Welcome

“I will bow down toward your holy temple and will praise your name for your love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word.”- Psalm 138:2

Thursday, June 24, 2021

A Man of Purpose and Power ~ Dr. Myles Munroe

 

This is a man's 90 day devotional book, giving advice to all men and how they can be more powerful in God word. Each devotional is meant to make men better, men of society, husbands, and fathers.  It covers on a daily basis to give the man in your life, hope, inspiration, and meaning for a purpose of their lives.  What are their roles in society? How does faith play a role in their lives? What are the critical questions men ask throughout their lives?  Many of these questions are answered in this devotional by just reading a quick devotional each day.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.





About the Book

Book:  A Man of Purpose and Power

Author: Dr. Myles Munroe

Genre: RELIGION / Christian Living/Devotional

Release date: June 6, 2021

 Best-selling author Dr. Myles Munroe offers daily practical and biblical advice for men. Based on two of his most popular books, Understanding the Purpose and Power of Men and Understanding the Purpose and Power of Women, this 90-day devotional will help you truly understand your God-given purpose and power as a man.

Each day’s reading includes teaching and encouragement, a Scripture reading from both the Old and New Testaments, and a thought for the day to draw you closer to God the Father and His purposes for you. Explore the nature and role of men as God intended, addressing such issues as: What does the Bible really teach about men and women? What does it mean to be male? What are the purpose and design of the man? How is a man uniquely different from a woman? What is a man’s role as a husband and father? What are a man’s sexual needs? How are men and women meant to relate to one another? How can a man build a better life for himself, his family, and the world?

Through this devotional, you can strengthen your relationship with your heavenly Father as you discover how to fulfill your destiny and potential as an integral part of His eternal purposes.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Dr. Myles Munroe (1954–2014) was an international motivational speaker, best-selling author, educator, leadership mentor, and consultant for government and business. Traveling extensively throughout the world, Dr. Munroe addressed critical issues affecting the full range of human, social, and spiritual development. He was a popular author of more than forty books, including The Power of Character in Leadership, The Purpose and Power of Authority, The Principles and Benefits of Change, Becoming a Leader, The Purpose and Power of the Holy Spirit (formerly titled The Most Important Person on Earth), The Spirit of Leadership, The Principles and Power of Vision, Understanding the Purpose and Power of Prayer, Understanding the Purpose and Power of Women, and Understanding the Purpose and Power of Men. Dr. Munroe was the founder and president of Bahamas Faith Ministries International (BFMI), a multidimensional organization headquartered in Nassau, Bahamas. He was the chief executive officer and chairman of the board of the International Third World Leaders Association, president of the International Leadership Training Institute, and founder and executive producer of a number of radio and television programs aired worldwide.

 More from Myles Munroe

Best-selling author Dr. Myles Munroe offers daily practical and biblical advice for men. Through this devotional, you can strengthen your relationship with your heavenly Father as you discover how to fulfill your destiny and potential as an integral part of His eternal purposes.

Giveaway

To celebrate their tour, Whitaker House is giving away the grand prize package of a $20 Starbucks gift card and a copy of the book!!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE 

Wednesday, June 23, 2021

Valley of the Shadows - Candace West

 

This is book 2 of the Valley Creek Redemption series.  In this book Lorena is faced with her estranged husband, Earl,  who left her many years ago, when she goes to visit her daughters in the town of Valley Creek. Lorena is surprised and starts having emotions that she thought she had dealt with long ago.  When Earl thinks of the past and how he has hurt the family, he needs to make a decision to stay and deal with Lorena or leave town.  When tragedy hits the town, Lorena and Earl need to decide if they can forgive and stay and help the town or will one leave or both leave?

I would recommend this book to those that enjoy a good read about forgiveness, family and faith.  It moves along well and makes you want to continue their story to find out what is going to happen.  Even though this is book 2 of the series, it can be read as a stand alone.  I did not read book 1 yet and was able to follow the story without any problems, even though I would like to go back to book 1 and find out more of the details of Lorena and Earl... good read.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

 About the Book

Book:  Valley of Shadows

Author: Candace West

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Release date: March 2020

 

A shattered heart. A wounded spirit. A community in crisis.

Lorena Steen gave up on love years ago. She forgave her long-time estranged husband, but when circumstances bring her to the Ozark town of Valley Creek, she discovers forgiving is far from forgetting.

Haunted by his past acts of betrayal, Earl Steen struggles to grow his reclaimed faith and reinstate himself as an upstanding member of Valley Creek. He soon learns that while God’s grace is amazing, that of the small-town gossips is not.

