in her daily life. It is to this end that each will need to bend a little—and show the other compassion and kindness to truly heal.

 Because Tillie is a child, I make sure this meeting is in a place where she feels safe and with adults who have her best interests at heart, who can protect her if need be. I would never suggest such a meeting without these safeguards in place. I am careful to allow Tillie the opportunity to advocate for herself—something that is not always possible in real life.

 Being West is Best is a story that explores some hard realities in a necessary way, leaving my readers and characters uplifted and empowered. It also contains some fun times, interesting shenanigans, loving family relationships, imaginative solutions to some tricky problems, and a horse who is as playful as her owner.

 Whether you’ve read the entire series or are joining this tour with this book, I hope you will be willing to join Ginnie and Tillie on this journey. There are plenty of opportunities to laugh, a few to cry, but more importantly, to take a stand and make deliberate decisions in your own life.

 Laugh lots, love much, write on!!

Monique Bucheger

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Monique is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Kobo, Barnes and Noble, Amazon, Apple, or Google Play!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

Click Here


Saturday, January 16, 2021

Nomad ~ RJ Anderson

 This is book two  of the Flight and Flame Trilogy series.  Ivy has been banished from her land and has to start out new in a new world.  Her adventure takes her to the world above and she still having a heart for saving the piskeys she left behind. Can she make the Queen understand that believing is what really matters?  She takes on the goal of saving her people and the world she loves.  What does all of this mean?  She is having dreams of a boy and doesn't know why, can she find out who he is?  Will she survive all the evil that she is faced with?     

I would recommend this to teens and adults who like to read fantasy and mystery books.  It is a book that takes you into another world and makes you use your imagination.  The characters are of different and a strange world that goes to a place that no one has ever seen.  This is a good book for teens that like books that take them to a fantasy world with lots of exotic characters.  The book is book 2 of the series and I would recommend that you read book one before this one to get the real feel of what is going on in the story.  

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.


About the Book

Book:  Nomad

Author: RJ Anderson

Genre: Christian YA, Fairytale, Fantasy

Cast into exile, she must return to free her people.

Banished from her underground home by Betony, the queen of the Cornish piskeys, young Ivy sets out to forge a new life for herself in the world above. But a deadly threat lingers in the mine, and Ivy cannot bear to see her people suffer while Betony refuses to believe. Somehow she must convince the queen to let them go.

Her mission only becomes more complicated when Ivy starts to dream of the ancient battles between her ancestors and the spriggan folk. Who is the strange boy in her visions? Could her glimpses of his past help Ivy find a new home for her fellow piskeys?

To find the answers, Ivy must outfly vicious predators, outwit cunning enemies, and overcome her own greatest fears. And when evil threatens the people Ivy loves best, it will take all her courage, faith, and determination to save them.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Born in Uganda to missionary parents, RJ. (Rebecca Joan) Anderson is a women’s Bible teacher, a wife and mother of three, and a bestselling fantasy author for older children and teens. Her debut novel Knife has sold more than 120,000 copies worldwide, while her other books have been shortlisted for the Nebula Award, the Christy Award, and the Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Science Fiction. Rebecca lives with her family in Stratford, Ontario, Canada.

 More from R.J. Anderson

Fear of change. Fear of an unknown future. Fear of failure, loss or regret. What fears keep you from doing what you know you should do, or being the person you ought to be?
 
In Nomad, the second book of the Flight and Flame trilogy, my heroine Ivy is forced to make a new life for herself after being exiled by Betony, her people’s proud and stubborn queen. Though all Ivy ever wanted was to help her people, Betony refuses to believe that the piskeys of the Delve are in danger — because to do so would mean not only questioning her own beliefs and prejudices, it would force her people to change their entire way of life.
 
But though Ivy is brave enough to stand up for the truth and even adapt to the strange new world she’s thrust into, she has her own fears to overcome in the course of this story. Fear of vulnerability, of unworthiness, and of making mistakes hold Ivy back as she struggles to find a way to save her friends and family. She’s only one young woman, with few allies and very little power. How can she make a difference?
 
Just as Moses begged God not to send him to confront Pharaoh and free the Israelites because he didn’t think he was eloquent or impressive enough, Ivy finds it hard to believe her fellow piskeys will ever listen to or believe her. The hard lesson she has to learn is that courage doesn’t come from being tough and self-confident, it comes from caring about something bigger than yourself. Not until the people she loves most are in danger does Ivy cast off her fears and take the bold steps needed to save them — but by then it may be too late.
 
It’s easy to get trapped by our own uncertainties and insecurities, and let fear rule our actions. Only when we take our eyes off our own frailty and act out of faith in God and love for others can we become all we were meant and made to be… and the longer we delay, the more others may suffer for it. Can we pray together for strength to start doing what’s right in our homes, our neighbourhoods and our churches, no matter how unqualified we feel to do it?
 
Nomad is the second step of Ivy’s journey to save her fellow piskeys and find her true calling. If you’ve enjoyed Swift and this novel, you can look forward to the final book Torch in February 2021!
 
— R.J. Anderson

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, R.J. is giving away the grand prize package of a three bookmarks, two blank-inside notecards with envelopes featuring artwork by Kirk DouPonce and Rory Kurtz, a postcard with character art by Nicole Deal, a sample of custom book-related tea, and a copy of SWIFT or NOMAD!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

CLICK HERE


Thursday, January 14, 2021

Love, Again ~ Tamara G. Cooper

 

Honor is a marriage counselor, but has been engaged and left by both fiancĂ©e's, can she be that good of a counselor?  That is what she is thinking as she ponders what her life will bring next and what she is doing wrong. Jake is headed back to his home town after a terrible accident that took the life of his wife, child and a mysterious man that was in the car with them at the time of the accident.  When he shows up in his old town, he meets Honor.  They find that both have problems and both need to comfort each other, but can they get past both of their past? Will their difference's make them a couple? How can they both get over their heartbreaks and move on to the future?