When disaster strikes, the only logical solution is for Earl and Lorena to combine their musical talents in an effort to save the community. But even if they’re willing to work together, are they able to? Or will the shadows that descend upon Valley Creek reduce it to a ghost town.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Candace West was born in the Mississippi delta to a young minister and his wife. She grew up in small-town Arkansas and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Monticello. At twelve years old, she wrote her first story, “Following Prairie River.” In 2018, she published her debut novel Lane Steen. By weaving entertaining, hope-filled stories, Candace shares the Gospel and encourages her readers. She currently lives in Arkansas with her husband and their son along with two dogs and three bossy cats.

 More from Candace

Why I Wrote Valley of Shadows

Can a villain become a hero? When I ended my debut novel Lane Steen, I knew someday I had to discover if a kidnapper and alcoholic was worth saving. Could that same person save a town after tragedy strikes while wrestling with his own demons?

Earl Steen had a dark valley to cross.

With a destroyed reputation, Earl must prove in Valley of Shadows that God has not wasted His efforts on him. Also, Lorena, his estranged wife, has her own score to settle. How can she when the villain no longer exists?

Nothing tugs at my heart more than lost, unrequited love. My second book focuses on their lost relationship. Earl and Lorena had haunted one another long enough. Could God mend what Earl had shattered?

Sitting down to write, I returned to Valley Creek and uncovered places within Earl’s heart that I never knew existed. Lorena’s struggles became mine as she grappled with understanding and forgiving. The dark places of their past somehow had to merge with the light of a hopeful future.

Getting Earl and Lorena to rediscover their love was a journey fraught with tension, grief, frustration, and hope. Was it worth every rewrite, every long hour staring at my computer screen waiting for my characters’ next move?

You bet!

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Candace is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card, a paperback copy of Lane Steen and Valley of Shadows!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Gold Rush Bride Hannah ~ Linda Shenton Matchett

 

This is book one of the Gold Rush Bride series, a Historical Christian romance book.  This book takes place in the 1800's during the gold rush in Georgia.  When Hannah takes on the job that her husband was working after he was murdered, she never expects to also be in danger.   Jess is a friend of Hannah's late husband and comes to help him, but, he is too late.  He decides to stay on and help Hannah deal with trust, survival and faith during her new trials in life.

This is a very short read and can be read in an afternoon of reading.  It takes you back into time with some surprising events and light romance to keep you cheering for happiness to be found.  What will book two bring???? 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  Gold Rush Bride, Hannah

Author: Linda Shenton Matchett

Genre: Historical Romance

Release date: May 18, 2021

Recently widowed, she’s doesn’t need another man in her life. He’s not looking for a wife. But when danger thrusts them together, will they change their minds…and hearts?

Hannah Lauman’s husband has been murdered, but rather than grief, she feels…relief. She decides to remain in Georgia to work their gold claim, but a series of incidents make it clear someone wants her gone…dead or alive. Is a chance at being a woman of means and independence worth risking her life?

Jess Vogel never breaks a promise, so when he receives a letter from a former platoon mate about being in danger, he drops everything to help his old friend. Unfortunately, he arrives just in time for the funeral. Can he convince the man’s widow he’s there for her protection not for her money?

Gold Rush Bride: Hannah is the first book in the exciting new series Gold Rush Brides. Steeped in romance, intrigue, and history, the story will keep you turning pages long into the night.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Linda Shenton Matchett writes about ordinary people who did extraordinary things in days gone by. A volunteer docent and archivist for the Wright Museum of WWII, Linda is a former trustee for her local public library. She is a native of Baltimore, Maryland and was born a stone’s throw from Fort McHenry. Linda has lived in historic places all her life, and is now located in central New Hampshire where her favorite activities include exploring historic sites and immersing herself in the imaginary worlds created by other authors.

 More from Linda

Dear Readers,

 Have you ever heard the quote about Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers that says, “Sure he was great, but don’t forget that Ginger Rogers did everything he did, backwards…and in high heels?” Originally seen in a 1982 Frank and Ernest comic strip, the line has been used by many people from comedians to politicians.

 A slight twist on the statement can be made about women in the centuries before modern attire allowed them to wear slacks…they did everything men did, but in floor-length skirts (to say nothing of when they had to wear corsets!). A few examples include cooking over an open hearth, hauling water before the invention of pumps and indoor plumbing, farm work such as milking cows or gardening, and riding a horse.