I would recommend this book to anyone that wants an afternoon read with a cup of tea.  It is a story of forgiveness with a few little surprises here and there, that you will be turning back pages to see what you have missed.  This is a romance read that will have you thinking..... 

 Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.


About the Book

Book:  Love, Again

Author: Tamara G. Cooper

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release Date: September 11, 2020

 Jake Barrett is devastated when he loses his wife and toddler son in a terrible, fiery accident. What made it even more painful is that an unidentified man was found in the car with them. The police suggest that his wife was having an affair. Since that horrible day two years ago, Jake has questioned everything about himself and his marriage and found no answers. He returns home to his family’s Texas ranch to try to find healing there and maybe learn to trust again.

Twice, Honor McKee was engaged to be married, and twice, she was stood up just days before the wedding. Adding to her embarrassment is the fact that she is a marriage counselor, someone who gives advice to others about love and relationships. Ashamed and deeply hurt, she loses faith in herself and her ability to choose a man willing to commit.

Although they are both wounded and disappointed in love, Jake and Honor meet and manage to stumble their way toward friendship and, quite possibly, more. But their lives are turned upside down when trust in each other is needed the most, and neither has it to give.

Will they learn that there is more to life than living in past failures, that it really is possible to find love again?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Tamara G. Cooper lives in Texas with her husband, three boys, and five dogs. She enjoys writing mysteries with a touch of romance. Love, Again is her first romance.

 More from Tamara

When I thought of writing “Love, Again”, I wanted to find out what would happen between two very-hurt people who stumbled into the beginnings of a friendship but didn’t have the trust it took for the relationship to go any further. What would help them see their flaws? What did they need to learn to become more than the past had let them be?

I loved getting to know Jake and Honor. Without giving anything away, I walked with them through their discoveries about themselves and each other. I hope you enjoy their journey!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Tamara is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE


Wednesday, January 13, 2021

Lightning on a Quiet Night ~ Donn Taylor

 

This book takes place in the World War II era of 1940 and is a Christian Fiction book set in Mississippi.  In a small town of Beneficent, population of 479 people, there is a murder of a teen and then of a women, are these two deaths connected?   Lisa is in the town to assist her father, and not impressed with the small town, after the murders she wonders could Jack, the town Veteran and resident that loves his town, be a suspect to the murders?  Is Lisa looking in the wrong place for evil?  Do her and Jack have more in common then they think?

I would recommend this book if you enjoy a book that is a clean murder mystery with a little bit of light romance to a small town.  This book was slow at the beginning, but did pick up, I had a difficult time getting into this book and I like page turners from the begining.  If you like history, drama, and suspense, keep reading you will get all this with this story.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.


About the Book

Book:  Lightning on a Quiet Night

Author: Donn Taylor

Genre: Historical  romance

Release Date: Summer, 2014

In the years following World War II, a town too proud of its own virtues has to deal with its first murder.

Despite  the implications of this crime, the town of Beneficent, Mississippi, population 479, tries desperately to hold onto its vain self-image. The young veteran Jack Davis holds that idyllic vision of the town and tries to share it with Lisa Kemper, newly arrived from Indiana. But she is repelled by everything in town. While the sheriff tries to find the murderer, Jack and Lisa’s contentious courtship reveals the town’s strange combination of astute perceptions and surprising blind spots. Then they stumble onto shocking discoveries about the true nature of the town. But where will those discoveries lead? To repentance or to denial and continuation in vanity?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Raised in Mississippi, Donn Taylor led an Infantry rifle platoon in the Korean War, served with Army aviation in Vietnam, and worked with air reconnaissance in Europe and Asia. Afterward, he earned a PhD in Renaissance literature and taught literature at two liberal arts colleges. His published works include six suspense novels and a book of poetry. He is a frequent speaker at writers’ conferences. He lives near Houston, TX, where he writes fiction, poetry, and essays on current topics

 More from Donn

There’s a very personal background to my historical romance Lightning on a Quiet Night. When I was seventeen, my parents moved from central Mississippi to teach at a college in the northeastern corner of the state. I quickly came to love the region’s wooded hills and small, fertile valleys, and I developed an appreciation for the people who lived there. That region was also where I met Mildred, who taught me the meaning of love. The critical stage of our courtship occurred when the area was snowbound. By the time the snow melted (with no help from us, of course) we were engaged.

So when, decades later, I came to write a historical novel, I set it in a fictitious town in that region, and in 1948, the time period Mildred and I had known together. I wanted to write about love, of course, but I also wanted to write about the everyday citizens of that region—the storekeepers, small-town bankers, farmers—people of good will who seemed never to be accurately represented in fiction.

Readers will find the main focus of the novel to be romance, suspense, and comedy—with a snowbound love scene, of course. But as the writing progressed, the scope of the story broadened. What would happen if a town too proud of its virtues had to deal with its first murder? How would its citizens struggle against the reality of human imperfection? I’d started out to write about love and solving a murder but found myself grappling with the most basic problems of human life.

How successful was this? Readers will decide, but I can say I was gratified when Publishers Weekly wrote that the novel had “passion and heart” and showed “a keen understanding of the human condition.”

Among my books, this was Mildred’s favorite, and she helped in many ways during the writing. She lived long enough to read its dedication to her and to see the novel contracted, though not to see it in print.

But enough of the personal: Readers want mostly to be entertained by a good story, and I hope that is what I have given them.

Giveaway

To celebrate his tour, Donn is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Amazon gift card plus one paperback copy of Lightning on a Quiet Night!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

CLICK HERE