 One of my favorite aspects about writing is developing the characters, especially the female protagonists. Mine are typically…well, untypical. The gals in my books are war correspondents, mechanics, spies, doctors, pilots, and midwives, just to name a few. While thinking about what to write next, I stumbled on an article about female prospectors, and I knew I had my story.

 I continued to dig and was delighted to find journals and diaries of these stalwart women who either followed their husbands, brothers, or fathers to the gold field or actually set out on their own. Instead of setting my novel during the well-known California gold rush of 1849, Gold Rush Bride Hannah takes place two decades earlier in northern Georgia where more than one million dollars of gold was unearthed.

 The few images I found confirmed my suspicion. These women prospected alongside the men,  swirling their pans of silt hour after hour…all while wearing a dress.

 I hope you enjoy Hannah’s story.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Linda is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Visa Gift Card and signed copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

CLICK HERE 

[Insert Giveaway Link Here]

Monday, June 21, 2021

Murder of Madison Square Garden - Linda Shenton Matchett

This is book 2 of the Women of Courage Book series, a Christian Suspense and Historical read.   Teddy is on the path to her dream career when one performance changes everything and someone ends up murdered.  As she is the prime suspect, she is taken into custody and then meets Ric a Private Investigator that is willing to take on the case and help her.   Can they find out who the killer is and save Teddy from going to jail?  What is the attraction, if any does these two have for each other?  

If you like a moving fast suspense, murder, mystery then you will really like this book.  It keeps moving and you guessing who is the person that the police should be arresting.  It did end too fast, I wanted more details at the end, but other than that, it was very good read that could be a Hallmark murder mystery movie. Great for all ages to read. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

 About the Book

Book:  Murder at Madison Square Garden

Author: Linda Shenton Matchett

Genre: Historical Mystery

Release date: July 15, 2020

 

The dream of a lifetime becomes a nightmare.

Photojournalist Theodora “Teddy” Schafer’s career has hit the skids thanks to rumors of plagiarism. With any luck, a photo spread with Charles Lindbergh at the America First Rally will salvage her reputation. After an attempted assassination of Lindbergh leaves another man dead, Teddy is left holding the gun. Literally. Can she prove her innocence before the police lock her up for a murder she didn’t commit?

Private Investigator Ric Bogart wants nothing to do with women after his wife cleaned out their bank account and left him for another man, but he can’t ignore the feeling he’s supposed to help the scrappy, female reporter who is arrested for murder at the America First rally. Can he believe her claims of innocence and find the real killer without letting Teddy steal his heart?
 

 About the Author

Bestselling author of over twenty books, Linda Shenton Matchett writes about ordinary people who did extraordinary things in days gone by. A volunteer docent and archivist for the Wright Museum of WWII, Linda is currently working with the curator to create her first exhibit, Shaped by Conflict that will be on display from May 1 to June 15, 2021. She is a native of Baltimore, Maryland, and was born a stone’s throw from Fort McHenry. Linda has lived in historical places all her life and is now located in central New Hampshire where her favorite activities include exploring historic sites and immersing herself in the imaginary worlds created by other authors.

 More from Linda

Dear readers:

I grew up in New Jersey and often went into New York City for school field trips and family visits. One of my favorite places to go was Madison Square Garden. I have lots of happy memories, so I wondered if I could possibly set a book there. I spent a lovely afternoon digging into the building’s past and learning about the important, historic events that took place there. When I discovered that aviator Charles Lindbergh spoke at the Garden about the controversial topic of U.S. isolationism prior to America’s entry into WWII, I knew I had the beginning of a story.

My protagonist came about during one of my shifts as a volunteer docent at the Wright Museum of WWII. While talking to one of our guests about our wartime print and broadcast journalism display, the conversation turned to the role that women played. Therese Bonney was a one of the photojournalists highlighted in the exhibit. As I studied her picture, I was struck by her determination in the set of her jaw and look in her eyes. My protagonist Theodora “Teddy” Schafer was born.

I enjoyed my trip down Memory Lane at the Garden during my research and had fun subjecting Teddy to uncomfortable situations as she tried to prove her innocence. But most of all, I hope her story honors the men and women who served in countless ways during this difficult time in history.

Enjoy Murder at Madison Square Garden.

Linda

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Linda is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Visa Gift Card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Saturday, June 19, 2021

The Proposal ~ Tanya Eavenson

This is book 2 of the All Roads Lead to Texas series, Christian Western Romance read.  Jessica witnesses the sheriff (which is also her father) being shot and killed, she must run and hide to survive. Soon she finds herself being forced to marry a man she has no intention of marrying, how does she get out of this situation and can she?  Blake is determined to protect and serve her to give her a secure and safe life.  However, both their pasts are getting in the way of their futures.  How can they both forgive and move to a better future?  Can they? and Will they?

If you like a good afternoon western romance then read this book. It is for all ages that want just a simple nice reading to take you away and relax.  It is book 2 of the series, but can be read and enjoyed as a stand alone without any problems understanding what is going on.

 Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  The Proposal

Author: Tanya Eavenson

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Release date: June 15, 2021

 

Oklahoma 1891

When the sheriff’s daughter goes into hiding from her father’s killer, her
life isn’t the only thing in danger.

Jessica Thomson is fleeing the man who killed her father. But her
stagecoach is robbed, and when the stranger who rescues her declares she
will be his wife, she does the only thing she knows to do—shove her revolver
in his back. Never would she have expected he wore a star on his chest. Too
bad she vowed never to love another lawman.

As sheriff, Blake McKenny prides himself on protecting his town’s people
from danger, but his efforts didn’t include a headstrong woman bent on
putting herself in harm’s way. When outlaws threaten his town and put
Jessica’s life in danger, Blake’s failure to save his late wife haunts him.

Can Jessica and Blake forgive themselves for the past and protect each
other—even if that costs them their hearts in the process?

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Tanya Eavenson is an award-winning Christian romance novelist. She enjoys spending time with her husband and their three children. Her favorite pastime is grabbing a cup of coffee, eating chocolate, and reading a good book. You can find her at her website http://www.tanyaeavenson.com/

 More from Tanya

Fiction to Reality

Ever had those moments when you’re reading a novel and it’s as if the author wrote the story line, the characters, or included verses just for you? When your world turns from fiction to reality with the flip of a page?

 At the beginning of December in 2014, I took a novel from my bookshelf, snuggled on the couch with a blanket, and began to read. The title of the novel is called The Rancher’s Reunion by Tina Radcliffe. The hero in the story is Will, and he has a hereditary disease that caused him to fear, not only his future, but in trusting God. And that’s when God used this story to speak to me.

 “I’m scared, Annie.”

“I know, Will. I know.” She blinked back the moisture pricking her eyes.

“No, Annie. I don’t think you do. I’m not just scared. I’m terrified.”

 And I understood Will’s fear. Weeks prior to reading this novel, my doctor told me I have cancer. It’s a single word that can change the course of your life, emotionally, physically, but not only yours, others around you. And though I knew God’s presence would be with me no matter what the future held, my desire to write or edit anything had vanished. Honestly, I wasn’t sure I wanted to write anymore with my future so uncertain. I wasn’t just scared, but terrified my time with my family would be shortened.

 But as I continued to read Will’s story, God’s whispered words, Do not be afraid of things you cannot control, pray, and continue your call to write, took hold and draped around my heart.

I knew at that moment this book was meant to be read at this appointed time. That God was leading me to give Him every single fear, open my laptop, and begin to write again.

 During the time I’d stopped writing, I was in the middle of two stories, a contemporary romance, and The Rescue, the first story in the All Roads Lead to Texas series. It took some months before I returned to writing, but I had to give my fears to God the only way I could. Like Will and Annie’s story, day by day. Moment by moment.

 In my new novel, The Proposal, the second story in the All Roads Lead to Texas series, Jessica Thompson understands fear and must learn how to give it to God. She has her father’s killer on her trail and the only means for escape is to run, but she never counted on the sheriff of Graham, Texas, to get in her way.

 Have you ever had a time in your life where fear caught you so unexpectedly that you didn’t know what to do next? Perhaps you didn’t know where to turn? Maybe couldn’t pray?

 I’m here to tell you it’s okay. God knows how you feel, good or bad, it doesn’t change His love for you. Just remember, He’s with you, by your side through it all. He will never leave you.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Tanya is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and eBook copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Friday, June 18, 2021

Stealing the First Mate ~ Tabitha Bouldin

 

This is book 11 of the Independence Island Series that takes place on Elnora Island.  This book takes us to enjoy the lives of more characters on Elnora Island, here we meet Darcy and Nigel two people that should be together, but for some reason they aren't.  Darcy is young, single and has dreams of being in love, marriage, kids and the happy life.  Nigel would love to provide that to Darcy, however, his past is hindering him to pursue Darcy for a relationship.  When Nigel decides to put it all out there and trust his faith, will the truth end up with them not being together?  Can the past really be that bad?

Want a good afternoon summer read and see if these two can come together, this is the book for you to read.  It is a very light and fun read for a summer afternoon or reading and relaxing.  It is book 11 out of the Island series, but each book can be read as a stand alone, as each book is about different people and different story line.  If you do read the series you won't be disappointed because you are taken into a the world of island living and how romance creates island living in a new outlook.  

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

 Book: Stealing the First Mate

Author: Tabitha Bouldin

Genre: Christian Contemporary Romance

Release date: June 29, 2021

 

Sometimes, happily ever after is as elusive as a pirate’s treasure.

Darcy Riggins dove headfirst into the online dating pool and sank. Every time.

Her lifelong dream of becoming a wife and mother becomes more elusive every year. So, taking the lack of a Mr. Right in her life as a decided “No!” from God, Darcy gives up altogether.

Single and happy is not an oxymoron. Right?

Nigel Jones has loved Darcy for ages, but her father (his boss, of course) ordered him to keep his feelings to himself, thanks to a stupid mistake that Darcy (thankfully) doesn’t know about.  Too bad her dad does.

Being single and content turns out to be tougher than Darcy imagined, and when she begins doubting everything she’s ever known, Nigel decides it’s time to admit his mistakes, tell the truth, and trust God for the outcome.

In this “forbidden-love-meets-friends-to-more” novel, Stealing the First Mate continues the Elnora Island romances of the Independence Islands Series featuring five islands, six authors, and a boatload of happily-ever-afters.

The Independence Islands Series: beach reads aren’t just for summer anymore.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Tabitha Bouldin has a bachelor’s degree in creative writing/English from Southern New Hampshire University. She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) and has been writing since 2015. When she’s not homeschooling her kids, you’ll find her curled up with a book. Tabitha’s genre of choice is Contemporary Christian Romance which she describes as: Adventure with heart.

 More from Tabitha

I love the friends-to-something-more trope. There’s something invigorating about the challenges of stepping into a different kind of relationship with someone you already know and trust. The risk of losing the friendship if things go badly comes to the forefront and each character has to decide if they’ll take the risk or keep things as they are.

For Nigel and Darcy, there’s the added difficulty of Nigel’s unrequited love. They’ve been best friends forever, and he’s loved Darcy all that time. And she’s clueless! How does that happen?

I wish I could say this story came from my own experience, but that isn’t the case. While my husband and I knew each other for several years before we started dating, we were hardly friends. High school social circles are brutal things. Plus, he had a crush on my cousin, and I was dating someone else.

But it all worked out.

And we’re best friends now.

When it came time to write Stealing the First Mate, I knew Nigel and Darcy were friends. It wasn’t until I worked my way through the first chapter that the depth of their relationship started to emerge, and I realized they were best friends. Darcy runs to Nigel for advise (even dating advise, which became really awkward for Nigel).

Darcy has been looking for Mr. Right so long she can’t see the truth staring back at her in Nigel’s eyes.

Writing their story is one of the most enjoyable experiences I’ve had in writing.

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Tabitha is giving away the grand prize package a $50 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE

Thursday, June 17, 2021

Every Window Filled with Light ~ Shelia Stovall

This is book one of The Weldon Novels series, a Christian Women's Fiction book.  This is the story of living in the small town of Weldon, KY and how everyday life has it's up and downs.  We meet many different characters in this book that seem like it could be our neighbor.  Emma is struggling with being a widow and how her husband was accidentally killed by a student.  She is doing her day to day work when she takes in a teen girl as a foster child with baggage that comes with her.  Luke is the town pastor and befriends Emma and then she finds out that he is pastoring her husband's killer, can she survive this hurt and give forgiveness?  When the mother of the teen girl she takes in comes into the picture, where will Emma turn then? As the story intertwines with the each other, will God be able to connect all of these people together?

Want a story that you can read and feel like you are living in this small town and can relate to some of the issues going on?  Then this is the book for you... at the end it makes you wonder where book 2 will take you.  

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Celebrate Lit Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.

About the Book

Book:  Every Window Filled with Light

Author: Shelia Stovall

Genre: Contemporary Women’s Christian Fiction

Release date: April 2, 2021

Welcome to Weldon, Kentucky, where the only things the locals love more than fried pies are gossip and match-making.

Librarian Emma Baker, a young and childless widow, believes her dream to build a family is over. It’s been two years since a student accidentally stabbed Emma’s husband to death, and her grief has stifled any interest in romance—until she meets Pastor Luke Davis. But when Emma learns Luke is counseling her husband’s killer fresh out of jail, her temper gets in the way.

Meanwhile, Emma discovers twelve-year-old Harley, abandoned by her drug-addict mother, hiding in the library, and takes the girl in as her foster mom. Then a young mother is made homeless by an apartment fire, and Emma opens her home again. One person and one prayer at a time, Emma begins to discover hope.

If Emma can yield and offer forgiveness to her husband’s killer, perhaps she’ll be able to piece together the broken parts of her heart…and the broken people who enter her life…to form a new family and maybe even have a second chance at love.

 Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Shelia Stovall is the director of a small-town library in southern Kentucky, where only strangers mention her last name, and the children call her Miss Shelia.

Shelia and her husband Michael live on a farm, and she enjoys taking daily rambles with their three dogs to the creek. Spending time with family, especially her grandchildren, is her all-time favorite thing. The only hobby Shelia loves more than reading uplifting stories of hope is writing them.

 More from Shelia

When I was younger, I daydreamed about becoming an author, but it wasn’t something I pursued. I wrote a few short stories for fun, but I poured my time and energy into my children and career.

In the summer of 2011, I participated in a Bible study called Jonah by Priscilla Shirer. One evening, our facilitator asked us to meditate on the question, What does God want you to do that you don’t want to do.  I sat feeling smug as the others prayed. I’d already signed up for a short-term mission trip to Africa, which I hadn’t wanted to do. But as I sat in the quiet, God spoke to me. Write a book for me. My heartbeat quickened as God gave me the opening and the ending of the story. I envisioned a large two-story yellow Victorian home with every Window filled with light.

God’s request filled me with panic, and the workbook page remained blank. The thought of someone reading God’s request made my face hot. Who was I to think I could be an author? Finally, I made a feeble attempt, but it was too hard.

My Ninevah was Africa. I turned my thoughts and efforts to preparing to go to Niger in December 2011. After the trip, all I could think about was returning to Africa. Our translators were visiting the US. It thrilled me when they accepted my invitation to stay overnight in my home. While preparing for their visit, I discovered my laptop under the bed covered in dust. I gulped as I remembered God asking me to write a book. With trepidation, I opened the computer and read the first few pages of the story I’d started. It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t great. I whined to God. I don’t have the skills or the talent. I don’t know how to write a book.

Then, I received an email in my work email account promoting a Christian writers’ conference. To this day, it is still the only email I’ve received at work advertising a writers’ conference. I could hardly breathe as I read the email promoting the writers’ workshop to be held at East Texas Baptist University in Marshall, TX—a long way from Kentucky. I shared everything with my husband, and he encouraged me to go even though we didn’t have the money. He reminded me we had a travel credit in our airline account because of connection problems during our first trip to Africa, and so, I packed my bags.

When I attended the conference, two instructors, New York Times best-selling author Lisa Wingate and Judy Christie, changed my life when they encouraged me to finish the story. Judy asked me to commit to writing one hour a day, and she predicted I’d finish the first draft by Thanksgiving if I’d stick with it. The conference was held in October, and I thought her expectations impossible. I didn’t meet her goal, but I finished the first draft on 12/12/12. I’ll never forget that morning. It’s a good thing I had no idea of the work ahead of me.

Judy was kind enough to give me the email address of her award-winning editor Jamie Clarke Chavez. I sent the first three chapters to Jamie, and my mouth dropped open when she agreed to work with me. Today, she is someone I consider a dear friend. Writers have asked me, How did you get Jamie Chavez to work with you. She must have taken pity on me. I cringe as I remember those first chapters. I consider Jame a gift from God.

Through the years of hard work, God has been faithful to provide me with encouragement and help along the road to publication. If there is anything good in Every Window Filled with Light, it is from Him and the people he sent to aid me. The best blessings of the writing journey are the friendships I’ve made along the way.

I hope you’ll read Every Window Filled with Light or give it to someone who needs an uplifting story of hope. If there’s a person you know who doesn’t know Christ and doesn’t want to listen to a witness, this is a book you can share. I hope the reader will be so drawn into the story they won’t realize they are being exposed to God’s salvation plan until it’s too late.

Thank you for taking the time to learn about why I wrote Every Window Filled with Light. Has God ever asked you to do something you didn’t want to do?  I’d love to hear your story.

Warm regards,

Shelia

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Shelia is giving away the grand prize package of a themed gift basket from Habegger’s Amish Market!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!

CLICK HERE